There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Tue Aug 17 11:54:42 2010

PML
Phobos
6030 Paver Lane
Jeddo, MI 48032
(810) 327-1710
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 57" x 2.15" - 32 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: MISSING - please submit here
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: 38mm, 29mm (w/ADPTR-38/29); (PML website has specifics)

Rating
(Contributed - by Michael Veno)

Picture courtesy of Public MissilesPicture

Brief:
The PML Phobos is a 2.15" HPR with payload section. I selected it because PML website indicated that is was capable of flying with a J350. This would allow me to use it for both for a TRA Level 1 certification as well as Level 2.

Construction:
The PML Phobos is a 2.15", 57” long HPR with payload section using the PML Quantum (smooth gray plastic) tubes. The Phobos has 3 triangular fins of .062” G-10 with through the body tube mounting to the motor tube. The kit comes with a pre-slotted body tube 34” long, a 12” long payload section and a plastic ogive nosecone. The kit comes with an 8" motor tube and two centering rings. It uses PML’s piston deployment system. The piston is basically a coupler tube and bulkhead attached to the motor mount by a 6’ long, 1” nylon strap and the parachute shock cord attaches to the piston’s D-ring.

Because I planned to fly a 14” long J350W, I changed to motor tube to a 15” long one with three centering rings. The middle centering ring was located just forward of the fin to motor tube attachment. The forward and middle centering were glued to the motor tube along the 1” heavy nylon strap for the piston. The forward centering ring has a slot in it that allows clearance for the nylon strap, which is glued to the side of the motor tube. The motor tube assembly was then glued into the body tube with thickened 30-minute epoxy.

The fins were glued in with thickened 30-minute epoxy with generous fillets on both the outside and inside of the body tube and on the fin to motor tube joint. It is a real challenge getting the internal fillets done with only about ¼” of clearance between the body and motor tubes. I used a bamboo skewer to dab the epoxy in trying not to get too much where the aft centering ring location.

I also glued aluminum circuit board standoffs that were about 1” long x 3/16” OD with #6 internal threads for a motor retention system at each of the body tube to fin junctions. I found the standoffs at a surplus electronics dealer.

Next step was gluing on the aft centering ring with 3 holes drilled in it for the #6 screws for the motor retention system.

The remainder of the kit was built stock. The piston required extensive sanding to get a smoothly sliding fit it the body tube. The body tubes, parachute and nose cone were first rate. The fins required some cleanup so that all were exactly the same. I thought the plywood in the bulkheads and centering rings were of only of okay quality due to some splitting of the wood.

My rocket came in a 35-oz or 3 oz heavier than listed. This was mostly likely due to the longer motor tube and larger amount than normal of epoxy on the fin fillets.

Finishing:
The Quantum tubes are very easy to paint since they are so smooth (no spiral line!).

Construction Rating: 5 out of 5

Flight:
PML recommends motor ranging from hotter F's to J350’s.

My first flight was a TRA level 1 certification flight using a 38 MM H123W-10 at San Diego’s Tripoli Ocotillo Test Range (500’ elevation, FAA waivers from 10,000’ to 12,500’). Perfect flight to about 2800’ landing 100 yards away.

The next flight was TRA level 2 using a J350W-14 with a Missile Works RRC altimeter recording altitude. Good flight with a little weather cocking in the wind to an altitude 6956’ on the RRC (PML says 6915’ with 15.6 second optimum delay) and drifted about ¾ mile way taking two of us about ½ hour to find.

Third flight was on an I161W-14 going about 4600’ up landing about ½ mile away.

A friend built a Phobos with similar modifications at the same time and has done his level 1 with a H123W and level 2 with J350W as well.

I have since modified mine for dual deployment and have flown it on an H123W-10 with perfect results.

Recovery:
The rocket has not sustained any damage other than minor paint chipping. The Quantum tubes and G-10 fins are tough. Landing area at Ocotillo Test Range is open desert with hard dirt and some rocks. The piston deployment system has worked well and no wadding is required. I have used about 0.6 grams (1/8 teaspoon) of black powder for the ejection charge with good results.

Flight Rating: 5 out of 5

Summary:
This is one tough rocket that can fly on a wide range of motors from F's to 700' to J350's to 7000'.

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5



(Contributed - by Lance Alligood [Who's Who Page] - 07/01/04)

Brief:

The PML Phobos is an easy to build single stage, single motor 3FNC MPR/HPR kit. It could be used for Level 1 certifications but I don't know if I would recommend it for that. You have a choice of either Quantum or phenolic tubing and 29mm or 38mm motor mount.

Construction:

I bought the kit direct from PML with the Quantum tubing (QT) and 38mm motor mount. My goal in picking the Phobos was that it was going to be easy to build, a stable design, and that I could fly it on a G before attempting my Level 1 certification with it.

I used 12 minute epoxy for the entire build. The build went without any major issues, however, I want to point out 4 potential "gotchas" when building a PML kit stock with the QT:

  1. You must sand the QT near the fin slots so that the epoxy has something to "bite" into.
  2. Same goes for where the launch lugs are attached.
  3. When epoxying the the MMT tube, after epoxying on the piston strap, make sure that the strap is not in the way of the fin placement.
  4. Sand the piston coupler so that you have a smooth (almost loose) travel in the QT. Patience & "elbow grease" is needed here as it might take a while to get the proper fit.

I did not make any serious modifications, but I did do the following outside the scope of the kit instructions:

  1. Foamed the fin can with PML expanding foam. There is maybe 1/4" gap between the QT & MMT tubes. Rather than apply epoxy fillets in such a small space, it was easier & faster to dump the foam in and sand to shape.
  2. Added rail buttons. I did not however drill them into the QT. Instead I built standoffs with popcicle sticks and mounted the rail button there (see railbutton.com for more information on doing this).
  3. The aft centering ring was too small to add Kaplow clips or the PML retainer. I purchased and installed an AeroPack retainer and 38-29 motor adapter. (Overkill, I know!) Special note about the AeroPack retainer: I did a dry test fit. It was so snug that I was (and still am) unable to get it back off! That's not a bad thing though...

Finishing:

Many people have touted the ease of finishing the PML QT and you can count me among the satisfied customers. It is indeed easy to work with. Scuff the entire rocket with 220 grit, prime with Krylon primer, sand with 320 or 400, spray with Krylon gloss colors. Where the different colors meet on my paint scheme, I covered them with 1/4" wide chrome automotive pinstriping. The chrome pinstriping has great reflectivity (my main goal) but lacks the stretchy characteristics of typical pinstriping. I did not have any notable problems with the finishing process.

Construction Rating: 5 out of 5

Flight:

I did 2 test flights on G motors. First was a single use G40-7W. I built up a good tape thrust ring, loaded the motor up in the AeroPack 38-29 adapter, slid everything into the motor mount,and screwed down the retainer cap. I had a lot of jitters for this being the largest rocket I'd ever built and launched at the time but it lifted off without a hitch. Estimated altitude of 1100ft but the delay was a good 3 seconds too long. I had a rapidly sinking feeling in my stomach as the rocket plummetted from the sky, however, it did (finally) eject at about 400 feet. No zipper or any other damage whatsoever. I couldn't believe it!

Second flight was a couple of months later on an EconoJet G35-4W. Altitude was slightly lower (~1000ft) but ejection was right at apogee. Perfect flight all the way around.

My club was finally able to have a vendor onsite at a launch for the third flight of my Phobos. I prepped a Pro38 2-grain H153, shaving 3 seconds off the delay (for a total delay of 10 seconds). Preparation was even easier this time because I didn't need to add a masking tape thrust ring and/or use the motor adapter--just slide in the motor and screw on the cap. What blew my socks off though is that the Phobos lifted off with significantly greater velocity! It darn near disappeared in the sky... Some of the more experienced fliers in my club estimated that it was well over a half-mile up! It was fairly windy that day so it did drift on the way down. After a 45 minute search, I finally stumbled upon it and everything was intact! I'd just become certified Level 1.

Recovery:

Pistons are a technology that people either love or hate. I have had nothing but success with my Phobos and particularly enjoy that I don't need to use any wadding. Cleaning out the body tube at least every other flight and always making sure that the piston fits loosely are the key points to remember. If I ever build another PML kit, and it's quite likely, I would build it stock with the piston again.

The stock chute is a PML 30" with spill hole. Drifting isn't too bad and the descent rate is fairly quick. According to PML's parachute FAQ, the Phobos it towards the heavy end of recommended weights for their 30" chute, which explains my quick descents. And it's a good thing that I launch at sites where it's all but guaranteed a soft, grassy landing! However, if I were launching at a site with hard surfaces, I wouldn't think twice to swap it out for a larger chute. The kit is durable and would probably sustain a reasonable impact with very little if any damage though thanks to the high quality parts in the kit.

Flight Rating: 5 out of 5

Summary:

With the 38mm MMT, I have a wide range of 29mm & 38mm motors to chose from since the Phobos will fly on as little as a G, really performs with an H, and probably can wish it good-bye on an I. (According to RockSim, a Phobos with phenolic tubing & fiberglassed could break Mach on as little as a I435T.) Despite that flexibility of motor choices and the nearly perfect results I've had, in hindsight I don't know if I would recommend it as a good kit to cert Level 1 on. I would instead recommend a kit with a larger diameter so that the cert flight would be "slow and low". After you get that certification though, you sure could let 'er rip with the Phobos!

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5


Rating
(Contributed - by Aaron Stanley [Who's Who Page] - 04/20/05) Phobos

Brief:
The Public Missiles, Ltd. Phobos is one of the great, easy to build mid and high power rockets out there you can buy. This rocket can be launched on any where from a F40 all the way up to a J570 if you get it with the 38mm motor mount. This is probably the best rocket to use for your Level 1 cert attempt, which I used it for. The only down side to this kit is you have to clean out the main airframe after every two flights due to the ejection charge.

Construction:
The Phobos kit contains all the parts necessary to build a flying mid/high power rocket:

  • 1 pre-slotted main airframe
  • 1 payload airframe
  • 1 airframe coupler tube
  • 1 coupler bulkplate
  • 1 coupler hardware set, consisting of:
  • 1 Eyebolt
  • 1 Washer
  • 2 Nuts
  • 1 nose cone
  • 3 G10 fins
  • 1 piston ejection kit, consisting of:
  • 1 piston tube
  • 1 slotted bulkplate
  • 1 piston strap
  • 1 D-ring
  • 1 parachute
  • 1 motor mount tube
  • 1 airframe to MMT centering ring
  • 1 notched airframe to MMT centering ring
  • 1 shock cord
  • 2 launch lugs
  • 1 decal sheet
  • 1 instruction sheet

The construction of this rocket went together like any other high power rocket. The only problem I ran into was trying to get the strap for the piston ejection system through the notched centering ring.

Finishing:
The finish was super easy. Just sand it and paint it.

Construction Rating: 5 out of 5

Phobos FlightFlight:
First flight was on a F40-4W. It was a perfect flight to about 300 feet except the motor casing kicked. (I did find the motor.)

Second flight was successful on a H165R-M for my NAR Level 1 certification.

Third flight was with a G64-7W. Yet another perfect flight and perfect recovery except it hit a person's truck and broke a fin off.

The fourth flight was a H180W-M. WOW! Out of sight! I almost lost it but I was able to regain sight of it as it came back down on with a tangled parachute. It landed hard but with no damage.

Recovery:
The recoveries are good but a little too fast for my liking. The only thing I would change about the recovery is up grade to a 48 inch parachute instead of a 36 inch parachute.

Flight Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Summary:
The main PROs of this kit are:

  • Easy to build
  • Easy to finish
  • Great for flying on G and H motors

The cons are:

  • Hard to put the piston strap through the notched centering ring
  • Falls to fast with a 36 inch parachute

Overall Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
10/03 - "PML Phobos is an EXCELLENT first HPR although I wouldn't necessarily recommend it for a Level 1 certification flight. Design is comfortably over-stable but the smallish diameter allows for a LOT of altitude when used with a Pro38 H153 (be prepared for long recovery walks with one too). The Quantum Tubing is a cinch to finish--no spirals--& is very tolerant of early/late ejections, meaning little chance of zippering. I would recommend a larger chute than the 30 incher that comes with the kit if you are launching anywhere but a soft, grassy location...it comes down quick. Also with the 38mm MMT, only choices for motor retention on the Phobos are masking tape (cheap & sometimes unreliable) or a Slimline/Aero Pack retainer (expensive & overkill) because of the narrow centering rings." (L.A.)

GUEST's OPINION:
10/00 - "Great first HPR. Easy to assemble. Be sure if you order the 38mm upgrade (comes 29mm standard) That the fins sent are for the 38mm and not the 29mm." (R.D.)

GUEST's OPINION:
06/00 - "This was my first high power rocket and I thought it was great. The parts fit together easily and the instructions were easy to follow. I have since flown it many times. The motors I have used are G40-4, G80-7, H70-10 (for level one cert.), several H180-10, and one super long burn H45 (38mm). This rocket is nearly indestructible because of the Quantum tubes and G-10 fins. It has landed on concrete with just minor scratches. In addition, it had a G80 CATO at lift off and I just had to replace the 38/29 motor adapter. There are a few things I wish I would have done during the building of this rocket: extended motor mount, Kevlar recovery straps, an additional bulkhead on the piston (so its not as likely to zipper), and the Aeropack motor retainer. With those few mods I believe that this rocket would last forever barring some error in deployment. The review was very accurate." (K.B.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
"" (x.x.)

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
06-21-2003 Lance Alligood AT SU G40-7 Very Late 5-10 mph winds - Sweet flight on the G40. 7 sec delay was a good 3 sec TOO LONG. Now I know that it works, I plan on using it in the next month or two for my Level 1 cert.
08-16-2003 Lance Alligood AT EconoJet G35-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Straight as an arrow flight up despite the wind. 4sec delay was perfect. Descended quickly but safely, landing within 500ft from pad.
10-18-2003 Lance Alligood Ces RLD H153-10 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - My L1 cert flight. Weathercocked into the wind but like the Energizer Bunny, it just kept going & going up. IMPRESSIVE alitude. Barely visible at apogee & drifted safely to the ground ~1/4 mile from pad. Cert Flight: L1
01-17-2004 Lance Alligood Ces RLD H153-10 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - RIPPED off the pad! Even with the wind, it got way up there :) What a great motor for this rocket!! Recovery was ~200yds away. Not bad considering the wind...
02-21-2004 Lance Alligood AT EconoJet G35-4 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - Excellent flight however ejection was closer to 3 seconds causing the airframe to run into payload section & dinged BT pretty badly. Close recovery was nice though!
06-19-2004 Lance Alligood AT RMS G64-7 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - My very 1st RMS launch! Test flight for my new rocket beeper too. Everything went flawlessly. Excellent rocket-motor combo.
10-16-2004 Lance Alligood AT RMS G64-7 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Zipped off the pad for a sweet flight. Recovered only 100ft from the pad. Can't beat the Phobos!
11-14-2004 Lance Alligood AT RMS G64-4 Just Before 10+ mph winds - Very windy out today but I was determined to launch something. Shortened the delay on a G64-7W but shortened it a little too much. Still on the way up when it ejected. No damage & recovered close considering the winds!
11-20-2004 Lance Alligood AT RMS H180-M Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Screamed off the pad. Very similar to previous flights on Pro38 H153. Nose cone came off & was lost. Recovered without damage otherwise. Fun!
03-19-2005 Lance Alligood AT RMS H123-M Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Excellent way to start the day. It ripped off the pad for an amazingly vertical flight. Recovered within 200ft of pad. Awesome!
03-19-2005 Lance Alligood AT RMS H123-M Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - How do you celebrate 10 flights? By launching it an eleventh time :) Another impressive flight. Recovered even closer to the pad than its flight from earlier in the day. Sweet!
08-13-2005 Lance Alligood AT RMS G61-S Very Early 0-5 mph winds - Boost was very similar to G64W (29/40-120) flights. Short delay was VERY short--much closer to 3 seconds than 6. Rocket was still climbing but because of the low total impulse, there was little more than some scratches.
03-18-2006 Lance Alligood Loki RLD H144-13 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Fantastic rocket-motor combination! Lots of altitude but I had it angled well off the pad so it came back close.
04-15-2006 Lance Alligood Loki RLD I124-12 Apogee - NC Up
(5401 ft)
0-5 mph winds - Mounted an altimeter and put her into orbit. With only motor ejection, it took a looooooooong time to come down. Grazed a powerline ~250yds from the pad on the way down, but didn't get caught in it. New personal best altitude!
03-17-2007 Lance Alligood AT RMS G64-7 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - The Phobos boosted slightly into the wind & recovered quickly with minimal drift landing about 100yds past the pad. This is a great rocket-motor combination for those windy days!
06-16-2007 Lance Alligood AT RMS H210-M Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Great boost off the pad but didn't weathercock as much as I thought it would. That meant a recovery that drifted dangerously close to the canal on west side of the field.
10-07-2001 Spanky Bear AT RMS I284-L Didn't See 5-10 mph winds spankybear - WOW what a flight!!!
03-25-2000 Kirk Beaumont AT SU G80-10 None - CATO 0-5 mph winds - CATO. . . shattered the 38/29 motor adapter. . . no other damage!
03-25-2000 Kirk Beaumont AT SU G80-10 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - I didnt know what time deley to select. Quantum tube prevented zipper.
03-25-2000 Kirk Beaumont AT SU G80-10 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - Same as above. . . I bought three of these motors
04-02-2000 Kirk Beaumont AT SU G80-7 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - Ditto
04-02-2000 Kirk Beaumont AT SU G80-7 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Chased this one a bit in the wind. . but it was perfect deployment
04-02-2000 Kirk Beaumont AT SU G80-7 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - ditto
05-13-2000 Kirk Beaumont AT SU H55-10 Didn't See 10+ mph winds - Level 1 cert. . . It was windy so there was some weathercocking. Found about 1/2 mile away. No damage. Cert Flight: L1
06-17-2000 Kirk Beaumont AT RMS H180-10 Didn't See Calm - Perfect flight as far as I could tell. Screamed right off the pad and then landed about 100 feet away.
06-17-2000 Kirk Beaumont AT SU G80-7 Very Late
(1000 ft)
Calm - This flight I thought the rocket was a goner! The motor sputtered on the pad and then took off about to about 1000 ft and the chute deployed at about 100 feet. Whew! Mild zipper in piston.
06-09-2001 Joe Cacciatore AT RMS F52-5 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds - This rocket flys great on an F52. Lost sight in the sun. I asked bystander if he saw it and said yes, it was already on the ground! COmes down fast but safely with stock chute.
08-05-2001 Joe Cacciatore AT RMS G64-7 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Event: NARAM-43
- Great flight with this rocket. Landed close.
11-03-2001 Joe Cacciatore AT RMS F40-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds - Rocket was a little bit under powered in this wind but was stable and flew OK. Landed a little ways away because of wind.
04-21-2002 Joe Cacciatore AT RMS F52-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds - Last flight of the day at CTRA. Considering winds lands real close. The F52 is a good small field engine for the Phobos. Stock chute is good too for preventing long drifts.
06-01-2002 Joe Cacciatore AT RMS G64-7 Apogee - NC Down 10+ mph winds - Nice flight with a G64-7 in winds. Spill hole in chute really helps this rocket to get down fast without a lot of drift.
10-06-2002 Joe Cacciatore AT RMS H128-S Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight on an H128. Lands in next field over missing a canal and trees.
11-03-2002 Joe Cacciatore AT RMS G64-7 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - The seven second delay of the G64 was perfect for this rocket today, lands close.
10-05-2003 Joe Cacciatore AT RMS G64-7 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Nice flight with winds, lands AOK not far from the pads.
05-08-2004 Joe Cacciatore AT RMS G64-7 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Nice flight on G64-7.
07-17-2004 Joe Cacciatore AT RMS G64-4 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Great flight on G64. Another rocket lands right on top of it!
07-17-2004 Joe Cacciatore AT RMS G64-4 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - Delay on this motor was very short and ejected while the rocket was still going up and then it drifts over trees and canal and lands at the edge of a road.
08-07-2004 Joe Cacciatore AT RMS H238-M Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Good flight on an H238-M
06-18-2005 Joe Cacciatore AT RMS G64-4 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Event: NERF
- Nice flight on G64, lands in dirt not too far from pad.
08-01-2009 Lloyd Chumbley AMW RMS H280SK Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Hellfire 14
Shobo - PFND on the skid.
08-01-2009 Lloyd Chumbley AMW RMS J420 None - Unknown
(4955 ft)
0-5 mph winds RIPEvent: Hellfire 14
Shobo - Shredded the rocket at 4955 ABG while still under power. Completely destroyed but recovered all of rocket minus two fins. Status: Not Repairable
10-10-2009 Matt Gillard AT RMS H123-M Just Before 5-10 mph winds Event: October Sky / Twycross 2
- Great flight, used a 30 inch chute which gave me a long walk. Cert Flight: L1
09-15-2000 Mik Ishmael AT RMS I435-L Apogee - Perfect
(5000 ft)
Light winds - Acceleration 34.7G, 1105 feet/sec, 5000 feet at apogee. Both launch lugs, area 3 inches behind nose cone, and reflective tape behind payload joint were obliterated at Q(max). So much for iron on coverings, and launch lugs. Use rail buttons instead.
09-10-2000 Brian Kain AT RMS H123-10 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Fun kit to build and fly. I recommend shortening the span of the fins by an inch. It was overstable with the H-123.
01-20-2005 Doug Knight AT RMS H128-M Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Very fast liftoff. Arced over slightly before parachute ejection. No damage. Level 1 certification flight.
01-20-2005 Doug Knight AT SU G80-7 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Nice engine for a small field with this rocket. Straight up flight. A fin popped off upon landing but was easily fixed.
05-14-2005 Alex Kowaleski AT RMS H128-L Just Past (1-2sec) Light winds - Excellent flight on an H128 reload for my Jr. level one certification. The ejection was somewhat after apogee, which was good, because the rocket drifted toward many trees, but was recovered Cert Flight: L1
11-20-2004 Thad Loar AT RMS J570-14 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds RIP pmlkid - well i think it was TOO MUCH MOTOR..she did fine for about oh 2,000 feet,, rocket went one way motor went the other motor went about 200 more feet. found the nose cone parts of the body.... Status: Not Repairable
08-06-2005 Mark Lockwood Loki RLD I405-L None - Unknown Calm - Predicted alt was 6500ft. Only broke 2 fins and a motor nozzle when it fell from that height.
08-28-2005 Mark Lockwood Loki RLD J528-L Didn't See Calm - Rocksim said 7800 ft and 1.25 Mach. Used 20 ft caution tape for streamer recovery. Landed without a scratch.
08-28-2005 Mark Lockwood Loki RLD J528-L Didn't See Calm - Rocksim said 7800 ft and Mach 1.2 and rocket was recovered without a scratch.
06-06-2004 Bret Packard AT RMS H128-M Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Bear Creek Lake Park. Awesome flight. Cocked slightly into the wind at take off. Perfect deployment. Long walk for retrieve due to winds, but worth it for L1 Cert. Barely a scratch upon recovery. Cert Flight: L1
05-26-2003 Samuel Rodriguez AT SU G40-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Rocket shot from the pad. Reached an altitude of 1200' Chute popped at apogee. Comes down fast. Landed at an angle. Broke one fin from body. Great flight. Rocket is ready to go again.
06-07-2003 Samuel Rodriguez AT SU G80-4 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - What a sweet rocket to launch. Rocket screamed from the pad. Chute deployed perfect. Rocket landed 150 feet away. No damage. Roc Lake...Here we come!
06-28-2003 Samuel Rodriguez AT SU H125-14 Very Late 5-10 mph winds Patriot 343 - Roc Lake launch. Rocket had a perfect launch. VERY fast! Chute popped very late. Used a 14 sec delay. Perfect landing. No damage. Damaged MMT trying to extract motor. All fixed and flight ready!
05-21-2006 Ben Sandoval Ces RLD H153-13 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: Dairy Aire
Lost and Found - Everything was perfect, couldn' have went better. A big Thanks to Andy of What's Up Hobbies for being a dedicated vendor with helpful insight.
06-18-2006 Ben Sandoval Ces RLD H565-Altim Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Lost and Found - Chute hung came down flat with only dirt on a fins. If flying this motor your fins better be on tight. Thanks What's Up Hobbies (Andy), what a motor. A must use motor at least once, real power almost all at once.
03-21-2010 Malcolm Smith AMW RMS G185-9 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Another fast flight with neck snapping boost. Ejection at apogee with a good, short walk, recovery. No damage. I want to use this motor in more rockets, everybody turns around to watch.
04-15-2000 Geoff Stanford AT RMS H128-M Very Late 5-10 mph winds Ol' Reliable - This was my successful level 1 cert flight. However, the parachute looked like it didn't deploy at apogee, but rather was pulled out by the payload bay as it was flapping through the air. I had borrowed a loose fitting 38/29mm motor adapter and the Dr. Rocket casing was a loose fit in the adapter. I think the ejection charge leaked out the back. Cert Flight: L1
06-18-2000 Geoff Stanford AT RMS G64-4 Very Early 5-10 mph winds Ol' Reliable - After I lost my PML Callisto on a recommended motor/delay combination (F40-7W), I decided to use the 4 second delay on the G64. I learned later, however, that 4 seconds is not a long enough delay with this motor in this rocket.
07-15-2000 Geoff Stanford AT RMS G64-4 Very Early 0-5 mph winds Ol' Reliable - Again, did not know this was too short of a delay. In all instances of using this motor/delay combo, I could not see ejection due to losing it for a few seconds in the sun, so I could not see the early ejection.
08-19-2000 Geoff Stanford AT RMS G64-4 Just Before 5-10 mph winds Ol' Reliable - In higher winds, it seems a 4 second delay is adequate, but not on calm days. Unfortunately, this time it blew into some trees (grrr!). However, this were wimpy trees that you can shake a bit and I managed to shake it down.
09-16-2000 Geoff Stanford AT RMS F52-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Ol' Reliable - Believe it or not, the Phobos will fly on this motor, and mine is heavier than stock (around 35 oz). I use a healthy amount of adhesive. I'm not trying to set altitude records, I just want it to last a while.
10-21-2000 Geoff Stanford AT RMS G64-4 Very Early 0-5 mph winds Ol' Reliable - This is where I learned the short delay for the G64 is NOT good for this rocket. This time the sun was at my back and I could see the early ejection and hear the payload section smack the upper body tube. This cracked the top two inches of the model, so I had to shorten it by that amount. It still flies great, though.
02-17-2001 Geoff Stanford AT RMS G64-7 Apogee - Perfect Calm Ol' Reliable - This was a picture perfect flight. It tipped over at apogee and the parachute deployed and brought it back safely.
05-19-2001 Geoff Stanford AT RMS G75-M Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Orange Crush - Picture perfect flight at Dairy Aire 2001. Landed right in front of the HPR pads on the other side. How's that for spot landing?
06-02-2001 Geoff Stanford AT RMS G64-7 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Orange Crush - Another perfect flight for this rocket. Landed across a fence, however. No damage.
01-04-1989 Aaron Stanley AT RMS F40-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: L.U.N.A.R. Monthly Sport Launch
- Perfect flight for an F40-4 in kind of a big rocket. It's a little under powdered. PML needs to get there numbers right they said it would go to 700 feet it only went to about 300 feet.
02-05-2005 Aaron Stanley AT RMS F40-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: L.U.N.A.R. Monthly Sport Launch
- Perfect flight for an F40-4 in kind of a big rocket. It's a little under powdered. PML needs to get there numbers right they said it would go to 700 feet it only went to about 300 feet.
02-05-2005 Aaron Stanley AT RMS H165-10 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds Event: L.U.N.A.R. Monthly Sport Launch
- Perfect Flight. Went to about 2000 feet I'm guessing. This rocket is probably the best rocket for level 1.
03-05-2005 Aaron Stanley AT RMS G64-7 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: L.U.N.A.R.'s monthly sport launch @ Snow Ranch
- Perfect flight and perfect recovery except it hit someones truck and broke the fin off the same fin that broke off last time.
04-02-2005 Aaron Stanley AT RMS H180-M Didn't See 0-5 mph winds Event: L.U.N.A.R. @ Snow Ranch
- Great out of sight flight. The parachute didnt full open and the rocket almost lands in a tree. Amazing the rocket only land about 1/8th of a mile away from pad consering it went up about 3000-3500 feet up.
05-07-2005 Aaron Stanley AT RMS H210-10 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: L.U.N.A.R. @ Snow Ranch
- WOW THIS IS ANOTHER AWESOME MOTOR FOR THIS ROCKET! IT WENT TO ABOUT 3000 FEET AND LANDED ABOUT 1/4 MILE AWAY.
08-05-2005 Aaron Stanley AT RMS G75-M Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: Aeronauts 2005
- It was great flight the ejection charge fired right at apogee and then started to drift and landed about a 1/2 mile down range but I was able to get ride back to the flight line.
08-06-2005 Aaron Stanley AT RMS H128-M Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Aeronauts 2005
- Yet another great flight for my Phobos. Expect for when I recovered my Phobos it was all burnt on one side from the back blast of the motor and one fin had come loose.
09-25-2005 Aaron Stanley AT RMS H97-M Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds Event: XPRS IV 2005
- Perfect boost off the pad. Got to Apogee and started arching over and started to come back down and then about 2 seconds later finally the ejction charge fired.
09-25-2005 Aaron Stanley AT RMS G64-7 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds Event: XPRS IV 2005
- Great flight. The ejction was a little late but the Flight was still great.
09-24-2006 Aaron Stanley AT RMS H148-10 Apogee - NC Down Calm Event: XPRS V 06
- Perfect first flight for my new Phobos.
08-04-2007 Aaron Stanley AT RMS G64-6 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds Event: Aeronauts 07
- Perfect flight
09-18-2009 Aaron Stanley AT SU G77-7 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: XPRS 2009
-
05-15-2010 Aaron Stanley AT SU G75M-7 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Dairy Aire 2010
-
08-06-2010 Aaron Stanley AT RMS H150 Metal Storm Dark Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: Aeronaut 2010
- Great flight.
08-08-2010 Aaron Stanley AT RMS H170M Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: Aeronaut 2010
-
08-08-2010 Aaron Stanley AT RMS H150 Metal Storm Dark Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: Aeronaut 2010
-
12-03-2005 Aaron Stanley AT RMS H128-M Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds RIPEvent: L.U.N.A.R. @ Snow Ranch
- Went up perfect, straight, and deployed the chute a little late. We tracked it all the way down untill we lost sight of behind a hill and we thought we knew where it land but its lost and my RMS. :-( Status: Lost
05-10-2008 Gary Tortora AT RMS G61-10 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Great flight
05-10-2008 Gary Tortora AT RMS G67-10 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Another Great flight
   

Please Help Make Us Better!   

•  Copyright © 2019  •   EMRR   •   Legal/Privacy   •   Disclaimer   •