There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Sun Jan 9 16:50:30 2011

LOC
Viper IV
P.O. Box 470396
Broadview Heights OH 44147
(330) 745-9755
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 51" x 2.6" - 18 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: Right Click to Download
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: 4x-D12-5, 4x-E9-6, 4x-E15-7, 4x-D21-7, 4x- E30-10, 4x-F21-8

Rating
(Contributed - by Andy Miller - 10/04/04) LOC/Precision Viper IV

Brief:
The Viper IV is similar to the LOC Viper III which has several reviews here, but has four 24mm motors tubes instead of 3.

Construction:
The kit includes one body tube, four motor tubes, two centering rings, four fins, and a nose cone. I received it in pieces, with no instructions and the main body tube and nose cone were gone so I replaced the tubes with standard LOC tubing available from our local hobby store and an AeroTech Strongarm nosecone.

As I said before I didn't get any instructions with this, however, the layout is so easy I'd bet virtually any one with previous MPR building experience could do it without the instructions. Standard LOC tubes and mountings don't change much from bird to bird.

Finishing:
No decals are included with any LOC kits, which in my opinion is too bad. In my case I wanted something other than a standard paint job so decals probably wouldn't have helped me.

Construction Rating: 5 out of 5

Flight:
I have three flights this year on this rocket, all have been fantastic. I used Nomex chute protectors so I didn't need wadding, though I suspect wadding would work as well.

First flight was on Estes D12-7 motors.

Second and third flights were on Estes E9-8 motors. These last two flights had the rocket nearly vanished from my view they went so high. On the E9 motors it seems to go forever. "Wow" is all I can say.

Recovery:
I used the standard LOC side mount for the shock cord. It isn't showing any wear or tear yet so I believe I'll get many flights on it. The chute is the best 24" X-form I've ever seen.

Flight Rating: 5 out of 5

Summary:
I love this rocket and the Viper IV one of my favorites. I do wish LOC would make decals or at least make it possible to find the files to match the photos on their web site, but hey, we are rocketeers so we can design our own or do custom paint jobs, right?

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
11/04 - "This is by far the most challenging rocket that I have ever built. I was rewarded with 3 awesome flights so far. I had my doubts because the rocket seemed heavy. It is designed and engineered very well. I think it is safe to say that this is my favorite rocket to date." (J.N.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
11/04 - "When gluing the plywood fins I found it came out very neat and clean by first epoxing the root edge into the valley of the motor mount tubes with 5 minute epoxy. Take your time! When you have all 4 set then use masking tape on the motor mount tubes and about 1/4" up on the fins as a straight edge. USE 30 MINUTE EPOXY for fillets. It gives you lots of time to lay in a nice bead with an ice cream stick and work it smoothly. Take off the masking tape at about 28-30 minutes. You will love the beautiful fillets!!!" (J.N. )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
01-05-2003 Iain Banks 4x Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Great flight to approx 1000ft.
02-16-2003 Iain Banks 4x Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Another great flight to approx 1000ft.
03-23-2003 Iain Banks 2x AT SU E30-7 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - First composite cluster flown, the two Aerotech Blue Thunder motors lit perfectly and the boost was fast and straight to approx 1600ft.
03-23-2003 Iain Banks 4x Est SU D12-7 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Dead straight and fast boost to 1000ft.
04-13-2003 Iain Banks 2x AT SU E30-7 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Another super fast boost to approx 1600ft on the E30's.
04-13-2003 Iain Banks 4x Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - 3 way drag race. All three rockets took off within a split second of each other and performed the most remarkable formation flight - all reaching apogee together, deploying together and landing nearly together.
05-11-2003 Iain Banks 2x AT SU E30-7 Very Late 5-10 mph winds - Only one of the E30's lit, so the flight was a bit hairy from the off centre thrust - although the chute did deploy just in time to break the fall of the rocket and it landed with no damage.
05-11-2003 Iain Banks 4x Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Another great flight to approx 1000ft.
08-03-2003 Iain Banks 2x AT SU E30-7 Apogee - Perfect Calm - super fast boost to approx 1600ft on the E30's.
08-20-2006 Al Gloer 4x Est SU D12-5 Very Early 0-5 mph winds Event: VIPERFEST
- Only two of four motors lit. I lost the drag race!
09-09-2006 Al Gloer 4x Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Only three of four motors lit. Used new Quickburst BP igniters.
11-14-2009 Andrew Lathrop 2x Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Great Flight on 2x Estes E9-4, went above the clouds and landed about 100 yards from the pad.
12-13-2009 Andrew Lathrop 4x Est SU E9-6 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - First 4 cluster launch. Launch awsome and no hickups!
11-27-2004 Jerry Nishihira 4x Est SU D12-7 Apogee - NC Up
(1600.39 ft)
0-5 mph winds - Inaugural flight. I didn't expect it to fly so nicely because it was the heaviest rocket I have built so far. This was also the first time I ever did a cluster. All 4 motors fired perfectly.
11-27-2004 Jerry Nishihira 4x Est SU E9-6 Apogee - Perfect
(1742.75 ft)
0-5 mph winds - Another AWESOME flight! The roar of 4 motors igniting and lifting this rocket is AWESOME! The rocket soared so straight and true. Recovered about 75 yards from launch pad.
11-27-2004 Jerry Nishihira 4x Est SU E9-6 Apogee - Perfect
(1700 ft)
0-5 mph winds - The third flight was used with a video camera/nosecone. The slightly imperfect aerodynamic shape caused some roll on the climb upwards. Ejection was good. 2chutes:1 for the airframe and 1 for the nosecone/camera. Recovered about 150 yards from launch pad.
12-18-2004 Jerry Nishihira 4x Est SU E9-6 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: LAUNCH DAY 2004
- Perfect flight. Perfect recovery. Awesome rocket!
12-18-2004 Jerry Nishihira 4x Est SU E9-6 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm Event: LAUNCH DAY 2004
- Slight spin(roll) on flight due to the camera pod mounted in nose cone (off-center weight). Footage recorded blackouts on spinning descent with parachute.
04-18-2005 Jerry Nishihira 2x AT EconoJet F21-7 Just Past (1-2sec)
(1800 ft)
Calm - ignited with Quickburst igniters. 2nd motor ignited about 2 seconds after the 1st explaining the angled liftoff.
04-18-2005 Jerry Nishihira 5x AT EconoJet F21-7 Apogee - Perfect
(2100 ft)
Calm - Better ignition of cluster. Perfect flight, straight up. Very loud when both F21's lit up at the same time.
04-25-2005 Jerry Nishihira 4x Est SU E9-6 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - vidroc 2 mounted atop Viper IV booster. nice flight, slight roll, good video capture.
04-25-2005 Jerry Nishihira Est SU E9-6 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - another great flight.
05-28-2005 Jerry Nishihira 2x AT EconoJet F21-8 Apogee - NC Down
(2163 ft)
0-5 mph winds - Clustered on 2 Aerotech F21-8W. One lit first sending rocket on a slight angle. After about 1-1/2 seconds the second lit and the rocket straightened up all the way to apogee. 59*@1300'
06-18-2005 Jerry Nishihira 2x AT EconoJet F21-7 Just Past (1-2sec)
(1800 ft)
Calm - ignited with Quickburst igniters. 2nd motor ignited about 2 seconds after the 1st explaining the angled liftoff.
06-18-2005 Jerry Nishihira 5x AT EconoJet F21-7 Apogee - Perfect
(2100 ft)
Calm - Better ignition of cluster. Perfect flight, straight up. Very loud when both F21's lit up at the same time.
04-02-2006 Jerry Nishihira 4x Est SU E9-6 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Perfect flight straight up at 90 degrees. At ejection shock cord got burnt causing booster to come down on tumble recovery and nose cone on a 5 minute canopy ride. Airframe sustained severe damage when it crashed onto a cargo container.
12-27-2006 Jerry Nishihira 4x Est SU E9-4 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Perfect ignition, flight but recovery charge burned shockcord. Resulting in 5 minute nose cone ride & quick booster tumble recovery. Smashed top portion but fixable.
06-19-2005 Dan Sheerer 4x Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Up
(approx 900 ft)
0-5 mph winds - Very pleased with rocket-just dead strait flight-recovered about 100 yards from pad
06-19-2005 Dan Sheerer 4x Est SU E9-6 Apogee - NC Down
(approx 1700 ft)
0-5 mph winds - This thing really steps it up a notch on the e9/6 motor! just a perfect flight- long walk of about 300 yards to recover with 5 mph wind. Good thing for small chute.AWESOME rocket!
04-24-2010 David Sindel 4x Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: CATO 160
Buckeye IV - Beautiful flight - part of VIPERFEST!
09-18-2010 David Sindel 4x Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down Calm Event: CATO 165
Buckeye IV - Chute protector burned through, but no damage on recovery.

Copyright © 2019 by RocketReviews.com