There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Thu Jul 21 19:25:25 2011

OOP
Estes Industries
Mongoose
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 26.5" x 0.98" - 2.3 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: Right Click to Download
SpaceCAD FILE: Right Click to Download
REC'D MOTORS: Single stage: A8-3, B4-4, B6-4, C6-5; Booster: C6-0; Sustainer: B6-6, C6-7

[Picture](03/21/98) I originally purchased an Estes' Mongoose Kit because I wanted to use it for an experiment, however, when my 8 year old nephew came to visit it seemed like a good kit to build together. So we built it.

The instructions have lots of illustrations, however, that didn't help us fully understand how to assemble the lower stage's motor mount. I think the problem starts in the first step when sliding the green booster adapter onto the motor mount tube. It tells you to slide it up to the 14mm mark, however, it is a bit confusing as to whether the front of the ring or the rear of the ring should be at 14mm. In the second step, you are told to apply glue and slide the motor mount "all the way in" the booster fin unit. The pictures show it partially out. Well, we got ours "all the way in" and flush with a bit of sanding. Of coarse, when finished the booster did not attach to the second stage flush. The remaining instructions and pictures posed no issues. [Picture]

As a side note, a young friend of mine had built the Mongoose on his own and had it at our last launch. I noticed that his rear tube was sticking out some and when attached to the second stage, it was flush.

At assembly the quality of the kit seemed fair. Plastic fin units. Plastic fin units. Standard motor mounts assembles. Two-piece plastic nose cone. Streamer recovery system. Streamer recovery system. The kit doesn't require any painting with yellow body tubes and pinkish nose cone and fin units. It also came with color scheme matching self-adhesive decals.

Flying the Mongoose demonstrated strengths and weaknesses of the kit.

[Picture]The weakness of the kit was seen in the sturdiness of the body tubes and the booster motor mount's susceptibility to burning away. With both my young friend's and our rocket, the booster was damaged on first flight. The damage was a slightly crushed body tube.

After 2 flights, the booster motor mount was completely burned away on our model. I think this is due to the method of motor retention that the Mongoose uses. On the booster, the engine block is mounted at the rear of the motor mount. On the second stage the engine block is mounted at the top of the motor mount like most kits. The two motors are taped together and slid into the second stage until they rest on the engine block. The booster is then slid onto the motor until is rests against it's engine block. This leaves the booster motor recessed approximately 3/8" inch. This causes two problems. First, it is a bit difficult to load the igniter and second, the rear engine block burns.

As mentioned though, flying the Mongoose also demonstrated a strength. This kit has nice flights. This kit has nice flights. With a B6-0 booster you get to see separation and watch flawless in-air ignition of the second stage. Two successful flights where impressive. My young friend's single flight faired differently but nonetheless impressive. With a[Picture]C6 booster we barely saw the separation and with a C6 in the second stage we strained to see ejection. After ejection, we watched the wind carry the Mongoose a long distance and it was lost in trees beyond the edge of the field.

Estes calls the Mongoose a "perfect first time two-stage rocket". I would question "first time" due to the instructions. Also, I don't think anyone could keep this rocket flying for very long due to the weak body tubes and rear engine mount. The only redeeming factor is that we enjoyed several impressive flights, however, I don't think that outweighs the other issues.


Rating
(Contributed - by David Sindel [Who's Who Page] - 01/15/09) Estes Mongoose

Brief:
This is a fairly simple 2-stage, 18mm rocket from Estes. I have slightly modified mine with shortening and a modified booster motor mount to repair damage.

Construction:
The parts list:

  • 18" of BT-50; mine only has 10" left.
  • 1-15/16" of BT-50 for booster
  • 2 magenta plastic fin units
  • PNC-50YR: 2-part magenta nose cone
  • 2 blue 18mm engine mount tubes of rather poor quality
  • 2 green 18mm-24mm centering rings
  • 2 green 18mm engine blocks
  • 1 long green 18mm-24mm adapter ring
  • 1 yellow 24mm reinforcement ring
  • Launch Lug
  • 1/8" x 18" shock cord
  • 1.2" x 30" orange streamer
  • Decal sheet
Estes Mongoose

I barely remember anything about construction of the original. Be very careful to align the launch lug halves perfectly. I would suggest going with a single, longer lug. Mine currently uses the scavenged plastic lug assembly from a Space Bus and that works well.

I took about 8" off of the sustainer body tube after it crimped twice--right above the fin unit and about 6" above it--and glued the fin unit on again. Five inches of the scavenged tube now resides in the pop-pod of my new boost glider; the rest was crumpled and trashed. The Mongoose is still perfectly stable and flyable even when shortened.

The other major modification is that I no longer have the lower motor mount tube. It was crushed the first time I tried to put a motor in it. All of the tubes in the kit are too thin and poor quality. I simply removed the tube and glued the lower engine block into the bottom centering ring. I now simply wrap the booster motor with a bit of masking tape and everything works great.

I suggest replacing the 2 crappy motor mount tubes with better, stronger BT-20 pieces. Be prepared to either shorten the body tube or repair it with tube couplers or fiberglass.

Two and a half points for building alone because the rocket is too flimsy for its own good, but the fin units make a lot up.

Finishing:
There's no painting to be done. The decals are sticker type--much easier for fumblefingers like me--and look halfway nice. The yellow and magenta coloring looks nice. My only complaints are the plain launch lug that doesn't fit in the color scheme and that the spirals on the body tube are visible. Picky, picky.

Four and a half points for finishing alone.

Construction Rating: 3 ½ out of 5

Estes Mongoose

Flight:
My first "flight" was on an A8-3 in 2004. The launch lugs weren't aligned enough and it stuck on the pad. That was my mistake.

The next flight was sometime last year on a B6-4. It was a perfect flight with a loud, straight boost to about 300 feet. Although the streamer deployed fine, the body tube crimped on impact, prompting me to make the changes.

The next flight was 2-stage on a B6-0/B6-6 combo. It was straight and fast, but staging was low enough to be seen. The sustainer disappeared into the darkening sky, only to reappear under its streamer 30 seconds later. Both of my modifications worked fine.

Its latest flight was on an A8-3. The flight was low, about 120 feet, but stable. The streamer didn't deploy, but it landed with no damage in a puddle of water. After drying, there was no damage, weakening, or warping.

However, either from deployment or more likely my handling, the loop broke off the nose cone. I simply drilled a small hole on the end of the nose cone shoulder, inserted a small screw, and glued it in with CA. The shock cord ties firmly to the screw head.

Estes recommends the A8-3, B4-4, B6-4, and C6-5 for single stage flights and C6-0s staging to B6-6s and C6-7s. I find that the B6-0 is a good booster for smaller fields (the A8-0 would be even better), and the rare A8-5s a good upper-stage motor.

Estes Mongoose

Recovery:
The shock cord is 1/8" x 18" elastic, barely adequate. A 24" or 36" piece of 3/16" elastic would have been better.

The 1" x 30" streamer is too long and it doesn't flap. A 2" x 20" streamer would be better. For A and B single-stage flights, a 12" parachute would be fine, but the streamer is needed for C and 2-stage flights because it is fairly light and would drift away quickly, especially from 1600 feet on a C6-0/C6-7 combo.

The main complaint I have though, is that the booster is marginally stable after separation and the front tends to crumple a bit. The reinforcement ring, however, excellently prevents it from crumpling too much.

Flight Rating: 4 out of 5

Summary:
Estes calls the Mongoose an excellent first 2-stage rocket. I say the Loadstar, Solar Flare, or one of Quest's L1 2-stagers would be a bit better. This was the first 2-stagers I built and the second I flew, so it's not too off the mark.

The Mongoose is a great flier for large and small fields. Except for the too-stable booster, it flies excellently. The main problem is that the tubes, especially the engine mount tubes are substandard. The plastic fin units are excellent and prevent beginners from having to mess with 8 fins, and the pre-finished look is excellent.

Overall Rating: 3 ½ out of 5


Rating
(Contributed - by John Venable - 09/13/09) Estes Mongoose

Brief:
This is a entry level 2-stage rocket with parachute recovery.

Construction:
The kit is a basic 2-stage consisting of upper and lower body tubes,nose cone, molded plastic fins, and a basic recovery system.

Construction was easy, but once again I had to tweak it! I heard that the upper and lower tubes around the motor mounts was weak so instead of centering rings, I filled the upper and lower tubes with a solid piece of tubing. I also used epoxy to construct this rocket. I used 1/8" Kevlar shock cord and an 8" nylon X-chute. No cons anymore!

Finishing:
It was super easy to paint. After motor mounts were glued in I primed all parts with BIN primer. I then applied 3 coats Rustoleum metallic copper to body tubes followed by 2 coats high gloss black to fins. No cons here.

Construction Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Estes Mongoose

Flight:
The 2 motors were taped together and inserted into body tube. I used 2 pieces of 1" Nomex cloth instead of wadding. All 3 flights I used a C6-0 and a C6-7. The first flight weathercocked at 300' and went horizontal. The next 2 flights were perfect at about 1000'. No cons after a few minor alignment issues.

Recovery:
1/8" Kevlar shock cord with 1" dual Nomex shields and an 8"Top Flite X-form chute followed by a solid lower stage made for lots of fun.

Flight Rating: 5 out of 5

Summary:
If you follow other peoples suggestions on this site before you build this or any other rocket there will be nothing but pros.

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5


Rating
(Contributed - by Alan Boldt [Who's Who Page] & Duane Boldt - 07/14/10) Estes Mongoose

Brief:
This review is for the 2010 EMRR Challenge "Two on One" review.

Duane Boldt and Alan Boldt contributed to this review.

Alan:
This 26.5" 2-stage rocket is purple and yellow with cool decals. It is easy to build and there are not many parts. The Mongoose has plastic, one-piece fin units on both the booster and sustainer.

Construction:
Components:

  • 1 - 18" Purple body tube
  • 1 - 2" Purple booster body tube
  • 1 - Yellow nose cone (50YR)
  • 1 - Nose cone adapter
  • 2 - Plastic fin units
  • 3 - Green adapter rings
  • 2 - Gray engine block rings
  • 1 - 1/8" x 24" elastic shock cord
  • 2 - 2.75" blue engine mount tubes
  • 1 - Yellow reinforcement ring
  • 1 - 1/8" launch lug
  • 1 - 12" plastic parachute
  • 1 - Green adapter ring
  • 1 - Sheet of self-stick decals
  • 1 - Folded sheet of instructions

Duane:
PROS: This kit makes a nice fast kit to build with school classrooms or school rocketry clubs. It is long enough to satisfy the 24"+ requireement for the NARTREK Cadet Mercury Level and also to fly the multi-stage flight in the later Cadet level. It was easy for us to build completely with thick CA glue.

Alan:
CONS: The only two cons are that the body tubes are not very strong and can be crushed if you are not careful. Also, if you break any of the plastic fin sets, they are difficult to repair. Most glues, even plastic cements, don't work well on them.

Duane:
The instuctions are typical Estes instructions and are easy to follow. We were building ours with a group of students and used thick CA glue from JonRocket.com to speed things up. Since we used the CA, we were having to wait for the glue to dry more than 10-15 seconds before moving on to the next step.

1. The booster is assembled with the short purple body tube, and engine tube, engine block ring and an adapter tube.

2. The upper stage involved a similar process with the longer purple body tube and similar parts.

** One thing you need to be careful of is glueing the engline block ring in the correct position in the booster and sustainer. It goes to the behind where the motor will be in the booster and forward of the motor space in the sustainer. We had to "undo" one or two of the engine block rings. Just follow the instructions and you will be fine.

3. We marked the line for the launch lugs before installing the sustainer motor mount/fin assembly. Then glued in the motor assembly into the sustainer body tube.

4. We marked for the launch lug possitions along the line drawn in step 3 and then scraped just a little paint off the tube at the marks. We then glued on the launch lugs.

5. We also used CA to glue the nose cone parts together,

6. We actually used a hot glue gun for the attaching the "3-fold" shock cord mounts inside the body tube. This saves some mess and works well as long as you glue it good and while the glue is still hot and liquid. (We have only ever had one come apart and that is when a rocket a much too short delay and the nose cone came off while it was still traveling very fast.)

7. The parachute was tied to the nose cone mattachment point along with the loose end of the shock cord.

There you go. A very fast build in one short session even with a group of kids. The rocket performs well and as long as you do not crush the tubes, as Alan mentioned, the rocket wil make many successful flights.

Finishing:
Duane:
There really isn't any finishing other than applying the decals. they are typical self-adhesive decals. The kids like them a lot and had fun putting them on. Not quite as nice as waterslide decals, but easy to apply.

Alan:
Construction Rating: 4 out of 5

Flight:
Duane:
We mostly flew B6-4 motors for single stage flights and B6-0 / B6-6 combos for two stage flights. The rocket performed great. The field we were lauching at is great for up to B motors. C's and multi-stage sometimes get devoured by the rocket eating trees or are carried by wind to a make some other lucky kid happy. Overall great performance on our flights.





Recovery:
Alan:
PROS: Very easy to assemble parachute. No damage if packed correctly. Lands not to far from pad in low wind conditions.

CONS: The body tubes were kind of flimsy and sometimes were crumpled on landing, if parachute didn't deploy fully. One student, launching with us, did loose their sustainer on a multi-stage flight with too much wind.

Flight Rating: 5 out of 5

Summary:
Duane:
PROS: The Mongoose is a simple to build kit that works good for classroom building. It is easy enough that it can be built quick and with little hassle when working with larger numbers of kids. It also works for several of the NARTREK Cadet required flights including Level 1 build with plastic fins, 24"+, and Multi-Staged.

CONS: The tubes are a little flimsy and the paper can sometimes peel. Treat tube ends with thin CA before building to keep them from unraveling.

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5

Other:
Alan:
The Mongoose is a simple rocket to build and flies well.

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
10/09 - "Hey, it's back and uglier (purple and yellow) than ever. I found the instructions to be mostly OK. A little confusing when assembling the engine mounts, but careful examination shows you what you need. I flew mine on a pair of C motors and recovered with a streamer. It seems kinda nuts to put a chute on this thing. The booster sort of glides rather than tumbles. This is a fun rocket, good performance and easy to build." (J.P.A.)

GUEST's OPINION:
10/08 - "According to their web site, Estes is bringing the Mongoose back. The colors are awful, though - purple body tube and yellow nose and tail. Ugh. Interestingly, they say it will have an 18" chute. Sounds like overkill to me - My slightly shortened Mongoose is fine with the stock streamer." (D.S.)

GUEST's OPINION:
10/08 - "This was my first 2-stage rocket built and my second flown. I wouldn't call it 'perfect', but it is a great flier on two B6s. It has 2 flaws: 1, the body tube crimps easily (8 inches of mine now resides in a BG), and 2, the booster is stable after separation and tends to crumple. Still, it's a great rocket." (D.S.)

GUEST's OPINION:
01/06 - "The biggest criticism I have of the Mongoose is that the body tubes are weak! My rocket lasted all of two flights. It builds easy, and flies high and fast. However, you will find that the rocket will destroy itself upon landing. My booster section crumpled under it’s own weight on it’s first staged flight. The sustainer comes in tail ballistic upon ejection. That streamer just won’t do. Be sure to use a 12” parachute to ensure the Mongoose’s survival. I will likely build another Mongoose from scratch, as I do not like the colored body tubes in the kit." (N.Q.)

GUEST's OPINION:
09/05 - "The streamer with this kit just isn't enough to slow it down so it doesn't get damaged on impact. My first flight ended up with a bent body tube, and similar damage to the booster section. This is in great weather, and landing in 6" to 12" grass. The damage to the booster section isn't too much of a problem, but the body tube damage makes this rocket unflyable. A 12" parachute should be adequate for this rocket. Maybe will get another one to see for sure. Got to say it was a great flyer, even though I only got to fly one time." (K.G.)

GUEST's OPINION:
07/04 - "Had almost the same experience with the booster stage as noted in the review. It came down like a ton of bricks (straight down hard, fins up) and severely impacted the tube. Also, the first two times we flew this rocket (single stage both times) the engine ejected and landing was soft. When we used both stages, the sustainer stayed in and consequently the rocket impacted pretty hard and bent the main body tube. Might be hard to get this back in flying condition." (D.H.)

GUEST's OPINION:
09/03 - "I found the mongoose went together OK, but noticed the tubes seemed rather flimsy. I replaced the original streamer with a mylar one twice as wide (same length). First flight was B4-4, pretty nominal, came down like a ton of bricks. This resulted in a serious crimp in the BT, the fins survived fine. This rocket is made of seriously flimsy tubing! It'll need work before it flies again. A shame, because it looks pretty nice all decal'd up." (N.O.)

GUEST's OPINION:
03/02 - "I bought this rocket because it was like my first two stage rocket, my Estes Scorpion. However, it was not built the same way. The primary differences was in the booster construction, and the rocket used a streamer instead of a 12” parachute. The complaints about the thin tubing is accurate. I made some modifications to my Mongoose. I added a centering ring to the top of the booster’s centering ring. This adds support to the booster airframe." (D.W.G.)

GUEST's OPINION:
07/01 - "I found the Estes, "Mongoose," to be a good first time two stage rocket as Estes claims. I think the biggest problem surrounding this rocket is the people using it, not the rocket itself. However, I will admit that the instructions were unclear and so I ditched them and built it on my own using my own experience as a guide. My motor tube is flush with the bottom of the booster and the engine block is at the bottom. However, I did make a modification in that I made a tube coupler that joins the booster to the sustainer and falls away with the booster when the sustainer ignites. I have had two perfect two stage flights and have been very happy with the kit overall. (I do recommend using a larger streamer.) I think that the people who wrote this interview gave an inaccurate view of the Mongoose because of their inexperience. If the Mongoose has a problem, the problem is that people don't know how to use it so and so it should have a higher skill level rating. I don't have a favorite tip, but one that you might add which corresponds with the Mongoose is, "When using a streamer crumple it up and wrinkle it real bad before loading it into your rocket. The wrinkles cause the streamer to flutter more and make your decent rate slower." (J.D.E.)

GUEST's OPINION:
04/01 - "This is not a good rocket from the weak body tube my rocket veered off the 2nd stage, can't go into the wind, or it will explode. The 2nd stage is a crappy design with the engine being the thing that holds it on for the flight! I didn't think it went 1600 feet it seemed more like 1000 to me!" (S.P.)

GUEST's OPINION:
04/01 - "I too, still have an Estes Scorpion, a few in the bag and one built. I have never had a problem with the Scorpion, and never had trouble with the Mongoose, except loosing them. I DON'T KNOW THE EXPERIENCE LEVEL HERE OF THESE OTHER PEOPLE, but this kit is very simple to build. I have recovered one of my kits 3 times before losing it, and the others I still have the boosters. The tubes have never bent, and the fins never break. I don't know how they fly theirs, but this is a great kit either for single stage, or to use as a 2 stager. [The review was] Inaccurate as to the difficulty building it, maybe I had some better instructions in my kit. Maybe enough people complained and Estes changed them. I will go but another and let you know." (C.S.)

GUEST's OPINION:
04/01 - "I recently built this kit, but when I put the C6-0;B6-6, the friction fit didn't work properly, and the entire upper engine mount ripped out of the BT. My kit also came with an extra EM(yellow). I replaced my shock cord with sewing elastic because THE SHOCK CORD SUPPLIED WITH THE KIT IS WEAK!!! it burned through on my first flight." (S.W.)

GUEST's OPINION:
11/00 - "I also thought the airframe tubing was not very substantial and would not take much abuse. My remedy to this was to glass the booster tube and airframe with a single layer of 2 ounce glass cloth. It did not add much weight and makes a big difference in strength. I think it also solved the problem of the booster burning away since there is visible signs of black streaking down the booster tube but it is not damaged. I have flown it with B6's in the booster and it stages nicely. My only problem is I can't seem to get a long enough delay for the sustainer. Twice the sustainer has come down from apogee without nose cone or streamer but the sustainer had no damage because of the added strength from the glass." (D.L.J.)

GUEST's OPINION:
08/00 - "I launched mine on a B6-0 to B6-6. I didn't have any melting on the booster fins, but the booster didn't really tumble, it streamlined into the ground, and crimped the upper end of the motor mount. Next time, I'll reinforce the motor mount tube with CA.The upper stage performed perfectly." (D.K.)

GUEST's OPINION:
09/99 - "I have tried to build and fly the Mongoose as recommended by the manufacturer and have pretty much suffered from most of the problems of others. I haven't had any booster erosion, but I've only flown that particular booster once. Somewhere, I saw that the booster is better protected using either glue or clear spray to the separation area and this may have helped a lot. I think that most of the problems with the rocket are related to recovery. The rocket is unfortunately aerodynamic going down and therein is the main problem. The motor assembly is too solid compared to the body tube, making rocket recovery a set-up for body tube damage. I still have an Estes Scorpion, and still have suffered some body tube damage, although not as much as the Mongoose. I have taken this as a challenge and resorted to a little kit-bashing. I modified the upper body tube on the upper stage to become a payload section. I expect that at ejection, this should cause the model to be less aero! dynamic, when the rocket falls to earth in more equally-sized pieces. My goal is to allow the rocket to survive by nose-blow recovery, even if a streamer or parachute fails. I also tried to provide a better transition between the engine area of the upper stage and the body tube, using 2 AR2050 rings as mentioned before, and 2 BT-50 couplers. The included streamer is entirely inadequate and I plan to get one of those mylar "solar blankets" and cut it up into a few streamer strips to see if this would help. I haven't launched the modified Mongoose yet, but will try to provide an update. The Mongoose kit does have the virtue of being available, cheap, and easy-to-build. I am trying to make several versions (payload versions, etc.) to make a modular "rocket system" serving a variety of purposes." (F.F.)

GUEST's OPINION:
07/99 - "I agree with the other reviewers that the Mongoose has a flimsy body tube. However it really goes as a two stage rocket. With B6-0 and C6-5 it flies out of sight (literally). I had to replace the streamer with a chute though as it otherwise dropped like a rock. On flights above 1000ft though it can really drift quite a distance. It's also visually very impressive when it stages evoking ooohs and ahhs from the spectators." (B.C.)

GUEST's OPINION:
"My friend and I recently purchased the Mongoose kit and encountered the same problems with the instructions that you did. Fortunately, we managed to glue it together correctly, we think. We haven't launched it yet but will soon hopefully. The model isn't completed. The real problem is that we are missing half the instructions! This is the second time I have had problems with things not being included in Estes kits. Actually I found this site searching for the plans for the Mongoose because this is our first two-stage and we don't know how to finish it. I appreciate the review though. I appreciate the review though. Gives me an idea how the bird will fly cuz I'll probably never see it!" (C.)

GUEST's OPINION:
"I remember the SRV Scorpion (the Mongoose in a great red and black color scheme with a payload section). The big difference between the Scorpion and the Mongoose is how the motor assembly is added to the fin unit. I retro-fitted my Mongoose and it cleared up the problem of fin unit melt down. Assemble the mounts as per instructions EXCEPT glue a RA2050 (D motor block ring) so it is FLUSH with the bottom of the fin unit. I used bond paper glued to the outside of the RA2050 rings to thicken them up enough. This prevents the hot gases and particles from getting up between the plastic fin unit and the motor mount tube." (J.B.)

GUEST's OPINION:
"I have seen the same problem with the 1st stage booster, it gets burnt during separation. I've flown it twice on a windy day, it flies awesome against wind, the instructions are okay, but altogether I find it is an awesome rocket. Use masking tape to hold boosters, it will push the booster block further away when the booster back fires, making it get burnt less." (T.J.D.)

GUEST's OPINION:
"I found the Mongoose instructions to be reasonable. The kit quality wasn't bad, but then I am not particularly fond of the Estes E2X kits I have built and tend to avoid them. I have only flown the Mongoose single stage. The first flight graphically demonstrated the weakness of the body tube. I flew it on a A8-3 for its first flight. It went up about 75-100 feet, ejection and dropped like stone onto its fin units and crimped the body tube just above the fin unit. Second flight was on a C6-5. Out of sight! The rocket flies straight up, even in a light wind with no tendency to weathercock. Lost the rocket after ejection and literally had to trip over it to find it. I dislike the kit overall, but it does fly well. I haven't even attempted to fly it two-stage. Given its performance on a single C motor, I expect it to become a memory if I ever fly it on a C6-0/C6-7 combination. Reinforce the lower body tube. I am going to shorten this rocket a bit when I cut apart the tube at the crimp damage point to insert a coupler to strengthen it. I'm also going to add external reinforcement which will basically make it a new rocket. I won't be buying another one." (M.P.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
09/09 - "First, instead of centering rings you need to install a solid piece of body tube between the motor housing and the body tube, both upper and lower stages, for durability. Second, you need to coat the inside of the upper body tube with Header paint (any of you car guys will get this immediately). Third, you need to use tubular Kevlar® Cord and a 8" nylon chute on a swiwel. Install the shock cord to the motor mount and not to the upper part of the body tube for free movement for recovery system, trust me! You can either use two 1" pieces of Nomex® cloth or just wadding, no worries. Fourth, cut 3/4" off the length of the upper stage. And the most important thing of all: use epoxy!" (J.V. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
03/06 - "The stock streamer is too small to slow the Mongoose enough to prevent kinking the body tube on landing. I've just found with my second Mongoose that a 2 inch streamer 40 inches long connected to the shock cord from the middle is the perfect amount to slow the rocket enough to prevent damage." (M.I.E. )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
03-10-2009 John Adams Est SU C6-0 to C6-7 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight. Weather vaned a bit. Booster flew a long way (kinda glided). Recovered under streamer.
08-03-2009 John Adams Est SU C6-0 to C6-7 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Sweet flight. Weather-vaned a little. Came down on a streamer for a not-so-long walk. Booster went much farther than I thought it would. Like my OLD Mongoose, the booster kinda glides. (oh.. Not OOP anymore)
03-22-2009 Moe Bertrand EST SU B6-0 / QST SU A6-4 Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Rainbow Valley
- Nice 1st flight of my Mongoose out of the tower. Booster came in ballistic just feet from the pad...the Quest A6-4 kept the sustainer within reasonable distance. Both parts suffered landing damage...repairable.
04-04-2000 Shawn Bradley 4x Est SU C6 Didn't See Calm - I modified my mongoose so it has 4 booster stages, never saw it again. Must of gone at least 2300!!
04-13-2002 Tim Burger Est SU B6-0/Est SU B6-6 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds - Nice staged flight.
05-27-2002 Tim Burger Est SU B6-0/Est SU B6-6 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds - Nice high flight - I was watching the booster, recovery crew watching sustainer. Both parts found OK despite recovery crew losing sight of sustainer (it landed 20 feet behind us.)
09-07-2002 Tim Burger Est SU B6-0/Est SU B6-6 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds - Good flight - good staging. Deployed OK, but broke fin on very hard ground.
11-09-2002 Tim Burger Est SU B6-0/Est SU B6-6 Didn't See Gusty - Nice staging, good flight.
11-09-2002 Tim Burger Est SU B6-0/Est SU B6-6 Didn't See Gusty - Nice staging, good flight.
03-22-2003 Tim Burger Est SU B6-0/Est SU B6-6 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds RIP - Good stage, good flight. Gave to young D. May since his was lost earlier in the day. Status: Retired
06-24-2006 Chris Coffin Est SU B6-0/Est SU B6-6 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds - NARTREK Bronze two stage flight requirement. Also my first ever two stage flight. Flew straight as an arrow to around 1000 feet. Buckling of tubes on both the booster and sustainer from hard landings though. It's still flyable.
05-17-2001 Jonathan Elder Est SU B6-0/Est SU A8-3 Just Before Gusty - Slight weather cock, early charge (duh, look at the engines used), perfect delpoyment, no dammage on recovery.
07-06-2003 Rocky Firth Est SU B4-4 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Launched just the second stage for a great flight and recovery.
09-19-2010 John French Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect Calm RIP - First flight, as single stage. Flew straight and quite high, perfect ejection at apogee, field too small. Completely lost in trees. Status: Lost
08-09-2004 Matt Gillard EST SU C6-0/EST SU A8-3 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds RIP - Good straight flight, booster stage separated from rocket, both ends recovered. Status: Retired
11-16-2003 Joe Gumby Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect Calm - perfect flight, B6-0 B6-6 results in out of sight flight. Streamer is far too small.
08-17-2007 Chris Halinaty Qst SU B6-0/EST SU B6-6 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: Baak Launch 1
-
03-29-2008 Chris Halinaty Qst SU B6-0/Est SU C6-7 Apogee - NC Down Calm -
03-29-2008 Chris Halinaty EST SU C6-0/EST SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up Calm - Booster tube creased and needs repair.
07-19-2004 Forrest Henry Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Nose cone came untied on ejection, but everything was recovered fine and easy to repar for the 2 stage flight...
07-19-2004 Forrest Henry Est SU B6-0/Est SU A8-3 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds RIP - Didn't want to lose the rocket on a gusty day, so we gave it a weak upper stage. Flight and staging went great, but booster came down like a ton of bricks. Body tube was also pretty badly dented on impact and fins were slightly melted - will try to fix but might not be worth while. Status: Retired
08-07-2010 Chris Jeppesen EST SU C6-0/EST SU C6-7 Apogee - Perfect Light winds RIP Robert - Great flight, parachute deployed, then drifted over the trees surrounding the park launch site. First stage was recovered. Status: Tree/Roof
11-22-2003 David Logan Est SU B6-0/Est SU B6-6 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Perfect staging and deployment. Crimped sustainer on landing. Also melted sustainer fin can a bit.
06-26-2004 David Logan Est SU B6-0/Est SU B6-6 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - NARTREK Bronze two stage flight. Time to retire this one soon, the fin units are starting to melt from the heat.
05-11-2002 Michael Mangieri Est SU B4-4 Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds - Single stage flight - very good - best launch of the day. Fins melted a bit (too close to the blast deflector plate).
06-18-2002 Michael Mangieri Est SU B6-0/Est SU A8-5 Apogee - NC Down Calm - Nice flight - straight up, clean sustainer ignition, went quite high. Chute opened nicely - then, upper winds took her into the western trees - lost sight of her. May be lost either in the trees or in the underbrush below.
05-15-2004 Darwin May Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record Calm Event: KCAR sport launch
- It didn't go very high this time. I did however get a good spot landing. It was 2 inches from the pad.
03-20-2005 James Robinson Est SU C6-7 Very Late
(800? ft)
0-5 mph winds RIP - I wasted two ingniters then my wife got ingnition on third. The rocket lifted off out of sight. After a search, we found it about 500 ft downwind stuck in a tree about 30 ft off the ground. The 2ndstage I still have will be added to a new kit! Status: Tree/Roof
08-02-2004 Dana Ryman Est SU B6-0/Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - I needed this for my last requirement for NARTREK Bronze. Excellent maiden flight. I accidently used a wrong engine combo but worked out fine.
03-12-2000 Robert Schuette Est SU B4-4 Apogee - Perfect Light winds - Nice launch and flight. Not enough streamer, bent rocket upon landing just above fins. Still flyable, will add streamer length
05-16-2004 David Sindel Est SU A8-3 None - Underpowered 5-10 mph winds - Launch lug stuck on pad :(
10-13-2008 David Sindel Est SU B6-0 /Est SU B6-6 Didn't See Didn't Record - Sims estimated 900 feet, I concur.
11-16-2008 David Sindel Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect Gusty Event: CATO 143
-
01-18-2009 David Sindel Est SU D12-0 /Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record Didn't Record - Used a 10 24mm saucer for the booster. Staging was at a side angle but it recovered safely.
05-05-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-0/Est SU C6-7 Very Late Calm - Due to rod whip, this kit went at an angle of the pad and looked like a stage cruise missle. Never found the sustainer.
08-18-2003 Lee Smith Est SU B6-0/Est SU C6-5 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds - Wow..Lost sight of rocket. Booster crimped after hard landing. Rocket vanished for what seemed like 20 seconds, thumped down 40 feet from pad. Thought I'd lost it because it was gone so long.
09-17-1998 Paul Smith Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record Calm - Hit asphalt with one fin at high speed on landing. Slight BT bend just above fins. One fin somewhat dinged. Should probably (Second Stage Only) launch with larger engine. Questions about stability of remaining rocket: will need testing before flight.
09-18-1998 Paul Smith Est SU B6-0/Est SU B6-4 Didn't Record Light - Southwest - Severe BT bend. Landed on grass at high speed, but existing weakness too much. No longer fliable.
09-18-1998 Paul Smith Est SU B6-0/Est SU B6-6 Didn't Record Calm - Slight BT bend (exaggeration of existing bend) Hit asphalt with one fin at high speed on landing. Very hard to locate booster stage - found only by chance during a later recovery.
09-29-1998 Paul Smith Est SU B6-0/Est SU B6-4 Didn't Record High - West - Lost sight of second stage, didn't find until next launch. This was the first flight of the shortened version - no problem.
10-02-1998 Paul Smith Est SU B4-4 Didn't Record Calm - (Second Stage Only) Landed 20' from pad
10-02-1998 Paul Smith Est SU B4-4 Didn't Record Calm - (Second Stage Only) Rather than ejecting recovery system, charge blew out engine mount (which was not glued).
11-17-1998 Paul Smith Est SU B6-0/Est SU B6-6 Didn't Record Calm - Lost a launch lug - found later still attached to launch rod. Flew perfectly, straight and quite high. Separated, then came back down straight towards me, missing my head by only about 2 feet.
11-17-1998 Paul Smith Est SU B6-0/Est SU B6-6 Didn't Record Calm - Upper stage engine mount knocked loose. Still attached on landing, but no longer glued or straight. Needs regluing. With only upper launch lug, came crooked off the launch rod, and flew towards the north.
04-24-1999 Paul Smith Est SU A8-0/Est SU 1/2A6-4 Didn't Record Moderate - East - Perfect
05-02-1999 Paul Smith Est SU C6-0/Est SU C6-7 Didn't Record Strong - East - Flew horizontally, over a woods. Never saw sustainer again. Recovered booster.
05-02-1999 Paul Smith Est SU C6-0/Est SU C6-7 Didn't Record Strong - East - Some melting of upper stage fin can. Spectacular. Never would have recovered both halves without the club there.
06-27-2005 Reid Smith Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm - Launched as a single stage, went up maybe 150 feet. Never slowed down before it hit the gravel infield bottom first and bent the body tube. Will try to repair it.
04-14-2003 R Turner Est SU C6-0/Est SU A8-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds RIP - Perfect flight both motors. Booster impailed in grass huge dent in tube. Rocket drifted into horizon never to be seen again! UK Launch Site Status: Lost
11-12-2000 David Urbanek Est SU C6-0/Est SU C6-7 Very Late Light winds - Slowish boost. Arced a lot. 7 seconds too long. Streamer too small.
04-04-2009 John+Max Venable Est SU C6-0/Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Event: snow ranch
The Lucky Penny - Better than last flight to 1000' easily visible actually caught the first stage as I was chasing the second. Nice flight
04-04-2009 John+Max Venable Est SU C6-0/Est SU C6-7 Late (2-3sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: snow ranch
The Lucky Penny - It screamed off the pad to 1100' perfet flight and recovery.Good intro to 2 stagers.
04-04-2009 John Venable Est SU C6-0/Est SU C6-7 None - Unstable
(1200 ft)
5-10 mph winds Event: snow ranch
The Lucky Penny - After 1st stage rocket went 45 o/o into wind. Re-inforced booster survived a core sample. Coulda gone 2000 . 1/4 mile walk to retrieve. Hit hard thanx to epoxy, WFA
07-04-1996 Ron Watkins Est SU B6-0/Est SU B6-6 Didn't Record Moderate breeze - Good flight-good stage separation-predicted altitude 1,010 ft. -good recovery.

Copyright © 2019 by RocketReviews.com