There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Wed Dec 22 00:48:05 2010

LOC
Onyx
P.O. Box 470396
Broadview Heights OH 44147
(330) 745-9755
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 25.2" x 3.1" - 13 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: Right Click to Download
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: 24mm-D12-3, E30-7, 29mm-F20-4, F50-9, G40-10, G80-10

[Picture](01/16/01) The LOC Onyx™ is my second LOC kit and I purchased it as one of three "stubby" rockets that were around 3 inches in diameter. This diameter compliments my 2.6" and my 4" collection. I had also purchased a RocketVision Grymm and the Estes Big Daddy™. See my 3" Stubby Rocket Comparison Page

The Onyx™ is the biggest of the three being 3.1" in diameter and 25.2" long, qualifying as a "stubby" rocket because it has less than 10:1 ratio (8.1 to be exact). It also uses the largest motor mount with a 29mm verses the 24mm mounts in the other two mentioned kits.

Rocket PicThe Onyx™ includes a 14" long standard LOC paper glassine coated airframe. It is pre-marked for the fins and launch lug with lines. The 11.2" plastic nose cone makes up the remaining length. There are three (3) 1/8" thick plywood fins that are pre-cut. There are also two (2) 1/8" thick plywood centering rings. The motor mount is 29mm and 6" in length. The recovery system consists of a round 16" nylon parachute and ~65" of 1/4" wide elastic along with the standard LOC nylon loop for mounting the recovery system to the side wall. There is an 1/4" launch lug to wrap up the components.

CONSTRUCTION:

The instructions for the Onyx™ were printed on the back of the 8½ x 11" card stock that displays the kit specifics through the plastic bag that held the kit. There are only two illustrations, a rear view and a side exposed view. These give some direction, however, the kit is designed for those that have built some before and don't need picture-step to picture-step guidance. The text instructions are clear and take the builder from start to finish and give some insight into flying preparation. Also the shock-cord mount has its own instructions separate.

I built this kit exactly as the instructions directed. There were no surprises and all of the parts fit very nicely.

I don't understand why LOC doesn't use through-the-wall fins that go to the motor mount (or even just some tabs) and had some frustration with that fact during flight.

I built my own 24mm adaptor for this rocket. Here's what you need:

  • 1/2" length of 29mm tubing
  • 4 to 6" length of 24mm tubing (I used 4")
  • masking tape

Take the masking tape and start wrapping at the top of the 24mm tube about 1/8" from the end. Wrap fairly tightly and evenly. Around and around and around until it looks to be about 29mm in diameter. Tear off and test fit into the 29mm motor tube. It should be snug but not overly tight. Once you have the right amount of masking tape at the top, repeat the process at the bottom but making the tape even with the bottom of the 24mm tube. Test fit until it is snug then take two passes of tape back off. Now take a hobby knife and cut some horizontal slits (while holding the adaptor as it would sit in the motor mount (up and down)) in the tape on the end. Make several on three sides. Wiggle the knife so it opens up the slit slightly. Next test fit the 1/2" length of 29mm tube and make sure it fits over the tape. It's now ready for epoxy.

Using 30-minute epoxy, seal and make a small fillet on the both sides of the masking tape around the top of the adaptor (opposite of where you made the slits). Be sure not to get epoxy on the face of the masking tape as that will prevent the nice fit into the 29mm tube. Next using some level of precision, fill the slits you cut with epoxy and then immediately coat the inside of the 1/2" length of 29mm tube. Give it plenty. Then slide with twisting motion the 1/2" length of 29mm tube over the masking tape until it is even with the end. Wipe off any excess that got onto the face of the exposed masking tape and the upper edge of the 29mm tube since this sits against your 29mm motor mount. Run your gloved finger around the end of the adaptor spreading the epoxy on the outer edges of the 24mm tube, masking tape and 1/2" length of 29mm tube. Wipe off any excess that got into the 24mm tube. Place this assembly on some wax paper with the 1/2" length of 29mm tubing down. Once dry, make a small fillet on the top of the lower masking tape the same way as you did on the top masking tape. That's it. You can modify this technique and add a motor hook to the 24mm adaptor, however, you would either need to glue the adaptor into the motor mount or still come up with a way to retain the adaptor in the motor mount.

The Onyx's™ recovery system is assembled from its own set of instructions. It consists of a length of braided nylon cord which is knotted at both ends, and knotted with a 1" loop in the center. The two knotted ends are taped to the inside of the body tube with the knots on the far side of the tape. Then it is coated with epoxy to completely cover the tape and the knots. The top of the nylon with the 1" loop sticks out of the top of the rocket and is used to tie the elastic shock-cord to.

I know I didn't spend any time talking about the actual construction and that is truly because it is straight-forward and quite easy.

For finishing, I didn't use anything to fill the spirals and just started in with several coats of Plasti-Kote Sandable Primer. I coated the plywood fins heavily with primer for the first coat . . . and I mean heavily. I sanded back most of this primer and did it again. The third coat allowed everything to look smooth. I then painted the entire rocket with Kylon Gloss Orange paint, per the recommendation and desire of my 3 year old son. LOC doesn't provide any decals and since I was in Arizona, where this entire rocket was built and finished, I grabbed an Arizona sticker to commemorate that.

Rocket Pic

Overall, for CONSTRUCTION I would rate this kit 4 points. Instructions are adequate if you have built other rockets. It has quality components that fit together without sanding. The main detractions are that the fins are not through-the-wall which for a 29mm powered rocket I would like to see. There is no provision for motor retention. Also this kit should have some decals to spice it up.

FLIGHT/RECOVERY:

Download RockSIM file here! This file is set up with an added mass object that is used to set the weight equal to my finished rocket (16 ounces) and adjust the CG to 16" without motor.

RockSim PicAs I mentioned before I was in Arizona when I built this on a vacation. We planned this trip to Arizona and it just so happened that there was a launch on 12/23/00. So I packed this kit and 3 assembled rockets into a box and shipped them to Arizona.

I had to rely on the vendor at the launch for motors and I was able to buy a 2-pack of Econojet F23-7 BlackMax motors. So, all set and ready to go.

I prepped the Onyx™ using a RocketMan RHFS12 Round Heatshield that I purchased from the same vendor. After setting up and positioning for a picture . . . which I was not successful in getting . . . I launched her.

It was an excellent flight, with nice black smoke and very straight. It was just before apogee when the ejection charge blew. The descent on the supplied 16" round parachute was quite fast and it landed within 50 feet of the pad. Upon landing one of the fins separated from the body tube. The fillet and paper tore away on one entire side and it was just hanging by the paper on the opposite side just past where that fillet ended.

Well, since I wanted to use both of my EconoJets I decided to try to repair this in the field. I had some SuperGlue and soaked the paper under the separation and held the fin back in place. After about 1/2 hour I checked it and to my surprise it felt really strong. I showed another rocketeer for a second opinion and then decided to go for it. The fact that I was flying on F23's helped my decision since it is a low thrust motor.

For the second flight I added a second parachute (18"). The second launch was also very straight and ejection was just before apogee. Descent, although better, was still somewhat fast. No damage this time though.

For FLIGHT/RECOVERY, I would rate this kit 3½ points. The descent rate is simply too high for this rocket. Even if it weighed in at the manufacturer's specified weight of 13 ounces, the minimum diameter parachute should be around 30" for high descent rate of 15 fps. My kit came in at 16 ounces so I would expect needing an even larger one. Secondly, the fin came off. This is probably due to the high descent rate, however, the surface mount fins didn't seem to help the situation.

Overall, the Onyx™ has great looks and assembles quickly. It uses quality parts. Its lack of decals, motor retention and the parachute size detract from it. Experienced fliers will adjust for all these things on their own which probably draws many builders to this kit, however, as a kit it appears to be lacking some. I give the kit an OVERALL rating of 3½ points.


Rating
(Contributed - by Chip Jenkins)

Rocket PicBrief:
Single stage mid-power rocket.

Construction:
All of the parts were contained in a plastic bag and they were all intact and high quality. The airframe had a very small spiral groove, the fins were top quality plywood, and the nose cone was sturdy plastic. The centering rings were also quality plywood. The parachute provided was hot pink in color and 15" diameter.

The instructions were contained on the back of the title card that was in the bag. There was not a great deal of detail in the instructions and for the simple design of the Onyx, it was not necessary. The parachute retention was contained in a small bag by itself and had its own instruction sheet. The airframe was pre-marked for the placement of the fins and the launch lug and assembly was straight forward and simple. This rocket is a good choice for someone that is new to mid-power rocketry. No surprises or unexpected troubles. The parts were all glued together using 2 ton epoxy, the instructions direct you to use epoxy throughout. After everything was glued, I applied healthy epoxy fillets to each fin and to the launch lug.

There is a note on the instruction card for the 24mm motors, that says they are to be used with LOC's MMA-1 adapter. This adapter is not included.

The recovery system has a nice hot pink rip stop nylon parachute with ample gage nylon leaders sewn to it, the 3/8" elastic shock cord is about 72" long and is secured by LOC's standard method of attachment. This entails a nylon string that is looped, tied, and then epoxied to the inside of the airframe. Then, the end of the shock cord is tied to the end of the loop that protrudes from the top. Just make sure to glue the nylon string down far enough to fit the nose cone it without interference.

Rocket Pic

Finishing:
I asked my son how he wanted to have this one finished. For some strange reason, he wanted green. (go figure) Green it shall be I said, but it's going to be fluorescent green and not grass green or leaf green. After a few coats of sanding sealer followed by primer, I sprayed on some fluorescent green paint. Strange thing about that fluorescent paint, it doesn't finish very smooth. To compensate for that, I sanded the paint after each coat with 400 grit sandpaper. Once I was satisfied with the amount of paint, I coated the finished rocket with clear paint. I applied the LOC decal and was finished.

I got the self stick decal by a little bit of calling around. The kit did not originally come with any decals but, Magnum's website says that there is one included with every kit. I e-mailed them and was told that there should have been one and to call LOC to get one. Upon calling LOC I was told that they were discontinuing the decal so that all of their rockets didn't have a "predetermined" personality. But, they also told me that they had about a dozed or so left that they had just sent to Magnum. I e-mailed Magnum again and was told that he would mail a decal to me. I wanted the LOC decal because I wanted everyone to know that the quality product that they were looking at was, in fact, a LOC/Precision rocket.

Construction Rating: 4 out of 5

Rocket PicFlight:
Recommended motors are D12-3, E30-7, F50-9, G40-10. I chose to go somewhat bold with the first flight, so I used the F-50. There was not retention provided and I didn't take the opportunity to add anything. It is just as easy to use masking tape for motor retention sometimes. I just poured some parachute protection in and packed the chute in. It lifted off fast, real fast. Flew straight and true and went out of sight; well out of my sight because I'm nearsighted. But, when the chute popped, we followed it to the ground for a nice landing. No trouble at all.

Flight Rating: 4 out of 5

Overall Rating: 3 ½ out of 5


Rating
(Contributed - by Alex Jordan - 01/06/05) LOC/Precision Onyx

Brief:
The LOC Onyx is a stubby 3 inch mid power single stage rocket with 14 inch chute recovery. The fins are glued directly to the body tube with no tabs. It has a 29mm motor mount.

Construction:
This was my first 3 inch and LOC/Precision kit. I didn't know what the quality of the parts would be but they turned out to be great. The contents of the bag were:

  • 2 3" x 29mm plywood centering rings (1/8" thick)
  • 1 6" x 29mm motor mount tube
  • 3 1/8" inch thick fins
  • 1 14" x 2.1" body tube
  • 1 3" nose cone
  • 1 3" x 1/4" launch lug
  • 1 14" chute
  • 1 1/4" inch wide shock cord
  • 1 shock cord mount

Construction was easy, and all the steps were in logical order. The first step is to assemble the motor mount and insert it into the body tube. Next, glue on the fins. The body tube is premarked, so no templates were required. I then used an Estes style shock cord mount to mount the shock cord, followed by attaching the NC and chute. Finally, I put on the launch lug. The parts fit nicely together and required no sanding. The only thing LOC should fix is the fins. They should have tabs that go all the way down to the motor mount tube and not just be surface mounted.

Finishing:
No special techniques are required to finish. Just prime and paint. I painted mine with Rustoleum primer and then a yellow body, blue nose cone, and black fins.

Construction Rating: 4 out of 5

Flight:
My Onyx has flown twice on F20-4s. Each time it flew straight as an arrow to about 1000 feet and recovered undamaged under the 14" chute. The F20-4 is a great motor for this kit.

Recovery:
Recovery was flawless both times. Chute could be a bit bigger but it is OK for small fields. The shock cord is elastic and was held in the body tube by a piece of paper (Estes style).

Flight Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Summary:
This is a great kit and would be even better if LOC/Precision put fin tabs on. It is a fun and simple build and a great flier. I will fly again many times on F20s and maybe a G38 or G40 once they go back into production.

Overall Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
07/05 - "I flew my ONYX on an F-21 Econojet motor and she tracked straight and true. However, when deployment occurred the shock cord split and the parachute disappeared. The nosecone separated from the body and the two fell separately to earth. Upon impact only minor scuffing was observed. I wanted to share that the fins remained firmly attached to the body, probably because of my using epoxy rivets during construction. I love this tough little rocket." (A.M.D.)

GUEST's OPINION:
08/04 - "Want to have some fun? Try a cluster version of this kit. I bought a kit, and ordered a 3x24mm set of centering rings and a coupler tube. Cut three short 24mm motor tubes and epoxy into the front centering ring. Cut the fin slots through the body tube. Then epoxy the front centering ring (with long Kevlar shock cord installed) into the body tube. Epoxy the coupler tube in the body tube. Epoxy in the aft centering ring. Now install the fins using plenty of epoxy in the slots, which attach the fins to the coupler tube. Cut off the bottom of the nosecone and add lead to the nose tip, using epoxy. Also add an eyebolt so you have an attachment point for the shock cord. My verion needed 4oz. of lead shot to ensure stability. I first flew this rocket on 3 D12-5 motors to about 500 feet. The I installed 3 E30-7 motors and it blew me away, hissing skyward to about 1800 feet. I plan to fly it on 3 F21-8 motors for a high power flight (165Ns)." (M.M.)

GUEST's OPINION:
08/02 - "I loved this rocket an easy build and great flyer. The people i fly with always enjoyed seeing this one go up. Unfortunately it was destroyed when the g-38 I was flying it on exploded on the pad. I was sorry to see it go, Iím planing on building another one this time i might modify it to fly with 38 mm motors." (S.P.)

GUEST's OPINION:
12/01 - "This is a great kit. It will fly on anything from small E's to big G's without any problems. The stock parachute needs to be upgraded, and a 22" or 24" will work fine. Load her up with a G80FW to give her a ride!" (D.P.)

GUEST's OPINION:
04/01 - "My 13 yr old son bought this kit and ask me to help/built this kit for him. I agree it is a neat,relatively inexpensive kit. Most of the parts fit great. The only exception was the fins. They were all the exact same size but the root edges had 2 noticeable curves in them. It took a fair amount of sanding on a block of 100 grit paper to fit them flush against the tube. I also do not like the surface mount to start with. I solved this by using PML's and Vaughn Bros. technique for minimum diameter rockets. I cut "dado" slots approx half way thru the tube. Tacked the fins on with medium viscosity CA and then filleted with epoxy. This works great and is very easy with the LOC tubing as opposed to phenolic. I had suspected that the chute was too small and after reading these reviews , it looks like I was correct. I would also like to see some decals -- maybe some stripes and an Onyx decals as shown in their photos of the rocket." (T.E.)

GUEST's OPINION:
07/00 - "I personally suggest this kit for anyone looking for a small fat rocket with little experience in high powerrocketry. This rocket will fly on just about any motor, it doesn't have to be selected from the list on the title page. I have flown it twice and both of the flights have been on an ECONOJET F20-7W. Both flights were beautiful. This rocket is easy to build, I built it in one day!!! Plus it is always neat to see a small fat rocket fly!!" (B.B.)

GUEST's OPINION:
06/00 - "I bought this rocket because I like the stubby profile rockets. I am also trying to stay within the less than 1 lb, less than 1000' limitations. Personally, I am not a fan of surface mount fins, so I cut slots in the body tube and made identical fins, except tabbed to the motor mount. I, too, used epoxy everywhere (I won't trust glue on anything anymore). Instead of fussing with a smooth surface finish, I sprayed on a faux granite, which gave a marvelous rough green surface, and made its own fillets. It was pretty heavy stuff, and was used up pretty fast, so I painted the nose cone fire red. (I am not so sure that pursuing pure laminar flow is always the best idea, remember the dimpled golf ball). Anyhow, I stuck an EconoJet F20 in it, and it flew great. With the relatively small 'chute, it came down pretty close to the launch pad. Wrasp says it went to about 950' (not sure about that drag coefficient and the borderline weight). I expect many great flights out of this bird, because it is very sturdy, and very simple (what, me worry?). If it were my review, I'd give it about a 5. I liked the review. I found it very much like my experience with this rocket." (R.F.)

GUEST's OPINION:
01/00 - "At the Danville 99 launch we launched 3 of the Onyx's on H128 reloads. They held up just fine." (B.H.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
03/02 - "One mistake most folks make is to not sand off the glassine layer where the fins meet the BT. If you don't, the fins will not stay on. If you do, the fins will pull the BT apart before they break off. Nice fillets are also required on this and other kits where the fins do not extend through the wall." (B.L. of RMR )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
03/02 - "Epoxy rivets for the fins.. Drill holes in the bt where the fins go, and drill a few small holes in the root edge of the fins. Rough up the BT where the fins/fillets go with sandpaper and use good sized fillets for the fins.." (W.M. of RMR )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
10/01 - "To help keep the fins upon landing of this rocket, I used a high-quality epoxy (AeroPoxy ES6279 paste viscosity epoxy, with structural filler). I then laid down over the fillets (after it cured) a 2" layer of 1.8 oz Kevlar cloth, then a 1" piece of fiberglass tape over that. This will give it plenty of strength to withstand a hard landing." (G.S. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
08/01 - "The Onyx is quite easy to build but the fins are a problem. To compensate for the lack of strength from the surface mount fins, I put fiberglass strips over my fillets. I replaced the recovery system with a kevlar harness, 20 feet of kevlar shock cord and a rocketman drogue chute(which works really well as the main for mid-power rockets). I recently flew it on a G40-7 for an arrow-straight boost and a half-hour search in a wheat field. Overall, the Onyx is a great mid power kit. I found the review very accurate and familiar. I have not had the same experiences because I had read the reviewers' warnings of the potential problems concerning the fins and the recovery system before starting construction." (R.L.N. )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
01-12-2008 Robert August AT RMS G64-10 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: January F/F
- Ripped off the pad with lots of noise. Nice flight on a great rocket. Stock chute is too small to keep from cracking fin fillets. Wx cock and landed hard close to the pads.
04-19-2008 Robert August AT RMS G64-10 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds Event: Kloudburst
- Great rocket and motor combo. The chute tangled on a knot in the shock cord, but all the fins were saved by the wheat and soft ground. I wish the fins were through the wall.
02-08-2009 Robert August AT RMS G64-10 Didn't Record 10+ mph winds Event: Feb Fun Fly/Argonia
- The speed of this rocket off the pad on a G64 always seems to surprise people. Possible rod whip sent the rocket downwind. Walked about 3/4 mile to recover.
08-13-2006 Neal Baker Ellis SU H275-M Apogee - NC Down Calm Event: HellFire 12
-
10-18-1998 George Beever AT SU E15-4 Very Late Didn't Record - Lawn dart due non-existant Aerotech ejection charge. No damage. This is one sturdy rocket!
10-02-2005 George Beever AT RMS E28-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - A real nice motor for this rocket, a perfect flight.
05-25-2008 George Beever AT RMS F52-8 Very Early 0-5 mph winds - EXTREMELY early ejection. No damage to model though.
05-25-2008 George Beever AT SU F25-9 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - EXTREMELY late ejection, more like an F25-12, stripped nose cone off of shock cord. In fairnes, a very old motor.
06-08-2008 George Beever AT RMS F12-3 Apogee - NC Up 10+ mph winds - Good flight, delay a bit short - no damage.
07-27-2008 George Beever RoadR SU F45-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: NARAM-50
- First time I used a RoadRunner motor. Great flight! This is the first Onyx that I built, and it also flew at NARAM-35.
05-23-2009 George Beever AT SU E15-4 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Great flight - 'nuff said.
07-03-2010 George Beever AT SU E15-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: FIG Newtons-11
- Great flight.
07-03-2010 George Beever AT RMS F22-7 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: FIG Newtons-11
- Great flight!
11-10-2007 Moe Bertrand AT EconoJet F20-4 Didn't Record Calm Flight PictureEvent: Rainbow Valley
- Great first flight of this little brute.
11-10-2007 Moe Bertrand AT EconoJet F20-4 Didn't Record Calm Flight PictureEvent: Rainbow Valley
- Great second flight of this little brute.
07-04-2009 Moe Bertrand AT SU G79-10 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Rainbow Valley
- My pink Onyx lost the drag race big-time but the G79 really put it up there once it lit. Popped a fin upon landing...should be easily repairable.
12-12-2009 Moe Bertrand Ces RLD H118 Didn't Record Calm Flight PictureEvent: Rainbow Valley
- Another nice flight of my Onyx - this time on the Cesaroni 4-grain 29mm Classic and with a Sponge Bob Santa toy. He lost his chute and free-fell and I found him the next day.
06-22-2002 Giacomo Bosso AT RMS E23-5 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm - Great first flight, not too high (about 450') but too long delay anyway.
06-28-2003 Giacomo Bosso AT RMS F52-5 Just Before 10+ mph winds - Super-straight boost considering wind speed; went out of sight and quite downrange (always for the wind); used the stock 'chute (usually upgraded to a 18); no recovery problems.
11-06-2004 Liam Conole AT SU F50-6 Apogee - Perfect Gusty - fabulous first flight for the onyx. put this kit together the night before the launch, no paint. that F50 really surprised me, its got spunk. great flight, best motor for this rocket. no damage on recovery.
11-06-2004 Liam Conole AT SU G80-10 Just Past (1-2sec) Gusty RIP - amazing boost. rocket was SCREAMING to apogee. reached well over 2000', caught some of those 20mph winds and drifted into the woods, didnt recover:( Status: Lost
05-20-2006 Simon Crafts AT RMS G33-7 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds Event: TQC Walcott, IA club launch
- Love that Black Jack! BEAUTIFUL smokey boost, perfect motor/delay combo. *Perfect* apogee deploy. Spectacular flight on a tough little beast. Approximate altitude: 2200' AGL. Sweet!
04-28-2007 Simon Crafts AT RMS F52-8 Just Past (1-2sec) Gusty Event: April Club Launch
- Gusty day - TQC club launch. Winds exceeding 15 mph. A bit of weathercocking into the wind - ejection a tad late. Good flight and recovery with no damage.
04-29-2007 Simon Crafts AT RMS F40-7 Apogee - NC Down Gusty Event: April Club Launch
- Still gusty winds on Sunday. 2nd flight of the weekend. Better trajectory and deployment, but still cocked into the wind a bit. Extimate about 1400' AGL. Good flight!
10-13-2007 Simon Crafts AT RMS G33-7 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds Event: MIS club launch
- Excellent, straight boost on the dense blackjack smoke in the stiff breeze. Perfect deployment at apogee aroud 2200', long walk to recover. Landed on a gravel path and a bit of road-rash. Otherwise perfect. Only minor cosmetic damage.
12-23-2000 EMRR AT EconoJet F23-7 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - Nice first launch. Descent was very fast and the fin broke off upon hitting the ground.
12-23-2000 EMRR AT EconoJet F23-7 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - Repaired the fin in the field with CA. Added a second parachute. Launch was nice and straight and recovery was still a bit fast.
05-06-2001 EMRR RV SU E15-4 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - This time it came off the pad nicely and had a good flight, but those Firestars really POP the ejection and this time it broke the elastic cord (I know) but both pieces were recovered
05-06-2001 EMRR RV SU E15-4 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - Sputter, sputter, pop, pop, then it took off, but very low altitude and the ejection was way late. The chutes opened and somehow it missed all the trees as it landed in a collection of them.
06-10-2001 EMRR AT RMS E28-7 Very Early Calm - The ejection was very early as this bird was still going up, however, I am pleased with the rocket and motor combination.
06-10-2001 EMRR AT RMS E28-7 Very Early Calm - Well, proved to myself that it was that first motor. It seems that the 7 is really more like a 5 as this one mimicked the previous flight.
08-08-2001 EMRR AT RMS F40-7 Apogee - Perfect Gusty - As winds picked up, the Onyx produced a good flight after a few puff, puff's from the F40
09-09-2001 EMRR AT RMS E23-5 None - Unknown Calm RIP - Nice launch, then at apogee it started to fall on its side, then turned and started gaining speed, I heard a pss of air but never a pop and then it smashed into the ground! Status: Lawn Dart
12-18-1999 Jeff Fellman AT SU E15-4 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - came down fast and hard but not damage. I used a 12 nylon chute. Next time I will try a 14 chute.
12-18-1999 Jeff Fellman AT SU E30-7 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - came down hard on a 14 chute. will try a larger chute next time. no damage
08-10-2009 Mark Hairfield AT RMS F40-4 Very Early 5-10 mph winds Event: NARAM-51
- First flight of Onyx XL. Used 34 inch of 3.0 BT instead of standard length kit BT. Added TTW fins. Slow take off. Early ejection caused small zipper. Fixable.
08-22-2009 Mark Hairfield AT RMS G53-7 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: ESL#135
- Nice and smokey! About a 1000 ft flight. Perfect deployment and recovery.
03-21-2010 Mark Hairfield AT RMS G61-Timer Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: ESL 142
- Used EFC with 7 sec delay. Straight flight. It whistled on way up. 36 chute brought it down nice and slow. Looked a little over 1000 ft.
12-19-2010 Mark Hairfield AT RMS G67-Altim Apogee - Perfect
(564 ft)
0-5 mph winds Event: CHS
- Modified the Onyx XL for DD, Weighed about 3 lbs. Good flight but needed more motor.
07-18-2009 Keith Hamel RoadR SU F45-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Great flight, fast and high. Perfect recovery under an 18 nylon chute, not a scratch
08-17-2010 Keith Hamel AT RMS F40-4 Very Early 10+ mph winds Event: Section Launch
- Would have been a great flight if not for an early ejection, nose cone seperated but all of the rocket was recovered and it will fly again.
09-18-2010 Keith Hamel AT RMS F40-7 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds Event: Section Launch
- Great flight. Good recovery no damamge
04-19-2009 Kyle Hancock AT EconoJet F20-7 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - First flight. Tangled chute.
06-12-2004 Scott Harris AT RMS H128-10 Just Before 0-5 mph winds Event: NOVAAR Sport Launch
- Just barely survived this flight. Very overpowered, apogee about 2500 feet. I do not recommend H motors in this rocket, it is just too small and fragile. Cert Flight: L1
10-25-1999 Brian Horsley AT RMS H128 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Incredible boost very long walk! Only mod is to lengthen shock cord.
03-05-2000 Chip Jenkins AT EconoJet F20-4 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds - Good high boost. Chute tangled, coming down fast. Hit tree, broke tree branch and fin off rocket. Glued back together (at least no stuck in tree).
10-14-2000 Arthur Johnson AT EconoJet F20-4 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds - GREAT flight!!! Unfortunately, suffered seporation @ ejection (nose cone loop broke). NC recovered, but became tree food. :(
07-15-2001 Arthur Johnson AT RMS F39 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - I do just love the way that little Blue Thunder engine lobs up that 3 rocket. I know the rocket can handle larger engines, but since this particular one belongs to my wife, I'll let her be the one to make that choice.
10-18-2004 Alex Jordan AT EconoJet F20-4 Apogee - Perfect
(1000 ft)
Calm - First composite motor!!!! Incredible launch, fast and straight with a lot of noise and smoke. 14 inch chute is good for small fields, but should be replaced with a 20-24 inch. Also, use kevlar for shock cord.
08-04-2001 Robert LeNeal AT SU G40-7 Apogee - Perfect
(1700 ft)
10+ mph winds - The Onyx's maiden flight, arrow straight to about 1700 feet. The rocket sat on the few seconds after the ignitor lit. The rocket landed in a wheat field, but we did find it after an hour of searching.
08-12-2001 Robert LeNeal AT SU F25-6 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - The Onyx made a sudden left turn in flight, perhaps due to my beeper which was placed on one side of the rocket, therefore unbalancing it. The F-25 is just enough motor for this rocket.
08-12-2001 Robert LeNeal AT SU F25-6 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - The Onyx made a sudden left turn in flight, perhaps due to my beeper which was placed on one side of the rocket, therefore unbalancing it. The F-25 is just enough motor for this rocket.
06-09-2002 Robert LeNeal AT EconoJet F20-4 Apogee - NC Up Light winds - Good flight to 900 feet or so. Motor mount damaged on landing due to fast descent rate on LOC parachute. Parachute swapped for Rocketman R24D.
08-11-2002 Robert LeNeal AT EconoJet F20-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - This flight was made at a rocketry demonstration during the Winkler town fair in Canada. It stole the show with this spectacular flight
08-11-2002 Robert LeNeal AT EconoJet F20-4 None - CATO 5-10 mph winds - The rocket never left the pad as the motor spit its nozzle as it was coming up to pressure. Fortunately, the rocket was undamaged.
08-10-2003 Robert LeNeal AT SU G40-7 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Nice boost and perfect recovery, landing a hundred or so meters from the pad.
08-10-2003 Robert LeNeal AT EconoJet G38-7 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Nice boost and deployment, with slight weathercocking due to the wind. Landed in a thick colza field, but recovered.
04-09-2005 Philip Levanda AT EconoJet F20-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: NEPRA Meet
- Came down pretty quick on the stock chute. The ground was soft from a recent rain. If you plan on using this kit near any hard surfaces upgrade the chute.
04-09-2005 Philip Levanda AT EconoJet F20-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Came down pretty quick on the stock chute. The ground was soft from a recent rain. If you plan on using this kit near any hard surfaces upgrade the chute.
06-18-2005 Philip Levanda AT EconoJet F20-8 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: NERRF 2005
- I need to get a H in this thing.
07-30-2005 Philip Levanda AT EconoJet F23-4 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: GSSS 07-30-05
- Nice motor for this rocket.
04-08-2006 Philip Levanda AT RMS G64-7 None - Nose Cone Stuck 10+ mph winds RIPEvent: Nepra 04-08-06
- Either the delay was WAY!!! to late of the nosecone stuck. Lawn darted. Status: Lawn Dart
02-23-2002 David Logan AT EconoJet F20-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Good loud motor. No prob with the fins, I used epoxy rivits. It did appear to come in pretty fast on the stock chute though.
04-27-2002 David Logan AT EconoJet F20-4 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds -
04-27-2002 David Logan AT EconoJet F23-4 Very Early 10+ mph winds - Short delay, but no damage
04-28-2002 David Logan AT EconoJet F20-4 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds -
07-27-2002 David Logan AT EconoJet F20-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Chute tangled, landed hard and ripped a fin off, plus about 4 inches of the outer layer of body tube.
10-27-2002 David Logan AT EconoJet F20-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Nice boost, body started spinning on decent, cracked 2 fillets on landing, recovered at 50 yards on an 18 inch chute.
11-22-2003 David Logan AT EconoJet F20-4 Very Late 10+ mph winds - She was fighting the wind all the way up. Nosed over, and was coming down when chute deployed. No damage. Recovered about 50 yards up wind at the edge of the launch area.
08-07-2004 David Logan NCR SU F62-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - My first flight of an NCR Darkstar motor. Beautiful boost, attained a very respectable altitude. Shock cord loop on nose broke, and let the nose free fall. Both pieces recovered without damage.
05-15-2005 David Logan AT SU G80-7 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: ST2005
- Almost landed in trees, recovered about 400 yards out on stock 14 inch chute. Somehow got a hole in the body right next to a fin. No other visible damage, or marks on nose cone.
07-03-2004 Corey Maher AT EconoJet F23-13 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: LDRS 23
- great flight parachute opened perfect slight crease from landing
07-03-2004 Corey Maher AT EconoJet F23-13 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: LDRS 23
- great flight parachute opened perfect slight crease from landing
08-10-2002 Michael Mangieri AT RMS E18-4 Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds Nexium - Good flight - landed in some heavy brush but recovered later in the day.
08-09-2003 Michael Mangieri AT RMS F40-7 Very Late 5-10 mph winds Nexium - Picked a very late ejection to aid in recovering within the field. Arcing boost. Suffered a broken fin on landing.
10-21-2005 Michael Mangieri AT RMS F52-8 Didn't Record 10+ mph winds Nexium - Quick take-off, but 30 degree tip-off from short rod. Long arcing flight made for a long walk to recover.
01-07-2000 MikeyR AT EconoJet F20-4 Very Late 10+ mph winds - Seemed to be a bit long on the delay. Nice deployment and recovery
01-07-2000 MikeyR AT RMS F24-4 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Nice loud, slow boost. Decent drift. Nice flight
01-07-2000 MikeyR AT RMS G54-6 Apogee - NC Down 10+ mph winds - Very fast boost. Nice high flight and good deployment. Landed in the only puddle on the field. No damage. Nice flight.
01-08-2000 MikeyR AT RMS F37-6 didn't record slight breeze - 18 parachute Nice boost, but the eye on the nose broke off. The parachute, body and nose went different directions. Cracked a fin, but OK in general.
02-06-2000 MikeyR AT RMS G33-5 not recorded breezy - 18 parachute Way into wind. Fast deployment ripped the swivel (no chute damage). Ripped off a fin.
04-21-2000 MikeyR AT RMS G54-6 not recorded fairly calm - 18 parachute Yikes! a blowby! The delay burned too quickly, and flame shot out the front end of the rocket. Melted off the shock cord attachment. Charred the interior, but it will fly again.
06-20-2009 Kathy Miller RoadR SU F45-8 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds -
09-10-2005 Cliff Oliver AT SU E30-7 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Great flight. Love these stubbies!
11-05-2005 Cliff Oliver AT SU E30-7 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds - Cracked another fin on landing
03-04-2006 Cliff Oliver AT SU G80-10 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds -
06-10-2006 Cliff Oliver AT SU G80-10 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds -
08-04-2001 Dan Patell AT EconoJet F20-4 Apogee - Perfect Light winds - Follow up of the first. Another great flight.
08-04-2001 Dan Patell AT EconoJet F20-4 Apogee - Perfect Light winds Event: NARAM-43
- Great flight for my first at NARAM43! Those Econojets are loud.
08-04-2001 Dan Patell AT RMS E18-4 Very Late
(200 ft)
Light winds - Weathercocked, even though it didn't do it before. Ejected at about 200 feet, and drifted into someone's trunk. No damage to the car or the rocket.
08-04-2001 Dan Patell AT SU G80-10 Apogee - Perfect Light winds - Fast White Lightning propellent is really fast! Altitude about 2500 whith a great recovery.
08-05-2001 Dan Patell AT RMS E16-4 Apogee - NC Up Light winds Event: NARAM-43
- Another great flight at NARAM. Not too high though.
07-20-2002 Dan Patell AT EconoJet G35-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Perfect flight for upper-wind tester. Landed in a tree, easily recovered with the clubs pole.
10-10-2001 Kenny Powell AT SU G80-7 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds - Wow. I brought my huge E9. I guy I had never met hands me a G-80. It was huge! I thought E9's were as big as it gets. It must have went 2500' my jaw was on the ground. Now I build my own M motors.
06-25-2005 Alex Rothchild Est SU E9-4 Just Past (1-2sec)
(about 400 ft)
5-10 mph winds Event: CMASS
- Nice Flight, slow and low. Angled to much into the wind, chute popped about 100 feet above ground, hit a parked car and scared the woman in it...oops....anyway, will fly again with some more paint...
07-23-2005 Alex Rothchild AT EconoJet F20-4 Apogee - NC Down
(around 900 ft)
10+ mph winds - The motor lit quickly and it was a quick boost to around 900 feet into the wind. Recovered 30 feet from pad.
11-05-2005 Alex Rothchild AT RMS E23-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - First reload! Worked perfectly. Boosted off the pad to about 450 feet. Just glad it diddnt CATO.
06-18-2006 Bruce Sexton AT SU E30-7 Very Late 5-10 mph winds Event: June Club Launch
- First flight, good boost and recovery but delay too long.
03-27-2010 Matt Shoemaker AT RMS G76-7 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Desert Heat 2010
Jack Skelerom - Nice flight, but popped a fin landing... No TTW fins! :-(
04-20-2002 Gary Singer AT SU G80-10 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds - Flown into 1,000 ft. cloud cover. Thought it had been stolen by aliens. Took an agonizing 4 minutes to break back through clouds !
07-31-2005 Malcolm Smith AT EconoJet F20-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds Event: NARAM-47
- Nice loud flight. Black paint made it easy to spot for the whole trip. Landed hard in pad area with no damage.
08-31-2008 Malcolm Smith RoadR SU F45-8 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds Event: Freedom Launch 08
- Fast flight with significant weather cocking. Maybe 800 feet. Good recovery.
01-06-2007 Lance Souther 3x Est SU D12-3 Very Early 10+ mph winds - I modified this to fly as a cluster to keep flight costs down. Three D's worked great. I would guess about 500 feet, but next time will go with the 5 sec delay as 3 was a bit to quick as it was still going up.
01-11-2004 Randy Trotter AT SU F50-4 Just Before Calm Gold Finger -
02-07-2004 Randy Trotter AT SU F50-4 Very Early 5-10 mph winds Gold Finger - ripped 3 or the 6 shroud lines off, but recovered with no other damage....
   

Please Help Make Us Better!   

•  Copyright © 2019  •   EMRR   •   Legal/Privacy   •   Disclaimer   •