There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Sun Oct 24 00:03:33 2010

OOP
Holverson Designs
Silver Hawk
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 13.3" x 0.736" - 0.75 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: MISSING - please submit here
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: 1/2A3-2T, A3-4T

Rating
(Contributed - by John Hogan)

Glider PicBrief:
A Boost-Glider with the booster is recovered by streamer.

Construction:
The quality of the materials was excellent. The instructions were clear and straight forward. The supplied jigs for wing dihedral were adequate, but I found I needed to secure them to the work surface (tape). I didn't like the plans for the shock cord mount, but that is a personal preference. It would be more than adequate for such a light weight, minimum diameter booster.

The glider built light and trimmed easily with some nose weight (supplied). My only trouble was, the plans suggest forming the airfoils on the leading/trailing edges of the glider before assembly. I found that when I assembled the glider I had to reform the edges to get an even fit. On my next glider I will probably form the airfoils after assembly. Be sure to trace the parts to the glider, I didn't and had to go out and buy another kit!!!!

Finishing:
I left the glider unfinished and just painted the booster a single color. I may use a clear coat of dope on the next glider for protection.

Construction Rating: 4 out of 5

Flight:
The glider needs to be trimmed before each flight session. The glider seems to be sensitive to heat and humidity, but is easily trimmed with the supplied clay. My glider flew perfectly straight, so I placed some clay on one wing to induce a circular pattern.

Motor recommendations are 1/2 A3-2T and A3-4T. I with both motors. With the 1/2 A3-2T I got very nice boosts to 100+ ft and excellent glides (2 flights). On the third flight with this motor, I failed to get separation of the booster/glider - recovery with no damage.

On the first flight with the A3-4T, I got perfect boost, separation and a beautiful long circling glide (much applause). For all the above flights the temperature was 80+ with a 5-10 MPH wind. On the final flight the wind picked up a bit and the glider just kept going like the energizer bunny. Nice big circles always a bit farther downwind... We tracked it down 1/4-1/2 mile stuck in a tree 30-40 feet up. This bird really didn't want to come down.

Recovery:
The only negative (as I saw it) was the shock cord mounting technique. The plans call for cutting 2 slots in the body tube and slipping the elastic through and knotting. I made my own Estes-type mount, but the thickness even further reduced the space for the wadding and streamer. I will have to device another means, but the booster is so light the it could free-fall without concern. I love the design of the glider!

Flight Rating: 5 out of 5

Summary:
I really enjoyed this kit, and went out and bought a second immediately (see note about tracing plans for glider!). There are no significant cons, and I can't express how much I enjoyed the flights!

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
11/04 - "Foam Version: Purchased 10/04. Although it mentioned skill level 3, it was fully assembled, down to the wadding already in the tube. The only work was to balance the foam wing with the included clay. I think this should be rated an RTF kit. [Editorís note: The foam version is actually the Fun Rockets version, not Holverson]" (M.M.)

GUEST's OPINION:
06/00 - "I found it easy to form the airfoil before assembly, however that makes assembly more challenging. I chose a full, symmetrical airfoil. I applied sanding sealer to make the glider more slick The glider performs very, very nicely. Not too hard to trim. I added clay until it balanced at right spot. Then I tried warping the wings to trim. Worked nicely. I've seen a guy modify this to take 18 mm motors and successfully flew it on Apogee D3 motors. Not for the faint of heart." (D.U.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
"" (x.x.)

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
10-26-2000 Dale Emery Est SU A10-3 Didn't record 5-10 mph winds - It flew well but has too steep of a glide.
07-12-2005 Matt Gillard Est SU A10-3 None - Glider Calm - Nice straight boost, did not get tha6t high, separated cleanly, glider worked, but a bit nose heavy, need to re trim.
07-12-2005 Matt Gillard Est SU 1/2A3-2 None - Glider Calm - Straight boost, separated cleanly, glider glided in a steady turn to the left, nice smooth landing, booster rcket came down hard nearly hitting my car!
09-26-2005 Matt Gillard Est SU A3-4 None - Glider 5-10 mph winds - nice launch, separated a bit late. shock cord broke, glider returned after being knocked around by the wind. other pieces landed near the pad.
03-03-2006 Matt Gillard Est SU 1/2A3-2 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - staight boost, clean seperation, glider came in quite fast but flat. pop pod landed close to pad.
03-03-2006 Matt Gillard Est SU A10-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds RIP - Straight boost, on seperation, glider and pod collided, shock cord also burnt through, so nose cone came off. Glider gave another perfect flat glide. Status: Retired
09-09-2000 Kevin Johnson Est SU 1/2A3-2 None - Glider Calm - Testing for an upcoming contest. Made a 13mm pop pod instead of using the 18mm supplied in the kit. Straight boost, very nice circling glide.
09-09-2000 Kevin Johnson Est SU 1/2A3-2 None - Glider Calm RIP - Just had to get one more flight in before dark. Boost a little off vertical. Glider lost in high brush along field. Drat! Status: Lost
02-09-2006 Mal McClenaghan Est SU A3-4 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds - This is the foam version of the Silver Hawk. Failed to seperate on ejection charge. Pod lug broke when whole glider/pod assembly lawn darted. Repairable.
10-29-2006 Mal McClenaghan Est SU A10-3 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds - First flight after repair. Nice glide.
10-29-2006 Mal McClenaghan Est SU A10-3 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds - Another good flight. Pop pod lug was trimmed after repair. Marked improvement in reliable seperation.
03-25-2007 Mal McClenaghan Est SU A10-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Although not a recommended motor, the A 10-3T gives the foam version of the Silver Hawk good altitude.
11-11-2004 Mark Muir Est SU A10-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Flew well in a lazy left turn. Nice to watch.
11-11-2004 Mark Muir Est SU A10-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - No separation of booster. Tumble recovery with no damage.
11-11-2004 Mark Muir Est SU A10-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Quick glide right into lower branches of a tree. Easily retrieved.
11-13-2004 Mark Muir Est SU A10-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Foam version: Repaired foam booster hook proved too tight of a fit so no separation. Tumbled to ground were hook broke off.
04-29-2001 Randy Powell Est SU 1/2A3-2 Apogee - NC Up Calm - needs some work
05-10-2001 Randy Powell Est SU A10-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - flys much better on A10 motor
05-10-2001 Randy Powell Est SU A10-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - flys much better on A10 motor
05-10-2001 Randy Powell Est SU A10-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - flys much better on A10 motor
04-27-2003 James Reyome Est SU 1/2A3-2 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds - Great lift on the tee-niny motor but the glider stuck on the pop pod. Not quite a lawn dart but close enough. It will fly again but will need repairs.
05-26-2003 James Reyome Est SU A10-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Say, it worked! Glider was a bit nose heavy (an inexperienced trimmer's fault) and I almost lost the pop pod in high grass, but for the money (I paid $3) it can't be beat for fun. More gliders, please!
05-27-1999 Paul Smith Est SU 1/2A3-2 Didn't Record Light - West - Again, tight left turn.
05-27-1999 Paul Smith Est SU 1/2A3-2 Didn't Record Light - West - Left turn too tight for long glide. Otherwise perfect.
05-27-1999 Paul Smith Est SU 1/2A3-2 Didn't Record Light - West - Red Baron - streamer tangled around glider - both spiralled in.
05-27-1999 Paul Smith Est SU 1/2A3-2 Didn't Record Light - West - Tried extra trim clay on right wing - absolutely terrible glide, reversing direction several times.
05-27-1999 Paul Smith Est SU 1/4A3-3 Didn't Record Light - West - Far too little impulse - ejected only about 15 feet up. Glider flew right back to me.
08-03-1999 Paul Smith Est SU 1/2A3-2 Didn't Record Moderate - Southwest - No separation of pod - helicoptered in.
08-03-1999 Paul Smith Est SU 1/2A3-2 Didn't Record Moderate - Southwest - Perfect.
08-03-1999 Paul Smith Est SU 1/2A3-2 Didn't Record Moderate - Southwest - Red Baron
08-03-1999 Paul Smith Est SU 1/2A3-2 Didn't Record Moderate - Southwest - Slight BT bend. No separation of power pod. Prang.
06-17-2000 David Urbanek Est SU 1/4A3-3 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - Not near enough thrust. Rocket was well on the way down when ejection fired. No damage.
06-17-2000 David Urbanek Est SU A3-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Very nice boost, a little more spin would keep it more veritcal. Over 2 minute glide. Nice preformer.
08-02-2000 David Urbanek Est SU A3-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds Event: NARAM-42
- Contest. Good boost. Very little arc. Glider stalled a lot, still got 107s flight.
08-02-2000 David Urbanek Est SU A3-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds Event: NARAM-42
- Second flight at NARAM. Rudder banged part of launch pad and was torn off. Still got 17s in a very strange glide.
03-25-2001 David Urbanek Est SU 1/2A3-2 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Nice straight boost. Good glide.
10-02-2004 Frank Whitby Est SU 1/2A3-2 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Foam version - Foam version. Clay in nose to trim. Dull boost to maybe 80 feet. Good separation. Glider stalled once, turned into breeze and glided in one smooth flight to ground. Clearly needs bigger motor. This was no head-turner.
   

Please Help Make Us Better!   

•  Copyright © 2019  •   EMRR   •   Legal/Privacy   •   Disclaimer   •