There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Tue Aug 17 07:33:49 2010

OOP
Estes Industries
Snitch (RTF)
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 6" x 8.5" - 2.0 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: MISSING - please submit here
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: C6-0

[Picture] (04/01/04) I purchased the Snitch to add to my 18mm U.F.O. comparison article. It is a simple Ready-to-Fly model from Estes made up of plastic and seemingly indestructible.

CONSTRUCTION:

The instructions are printed on the back of the cover-art and they simply tell you how to hook in the wire legs and flying guidance. That's it. Ready-to-Fly.

SnitchThe wire legs connect very easily.

The rocket comes with a twist retainer ring and Estes provides an extra.

Overall, for CONSTRUCTION I would rate this kit 5 points. What can ya really say for an RTF?

FLIGHT/RECOVERY:

Estes recommends the B6-0 or the C6-0. They estimate altitude as 65 feet and 120 feet respectively.

My Snitch weighed in at 2.0 ounces.


Launch

Flight preparation is simple. Insert the motor, twist on the retainer ring, install igniter and fly.

I have flown the Snitch three times all on C6-0's and all in our front yard. It gives very stable flights. At apogee it flips over and falls until it bounces on the landing legs. The only issue was that one leg popped out on one flight. It was right back in place in seconds.

For FLIGHT/RECOVERY, I would rate this rocket 5 points. With the extra retainer and consistent flights, it is a perfect rocket for backyard and U.F.O.-type rocketry.

I give the rocket an OVERALL rating of 5 points. It lives up to being a Ready-to-Fly.



(Contributed - by Chris Taylor) 

[Rocket Pic]Brief: This is one of the NEW 99 Estes RTF kits that I got from Walmart for a mere $7!  It is a copy of the old Estes Flying Saucer.  It looks cool and is awesome when it lands inches from the pad.

I expected possible damage to legs clips (that hold the legs in place) but after some 6 flights I have not yet had a problem.  But, you do need to keep it clean and be careful unloading as to not damage the retention ring.  [If you] break the ring, no problem you can use the extra but if you break the MMT part of the ring you are in trouble.  I have yet to have a problem yet!

As usual Saucer flights ROCK!  I love them. They are the maximum fun for the dollar and are very camera friendly. I hope to have pictures when I launch at my next club launch!

Construction: It came in a blister pack that says in large letter "READY TO FLY" and this is not a flying model rocket ... it is a flying action toy Rocket. 

Instructions? What instructions? All it needs is installation of the landing legs which is covered on the inside of the cardboard of the blister pack.  Very easy to build however a nasty gotcha is to keep in mind that you need to install the legs with care (although not a finicky as the Quest UFO).  If you are too rough you will break a clip that holds the legs in place.

There is no finishing beyond installing the landing legs (which move the CG where it needs to be for stable flight).  Decals are already applied and I like the twist-on motor retention a lot.  My kit, surprisingly whether by accident or on purpose, came with an extra retention ring in case I lose the first.

Mine is BRIGHT Green/Yellow

Although it is an RTF it is very cool looking and I love saucers.  I can not really rate construction since there really was not any construction to perform.

Flight: Motors are B6-0 and C6-0.  B6-0 would be a bore since it would not get very high but it flies as expected on a C6-0.  I love the slow and very low saucer flights and re-prep is a snap . . . unlock engine, remove, install, lock, & relaunch.  No wadding or anything! It always impresses!

As also expected, it does not enjoy wind but is ok and safe in moderate winds.

I can not wait to make this a two-stage saucer also an Apogee D10 would be fun but expensive.

Summary: I have mixed feelings on RTF rockets, but I must say this new line of rockets are, if anything, very cute and worth having.  Just for that reason and also the $7 price tag does not hurt a bit!

I love the flights and design and I actually like the color as well (partial to yellow and orange).

The flights are awesome for the kids and they will NEVER lose this rocket! This is important and it won't VANISH on them.  Trying to catch it is a serious NO, NO since when it hits your hand it will usually deposit a nice lump of still very hot motor stuff (yes I did this). 

The only CON I expected was the leg clips but they have survived so far so I guess I will wait and see!

Overall Rating: 4 ½ out of 5


(Contributed - by Bob Hvarven) [Rocket Pic]Another little ARF - There will surely be a Global "Plastic Shortage" very soon. Just happened to see this one while sliding the isles at Wally World. This is a little intro to a Flying Saucer ARF.....

Package: Again, it is hard to slam the packaging. Estes has done a fine job of making an appealing product presentation. I would like to see them spend R&D money on bringing back the "Classic" Estes kits and making some new "Kits" instead of Injection Moldings....

[Parts Pic]Parts: The pieces are not many. The Saucer, and a bag containing some other things to make it work

These parts are in the plastic bag. (3) landing gear wires, an extra motor retention ring, a nice "Little" catalog and the ever present Estes Pamphlet with some Safety and NAR info inside.

Construction: The landing gear wires just "Snap" into place. Didn't think I would ever finish - Wheww. The instructions suggest you place a piece of tape over the wire to keep it from jumping out of the plastic slots. Yes, they point UP. When you see the flight profile you will understand. The motor retention ring was already in place, and there is no need for a streamer or parachute.

Oh - add a little tape - do a little dance - get down tonight, get down tonight.... One of the most important things about a hobby - Gotta make it FUN.

[Rocket Pic]Yes, this is UP, and you are not experiencing CRT induced vertigo... Reference below..

Flight Profile: It goes up-pedey-up-up then it goes down-de-de-down-down. Gads!!! I think I just had a movie musical flash back .... As you can see, after boost and burnout of the motor, it looses it aerodynamic stability and flips over and lands on the cute little wire legs - ah, how sweet. I have seen one of these made by another company and it is worth watching - although the flight is very short. I've been racking what's left of my brain trying to figure out how to get an I-65 long burn into it ?? Hmmm.

[Rocket Pic]Flight: The C-6-0 motor installed, the igniter installed, and the motor retention ring in place and we are about ready to go. The "Snitch" waits on the gantry for the countdown to begin. FIRE -

Got lucky and actually was able to get a picture !! Here the "Snitch" climbs straight and true (although not very fast). Flight altitude couldn't have been over 60-70 feet, but it was fun to watch. The motor quit and the saucer flipped over as advertised and floated down to earth.

[Launch Pic]It landed on the wire legs, but flipped over on it's side without injury. The only way you could tell it had even flown was the slight discoloration on the motor retention ring, and the pungent smell of a spent black powder motor. Very satisfying flight, and would work perfectly for school or other small field demo's

Opinion: I liked this flying saucer. I know I have stated elsewhere I have a distinct dislike for plastic ARF's, but this one filled a neat gap between fast and high rockets that was fun to play with. It looks like you could launch it until you ran out of money buying motors and it would still be in one piece. It would have value as a demo rocket. It was a nice change of pace, and I believe almost anyone would enjoy it. I'm rating it high on it's "stand alone" merits and not clumping it together with the other ARF rockets I have seen and flown. BUY IT - If you don't like it, I guarantee that maybe, possibly, kinda' that perhaps ESTES will give you your money back - sorta' Ah, what's $6.00 to a bunch of 'High-Rollers" like ya'll... :)

Rating: 5 out of 5 , For what it is, leave it alone, it works great.....

Editor Note: These pictures were contributed by Dean Cooper. I thought they were worth posting without a review:

Ready to LaunchBlast OffAnother Launch

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
"Just got one for the kids. They love it!! I love it!! It flies just exactly as advertised right from the start. No work, no trim, no fuss. Yeah, ya gotta install the landing gear, but my dog could almost manage it. Read what the others wrote, because this does just what they say. The only difference I saw is that it was not affected at all by a steady 10mph wind the other day. It still landed in the same spot that it did with no wind." (J.H.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
04/03 - "Stage this saucer! Friction fit a C6-0 with masking tape and forget the retention ring. Then take a short piece of streamer and tape it to the side of a D12-0. Tuck the corner of the streamer in between the motors and fit them together. The D12 will ignite the C6 and separate, coming down on it's own little streamer (easier to see and makes the RSO happy), while the Snitch gets great altitude from the double boost." (T.P. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
03/03 - "While Estes booster motors are nice, try an Aerotech D21 for a much more exciting flight! Use the short delay so it will fire the ejection charge before it hits the ground or better yet, use an RMS D13 or D24 and just don't install the ejection charge BP. With the RMS you can't use the retaining ring because of the motor block built into the aft closure so just wrap the back end of the motor with enough masking tape for a friction fit. Also try coating the top and inner portion of the motor block as well as the motor retention ring (basically all surfaces exposed to motor heat) with epoxy to make them melt-proof.. works great to protect from motor exhaust and ejection heat. With this mod, rocket should last forever." (M.I.E. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
03/03 - "The snitch is a very fun rocket and a favorite of the kids. After 20 or so flights I do have some suggestions: 1) Epoxy the bouncy wires in place. I've had them spring loose on landing - and they're not fun to find in tall grass - count us lucky several times. 2) It's borderline durable on asphalt - our residential court being where this gets most of it's flights - so in addition to (1) Epoxying the bouncy wires in place, I'd suggest (2) applying a glue fillet (if not epoxy) to all of the rib attachment seams. 3) Carefully bend the wires back after each asphalt session to maintain as much spring as possible to minimize stress on the plastic. Otherwise, I like the fact that it's waterproof (vs the Art Applewhite Saucers which you *should* clear coat). Lastly, for fun, stage the snitch with a D-12 :)" (M.H. )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
11-17-2001 John Arthur Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds - Perfect, as always.
06-02-2001 Nicole Axtell Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds - Still think I like it.
06-02-2001 Nicole Axtell Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds - This is kewl. First flight
06-10-2001 Nicole Axtell Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds -
07-28-2001 Nicole Axtell Est SU B6-0 None - Glider Gusty - Nice Flight, but low on the B engine.
04-26-2009 Moe Bertrand Est SU C6-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Spring Blast
- Great first flight of my new Snitch. Forgot to attach landing gear spring wires I was in such a hurry to fly it.
04-26-2009 Moe Bertrand Est SU C6-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: Spring Blast
- 2nd flight of my new Snitch. This time I have the metal landing legs on.
04-26-2009 Moe Bertrand Est SU C6-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: Spring Blast
- 3rd flight of my Snitch. Great little performer.
06-06-2009 Moe Bertrand Est SU C6-3 Apogee - NC Up Calm Event: Grovers Park
- Another nice flight of my Snitch. I like this little saucer-roc.
11-07-2009 Moe Bertrand Est SU C6-3 None - Tumble Calm Flight PictureEvent: Orbital Rocket Derby
- Another great Snitch flight.
11-07-2009 Moe Bertrand Est SU C6-3 None - Tumble Calm Event: Orbital Rocket Derby
- Drag race with Darrel's Snitch...I lost. No photo of this one.
11-07-2009 Moe Bertrand Est SU C6-3 None - Tumble Calm Flight PictureEvent: Orbital Rocket Derby
- This time Dwain got the lead on my drag race Snitch with Darrel.
12-13-2009 Moe Bertrand Est SU C6-3 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Rainbow Valley
- Another cool flight of the Snitch. Gotta love this one.
12-13-2009 Moe Bertrand Est SU C6-5 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Flight Picture - Final flight of the day (13 on the 13th) during my Sponge Bob Santa Rescue Mission. Snitch sustained damage on landing...cracked the airfame at one of the legs. It'll be repairable with some good glue.
11-05-2000 Donald Besaw Est SU C6-0 None - Unknown 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight, It's amazing how much fun you can have with this rocket
05-20-2001 Donald Besaw Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds - Removed the legs before flight. Flew just fine without them.
09-13-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU C6-0 None - Unknown 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight. Landed about 3 feet away from me.
05-18-2008 James Bishop Est SU C6-5 None - Tumble 5-10 mph winds - Good flight, landed 15 metres from pad.
09-28-2008 James Bishop Est SU C6-3 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight.
03-20-2002 Tim Burger Est SU B6-0 Very Early 0-5 mph winds - Nominal.
09-07-2002 Tim Burger Est SU C6-0 None - Unknown 5-10 mph winds - Nominal flight.
06-04-2008 Bill Cooke Est SU C6-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds -
07-29-2001 Dean Cooper AT RMS D13-0 None - Glider Calm Kiwi-Snitch - This thing rocks on an Aerotech 18mm RMS D13! Easily reached over 200 feet and the lovely, thick black smoke trail was awesome! PICS AT WWW.GEOCITIES.COM/NZROCKETMAN
07-02-2004 Frank DiMatteo Est SU B6-6 None - Tumble Calm - Good flight except it almost hit me and the ejection charge fired and almost got me.
03-19-2004 EMRR Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble Calm - A repeat flight and trying to get pictures. Up, flip and down. Very stable and really slow on the C6.
03-19-2004 EMRR Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble Calm - First flight and trying to get pictures. Up, flip and down. Very stable and really slow on the C6.
03-19-2004 EMRR Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble Calm - Third flight. One wire popped out upon impact. Easily put back in.
05-27-2004 EMRR Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble Calm Flight Picture - Drag race with the Quest UFO. Quest got faster start but the Snitch passed it and went higer.
05-29-2005 EMRR Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble Calm - Good flight.
08-24-2009 EMRR Qst SU C6-0 None - Tumble Calm - Oh, funny, launched up nicely and then arced while under power right over the house.
04-22-2000 David Fergus Est SU B6-4 Didn't Record Calm - wanted to see if the delay caused any problem; it did but I can't remember what it was other then deciding not to do that again.
04-22-2000 David Fergus Est SU C6-0 None - Glider Calm - good flight to about 150 ft.
04-29-2000 David Fergus Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds - good flight
05-21-2000 David Fergus Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds -
07-22-2000 David Fergus Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds -
07-22-2000 David Fergus Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds -
08-26-2000 David Fergus Est SU C6-0 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds - one of 8 saucers in a simultaneous launch at the MASA 2nd annual Great UFO launch (see picture at our web site
08-25-2001 David Fergus Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds - launched as part of the Minnesota Amateur Spacemodeler Association (MASA) 2nd annual great UFO flyoff, 9 UFOs launched simultaneously.
09-29-2001 David Fergus Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 5-10 mph winds -
07-20-2002 David Fergus Est SU C6-5 None - Glider 5-10 mph winds -
07-30-2005 Rocky Firth Est SU C6-3 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Mikki's Snitch #1 - Mikki has entered into the Snitch Drag Race phenomenon!
07-30-2005 Rocky Firth Est SU C6-3 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Mikki's Snitch #2 - Mikki flew 2 of these in a 6 Snitch drag race. She lost to a CHAD staged Snitch that belongs to a friend of hers.
12-13-2009 Ben Genn Est SU C6-5 None - Tumble Calm Event: Launch Site 2
- First flight and a great one - fantastic fun!
01-10-2010 Ben Genn Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble Calm Flight PictureEvent: Launch Site 2
- Another great flight.
06-26-2005 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds - straight up, flips and lands- a bit boring really.
10-18-2005 Matt Gillard Est SU B4-2 None - Tumble 5-10 mph winds - did not have a 0 second delay, 2 seconds worked well, nice flip and a hardish landing. no damage
06-29-2006 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-0 None - Tumble Calm - good flight
07-01-2006 Matt Gillard Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: WCRC annual launch
- perfect
07-03-2006 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-0 None - Tumble Calm - good.
07-04-2006 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds - up down
09-08-2006 Matt Gillard Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds - up, down, fine.
11-06-2006 Matt Gillard Est SU C6-6 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds - straight boost,landed 5 foot from pad
11-09-2006 Matt Gillard Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble Calm - great
11-09-2006 Matt Gillard Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble Calm - always a great flight
11-17-2006 Matt Gillard Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds - strong winds, still performed well
11-23-2006 Matt Gillard Est SU C6-P None - Tumble 10+ mph winds - ejection charge damaged rear clip -will probably fix, might use this as a starting point for a new rocket.
01-02-2007 Matt Gillard Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds - great flight
04-01-2007 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-0 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds - low flight
04-01-2007 Matt Gillard Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds - good flight
04-02-2007 Matt Gillard Est Su D12-0/Est Su B6-0 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds - first time chad staging- works very well with the snitch, really good flight, give it a go!
04-02-2007 Matt Gillard Est SU D12-0 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds - chad staged to an empty 18mm motor, another great flight- D12 is the way to fly the snitch
04-02-2007 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-0 None - Glider 10+ mph winds - good
05-06-2007 Matt Gillard Est SU D12-0/Est SU B6-0 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds - fantastic flight
09-29-2008 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-0 None - Tumble Calm - straight up and down - no problems
09-29-2008 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds - another good flight
09-29-2008 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-0 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds - another up and dowm flight.
09-29-2008 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-0 None - Tumble 5-10 mph winds - another good flight
12-01-2008 Matt Gillard Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds - good flight
12-01-2008 Matt Gillard Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds - another good flight
08-01-2010 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-4 None - Tumble Calm - Used the Snitch to test a batch of old B6-4s. Good flight.
08-01-2010 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-4 None - Tumble Calm - Used the Snitch to test a batch of old B6-4s. Good flight.
08-01-2010 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-4 None - Tumble Calm - Used the Snitch to test a batch of old B6-4s. Good flight.this batch od motors seem to be okay
09-09-2006 Al Gloer AT RMS D24-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds - OK, this was just about as much as you can stuff in a snitch!
06-01-2008 Bob Harrington AT RMS D24-4 None - Tumble 5-10 mph winds Event: CMASS section launch
- Fun saucer flight.
08-06-2000 Jeff Howard Est SU B6-0 --- not selected --- Calm - Notes: perfect as always
08-06-2000 Jeff Howard Est SU B6-0 --- not selected --- Calm - Notes: perfect as always
05-26-2001 Jeff Howard Est SU C6-0 None - Unknown 0-5 mph winds - Always a crowd pleaser .......
05-27-2001 Jeff Howard Est SU C6-0 None - Unknown 0-5 mph winds -
09-28-2004 Sam Hughes Est SU C11-0/Est SU B6-6 Very Early 0-5 mph winds - the engins blow up in mid air very cool.
04-18-1999 Bob Kaplow Est SU B6-0 Didn't Record Didn't Record -
05-30-1999 Bob Kaplow Est SU C6-0 Didn't Record Didn't Record -
08-07-1999 Bob Kaplow Est SU C6-0 Didn't Record Didn't Record - cork blew closure 1 leg lost
10-16-2004 Geoffrey Kerbel Est SU B6-2 Late (2-3sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: Local park
- Hey, this thing is fun! Kind of low flight but it all worked fine. This thing is great for school demo's. It will also take quite a few motors out of your stash real quick!!
10-16-2004 Geoffrey Kerbel Est SU C6-3 Late (2-3sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: Local park
- Much better height with a C engine! Flips over and then the ejection goes off. Almost stuck the landing.
10-16-2004 Geoffrey Kerbel Est SU C6-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: Local park
- Third flight of the day. Same as the others. Spectators are requesting this one again and again.
10-16-2004 Geoffrey Kerbel Est SU C6-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: Local park
- Ok, this is the fourth flight, same again!
10-16-2004 Geoffrey Kerbel Est SU C6-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: Local park
- Fifth flight today! Same ol,same ol.
11-26-2004 Geoffrey Kerbel Est SU C6-3 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm Event: Local park
- Good flight but broke a landing wire this time. Will be tricky to repair. Main body is showing some cracks starting to form.
07-09-2005 Geoffrey Kerbel Est SU C5-3 Just Before 0-5 mph winds Event: Club park launch
- This is a great engine for this one! Really good height with just a bit short on the delay. Doesn't matter with this rocket at all. Another close landing to pad.
08-13-2005 Geoffrey Kerbel Est SU C5-3 Just Before 0-5 mph winds Event: Local park
- I like this engine. Not quite as high this time, felt a little tight on the rod. Stuck the landing!
05-13-2006 Geoffrey Kerbel Est SU B6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: Local park
- Test flight for open spot landing contest. Good height and range.
05-13-2006 Geoffrey Kerbel Est SU B6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: Local park
- Open spot landing contest. Dang, had the range just right but it took off at an angle and was off to one side. 16'-7 away good for second place.
04-14-2007 Geoffrey Kerbel Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 5-10 mph winds Event: Spring Blast
- Night launch with small strobes on each landing leg. Good boost but came down too fast with extra weight. Actually broke off part of ring between two legs!!! OMG I BROKE a Snitch!!!! Field repaired for another flight.
04-14-2007 Geoffrey Kerbel Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: Spring Blast
- Second flight same as first!! Broke again! OK, no more of this!!! Will repair.
06-02-2001 Diane Kirkland Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds - First flight. Angled slightly into the wind. Perfect 3 point landing. I like this rocket
06-10-2001 Diane Kirkland Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds -
07-04-2001 Diane Kirkland Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 5-10 mph winds - 7 deg angle with the wind. Recovery 20 yards from the pad.
07-04-2001 Diane Kirkland Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 5-10 mph winds - 7 deg launch angle with the wind. Recovered 17 yards from the pad. Wind from the south, but flight weathercocked to the West.
07-04-2001 Diane Kirkland Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 5-10 mph winds - 8 deg angle with the wind. Recovery 22 yards from the pad.
07-28-2001 Diane Kirkland Est SU B6-0 None - Glider Gusty - Short flight on the B engine, but still pretty cool. Got photos!
06-10-2001 Jennifer Kirkland Est SU C6-0 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds - My first launch.
05-27-2002 Ken Kirkland Est SU B6-0 None - Glider Light winds - 1st launch of the year. Touchdown 10 yards from the pad.
07-15-2007 John Lee Est SU C6-5 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds - First Flight. Kids loved it
07-17-2007 John Lee AT SU D21-7 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds - Bought as a prebuilt for the kids; they loved it on the small booster motors and I decided to try this one. It worked great and there was little or no charring from ejection charge.
08-01-2007 John Lee AT SU D21-7 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds - I just get a kick out of watching this thing scream off the pad, invert and come in for a landing.
09-08-2007 John Lee Est SU B6-0 None - Tumble 5-10 mph winds Event: Monthly Launch
- This was more impressive than one would suppose. Everyone got a good look.
12-16-2007 John Lee Est SU C6-5 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: China Grove
- Another one for the kids.
07-11-2008 John Lee Est SU B6-0 None - Tumble Calm Event: Witte Museum Make and Take
- Kids loved it
07-11-2009 John Lee Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Alamo Rocketeers Monthly Launch
- Good flight after repair of shell
07-19-2009 John Lee Est SU C6-5 None - Tumble Calm Flight PictureEvent: Vacation Bible School 09
- Good Demo Flight. The kids loved it.
03-10-2001 David Logan Est SU C6-0 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Another perfect flight, landed 10 ft from pad.
03-10-2001 David Logan Est SU C6-0 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Beautiful first flight, easy and quick prep, landed 15 ft from pad.
03-10-2001 David Logan Est SU C6-0 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - These are FUN to fly! Landed 10 ft from pad.
06-10-2001 David Logan Est SU C6-0 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds - Fun little things to fly. The only RTF Estes has that's worth having.
11-10-2001 David Logan Est SU C6-0 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds -
11-10-2001 David Logan Est SU C6-0 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds -
11-10-2001 David Logan Est SU C6-0 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds -
11-10-2001 David Logan Est SU C6-0 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds -
11-10-2001 David Logan Est SU C6-0 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds -
11-22-2003 David Logan Est SU C6-0 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Typical saucer flight.
06-27-2004 David Logan Est SU C6-0 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds -
04-17-2004 Darwin May Est SU B6-0 None - Tumble Gusty Event: Kloudburst 14
- Nice first flight, significant weathercocking
04-17-2004 Darwin May Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble Gusty Event: Kloudburst 14
- Came down hard and fast, acts like a big chute. Broke one of the landing thingies, may fly again if I can make a wire.
03-25-2007 Mal McClenaghan Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 5-10 mph winds - Great windy day rocket!
03-25-2007 Mal McClenaghan Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 5-10 mph winds - Another classic Snitch flight.
03-25-2007 Mal McClenaghan Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 5-10 mph winds - Last flight of the day (at dusk). Beautiful!
06-17-2007 Mal McClenaghan Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: Dandenong Wetlands
- Always good.
01-01-2000 MikeyR Est SU C6-3 didn't record calm - Nice wobbly boost. Lost a leg (found) on landing.
01-07-2000 MikeyR Est SU C6-3 didn't record 10+ mph wind - Nice wobbly boost. Lost leg and found again.
03-07-2001 MikeyR Est SU B6-0 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds - Nice, wobbly flight.
03-07-2001 MikeyR Est SU C6-5 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds - Again, nice and wobbly.
01-20-2004 MikeyR Qst SU B6-0 None - CATO 0-5 mph winds - The burning propellent shot 30-40 feet in to the air. Broke off the retainer ring for the motor, but only damaged the ring. No problems with the rocket.
01-20-2004 MikeyR Qst SU B6-0 None - Unknown 0-5 mph winds - Nice close flight again.
04-21-1999 Eric Miller Est SU B6-2 Didn't See Windy - This rocket is supposed to fly on an engine with no ejection charge. It is a Ready to Fly (:p) but I wanted to see a different form of recovery. It was not that impressive. Maybe the ejection charge messed it up.
06-20-2009 Kathy Miller Est SU B6-0 Apogee - NC Down 10+ mph winds -
07-12-2009 Kathy Miller Est SU B6-0 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds -
07-12-2009 Kathy Miller Est SU C6-0 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds -
07-12-2009 Kathy Miller Est SU C6-0 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds -
07-12-2009 Kathy Miller Est SU B6-0 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds -
07-14-2009 Kathy Miller Est SU C6-5 Late (2-3sec) 0-5 mph winds - Cracked the saucer on landing; repairable.
07-25-2009 Kathy Miller Est SU C6-0 Apogee - NC Down 10+ mph winds Flight Picture -
08-22-2009 Kathy Miller Est SU B6-0 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds -
09-12-2009 Kathy Miller Est SU C6-0 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds -
11-14-2009 Kathy Miller Est SU C6-3 Late (2-3sec) 10+ mph winds -
10-07-2006 Cliff Oliver Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds -
02-03-2007 Cliff Oliver Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds Event: Feb Launch
-
10-06-2007 Cliff Oliver Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 5-10 mph winds Event: October 2007 Launch
- Mass Launch
04-15-2000 Scott Patterson Est SU C6-0 None - Unknown 0-5 mph winds - Went up - turned over and landed on table next to our flight announcer. Applause from crowd :-)
07-29-2007 Bill Poster Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 5-10 mph winds -
09-04-2005 James Reyome Est SU B6-4 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds - One of those things we just had to have, a flying saucer. The Snitch flew great and landed soft, with its aliens unharmed and ready for assimilation. Or conquest...
10-22-2005 James Reyome Est SU C6-3 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds - Perfect flight for what is now our favorite wind checker.
10-19-2008 James Reyome Est SU C6-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: Centerville
- First flight of a surprisingly (and happily!) long day. Dead-straight boost and surprisingly high. Lost one of the legs on landing, but otherwise perfect.
09-25-2002 John Rowan-Stern Est SU B6-0 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds Dog Dish - Maybe 10'. I am offcially naming this the flying dog bowl!
07-21-2007 Dwayne Shmel Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds Event: Club Launch
- As Alan said: nice waste of a C motor. Actually it was a fun flight. One of the springs came off on landing. Will epoxy them on. C motor didn't go very high. Will mod the saucer for a D motor.
07-29-2007 Dwayne Shmel EST SU D12-0/EST SU C6-5 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight in the church field.
08-25-2007 Dwayne Shmel Apo SU C6-3 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: Club Launch Nowthen
- UFO drag race. Nice flight.
08-23-2008 Dwayne Shmel AT RMS D13-7 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds Event: Club Launch - Nowthen
- Drag race with other UFOs. Very cool. No delay charge installed.
05-30-2009 Dwayne Shmel Est SU C6-5 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds Event: Nowthen Launch
-
05-31-2008 Scott Smith Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds - Fun Rocket, no worries even with high winds.
05-31-2008 Scott Smith Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds -
05-31-2008 Scott Smith Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 10+ mph winds - Even with 10+ winds the Snitch landed 15ft from launch site.
10-22-2000 Steve Smith Est SU C6-7 Very Late Gusty - The ejection charge fired right after the saucer landed on the damp grass, giving a landing thruster effect that was just too cool!
10-22-2000 Steve Smith Est SU C6-7 Very Late Gusty - The ejection charge fired right after the saucer landed on the damp grass, giving a landing thruster smoke effect that was just too cool!
07-??-1998 Dick Stafford Est SU C6-0 None - Unknown Calm - I have flown this model many many many times, but this is my first recorded flight. It is the older version and may not have been called the Snitch. Same thing except for the color. Mine is grey with pink/blue/black decals. The landing wires have long
09-01-1998 Dick Stafford Est SU C6-5 None - Unknown Calm - I have used engines with ejection charges several times. Flight profile is about the same as for the C6-0 except at ejection the saucer is jolted pretty good. It landed hard on the pavement (landing wires long since were missing). One fin broke.
09-18-1999 Dick Stafford Est SU C6-5 None - Unknown Calm - The engine ejection again jolted the saucer hard but it came down in weeds without breaking. I now note erosion of the thrust ring/bulkhead. Don't know if this is due to using engines with ejection charges???
09-18-1999 Dick Stafford Est SU D12-0/Est SU C6-0 None - Unknown 0-5 mph winds - This is my 1st try at CHAD staging. I forced the D12 onto the end of the C6 (~1/8-1/4)and secured with some tape. The saucer weather cocked badly and headed down range. The C6 ignited and pushed it further down range. It was traveling almost parallel
06-06-2004 Dick Stafford Est SU C11-0 None - Tumble Calm Event: ECRM-31
- stopped dead in its tracks at BO; D12-0 staged to a C0-0 (required for CHAD)
06-06-2004 Dick Stafford Est SU D12-0 None - Tumble Calm Event: ECRM-31
- cool flight; D12-0 staged to a C0-0 (required for CHAD)
07-10-2004 Dick Stafford Est SU D12-0 None - Tumble Calm Event: NARHAMS
- great flight (D12 staged to a C0-0)
08-14-2004 Dick Stafford Est SU D12-0 None - Tumble Calm Event: NARHAMS
- CHAD to a C0-0
09-20-2008 Dick Stafford EST SU D12-0 + EST SU C6-0 None - Tumble Calm - It angled over and the C6 segment was parallel to the ground. Thanks, Nick, for the C6-0 ;)
12-07-2008 Chan Stevens Est SU C6-0 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds -
05-17-2009 Chan Stevens Qst SU C6-0 Didn't Record 10+ mph winds -
02-05-2005 Alan Tuskes Est SU C6-0 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Skybusters monthly launch
- Daughter's favorite rockets.I've learned to love flying saucers. Body tube is starting to get a little disfigured.
02-05-2005 Alan Tuskes Est SU C6-0 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Skybusters monthly launch
- Second flight of the day for this one. Typical, fun flying saucer flight. Landed less than 20 feet from the pad.
02-05-2005 Alan Tuskes Est SU C6-0 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Skybusters monthly launch
- Third flight of the day for this one. Engine tube area starting to get pretty warped from engine heat. May have to do some surgery if I continue to fly this one.
05-21-2005 Alan Tuskes Est SU C6-3 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: Sky Buster Launch
- My daughter's favorite rocket. Another enjoyable flight with a short walk for recovery. Gotta try a peppier engine in this thing. Hmmmm
05-21-2005 Alan Tuskes AT RMS D15-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: Sky Buster Launch
- Left the delay and ejection charge out of this engine. Great, loud, fast flight. One of the other guys responded with an Art Applewhite cone rocket with a 24 mm RMS flight. Gosh, I love saucers....
07-02-2005 Alan Tuskes Est SU C6-3 None - Tumble 5-10 mph winds Event: HUVARS Launch
- Ran out of booster motors, so I used a C6-3. Another great flight on my daughter's favorite rocket.
07-02-2005 Alan Tuskes Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 5-10 mph winds Event: HUVARS Launch
- My daughter asked for it, she got it. Extremely straight flight in a respectable breeze, but still recovered within a few feet of the pad.
01-08-2006 Alan Tuskes Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble Calm Event: Lakewood Park Launch
- My daughter's favorite rocket. Very good flight to somewhere around 100 feet (maybe) Don't have calibrated eyeballs, so who knows. Great for parks, and always a crowd please.
07-23-2000 Mark VanArsdall Est SU C6-0 not recorded Calm -
06-17-2007 Catesby Wolski Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble Calm Event: Pole Green Park
- Great flight!
08-19-2007 Catesby Wolski Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: Pole Green Park
- Great flight - I love to watch this rocket fly!
11-18-2007 Catesby Wolski Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: Pole Green Park
- Great flight!
06-01-2008 Catesby Wolski Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: Pole Green Park
- Good flight!
06-15-2008 Catesby Wolski Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: Pole Green Park
- Great flight!
09-21-2008 Catesby Wolski Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: Pole Green Park
- Great flight!
04-19-2009 Catesby Wolski Est SU C6-0 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Pole Green Park
- Drag race with two other saucers - three way tie.
   

Please Help Make Us Better!   

•  Copyright © 2019  •   EMRR   •   Legal/Privacy   •   Disclaimer   •