There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Sat Nov 27 00:02:23 2010

Quest
Micro Maxx Series
PO Box 2409
Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-2409
(970) 264-4050
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 3" x 0.25" - <1 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: MISSING - please submit here
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: Micro Maxx

(Contributed - by Chris Taylor)

Display Pic

Silo LauncherBrief:
These are the new Quest Micro Maxx Micro Mini (super tiny), adorably-cute, plastic RTF rockets. Here is a list of the 10 (I have flown all 10) MMaxx Rockets: Space Shuttle, SR-71, Saturn V, Tomahawk Cruise Missile, Space Fighter, U.F.O., and four other 3-Fin-&-Nose-Cone rockets.

Also included is the Quest Silo Launch system with In-Pad Ignitors and Puck Launch Controller.

Construction:
Packaging was very cool, impressive and protective of the contents. If Toys-R-Us would shelve them more prominently they would really stick out impressively. Nothing in any of the kits was was broken. All was in order and included.

One pain is that the ignitors mount onto the Launch Pad and then the rockets slide over this onto the rod. The problem comes with the fact that there are two possible hole positions for the rod to line up with the rockets. But this is not too difficult and easy to modify. You just yank the rod out and insert it into the other hole.

Another CON is the igniters. Although very reliable in my book, they can be a pain if the tip is too thick. If so, when you insert the motor it pinches the igniters leads together down lower, thereby, shorting out the igniter. I found the Saturn V fins are great for sticking in between the leads and then biting the tip of the igniter to bring it more into a point to allow it to easily slide into the engine hole.

Rocket PicFinishing:
The was no finishing work, however the finish was very cool especially of course the SR-71. The Saturn V, Tomahawk and Space Shuttle were also cool. The UFO, as always is awesome looking. They also seem unusually sturdy (hey there all plastic).

Construction Rating: 3 out of 5

Rocket PicFlight:
All of the rockets flew perfectly straight to about what I would guess to be around 50 feet (UFO about 15-20 feet). The 3FNC rockets near 60-70 feet and maybe a little higher. Now a problem with flight - these things are extremely sensitive to ANY wind - I took them up to my Grandmom's to show them off to the kids and they would ALL (except the UFO) boost fine but start tumbling toward end of flight before ejection. I got to thinking and launched the next one during a lull in the light wind and walla . . . a perfectly stable flight! So, if there is more than a tiny breeze these things may be hypersensitive to it. Although it was always at the end of the flight that I had trouble. So heed the warning in the instructions to fly in 5-7mph wind max. In fact I would stay under 5mph.

The looks of the Silo Launch Pad was fine. Surprisingly the base of the pad has stood up very well to the exhaust of 10 engine firings with no wear and only some wipeable crud.

Rocket PicRecovery:
Now to the fun part. Needless to say as most on RMR have already reported the recovery systems just plain stink. I have only had one piston rocket deploy at all, while all the others end in ejection of piston. Okay, but no streamer because it was either not fully out of tube or melted really bad to point sometimes of it falling off . Now the Space Fighter and Space Shuttle did not have quite as much trouble especially if I jammed a little wadding in there (NOT all the way to bottom just under streamer BUT even they melted a little. The only one with NO recovery problems was the . . . Drum Roll . . . UFO.

Flight Rating: 4 out of 5

Rocket PicSummary:
I gave a 4 for awesome, adorable, cute flights but not a 5 because of the lousy recovery system. If I could rate them separately I would give a 4 for flight (5 would better handling in wind) and a 1 for recovery. As far as survivability, it seems to be a little better than I thought. I have flown some of these 3 times each and so far they are still airworthy although I can see inside it starting to melt etc.. Only time will tell.

The Launch Controller is very cool and cute but the battery is pitiful. I was trying to launch (maybe 5th launch) and it would not launch no matter what I did. I would take rocket off and igniter would glow but would not light engine. Finally I got fed up ripped the wires out (literally) of the controller (I have 3 of them) and hooked up a set of jumper cables and touched the wires to it and walla instant ignition. I fired off 5 more engines with no problems. Needless to say I will be modifying the launch system.

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5


[NAR][Sport Rocketry]

The following excerpt is from "Sport Rocketry". The intention is to allow guests to get a basic feeling about a kit. We strongly suggest that you get a copy of the referenced Sport Rocketry and read the entire article. Inside you will find many helpful hints in construction as well as other useful information. For more information, use the two links above.



(Sport Rocketry - Nov/Dec 1999 - page 38 - by Maxwell Eminussix) 

"The micro rockets are perfect for backyard launching and are lots of fun, but in other ways they don't measure up to the advertising claims."
"All the models feature a twist off base or fin unit for loading the motor."
"Recovery is by streamer (except for the Alien UFO) and the models incorporate ejection baffles."
"Some have a standard shock cord arrangement, while others have the nose cone mounted on a piston-rod assembly which the streamer wraps around."
"The Micro Maxx launcher is a really nice little system. . . . nicely engineered . . ."
"The Micro Maxx motors are truly cool. . . . just 1/4" x 1" and they are rated at 0.20 N-sec which puts them low in the 1/8A impulse range."
"The packaging claims 'flights up to 200 feet' but none of the rockets get anywhere near that altitude."
". . . it is important to launch these models only in under low-wind conditions, less than 5-7 mph."
"The recovery phase is where the Micro Maxx designs really fall down . . "
"The ejection baffling works poorly . . ."
" . . . the streamers often don't unroll . . ."
" . . . or the pistons may break or eject completely."
"In all, the Micro Maxx can be a really fun system for backyard rocketry . . ."

The entire article gives the impression is that these rockets are good for anyone and the recovery issues are not unsafe and may have work arounds.

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
09/01 - "I flew the MicroMaxx Shuttle four times this weekend. I find myself agreeing with the points made earlier about the recovery system. Pitiful. I didn't get a single, fully successful ejection and unfurling of the mylar streamer. It did take a beating, heat wise, and has crinkles and holes melted in it now. On the other hand, the ultra-lightweight nature of the shuttle makes it's streamer nearly inconsequential. Just pick up the downed bird, extract the spent engine, load up another engine, repack the streamer, and try again. One point to make clear for the shuttle, the engine mount is removable for inserting and extracting the engine casings. Grasp the molded black engine nozzles at the rear, rotate them a quarter turn to line up the internal (i.e. invisible) retaining lug with the notch in the body frame, and pull the entire black plastic piece out. There are no Shuttle specific instructions detailing this, and the instructions that are on the generic sheet show an external notch and lug design that isn't obvious on the Shuttle." (S.E.T.)

GUEST's OPINION:
02/00 - "I use the motors in little paper and balsa scratch-builts. I use 18" of .062 music wire for a launch rod, remove the black plastic shells from the igniters and fire them with my regular launch system on 9.6v RC battery. I've found that, with not enough battery power, the igniter melts itself into the plastic nozzle w/o firing the motor. Apogee Centrix with an adapter goes about 40 feet up -- see my flight report on the review of that kit. Chris didn't mention this, but he and I among others have been flying tiny boost-gliders with these motors. I think he overstated the altitudes possible with the plastic RTF's, but a light scratch-built 3fnc will go quite nicely." (P.W.C.)

GUEST's OPINION:
"1. The igniters need more juice than a 9vdc battery can reliably deliver. When I snipped the wires off the launch controller and connected them to a 12vdc motorcycle battery, the ignition system worked great!
2. Stability is an issue, and any wind knocks them for a loop near end of flight.
3. The Saturn V and Space Shuttle both only flew to 15 feet or so. The Saturn V piston did not deploy and let the streamer out, but the rocket is so light and flies so low that it is not an issue. The Space Shuttle streamer did melt in a few spots with no recovery wadding.
4. I put a MM engine in an Estes Mosquito, and flew it successfully from the MM launch system. I wrapped masking tape around the MM engine until it fit snugly into the front end of an expended 13mm motor casing. I then inserted the 13 mm "engine adapter" into the Mosquito far enough so that the nozzle was even with the back of the fins. It then fit on the silo launcher with the rod in the #2 position. It launched fine, but flew a little erratically to about 15 feet. The ejection charge actually propelled the rocket faster than the boost phase towards the ground. Keep spectators back in case it flies towards you. This occurred in the front yard, so you can launch a Mosquito without losing it!" (D.F.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
09/02 - "I figured out how to stage these little motors. You have to scrape just enough of the clay retaining cap off the ejection charge to expose the black powder but not too much so the black powder falls out. This motor is taped to a normal micromaxx motor with clear tape. The delay on these motors is short enough to allow the ejection charge on the booster motor to light the upper stage and keep going up. I have done successful two and three stage scratch built rockets using this method. I recommend trying this. It's quite easy but be prepared-they will go much higher than Quest's micromaxx rockets.(I got neither the two or three stage ones back!)" (P.A. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
07/02 - "If you use the stock ignitors, open up the launch "silo" and clean off the metal contacts after every 3 or 4 flights. If you don't, you risk much frustration when these itty-bitty rockets don't want to cooperate. " (R.V. )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
09-12-2001 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Tomahawk Cruise Missile - Better flight this time. Got more of a vertical boost up to about 100 feet. Lawn darted due to no streamer deployment. No damage.
09-12-2001 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Tomahawk Cruise Missile - First MMX flight. Went horizontal about 100 feet. Recovered off a tennis court with a slightly scratched nose cone but no other damage.
09-16-2001 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Tomahawk Cruise Missile - Another erratic flight. Got an ejection this time but no streamer deployment. Another lawn dart. These are really good for a laugh. No damage.
09-16-2001 Donald Besaw Qst MMX None - Nose Cone Stuck 0-5 mph winds Tomahawk Cruise Missile - Very erratic flight. Lawn darted due to stuck piston. No damage.
12-30-2001 Donald Besaw Qst MMX None - Nose Cone Stuck 5-10 mph winds Tomahawk Cruise Missile - 50 feet. No ejection. Plop. Last launch of 2001.
10-22-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds UFO - Nice flight to about 25 feet or so. Flipped over and landed next to pad.
10-22-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds UFO - Nice second flight of the UFO. A repeat of the first.
10-22-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX None - Nose Cone Stuck 0-5 mph winds Shuttle - Did a cruise missile profile about 20 feet up and a pretty good one too. No damage.
10-22-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX None - Nose Cone Stuck 0-5 mph winds Space Fighter - Nice higher flight, maybe 50 feet. Streamer didn't eject, itty bitty lawn dart. No damage.
10-22-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Very Late 0-5 mph winds Saturn V - Nice straight flight at first, then tumbled, popped the ejection about 4 feet off the ground, streamer ejected but didn't unravel and then landed about 2 feet away from me.
10-23-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds UFO - Nice front yard flight. Took off, went maybe 20-25 feet, flipped over and landed virtually back on the pad.
10-24-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds SR-71 - Spiraled on the way up to about 30-40 feet. Streamer didn't unravel. Lawn dart. No damage.
10-24-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Space Fighter - Nice flight. Nose cone popped off but streamer didn't eject. No damage.
10-24-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Tomahawk Cruise Missile - Went up in a large spiraling motion to maybe 35-40 feet. Streamer ejected but didn't unravel. Became an itty bitty lawn dart. No damage.
10-25-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds UFO - Front yard flight. Up to about 25 feet, flip, down, plop, just inches from the pad.
10-27-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds UFO - Front yard flight. Nice
10-27-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds UFO - Second flight. Went after a few ignitor problems. What can I say, the ignitors just plain suck!!!
10-27-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds UFO - Third flight. Went after I changed the battery. Definately needs more than 9 volts or a new battery every few flights.
11-04-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds UFO - Nice flight. Finally went after a few attempts. I was trying to salvage an ignitor.
11-04-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds UFO - Nice flight. Landed just mere inches from the pad.
11-04-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Very Late 0-5 mph winds Saturn V - Went unstable at about 10 feet and got a little scratched up from tumbling into the street but nothing broke off.
11-09-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds UFO - Nice front yard flight. Up to about 25 feet, flip, down, plop, just inches from pad.
11-09-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds UFO - Second front yard flight. Same as the previous. Landed almost on the pad.
12-01-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds UFO - Front yard flight. Nice. Landed just inches from the pad. My cat was a spectator from the window.
12-01-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds UFO - Second flight. Same as the first, landed right in the middle of one of our Christmas decorations without actually hitting it.
12-01-2003 Donald Besaw Qst MMX Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds UFO - Third flight. Same as the last two but I'm now completely out of MMX motors, SHUCKS!!!
04-03-2005 Chris Coffin Qst MMX None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: Cul-de-sac ShootOff
- UFO - My first MMX flight. Launched in my cul-de-sac. Went up about 20 ft. Landed right next to the pad. Definitely a backyard bird.
04-17-2004 Bob Cox Qst MMX None - Nose Cone Stuck 0-5 mph winds Space Fighter - Boost to about 40-50 feet, with gentle arc into wind. Nose cone did not separate at ejection. Ballastic arc into flower bed. Streamer scorched into a ball, but no other damage.
04-17-2004 Bob Cox Qst MMX None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds UFO - Straight boost to about 25 feet. Flipped over and fell. Landed about 2 feet from pad. No damage. No danger of this leaving the back yard.
07-24-2004 Bob Cox Qst MMX Didn't Record Calm Space Fighter - Another good flight to about 50 feet.
07-24-2004 Bob Cox Qst MMX Didn't Record Calm Space Fighter - Low flight, about 40-50 feet high. Ejected fine. Angled toward driveway and bounced off side of truck. No damage to rocket or truck.
07-24-2004 Bob Cox Qst MMX None - Tumble Calm UFO - Low slow flight to about 15 feet.
08-15-2004 Bob Cox Qst MMX Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds Space Fighter - Flew okay, but ejection pulled shock cord right out of body. Otherwise unharmed.
04-17-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds Space Fighter - Space Fighter - 10 feet, pop, uneventful
04-17-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't See 5-10 mph winds SR-71 - SR-71 - 10 feet, land, pop goes the ejection
04-17-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't See 5-10 mph winds Saturn V - Saturn V - can you say tumble? to 10 feet altitude
04-17-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't See 5-10 mph winds UFO - UFO - 8 feet, flip, down she goes
05-25-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't See Calm SR-71 - Arced and crash landed
05-25-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't See Calm SR-71 - Nice, best flight of all. Trick is perfectly straight launch rod
05-25-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't See Calm SR-71 - Same as last one, nice and straight and decent altitude
05-25-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't See Calm Saturn V - This was a nice flight, seems it is really important to be aimed straight up
05-25-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't See Calm Saturn V - Tumble, flip, crash
05-25-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't See Calm Space Fighter - Good flight, nose cone broke off
05-25-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't See Calm UFO - Actually a half way decent flight, trick is perfectly straight rod
09-03-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't Record Calm SR-71 - Low altitude flight but straight
09-03-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't Record Calm Saturn V - A bit better altitude, 15 feet but not the best in the house
09-03-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't Record Calm Saturn V - Loop and spin at 10 feet
09-06-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't Record Calm SR-71 - Low altitude prang
09-06-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't Record Calm No Mercy - Ditto
09-06-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't Record Calm No Mercy - Good flier. Very much like the Vector.
10-31-2002 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't Record Calm UFO - Only gets to about 15-20 feet, but it does fly.
09-06-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't Record Calm RIP Saturn V - Flip flop and away. Throw this one away.
10-13-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't Record Calm RIP No Mercy - Lost sight almost immediately. Have never found in my own yard. Status: Lost
10-31-2002 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't Record Calm RIP Space Fighter - Good flight Status: Retired
02-29-2004 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't Record Calm RIP UFO - Up, then down, then the motor ring was damaged. Status: Retired
09-06-2001 EMRR Qst MMX Didn't Record Calm RIP SR-71 - MicroMaxx-II did much better to the flight. Was destroyed by accident later Status: Not Repairable
08-28-1999 David Fergus Qst MMX Very Early Calm Saturn V - better than space shuttle, but not much, ejection too early, flight low, streamer didn't unroll.
08-28-1999 David Fergus Qst MMX Very Early Calm Space Shuttle - not very high, streamer didn't unroll
07-08-2001 David Fergus Qst MMX Apogee - NC Up Calm Space Shuttle -
07-08-2001 David Fergus Qst MMX Apogee - Perfect Calm Space Shuttle - better flight than Saturn, streamer actually deploys
07-08-2001 David Fergus Qst MMX Apogee - Perfect Calm Space Shuttle -
07-08-2001 David Fergus Qst MMX Apogee - Perfect Calm Space Shuttle -
07-08-2001 David Fergus Qst MMX Just Before Calm Saturn V - streamer doesn't unfurl
07-08-2001 David Fergus Qst MMX Just Before Calm Saturn V -
07-08-2001 David Fergus Qst MMX Just Before Calm Saturn V -
11-23-2003 Rocky Firth Qst MMX None - Tumble Calm Applewhite micro saucer -
11-23-2003 Rocky Firth Qst MMX None - Tumble Calm Applewhite micro saucer -
12-14-2003 Rocky Firth Qst MMX None - CATO 0-5 mph winds Raw Fusion - Only MM CATO I've seen. Still haven't gotten all of the motor out of the rocket
12-14-2003 Rocky Firth Qst MMX None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Raw Fusion -
12-14-2003 Rocky Firth Qst MMX None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Raw Fusion -
12-14-2003 Rocky Firth Qst MMX None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Vector 1 - Nose cone retainer tube separated from the body tube. Really strange.
12-14-2003 Rocky Firth Qst MMX None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Vector 1 -
12-14-2003 Rocky Firth Qst MMX None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Vector 1 -
11-23-2003 Rocky Firth Qst MMX Apogee - Perfect Calm RIP No Mercy -
12-14-2003 Rocky Firth Qst MMX None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds RIP Little Joe II - Very unstable. Lost the motor retainer. Status: Not Repairable
12-14-2003 Rocky Firth Qst MMX None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds RIP SLCM - Broken Fin - landed in the gravel parking lot Status: Not Repairable
04-27-2006 Matt Gillard Qst MMX Didn't See 0-5 mph winds sr-71 - ejection did not deploy streamer.
01-05-2007 Hans Gran Qst MMX None - Nose Cone Stuck Calm RIP Forza - Micro Maxx Space Fighter, best flight ,higher then before. Landed in a tree ( I think). Canīt find it. Status: Tree/Roof
02-11-2001 Kenneth Johnson Qst MMX Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Truly disappointing altitude on the Space Shuttle- about 5 feet apogee, 15 feet perigee. What a dud!
07-19-2009 Mark Kulka Qst MMX Just Before Calm Event: Apollo 11 Commem. Launch
Micro Saturn V (v. 2) - Good, stable flight with full deployment of streamer.
11-18-2000 David Logan Qst MMX Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Micro Max Tomahawk- Perfect flight to about 30 ft. Streamer didn't unroll, but recovered good.
11-18-2000 David Logan Qst MMX Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Micro Max Tomahawk-another perfect flight, except upon ejection, the rocket ejected the piston/nose assembly completely out. Both pieces recovered.
11-18-2000 David Logan Qst MMX None - Nose Cone Stuck 0-5 mph winds - Micro Max SR-71, Very erratic flight to about 15 ft. Nose didn't eject, looked better coming in ballistic, stuck straight into the dirt, no damage.
02-03-2001 Scott Marshall Qst MMX Didn't Record Light winds assorted - Bought my kids the launcher and almost every rocket they have for about $30! We launched a dozen. 100' average apogee, all functioned well. Neat stuff! Misfires tend to melt the igniter to the nozzle and you can break the rocket removing it.
11-22-2002 Ian Nelson Qst MMX Didn't Record Calm RIP shuttle - First flight.Shock cord burned through.Steamer vaporized.How much worse could it get? Lost. Found several days later in neighbor's back-yard. Drat Status: Not Repairable
09-24-2001 Randy Powell Qst MMX Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - lanched SATURN5 6 times with 4 good flites.
10-30-2001 Randy Powell Qst MMX Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds RIP -
06-18-2004 Andrew Redmon Qst MMX Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - No Mercy- Launched 3 times. All were excellent and recovery was too.
08-10-2003 James Reyome Qst MMX Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Saturn V - Okay, I admit it, I THOUGHT it was a TOY...some toy! It really does fly! Sure, we had to glue it in two places just to make it airworthy. But it sure is impressive, and we can fly it less than 50 feet from out front door!
08-10-2003 James Reyome Qst MMX None - Nose Cone Stuck 0-5 mph winds Saturn V - Another eventful flight for our Micro V. Not perfect--the NC stuck and ejection kicked the motor out, resulting in a tiny little lawn dart. Had to recover the capsule/escape tower from the miniscule crater, but a drop of CA has it back in business!
08-15-2003 James Reyome Qst MMX Apogee - Perfect Calm - [Saturn V] Another nifty flight for the V, but again the nose cone broke off the piston. Might've had to retire this one had we not heard the piece bounce off the roof! It flies high and stable, but the recovery system clearly could use some work...
09-06-2003 James Reyome Qst MMX Apogee - Perfect Calm - Flying Saucer--Doesn't go high, but sure does look cool getting there...!
09-06-2003 James Reyome Qst MMX Apogee - Perfect Calm - Space Fighter--Hey, a successful ejection! Such as it is, anyway. The streamer melted, but at least the nose blow kept it from being a lawn dart.
09-06-2003 James Reyome Qst MMX None - Nose Cone Stuck Calm - SR71--Stuck nose cone=lawn dart. But it was recovered nonetheless. May have to adopt a different recovery approach for the piston models.
09-06-2003 James Reyome Qst MMX None - Tumble Calm - Flying Saucer--Shot this one just at dusk...COOOOOOL! Liftoff was very sparky and so was the ejection. Gotta love that UFO!
08-15-2003 James Reyome Qst MMX Apogee - Perfect Calm RIP Saturn V - First--and last--really bad flight for this one. Pinwheeled about ten feet off the rod before continuing (thankfully) upward. Ejection popped the piston out. All pieces were recovered, but this one will be for display only from now on. Status: Retired
06-23-1999 Paul Smith Qst MMX Didn't Record Strong - South - Saturn V. Used Pratt Systems launcher because 9V battery simply didn't have enough current to ignite engines. Flew about 15 feet up, taken by the wind, ejected about 5 feet up, crashed on asphalt. Engine retainer popped off on landing.
06-23-1999 Paul Smith Qst MMX Didn't Record Strong - South - Space Shuttle. Flew up about 5 feet, curved into ground. Ejected on ground. Very unimpressive.
07-20-1999 Paul Smith Qst MMX Didn't Record Light - Southwest - Saturn V. Best flight yet of the MicroMaxx. Straight boost, maybe 20 feet up. Streamer ejected. Had a misfire first, apparently due to bad ignitor.
07-20-1999 Paul Smith Qst MMX Didn't Record Light - Southwest - Saturn V. Flew up over my head, maybe 7 feet high. Landed in grass. Ejected there, but piston did not open. Had misfire first due to bad ignitor. These ignitors are not very good.
09-09-2001 Scott Turnbull Qst MMX-1 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Shuttle - Good Boost. While the ejection charge was timed right, the effect was weak. The main portion of the mylar streamer remained lodged in the shuttle body.
09-09-2001 Scott Turnbull Qst MMX-1 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Shuttle - Slight Arc to Boost. This time the pop of the ejection had no affect, as the shuttle tumbled intact to the ground with the nose cone in place.
09-09-2001 Scott Turnbull Qst MMX-1 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Shuttle - The boost was clean, the shuttle arced over, and once again the ejection charge did not dislodge the nosepiece. Itty Bitty Lawn Dart.
09-09-2001 Scott Turnbull Qst MMX-1 Very Early 0-5 mph winds Shuttle - The shuttle went unstable about 20 feet up, and tumbled about until the ejection charge blew off the nose. The streamer did not unfurl.
08-06-2002 Robert Vaughan Qst MMX Didn't See 5-10 mph winds Mini Gemini - Kit(?)bash from a spent firework that I found (motor fits perfect). Flew with the wind to about 25 feet and 60 away from the pad. Found body 100 feet away from the pad, fin can not 4 feet away.
   

Please Help Make Us Better!   

•  Copyright © 2019  •   EMRR   •   Legal/Privacy   •   Disclaimer   •