There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Tue Aug 17 09:22:18 2010

OOP
Quest Aerospace
Icarus
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 30.75" x 1.378" - 2.75 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: Right Click to Download
SpaceCAD FILE: Right Click to Download
REC'D MOTORS: B6-2, B6-4, C6-3, C6-5

[Picture] (05/01/98) The Icarus was the first Quest kit that I have ever built and quite frankly I think I got it by accident when I transposed some numbers on an order. But I put it together. It's a level 2 kit with large payload section and dual-parachute recovery. And like all Quest kits, it uses 18mm motors (A-C).

The kit was packaged fine in a long plastic bag with a colorful picture of the kit on the front cover. There's an inlay picture showing the use of the payload section for electronic experiments.

Upon inspection, the kit was missing a 12-inch piece of white elastic shock cord which is used on the top section. I used some Kevlar that I had to replace it. Everything else was in order.

The instructions were very clear, using pictures for each step. It was a nice touch to add two illustrations showing the difference between an over-hand knot and a figure-8 knot. They gave clear measurements as to where parts should align and the assembly instructions were in a logical order. Overall, very fine instructions which are needed for a level 2 kit since it is geared for those with only some experience.

[Picture]The kit is comprised of two body tubes, a coupler with a bulkhead, a motor mount assembly including motor clip, two 12" Tuff-Chute (plastic) parachutes with shroud lines and gripper tabs, a balsa wood sheet with three die-cut fins, a Kevlar shock cord for the lower section and a elastic shock cord (missing) for the upper section, a plastic nose cone and lastly a decal sheet.

I used Quick Grab glue on this model (additional comments about Quick Grab glue) for everything except the fin fillets where I used 5-minute epoxy. I also sealed the balsa fins with CA.

There was only one problem during the entire assembly of this kit. One of die-cut fin tips was already separated along the grain of the balsa sheet, therefore, that had to be glued on and carefully sanded and handled. [Picture]

During the finishing stage I experienced a self-induced tragedy which took a good bit of time to correct. I always use Plasti-Kote primer, since it is heavy and fills the grooves fast. It also sands easily. Apparently, Rustoleum paint isn't fully compatible with this primer. I discovered this AFTER painting my payload section and finding a nice grouping of bubbles. This was corrected by sanding off the entire finish, re-priming and re-painting with a different paint.

I chose to paint the payload section gloss black and the bottom section gloss white, it worked out well. The decals were a bit disappointing though. They are solid colors on white, not transparent. Therefore, if the rocket was not painted white on the bottom, the decals would look bad. In addition, there was a black band-decal that was supposed to go around the body tube which was no long enough. I didn't use it.

Overall, for CONSTRUCTION I would rate this kit 4 points and strongly suggest that Quest addresses their decals.

[Picture]The Icarusis a bit unique due to a mid-separation which releases nose cone and payload section to descend on it's parachute and then the second parachute carries the bottom section down. I tested mine with a B6-4 which installed and was clipped by the motor mount without any problem. Because of it's length and weight a B6-4 motor gives a nice lift off and moderate distance flight. The flight was straight and true. The flight was straight and true. Ejection was just at apogee and both sections returned without damage. No signs of burning or stress on the Kevlar shock cord and the parachutes both opened cleanly.

For FLIGHT/RECOVERY, I would rate this kit 4 1/2 points.

Overall, for the price and skill rating (2), the Icarus is a good kit for someone looking fora payload rocket or someone that would like a bit of uniqueness in recovery. I give the kit an OVERALL rating of 4 points.

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
11/04 - "Just a comment: The balsa that came with my Icarus was the sturdiest (and hardest to sand) that I've seen in any kit that I've built. It was even harder than some basswood. Way to go, Quest!" (J.R.T.)

GUEST's OPINION:
06/04 - "Everything was there when I opened the package except for the shroud lines. No big deal though since I use streamers anyhow. Now I have a couple extra chutes if I ever need them in a pinch. I too replaced the 18" motor mount tube with a 24". I still use C's a lot in the smaller fields, but now I'm not limited. J.R. had a good idea about attaching the nose cone with a shock cord. I've popped the nose a couple times, luckily it came down close with everything else. I went with the blue and white like on the package with a clear coat after." (J.V.)

GUEST's OPINION:
09/02 - "I have heard of a lot of folks losing the nose cone on the payload section during ejection. Before I flew mine, I simply made a small paper shock cord anchor(like estes uses) and anchored the nose cone cone in case it did pop. I also used a small strip of masking tape around the base of the nose cone to make the cone fit a little tighter. This is a real pretty flyer, just make sure you talc those chutes!" (J.R.)

GUEST's OPINION:
06/01 - "I modified the Icarus with a piston ejection system and I'm using a 12in. 'chute. This rocket is flown on a 18mm Aerotech reload D24-7." (D.M.)

GUEST's OPINION:
09/99 - "I took the centering ring and cut it to the D size, and used a Estes D sized tube (I don't know what is the BT number for it). Its from a old rocket that's been taken apart. I peeled the outside layer therefore weakened the tube. I had to reinforce the outside (the 1/4 inch that protrudes from the centering ring) with paper and glue. Then I epoxied the fins and used Elmer's wood filler thinned with water to fill those stupid spiral grooves. I cut and peel the place where I am going to attach fins so epoxies can soak in better. I used a small piece of fiberglass and reinforced the joints. Now I have to sand off all the excess because they are a pain in the neck! I will use a Rustoleum primer and Testor's model master metallic arctic blue for top part and generic flat white with gloss overcoat for the bottom part." (T.F.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
06/07 - "I didn't like the idea of the rocket coming down in two pieces, so I tied the two schock cords together and used a single 18" parachute instead of the dual 14" chutes that came with the kit. It worked well; you could probably get away with a single 14" chute." (M.P.M. )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
04-25-2009 George Beever Qst SU C6-5 Late (2-3sec) Calm - Great flight all around, but should have used a -3 motor. Fantastic conditions.
04-11-2010 George Beever Est SU C6-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - Great flight, no problems.
08-01-2010 George Beever Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Great flight. Might try a C6-3 next time.
05-15-2004 Jake Blues Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Good flight. Payload chute did not open but no damage.
05-15-2006 Hank Coates Est SU C11-5 Apogee - NC Down Calm - Cool first flight on model modded for 24mm. Est 800 feet on C11. Rocksim shows 2300 on an E15. Will try some D9s or D13s next. This is a perfect rocket to move to 24mm.
05-21-2006 Hank Coates Est SU E9-6 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds - Second flight on the 24mm Icarus. E9 just went and went and went. Payload and nose cone never seen again, separated at eject. Sims over 1600 feet. Very stable boost. Will rebuild nose and fly again.
08-21-2005 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-3 Very Early 0-5 mph winds Event: VOA Park Sport Launch
- I put in the wrong motor (should have had a 5 sec delay) and ripped out 1 panel in the parachute. Landed OK. Just need to replace the chute.
08-21-2005 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-3 Very Early 0-5 mph winds - I put in the wrong motor (should have had a 5 sec delay) and ripped out 1 panel in the parachute. Landed OK. Just need to replace the chute.
09-10-2005 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Just Before 0-5 mph winds Event: VOA Park Sport Launch
- I filled the fins and sanded the leading and trailing edges. It really took off on the C6 motor! The delay was much better this time. Recovered in good shape.
09-10-2005 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - I filled the fins and sanded the leading and trailing edges. It really took off on the C6 motor! The delay was much better this time. Recovered in good shape.
10-08-2005 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds Event: VOA Park Sport Launch
- After having it finished, painted and with the decals in place the rocket seemed to wobble a bit on the way up. Maybe it was a reaction to the windy conditions?
10-08-2005 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - After having it finished, painted and with the decals in place the rocket seemed to wobble a bit on the way up. Maybe it was a reaction to the windy conditions?
11-19-2005 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds Event: VOA Park Sport Launch
- The payload bay separated from the main body at ejection. Easily repaired. All parts recovered.
11-19-2005 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds - The payload bay separated from the main body at ejection. Easily repaired. All parts recovered.
01-15-2006 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds Event: VOA Park Sport Launch
- Great flight. First flight after repairing payload bulkhead.
01-15-2006 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Great flight. First flight after repairing payload bulkhead.
03-26-2006 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds Event: VOA Park Sport Launch
- Nose cone popped off at ejection (found with no problems). The boost was a little squirly I think due to a fin decal that did not get positioned correctly causing some drag.
03-26-2006 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - Nose cone popped off at ejection (found with no problems). The boost was a little squirly I think due to a fin decal that did not get positioned correctly causing some drag.
04-09-2006 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Just Before 5-10 mph winds Event: VOA Park Sport Launch
- Removed fin decal stickers. They had been really messing up the aerodynamics of the fins causing it to cone a lot. Much better for this flight!
04-09-2006 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - Removed fin decal stickers. They had been really messing up the aerodynamics of the fins causing it to cone a lot. Much better for this flight!
05-27-2006 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: VOA Park Sport Launch
- Great flight. Going to need to replace the parachute soon. Nose cone seperated from payload bay at ejection.
05-27-2006 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Great flight. Going to need to replace the parachute soon. Nose cone seperated from payload bay at ejection.
06-25-2006 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Just Before 5-10 mph winds Event: VOA Park Sport Launch
- Pretty routine flight.
06-25-2006 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - Pretty routine flight.
08-05-2006 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 10+ mph winds Event: VOA Park Sport Launch
- Just routine for this rocket.
08-05-2006 Tim Dicke Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 10+ mph winds Event: VOA Park
- Just routine for this rocket.
03-07-2009 Tim Dicke Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds Flight PictureEvent: TORC Sport Launch
- Winds were terrible!!!
04-25-1998 EMRR Est SU B6-4 at apogee 10 mph winds - Nice overall flight
05-22-1998 EMRR Est SU C6-5 at apogee 8-10 mph winds - Excellent flight
06-06-1998 EMRR Est SU C6-5 at apogee 15-20 mph winds - good flight except payload section's chute did not open and 3 shroud lines came off. Recovered both sections.
09-14-1998 EMRR Est SU B6-4 1 sec past apogee 5-10 mph winds - Set up Icarus using 24 elastic to tie sections together, attaching parachute at payload section. Angled flight for wind, nice arch, ejection and recovery. Testing J&P parachute
09-14-1998 EMRR Est SU B6-4 1 sec past apogee 5-10 mph winds - as above with J&P chute. Chute got caught by motor hook and rocket came down fast. Small burn hole on chute where is was hooked.
09-14-1998 EMRR Est SU B6-4 1 sec past apogee 5-10 mph winds - as above with less angle, slight damage on top of body tube where payload section kicked back,
09-14-1998 EMRR Est SU B6-4 1 sec past apogee 5-10 mph winds - as above with standard 12 parachute
09-14-1998 EMRR Est SU B6-4 1 sec past apogee 5-10 mph winds - as above, except successful
09-14-1998 EMRR Est SU C6-3 just before 5-10 mph winds - Good flight. Chute did not open right away. Fell for a couple of seconds then it opened for a good recovery.
09-26-1998 EMRR Est SU B6-4 just past apogee no wind - Successful flight and recovery
09-26-1998 EMRR Est SU B6-4 at apogee no wind RIP - Successful flight and recovery- RETIRED Status: Retired
06-08-2002 Herb Estus Est SU B6-3 Just Past (1-2sec) Light winds - Nice flight ,However center disk on top part of rocket came off but all parts where recovered
06-08-2002 Herb Estus Est SU C6-3 Just Past (1-2sec) Light winds - Nice flight, However centering disk came off top section but still recovered both pieces
05-11-2009 Mark Grisco Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - this thing always flies nice. 5 second delay is a little long maybe but 3 second would likley be short.
05-11-2009 Mark Grisco Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - it went straight up, seemed really high. perfect.
02-20-2010 Cliff Oliver Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: February Launch
-
02-20-2010 Cliff Oliver Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: February Launch
-
08-11-2002 John Rowan-Stern Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm Crush - Not quite enough motor but good stable flight. Does like to weather cock a bit. Make sure launch rod is stiff for precision flights. Two good chutes good recovery.
09-18-2002 John Rowan-Stern Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Good impulse. Ejection was mixed! Payload section came off perfect, but the main chute never ejected. Main tube augered straight in and is now about 1/2 shorter. Needs major overhaul on main body tube.
09-25-2002 John Rowan-Stern Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Rebuilt 1 - Awesome flight. This was re-built after ejection failure and flys fine. Great recovery, 20 feet from pad!
08-11-2002 John Rowan-Stern Est SU C6-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm RIP Crush - Great Flight! Perfect ejection chutes both opened perfectly. However two soccer fans (the age of about 12-13) rushed in on it and stepped on it. It is now destroyed. Thanks guys. Status: Not Repairable
05-07-2005 Ron Saul AT SU E30-7 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds thrustnut - e-30's are sweet motors.Super fast worth the long walk.
09-13-2009 Howard Smart Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: Fiesta Is.
- Parachute ejected at apogee but opened very late. No damage.
01-10-2010 Howard Smart Qst SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds -
06-05-2004 Jim Varkalis Est SU C11-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Great launch, angled slightly into breeze. Both sections and nose cone came down at a comfortable rate of speed within 100 ft of launch pad with the help of my homemade streamers . Streamers slightly burnt, but no other damage.
08-21-1993 Ron Watkins Est SU C6-5 Didn't Record Light winds - Good flight-predicted altitude-650 ft. -slight drift on recovery-main body and payload recovered by separate parachutes.
06-03-1994 Ron Watkins Est SU C6-5 Didn't Record Calm - Good flight-predicted altitude-650 ft. -good recovery.
   

Please Help Make Us Better!   

•  Copyright © 2012  •   EMRR   •   Legal/Privacy   •   Disclaimer   •