There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Mon Sep 27 00:05:21 2010

OOP
Custom Rockets
Galileo Probe
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 8" x 1.325" - 0.4 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: Right Click to Download
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: 1/2A6-2

Rating
(Contributed - by Ben Bentley - 10/30/03)

Rocket PicBrief
The Custom Galileo Probe is a small scale-looking rocket. It uses the 18mm 1/2A engines and is a great flier. It comes down on its nose cone unharmed every time. It is a cool looking and fun rocket.

Construction
The kit is a pretty simple one, packaged in a bag with all the pieces intact. It comes with a small length of BT-20, 3 balsa fins and dowels, a paper shroud pattern, a balsa nose cone, and a launch lug and stand-off. Construction goes smoothly and is fairly simple because the tapered shroud is already marked for fins. The instructions are very basic, but a beginner could follow them.

Finishing
The balsa parts need to be finished for a good look and I recommend a coat of primer. I painted mine like the box cover, all white with a red NC. That was pretty simple with some masking tape. The decals that come with it are good quality and go on easy. The finished rocket looks very cool.

Construction Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Flight
For flight, I used the recommends 18mm 1/2A6-2. It was a nice stable flight and a good ejection. The only problem was that when the engine was coasting, the rocket started to tilt. Then, when the engine ejected, it blasted the rocket in the other direction. Luckily, it didn't go far and landed softly. It's flown five times and is now one of my favorite rockets.

Recovery
Recovery is uneventful..............if it lands on grass! Mine landed on a row of rocks once and had a lot of damage. The nose cone was dented and two fins broke off. Luckily, it's a simple rocket and was easily repaired.

Flight Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Summary
If you like small rockets or scale rockets, you should get one of these. Just throw it together before a launch and see how you like it.

This kit is a good build up to a scale rocket because it uses some scale techniques.

Overall Rating: 4 ½ out of 5


Rating
(Contributed - by Lance Souther - 03/08/07)

Brief:
Single stage futuristic rocket.

Rocket PicConstruction:
This rocket comes with one short body tube that is just slightly longer than an 18mm engine. It primarily uses 1/8" diameter wooden dowels for fins. I say this due to the fact that you use small balsa pieces for the dowels to lay down on. They would be to small to act as fins however. The rocket comes with a balsa nose cone.

This is a fairly easy build. Due to the smallness of it cutting the balsa pieces that the dowels lay on, it can be a bit tricky. If you take your time you will be fine. The hardest part about this rocket is that you have a cardboard ring that goes on the outside of the body tube, which lines up with the bottom. This is so you can roll it around the main body, which is a paper shroud around the body to get the symmetrical shape. I must have held the shroud together for nearly an hour to ensure I had the proper fit (make sure there is a good TV show on), as I wanted to ensure it didn't bind up. I used Elmer's but should had used carpenters glue as I wouldn't of had to hold it as long. It came out looking fine though. Instructions are pretty straightforward. You also have to drill a 1/4 inch hole near the top of the body tube to allow the ejection gases to release. If there was a "gotcha", this is it. Make sure the nose cone is not going to cover the hole. Mine did and I had to remove the cone and cut some of the excess off. I would had liked more illustrations in the instructions too.

Finishing:
Since it is such a small rocket, it is easy to paint. I decided to paint mine mostly yellow as I wanted a brighter color to make it easier to find. It came out looking rather well. The decals are small and due to this are hard to place, but if you have put on several decals on other rockets, then you should be fine.

Construction Rating: 4 out of 5

Flight:
Only recommended motor I had was the A8-3. I prepped it and put the motor to the edge of the body tube. Rocket took off the rod fine but about 20 feet up took a hard left and flew at about a 60 degree angle. Then at ejection it sounded like a pow and when I recovered the rocket I saw why. It blew one wood dowel with the fin completely off. All parts recovered. I fixed it back up and flew it again several days later on an A8-3 and the same thing happened except this time every wood dowel blew off and two of the fins. Since the rocket didn't go very high I was able to salvage all the parts. Once again I put it back together no problem, but if I fly it again, it will with a 1/2A. For now it's just a display model.

Recovery:
Recovery is supposed to be tumble but as you can read above I had no such luck. Let's call it the explosion recovery!

Flight Rating: 2 out of 5

Summary:
Not sure about the stabilization of factory issued rocket. Might need some nose weight. I might try gluing a small washer to the base of the nose cone. Of course it might fly fine with a 1/2A as the lift off will be slower.

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5


Rating
(Contributed - by Chris Gonnerman [Who's Who Page] - 08/16/07) Custom Rockets Galileo

Brief:
The Custom Galileo is a cute little helicopter recovery rocket. Mine was an Father's Day gift from my wife. This is a skill level 2 rocket.

Construction:
The kit contains standard BT-20 tube and ogive balsa cone, three small balsa fins, dowels, paper centering ring and transition, and nice waterslide decals.

The instruction sheet was clear, logical, and easy to read. I was able to complete the rocket (except for finishing) in about a two hour period. I really can't complain about the build... It was easy and quick.

The model has a really large launch lug with a beefy standoff (required due to the conical shape of the model), which is rather unsightly.

Finishing:
The nose cone took a while to get smooth (I generally just use primer rather than mail-ordering sanding sealer) and getting the seam in the transition smooth was also a chore. I really can't complain about this though, as this sort of thing is always a chore.

Construction Rating: 5 out of 5

Flight:
Custom recommends 1/2A6-2 or A8-3 for this rocket. I didn't have the smaller engine handy, so I launched with an A8-3. Prepping this rocket is about as easy as it can be... Stick in the engine, install the igniter, and go. I did have to put a little tape on the engine to keep it from falling out (a problem I've never seen on any other rocket before).

The rocket arced badly as soon as it came off the rod, performing the "St. Louis Arch" maneuver into a neighboring field overgrown with weeds. Sadly, it was lost. The air was very still when I launched, and I launched other rockets after it without problem, so I'm not sure what went wrong.

Recovery:
No comment (since I didn't get it back).

Flight Rating: 2 out of 5

Summary:
My major complaint about this otherwise nice little rocket is the massive launch lug and standoff. I am suspicious that this may be related to the poor flight characteristics of the model. I'm planning to replace the rocket, but I'll be modifying the next one to hide the lug inside the transition. This would be a nice from-the-factory modification, actually.

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
09/07 - "My copy of the instructions for this kit do not mention an exhaust hole, as described in one of the reviews above." (C.G.)

GUEST's OPINION:
06/07 - "I have built two of these and they are fun to build. The first one I built according to the instructions and the fins came out differently than the front cover of the bag. Used A8-3 and it nose dived, on the ground still with the motor on... instant disaster. The second one I built the fins to look like the front cover, much nicer. Indeed it has a stability problem when you build it stock. I recommend a permanent 13mm MM for this one. With 13mm motors it flies fine, standard A motors are too much for this baby. Kids love this one." (R.P.R.)

GUEST's OPINION:
10/02 - "An A8-3 is way too much motor unless you do some serious reinforcing. Shredded all three fins on ascent -- tore through paper shroud, so gluing not the problem. This is a nice looking model when done and otherwise a great flier. Next one will have 13mm adaptor." (M.B.)

GUEST's OPINION:
01/01 - "I converted mine to fly on 13 mm engines and the Estes ĹA3-2 works great! I reinforced a few things and plan on trying their A3-4 and A10-3 when I get brave. I attached the body wrap with 3M Super 77 adhesive and the dowels with thick CA, and they went together quite nicely." (M.F.)

GUEST's OPINION:
01/01 - "Built stock, this rocket flies very well on an Estes A8-3. Not too high, not too fast. It would be a fun upscale project too." (D.U.)

GUEST's OPINION:
10/00 - "This kit has been in the discount/clearance box at my local shop for several months now, probably because Estes has discontinued the 1/2A6-2, which is the only recommended motor for this kit......." (B.M.)

GUEST's OPINION:
05/00 - "I liked this kit because it gave me some practice with paper shrouds. I didn't like the Nosecone so I substituted an Estes one (used on the Estes Yankee). When I assembled the fins, I looked at the instructions, not the illustration, and my fins came out the wrong angle. As a result my model glides, instead of spinning. I plan to build a variety of derivatives of the this model since it is so inexpensive." (R.V.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
07/08 - "After the loss of my original Galileo, I bought another. For this one I glued the launch lug to the engine tube, then cut a notch in the shroud and centering ring to go around it; last, I cut the exposed upper end of the lug at an angle. The resulting rocket is not only more attractive, it also flies straight. " (C.G. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
10/07 - "two things.First,reinforce the area underneath(from the back side) where the fins will be attached with self adhesive labels(small size).their still pliable enough that they won't interfere with the rolling of the shroud.This seemed to eliminate the fins/dowel assembly from tearing the shroud apart.i used regular elmers white glue,and have yet to lose a fin.Secondly,its easy to get rid of the lug stand-off.using a hole punch,punch a hole thru the centering ring,enough to allow the lug to be mounted to the motor mount /body tube.keep an eye on where the lug will be when the shroud goes on ,pre mark area and punch hole thru shroud.internal lug assembly complete!" (D.B.B. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
05/05 - "I recommend building the Galileo with a 13mm motor tube adapter permanently installed. A8-3 makes this disappear, so 13mm lets you fly with greater variety of lighter motors that are significantly cheaper than 18mm motors per flight." (D.L.S.M. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
03/02 - "If you decide to paint the Galileo in the stock scheme, disregard the instructions telling you to glue the nose cone into place before painting. Paint it red first and then glue it into place. " (D.B.Jr )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
02-27-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU 1/2A6-2 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - Nice straight-up flight. 1 dowel broke off on landing. Repaired with slow setting CA.
04-14-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU 1/2A6-2 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Nice straight flight. No damage this time.
10-20-2002 Michael Brooks Est SU A8-3 Just Before 0-5 mph winds RIP MikeB - Shredded all 3 fins on ascent - rebuilt, but only for display. Status: Retired
03-17-2005 Kyle Cornelius AT SU D21-9 None - Unknown 0-5 mph winds RIP - shredded before it even left the rod-i did this just to have fun-i shredded one on an A8-3 before...D21 was very fun Status: Scavenged
08-19-2006 Clive Davis Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record Calm RIPEvent: ASTRE Sport Launch
- Almost unstable flight. Very squirrely. I built this according to instructions, but the instructions are inaccurate. Fin/dowel placement is incorrect. Status: Retired
07-13-2008 Chris Gonnerman Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Beautiful flight. This is my replacement unit, having an internal launch lug; I credit this for the good flight.
08-12-2007 Chris Gonnerman Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds RIP - Arced badly right away, doing the St. Louis Arch into a neighboring field of weeds. Status: Lost
07-19-2009 Chris Gonnerman Est SU A8-3 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds RIPFlight Picture - Left the pad and was never seen again. Status: Lost
11-18-2006 Bob Harrington Est SU 1/2A6-2 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds Event: CMASS section Launch
-
04-21-2007 Bob Harrington Est SU 1/2A6-2 None - Tumble 5-10 mph winds Event: CMASS Section launch
-
05-08-2007 Hank Helmen Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec)
(97 ft)
Calm Event: Evening Launch
- After several tries, glassed fins on, good flight on this little bird. Ffssssssst! Slow rotating climb up... POP! shoots straight down into road. Chipped paint on nose cone. Supposed to helicopter down...NOT!
05-19-2007 Hank Helmen Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Down
(127 ft)
10+ mph winds Event: GCPR Picnic
- Best flight yet for this little rocket. Good strong straight boost.Looked nice, Loud pop ejection and straight down fast! No damage.
06-15-2007 Mike Lysic Est SU A8-3 None - Unstable 0-5 mph winds RIP - All three fins shredded during boost then ejection charge fired the body right at the ground. Without tumble it lawndarted destroying the remaining rocket. Will not fly again. Status: Not Repairable
01-07-2000 MikeyR Est SU 1/2A6-2 Very Early 10+ mph winds - Nominal flight. Landed hard and broke off yet another fin
03-27-2000 MikeyR Est SU 1/2A6-2 not recorded breezy - Nice flight. No damage.
04-18-2000 MikeyR Est SU 1/2A6-2 not recorded fairly calm - Nice flight. No damage.
04-18-2000 MikeyR Est SU 1/2A6-2 not recorded fairly calm RIP - Ripped off two fins on landing. Rocket destroyed. Status: Not Repairable
08-24-2003 Chan Stevens Est SU 1/2A6-2 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Likes to blow fins off
07-01-2007 Chan Stevens Est SU 1/2A6-2 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Survived/No damage
04-23-2005 Dwayne Surdu-Miller Est SU 1/2A3-2 Didn't See Up drafts Event: SAROS launch
- Nice high straight flight. Descent was a bit faster than was comfortable to watch. Nose landing in dirt. Nose cone paint was a bit scratched. Otherwise, no damage.
04-23-2005 Dwayne Surdu-Miller Est SU 1/2A3-2 Didn't See Up drafts Event: SAROS launch
- Nice high straight flight. Descent was a bit faster than was comfortable to watch. Nose landing in dirt. Nose cone paint was a bit scratched. Otherwise, no damage.
07-22-2007 Sam Thompson Est SU 1/2A3-4 Very Late 5-10 mph winds - 13mm conversion added too much weight for this motor. Went up about 30 ft. nosed over and the EJ charge fired it into the ground like a bullet. Broke all three fins. Will repair and try again with a bigger motor.
07-23-2007 Sam Thompson Est SU A3-4 Very Late 5-10 mph winds - Got up to 75 feet this time in a wide spiral. EJ charge shot it at the ground again, but this time from a greater height, so I only broke one stick off. If I had a 13mm motor with a shorter delay I might be able to fly this more than once a day.
01-01-2001 David Urbanek Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Down Calm - Nice flight. Not too fast, not too high.
   

Please Help Make Us Better!   

•  Copyright © 2019  •   EMRR   •   Legal/Privacy   •   Disclaimer   •