There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Thu Jan 13 02:36:32 2011

Semroc
Hydra VII
Box 1271
Knightdale, NC 27545
(919) 266-1977
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 30.5" x 1.64" - 5.2 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: Right Click to Download
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: (1x) C6-3, (3x) C6-5, (7x) C6-7

Rating(08/09/08) The Hydra VII is my second Semroc kit. My first one, Lil' Hercules, never got reviewed by me and only saw one flight as it vanished from the pad. My second impression of Semroc, which confirms my first, is that they run a very professional company.

From 1969 to 1971, "Semroc produced a full line of rocket kits and engines. At its peak, Semroc had twenty-five full time employees working at two facilities." 31 years later, Semroc is back with updated kits. I say, welcome back... and when will those engines be produced again?

Anyhow, back to the Hydra VII. One has to say "wow" when this small package is opened up and explored. There are a lot of parts packed in this plastic bag. The rocket that is assembled from all these parts equally deserves a "wow".

There are simply too many parts to list, however, some key parts includes solid balsa nose cones and tube coupler. The fins are laser cut 1/8" balsa. The body tubes are standard tubing. For more details, follow along.

CONSTRUCTION:

Parts PictureThe instructions are printed on the front and back of six pages of 8½ x 11" paper. These are neatly attached and assembled into an instruction booklet with a cardstock cover. The instructions are full of excellent illustrations. Top quality and possibly even better than color photos. There is a tube marking (2D) template, finishing, and set/flying instructions included in the booklet. As I stated, very professional from the front color illustration and product specs to the last page listing the NAR Model Rocket Safety Code.

The build of the Hydra is typical of other rockets, however, there are some highlights that should be pointed out.

The laser-cut fins are awesome. And, interestingly these are worked on first. They are sanded and sealed right away. This is an important step, because once this bird is assembled you would not be able to reach all the fins to give them a nice finish.

Next, all the motor tubes are glued together to form a 7-motor cluster. A central 18mm tube, surrounded by six outer 18mm tubes. These motor tubes make up the the lower 1/3rd of the rocket. They also form the inner structure of this portion of the rocket.

Next, the six long fins are glued into the joints of the six outer 18mm motor tubes. These are the inner fins, the ones you will be glad you pre-sealed and sanded!

Next, the outer ring is marked and then attached to the six inner fins. I had to do just a tad bit of sanding on them to allow the tube to slide over the fins nicely.

The six outer motor tubes are then plugged using a laser-cut fiberboard disc that is glued to an 18mm thrust ring. These are then glued into the bottom of the six outer tubes by using a provided "Engine Spacing Tube" to ensure they are all even. There is a note highlighted in the instructions here. It says, "Some builders prefer to leave more engine mounts open to increase the odds that in case all engines do not ignite, there is a backup." Did I? Nope, so lets see what happens. Frank Whitby did according to his review below.

The central 18mm thrust ring, gets a Kevlar shock tether tied to it, prior to being placed in the tube.

For the above two steps Semroc included a glue applicator (Q-Tip™) and a "Engine Spacing Tube" as tools. This again highlights Semroc's thoroughness (professionalism).

Nose conesWhat I found to be the most difficult part of the build is next. First, the 3 small balsa nose cones need to be cut in half and then sanded on a piece of sandpaper attached to the large body tube. This allows for a good formation of the balsa nose cone halves. These are then placed into the six outer motor tubes. The main body tube should slide down inside the circle formed by the six nose cone halves. I had to make several attempts, sanding more on the nose cone halves each time. When the fit was good, everything was glued into place.

Now come the 15 fins! First the three main fins are glued in place. I made a mistake here and had to cut two of them back off. To avoid the mistake I made, pay close attention to the marking of the out tube instructions. After the three main fins are in place, then four smaller fins are glued in-between each of the main fins. Yep, a total of 21 fins are on this rocket when complete with this step.

The rest of construction is quick. An elastic shock cord is attached to the Kevlar. Two 12" parachutes are attached to this shock cord. An eye-screw is added to the bulkhead (coupler) and then it is glued in place to the upper body tube. To this another elastic shockcord and another 12" parachute is added. The nose cone is then added. I glued mine in place, even though it is designed to be a payloader.

I have to admit that I had a lot of trouble finishing this rocket. I used my typical method with Plasti-Kote Primer and worked it quite a bit. Even after that though, I still had grain showing in those hard to reach spaces between the fins and the balsa nose cone halves on the top of the motor tubes.

The rocket then sat for a long, long time. I finally got motivated to put some paint on it for NERRF4 and was determined to fly it. Well, the paint reacted and didn't look so good. Oh, well, I was still determined to fly it.

Overall, for CONSTRUCTION I would rate this kit 5 points. The instructions are descriptive and easy to follow. Laser-cut fins and the decals really add to the quality of the kit. Again, the most difficult part of the rocket is the finishing portion.

Lift-OffFLIGHT/RECOVERY:

Unfortunately, the rocket didn't get put in the air at NERRF4 so I shipped it to Virginia to be flown at NARAM50.

I decided to fly it for the first time 6x C6-0's and a C6-7 in the central motor. I used Estes ignitors and wired them all together with some copper wire. I then taped each wire joint.

The cluster launch was exciting and it is always nice to see the extra smoke and flame. People were saying, "I saw at least 4 light" and "I think they all lite". That is the case, you know, you never know until your recover the rocket.

Recovery?! Well, the upper section drifted and drifted and while I kept looking back and forth I was comfortable that I saw where the lower section landed (on the two chutes). The upper section though went way out of the field. I made one sweeping attempt in the very over grown section of swampy weeds and then said to myself, "oh, well." As the old saying goes, "If you don't want to lose it, don't fly it."

With that I doubled back and tried to go where the lower section landed. To my surprise I did not find it either. Later in the day, someone pointed out where it was. I went in after it and received two good scraps across the shin from thorny weeds and my Hydra VII lower section.

So, you must be wondering, "how many motor lite?" The answer is six. The most important one, the central motor and 5 of the C6-0's. Interestingly, all the C6-0's that lite pushed themselves out of the motor tubes and disappeared. No sure that is a good thing.

For FLIGHT/RECOVERY, I would rate this rocket 3 points. It is a complex looking rocket, however, if flown with a single motor it is very easy to set up. As a cluster, I'm concerned about the kicking motors and that should be addressed. I see from other's experiences that most like the flight of the rocket and I have to admit it brings a level of excitement to the model rocketry flying field. I decided to give it "average" which is a good rating due to the complexity of the cluster set up and no motor hooks.

I give the rocket an OVERALL rating of 4 points. If you are looking for a nice project and one that you could do a great job finishing, then the Hydra VII is the rocket for you. It has excellent quality of parts and instructions. Take your time though and think out your finishing plans. You may choose to finish some fins before gluing them in place. Semroc does put out quality kits.


Rating
(by David Hash - 04/16/04)

Semroc Hydra 7Brief:
The Hydra 7 is a currently the "newest" kit by Semroc Astronautics (originally released in 1969 and re-released on January 1st, 2004). The rocket is based around six 18mm motor tubes and is a great clustered, high altitude payloader, and retails for $23. The rocket can fly on anything from 1 C6-3 to 3 C6-5s to 7 C6-7s. With its largest motor setup (7 C6's) it is supposed to reach 1700'. For recovery it splits into two sections, the payload comes down under one 12" parachute, and the booster on two 12" parachutes.

Construction:
All parts came packaged in a large plastic bag, with the smaller ones being inside their own small bag. All parts were in excellent condition and all present.

Parts List:

  • 2 Body Tubes 1.69"
  • 7 Body Tubes 0.79"
  • 1 Body Tube 3.63"
  • 1 Nose Cone 1.631"
  • 3 Nose Cones 0.714"
  • 4 Laser Cut fin sheets
  • 1 Balsa Tube Coupler for 1.69" Tube
  • 1 Launch Lug 1/8"
  • 1 Screw eye
  • 2 Elastic Shock cords
  • 1 Kevlar Shock cord
  • 3 Parachutes 12"
  • 3 Sets of shroud lines
  • 1 Wooden dowel 3/16"
  • 7 Thrust rings
  • 6 Plugs for thrust rings
  • 1 Decal Sheet
  • 1 Engine spacing tube
  • 1 Q-Tip for glue application

Construction starts with sealing the fins, because there are so many it would be hard to reach them after the rocket is finished. I used about 3 coats (on each side) of some type of spray-on sealer, although I'm not sure what brand it is. Next, you glue together the 7 motor tubes in a six-point star pattern. From here, you attach the 6 shroud support fins in between the joints of the motor tubes (LOC Viper style). Then you glue on the shroud and put in the motor blocks. The six outside blocks are plugged with cardboard disks, and the central one is left open for the ejection charge to go through. The next step is where the rocket begins to get its unique appearance. From the outside, the nosecones in the kit appear to go halfway through the body tube. However, instead of cutting the body tube, you are supplied with 3 nose cones. You have to cut each one in half and then sand the curvature of the 1.6" tube into the side of them so they conform to the body tube. I thought this step would be the trickiest of them all, however, it was quite easy. First I cut the Nosecones in half with a microsaw, then I used a drum out of a drum sander to sand down the curve on the nosecones. Once you get that done, you test fit them into the booster tubes and slide the Main body tube down onto them. You are supposed to re-sand if necessary but I didn't have to. The next few steps involve gluing on the fins, which I'm sure everyone here knows how to do just fine. The only little catch with the fins is that...there are 21 of them! (And thank goodness they were all laser-cut!) After that is done, you assemble the payload section (glue in coupler and screw eye), and the other little things you do at the end like fillets, launch lug, etc. Construction was pretty fun, and I liked the way that everything fit almost perfectly.

Picture courtesy of SemRoc        
Rocket Pic

Finishing:
For finishing, I first sprayed the entire rocket with white primer. I then touched up rough spots with sanding and putty until when I primed it everything was smooth and filled in (spiral, balsa grain, fillets, etc.). I then sprayed the entire rocket with white gloss Krylon paint. When that was dry, I sprayed the payload tube and nose cone Krylon gloss blue. After that was dry, I applied 4 of the many decals the rocket comes with.

Construction Rating: 5 out of 5

Flight:
At long last, I finally got to fly it! Last month's launch was cancelled due to snow, so I had been waiting anxiously for this month.

First flight was with only one C6-3 just to test things out. Worked nicely, with a slow, majestic ascent.

Second flight was with seven C6-7s.

First attempt: Wired up 7 high current igniters to the motor and twisted the wires together. 5-4-3-2-1-Lauch...nothing. Too little current coming from the launch controller.

Second attempt: Same igniters and setup, but used leads from the high-powered pads. Still no go.

Third attempt: Took out 3 motors to have a 4 motor cluster. Used leads from high-powered pads. 5-4-3-2-1-Launch...Smoke...nothing. Igniters in all 4 motors burned but not the motors. The igniter plugs seemed to have insulated some of the current because only the lower-most part of the igniter had burned and the pyrogen was still intact on the upper portion--the motor touching portion.

Fourth attempt: Used a clip whip (Thanks to Dave Morey for supplying it) to wire up 7 Estes igniters. 5-4-3-2-1-Launch....Smoke....FIRE!!! The rocket roared up into the sky with the full fury of 7 C6 motors burning in the rear. After about 3 seconds, with the rocket barely in sight, POP! POP! POP! POP! POP! POP! As the 6 outboard motors were ejected. The central motor ejected the parachutes and it drifted about 1/2 mile downwind. Post-flight inspection showed that all motors had apparently burned, because all of the motors ejected.

PROs: Full cluster ignition is incredible to watch. Attracts a lot of attention on the pad.

CONs: Hard to light all motors, especially with high-current igniters. The only igniters I found that would work are Estes Solars, but for those you need a clip whip because the wires aren't long enough to twist together.

Recovery:
First Flight (1x C6-3): Loosened one fin on impact, but that was my fault, because I only attached one of the parachutes to the booster section. Fin was easily fixed with some CA glue and accelerator.

Second Flight (7x C6-7): If you ever fly this rocket on the full load-out of motors, you may want to consider tying the two sections together or installing a micro dual-deployment device because this rocket DRIFTS! I had to walk about 1/2 mile for the booster and then the payload was another 1/2 mile past that. Whew! I'm glad I didn't put the two parachutes on the booster for that flight! Anyway, the same fin loosened again at the fillet, but that can still be repaired.

PROS: Recovery device is well made and anchored well. Provides an okay decent rate.

CONS: Drifts very far even without one of the three parachutes.

Flight Rating: 4 out of 5

Summary:
Overall, I really enjoyed this rocket in building and flying. The only thing that needs a little work is the recovery system. If you buy it you will not regret it and you will have a lot of fun with it. Currently this is my favorite rocket out of a fleet of about 20.

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5


Rating
(Contributed - by Frank G. Whitby - 09/28/04) Semroc Hydra VII

Brief:
Semroc Hydra-VII is a 7 motor cluster rocket with a futuristic design.

Construction:
The kit included every part that was described in the long list. There is a very nice exploded view of the rocket in the instruction sheet that helps in identifying the wide array of parts, along with 3 sheets of very nice laser-cut balsa fins and a host of tubes and several nosecones. The kit comes with some plastic parachutes that require assembly. All of the hardware seemed to be complete and adequate. The step-by-step instructions are clearly illustrated and complete.

I built the rocket according to instructions, using all shock cord, screw eyes, etc. that came with it. The construction process involves assembly of the big, complicated-looking rear section consisting of a big ring fin (referred to in the instructions as an augmenter shroud) with a host of small radial fins both at the interior and exterior of this ring. The fins were very easy to deal with. The instructions suggested sanding them to size at a couple of appropriate points. The instructions suggest appropriate fin-alignment markings and alignment techniques, making the fin assembly straightforward throughout. The instructions suggested yellow glue for the fins. I used medium CA to securely tack all fins in place and then added very limited yellow glue fillets throughout. In many places I had difficulty adding fillets because my fingers are too big to fit into many of the narrow inner fin spaces.

The instructions begin with an extensive description of the assembly of the 7 parallel motor tubes. The description is I think overly laborious but is clear and does a good job of insuring that the foundation of the rocket is secure and correct. The interior fins are slotted between the 6 motor tubes that surround a central motor tube (all motors are 18mm). The big ring fin fit over the inner fins like a charm after sanding the edges of the inner fins a bit. I made this fit too tight at first during a dry fit, resulting in some obviously bent, overstressed inner fins. I removed the big ring and performed the aforementioned sanding of the inner fins resulting in a tight but gentle fit. When gluing the big ring in place, I pressed it aft, onto the table, making the rear edge of the ring flush with the aft end of the motor tubes. I then realized that this was not according to the design. I noticed that the rear edge of the inner fins sweep forward about half and inch. This fine point was not easily seen in the otherwise very detailed drawings in the instruction manual but is something that an experienced builder should have picked up on. The ring was meant to be installed so that its rear edge is flush with the rear edge of the inner fins, not the rear end of the motor tubes. I could not reverse this step, so I continued on, reasoning that this flaw would not be detrimental to flight and that the rocket would look nearly as intended. Addition of all exterior fins was quickly done with CA and went without a hitch.

Semroc Hydra VII

The 7 motor tubes all butt up forward to a large body tube. The 6 outer motor tubes each get half of a nose cone, creating the cool nubbly transition from the rear motor assembly to the single large body tube up front. The balsa nosecones must be cut in half and sanded to fit. I used my small belt sander to aid in this process and got a pretty good fit all around with the judicious addition of some masking tape here and there. I think that assembly of these nosecones pushes the skill level of this kit beyond the reach of a beginner but makes it suitable for someone wanting a significant challenge. Assembly of the long, beefy front tubes and nosecone is straightforward. The instructions suggest plugging all but the central motor tube. I left 3 additional tubes open to allow for motor ejection, in case all motors do not light. This needs to be considered carefully when preparing for flight.

During construction of the rocket, it occurred to me that finishing the rocket with anything close to the recommended color scheme was going to be extremely difficult due to the intricate nature of the rear assembly. I decided early on that I would have to dream up some simpler paint scheme especially since I don't like to spend much time painting my rockets. Masking off detailed areas of the rocket would obviously be very difficult. Sanding the details was going to be a challenge as well.

PROs: The instructions are detailed and well illustrated. The parts are all good quality, especially the fins.

CONs: I messed up the position of the augmenter shroud and the instructions might provide slightly more detail emphasizing the intended construction method here. In the end though, it was I who slipped up. Assembly of the plastic chutes is probably not worth the effort. I substituted some preassembled chutes that I had on hand.

Finishing:
By the time I completed construction, it occurred to me that I am not particularly enamored with futuristic design model rockets. I admitted to myself that I chose this kit because of the 7 motor cluster flying challenge, not because of the futuristic design. Thus, I decided that I would not go to the trouble of carefully sanding details and hand painting all of the fins according to the manufacturer's recommendations. I wanted to be able to mask off large areas and spray the rocket, thus I proceeded to mask off things in a generally concentric fashion and sprayed it red, black, and silver. I decided not to apply the decals since I did not count this paint job among my best. If my son decides to repaint it, he can apply the decals at that time. My enthusiasm for the rocket was flagging considerably as I imagined the effort that it would take to do justice to the design with a perfect paint job.

PROs: The tubes and fins hold paint just fine and minimal sanding was required before I gave it a rather poor paint job.

CONs: I am not fond of the detailed painting required. If I were to redesign the instruction sheet for this rocket, I would suggest that all fins, tubes, and nosecones be painted before assembly. This would actually be very straightforward and would not interfere with assembly, providing even the most unenthusiastic painter the chance to finish the rocket in near-archetypal fashion.

Construction Rating: 3 ½ out of 5

Flight:
For the first flight, I used 4 C6-5 motors. Rocksim puts this at about 1200 feet. It think that might be a bit higher than it actually flew. All 4 motors ignited and the boost was straight and nice. The boost was a bit slower than I expected, which gave it just a little bit of a majestic look to the takeoff. All motors fired their ejection charges. The upper section recovered fine on a 12-inch ASP mylar chute (a bit too much chute for the upper part), but the lower part had troubles. The rocket came down like a perfect inbound missile and lawn darted rather badly. The 18-inch plastic chute that I had intended to recover the heavy lower section of the rocket was melted into a blob, hence the poor recovery. Perhaps I forgot to install recovery wadding? I just cannot remember... I did not notice any wadding fly out at deployment, but I also might not have been paying that much attention either. The main body tube is a complete loss, but all of the small nosecones and all parts aft of the transition appear to be in perfect condition, so I think that I can rebuild it fairly easily. I suspect that upon rebuilding this rocket will take on a new character and may get bashed into something unusual--requiring a new paint job, of course.

Recovery:
I installed the recovery system as suggested and I think that it is adequate.

PROs: Nice boost, very stable flight (even when coming down without the front section). Clusters are cool.

CONs: None, other than the problems I caused myself. Also, I would prefer to recover the rocket in a single piece rather than according to its current two-part design.

Flight Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Summary:
The Semroc Hydra-VII has the look of a complex, futuristic design rocket that flies with a 7-motor cluster (7 x 18mm) and recovers in 2 pieces. I purchased the rocket in order to experience the cluster flights and only during construction and finishing did I admit to myself that the futuristic rocket design does not hold a special place in my heart despite having grown up around a variety of such groundbreaking designs (like the Mars Snooper). I just do not recall having ever been drawn to the sci-fi aspect of model building. I am thus not a good judge of Semroc's entry into the retro design and clone arena. I think that they have done a very good job assembling a kit from quality parts and they have simplified the assembly of this complex kit. I have a couple of other kits from Semroc, but I will skip building their other futuristic design kit, the Laser-X, since I probably would not do it justice.

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
"" (x.x.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
05/08 - "After gluing together the Hydra’s seven motor mount tubes, I made a centering ring (basically it’s a 1.6” diameter ring with a .710” hole in the center) out of some scrap 1/8” thick basswood that I glued on top of the forward end of the motor mount. It served two important functions. First, it plugged the six small gaps between the motor tubes allowing the full force of the ejection charge to deploy the recovery system. Secondly, it made the shaping of the small nose cones that are mounted on top of the six outer motor tubes MUCH simpler by taking out any of the guess work in determining how thick they should be. I used an 18mm motor to center the ring on the inner motor tube. Then, after the glue had set, test fit the main body tube on the ring. This shows exactly how thick the cut nose cone should be and makes quick work of the shaping process. Also, it makes it impossible to have the main body tube “offset” from the centerline of the rocket just in case you accidentally make one nose cone thicker than an opposing one." (R.M. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
10/05 - "Instead of mounting the Kevlar shock cord directly to the thrust ring in the center tube, try drilling or punching a small hole in one of the plugged tubes thrust rings. This will take heat off of the bottom of the cord. Reinforce this with epoxy or epoxy clay though, because the hole will make it slightly weaker." (A.R. )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
02-06-2006 Donald Besaw Est SU C6-3 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - First flight, one C6-3 is not enough power for this rocket, arched almost immediately and the late ejection had me sweating bullets but the chute did deploy in time for a safe landing. No damage.
02-10-2006 Donald Besaw 3x Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Awesome flight, all three motors lit with no problems. Arrow straight boost to maybe 800 feet. Recovered perfectly on a single 18 inch chute, hardly any drift at all. No damage.
04-16-2006 Donald Besaw 4x Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Most excellent flight, all 4 motors lit perfectly. Very nice boost to maybe 1,000 feet. Recovered fairly close to pad. My first 4 motor cluster, couldn't have gone better. No damage.
07-05-2006 Donald Besaw 4x Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Great flight, all 4 motors lit with no problems, reached maybe 600-700 feet, not too bad for 4 B motors. Came down rather fast and cracked a fin on landing, already fixed. No other damage.
01-02-2007 Donald Besaw 4x Est SU C6-7 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - My first flight of 2007, yeah!!! Great flight, all motors lit, nice boost to maybe 1,000 feet. During descent, I noticed a fin flutering down. I did recover it and have reattached it. No other damage.
07-22-2009 Donald Besaw 5x Est SU C6-7 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Awesome flight, lit all 5 motors instantly. Nice straight boost to maybe 1,100 feet or so. Unfortunately the chute tangled making for a hard landing and popped one previously reglued fin. Nothing major.
08-01-2008 EMRR 1x Est SU C6-7 + 6x Est SU C6-0 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds RIPEvent: NARAM-50
- First flight after how many years? Well, it was a great lift-off but sorry to say I lost the upper section. Central and 5 of 6 C6-0's lite. Status: Lost
06-20-2004 Gary Goldenbaum 7x Est SU C6-7 Didn't See
(1131 ft)
0-5 mph winds - Carried Adept Alt05.5 oz read only altimeter
12-19-2009 Dave Goodwin 3x Est SU C6-7 None - Unknown Calm Event: St Albans, VT
- Maiden flight, so clustered only 3 engines. Center and 1 outboard ignited, which led to a nice ballistic arc. Rocket impacted before ejection, charge going off after it hit. Upper payload bay is toast, but booster is probably recoverable.
09-10-2004 Daniel Griswold Est SU C6-7 None - CATO 0-5 mph winds Event: JMRC-September
- Only two motors lit. No ejection charge. Medium fin damage.
08-13-2005 Daniel Griswold 7x Est SU C6-7 Apogee - NC Up Calm Event: JMRC-August
- Used flash-pan ignition. All seven motors lit. Tied Nose Cose to Rocket. One Piece recovery
08-13-2005 Daniel Griswold 7x Est SU C6-7 Very Late Calm Event: JMRC-August
- Used flash-pan ignition. Only lit 3 of 7 motors. Lower thrust led to late ejection. Shock cord burned just above kevlar. No damage caused by shock cord failure.
09-11-2005 Daniel Griswold 7x Est SU C6-7 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: JMRC-September
- Only one parachute opened. Fin broke at fillet. Easily repairable.
08-05-2006 Paul Kinzer 3x Est SU B6-4 + 4x Est SU B6-0 Didn't Record Calm Event: Sod Farm
- All 7 lit, great flight, ~800 ft
08-09-2008 Paul Kinzer 4x EST SU C6-0 + 3x EST SU A8-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: ECOF-2008
- A great combo of motors, longer burn time of the C6 boosters, but keeping the altitude around 1000 ft. while still enjoying a 7 motor liftoff. Broke 1 fin on landing, always does, already repaired.
04-09-2010 Dale Marshall 3x Est SU B6-0/1x Est SU C6-3 None - Parachute Fail
(unk ft)
0-5 mph winds Flight Picture - This is one of my favorites. Unfortunately I didn't get the friction-fit engines in there good enough and when the ejection charge went off the engine ejected - not the parachutes! Snapped two fins and crimped the body tube a little. Will fly again.
04-10-2010 Dale Marshall 3x Est SU B6-0/1x Est SU C6-3 None - Nose Cone Stuck
(300 ft)
5-10 mph winds RIPFlight PictureEvent: Alamo Rocketeers Monthly Launch
- The launch was kinda weird this time, and the parachutes didn't deploy. The rocket lawn-darted (strange for a tail-heavy rocket). The central engine with the ejection charge didn't light. Oops. Will be repaired. Status: Lawn Dart
10-10-2010 Dale Marshall Est SU B6-0 2x, Est SU C6-3 None - Parachute Fail Calm RIPFlight PictureEvent: Monthly Launch
- This is another great rocket from Semroc. Unfortunately this one had a bad day. Straight boost but the main parachute didn't eject and the main body core-sampled. The top part came down perfectly. Status: Core Sample
10-17-2010 Greg Rapp 3x Est SU C6-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Great flight, all motors lit and it flew straight and true all the way up - and all the way down. I neglected to plug the empty tubes. It bird is fixable tho so I hope to rectify my mistake on the next flight!
04-22-2006 Chan Stevens 3x Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Lit all 3.

Copyright © 2019 by RocketReviews.com