There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Tue Aug 17 04:01:05 2010

LOC
Nuke Pro Maxx
P.O. Box 470396
Broadview Heights OH 44147
(330) 745-9755
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 39.5" x 2.260" - 16 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: Right Click to Download
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: F50-6, G40-7, G80-7, H97-10, H45-10, H123-14, H128-14, H110-14, I357-14

Rating
(Contributed - by Philip Levanda - 04/17/05) LOC/Precision Nuke Pro Maxx

Brief:
This is an extremely versatile high flyer. Capable of stable flight on as little as an F20 through J motors. It is 2.2 inches in diameter and 39.5 inches long. It has three sharp fins for a very sleek, fast look.

Construction:
The kit comes with a main and a payload body tube. The recovery system is a 28 inch parachute. The body tube is slotted and the fins slide through to mount directly to the MMT.

If you've built a LOC kit before there are no surprises here. This was my 5th LOC kit and I could have done it blindfolded. This rocket is near minimum diameter with very little space LOC/Precision Nuke Pro Maxxbetween the MMT and the body tube. Applying enough epoxy to secure the fins to the MMT took some dowels and patience. Also because of the small space there is not a lot of room for a positive motor retention system. My advice would be to pull the motor mount tube out 1/4 inch from the bottom so you can install a Slimline retainer. The instructions are minimalist but if you have put a few mid power rockets together you can manage this easily.

Finishing:
I applied some nice smooth fillets to the fins then primed and painted the rocket in a patriotic red, white, and blue scheme. LOC tubes paint nice and have very little groove to fill in on the tube.

Construction Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Flight:
The recommended motor list for this rocket is like few others: F,G,H,I,J motors. You could probably get away with a composite E even but I wouldn't go with a J without fiberglassing the rocket first. My first flight with this rocket I used a 38 to 29 mm motor adapter that LOC sells, the MMT-2. I loaded a G33-7 and some wadding and trekked out to the mid power pads. I forgot to leave room for a Slimline so I carefully drilled a few holes and screwed in a few clips for motor retention. I used wRASP and it predicted a flight of 1945 feet. It went up fast and straight and was a beautiful flight on a perfect day at a METRA launch. No spin, just a perfect dart to 2K feet and ejection.

Recovery:
The chute popped perfectly and the rocket literally drifted 2000 feet down to my feet. Well, within ten feet of my feet. Recovery doesn't get much easier than that! It is perfect chute for this rocket. Not too fast or slow.

Here is a link to a video of the logged flight. Here.

Flight Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Summary:
Because of its high flight, I'm not sure I would use this rocket on an L1 cert. If you are looking for a nicely priced 1 mile capable rocket, this might be the one for you. It flies straight and fast and also has a payload section for timers and altimeters if you want to put in alternate method of recovery or see how high you went, respectively. I highly recommend this rocket. It is a nice sleek design and soars smooth.

Overall Rating: 4 ½ out of 5


Rating
(Contributed - by Andrew Grippo - 05/30/05) LOC/Precision Nuke ProMaxx

Brief:
This is a simple to construct single stage, mid to high power rocket with a payload section and through the wall fin design. Kit is designed to use motor ejection for parachute deployment. A 38mm motor mount is included with the kit. A motor mount adapter is not included for the use of 29mm motors.

Construction:
Kit components come packaged in a heavy duty bag and include: Two LOC heavy duty glassine coated paper tubes for the airframe, one is 22" long and pre-slotted for through the wall construction of the fins and the other tubing is 12" long and intended for the payload section. There are also three pre-cut plywood fins, two plywood 38mm centering rings, one plywood bulkhead, one plastic nose cone, 18" nylon parachute, 10" of 38mm LOC glassine coated paper tube for the motor mount, 17' of 1/2" flat elastic shock cord, one 3/8" stainless steel eye hook for parachute attachment to bulkhead, one 5.75" long coupler tube, and one 8.5" x 11" page instruction sheet with three illustrations showing a rear view, a side exposed view of centering ring/motor mount tube assembly in main airframe, and the payload assembly.

LOC/Precision Nuke ProMaxx

I began construction by wicking the edges of the body tubes and motor mount with CA for added strength and to prevent the paper tubes from fraying during sanding. LOC instructions begin by requiring the modeler to remove the glassine coating from the MMT by peeling the coating off or sanding it down to allow for better adhesion of the epoxy. The MMT centering rings are sized to have this layer removed and fit very well. I opted to sand the glassine layer with 100 grit sandpaper and used 30 minute epoxy throughout the build. I added a third centering ring to provide support under the forward area of the fins in the event of hard landing to prevent a fin from crushing the body tube. The fin slots cut into the body tube were a little short and a quick sanding cleared this up. The coupler tube fit in the body tubes a little loosely so a thin layer of epoxy was used to build the OD of the coupler up.

I built the rocket mostly stock but did make some basic modifications. I added an ejection baffle system to the coupler tube to do away with using wadding. Since the kit came with a payload section, I used a zipperless design. I also attached rail buttons instead of using the 1/4" launch lug that is included in the kit.

The LOC/Precision instructions are minimal but complete and easy to follow. The assembly order is typical of most kits and begins with the motor mount assembly and then continues with adding the fins. Next is the payload section and attachment of LOC shock cord by tying one end to the nose cone and the other end to a small piece of nylon string that is glued to the inside of the body tube. Since I used a zipperless design I didn't use the LOC method of shock cord attachment to the body tube so I don't know if it works.

PROs: Very sturdy kit that builds quickly and easily, parts are good quality, and this rocket should stand up to many flights.

CONs: None.

Finishing:
Elmers Wood Finish was used to fill the small spirals in the body tubes and fill the grain in the fins. Model Master Red Putty was used to fill the imperfections on the nose cone and covering pass for the fin fillets. Several coats of Rustoleum primer were sprayed and wet sanded for a smooth finish. The intermediate coat was applied with Rustoleum Gloss White and this was followed with several coats of Boyd Grape Pearl and finally three coats of Rustoleum Clear Gloss was applied to protect to the coating and give the color depth.

PROs: The body tubes are of very good quality and very easy to work with and finish. The spirals are so small and shallow that just priming them would probably take care of them. The plywood fins are very easy to finish as well since there is very little exposed grain to deal with.

CONs: Decals do not come with the kit but are available for download at the LOC website if you want to make your own decals to match the rocket pictured on the instruction sheet.

Construction Rating: 5 out of 5

Flight:
LOC/Precision recommends the rocket be used with mid and high power engines up to an I357. With the low weight of the rocket I would recommend sticking to the manufacturer list unless you want to see this baby go mach.

Final weight came in at 20 ounces. With the 38mm motor tube this rocket can be launched with an Aerotech J350W-14 and per Rocksim can be sent to about 7000' and hit 960 mph.

PROs: Large variety of motors available for this kit and it's designed strong enough to handle them.

LOC/Precision Nuke ProMaxx CONs: LOC recommends use of masking tape for friction fitting the motor into the motor mount and I completely disagree. I never use the friction fit method for retaining any motors above an Estes C or D. I installed two #4-40 brass threaded inserts designed to accept machined Allen screws into the aft centering ring and used small clips to hold the motor in place.

Recovery:
I used the supplied elastic shock cord and the nylon chute supplied with the kit. With an ejection baffle built into the rocket there was no need for a chute protector or wadding which made prepping the rocket on launch day that much easier and faster when getting it ready for flight.

Loc Pro MaxxThe parachute shroud lines are not of the best quality but they work OK. The chute diameter is sized correctly for the weight of the rocket. I added a small swivel to the chute and it worked well. There wasn't any excessive rotation of the rocket on the way down on any of the flights.

I flew the Nuke Pro-Maxx three times at the Jim Turner Memorial launch held at the McGregor Field near Waco, TX, and all three flights were outstanding. I began with a AT G33J-7 and followed up with a AT G104T-6 and then a CTI G69-9. The rocket handled each motor well and delays were right on the money.

Flight Rating: 5 out of 5

Summary:
This is an excellent rocket that meets the needs of a flyer interested in getting into mid power rocketry. It is well designed, well built, and boosted straight as an arrow.

PROs : Easy to build and easy to fly on different size fields with the large assortment of motors that can be used.

Cons: None.

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5


Rating
(Contributed - by Lance Alligood [Who's Who Page] - 01/24/06) LOC/Precision Nuke Pro Maxx

Brief:
The LOC/Precision Nuke Pro Maxx is a simple, robust high performing 3FNC mid/high power rocket that can fly on motors as little as an F all the way up to a the largest 38mm J motor that you can fit into the rocket.

My big reason for getting this kick is that I fly a lot of H and I powered rockets. I prefer my rockets to be light and small as well. My USR Banshee only has a 29mm MMT, so that limits just how much I can punish that rocket. I wanted a rocket that I could 'get medieval' on...and the Nuke Pro Maxx seems to fit that bill. Minimum Diameter rockets would be ideal but are often very challenging because they tend to be visually difficult to track with their small size, offer minimal payload and recovery space, and limit choices for motor retention. The Nuke Pro Maxx strike a nice balance of my wants by being still quite slender but affording the advantages of non-minimum diameter rockets.

Construction:
The parts list:

  • 1 2.26"d ogive plastic nose cone
  • 1 12"l x 2.26"d payload tube
  • 1 22"l x 2.26"d body tube (pre-marked for fins and launch lug)
  • 1 coupler
  • 1 birch plywood bulkhead
  • 1 screw eye
  • 3 1.8" thick birch plywood fins
  • 2 birch plywood centering rings
  • 1 10"l x 1.63"d motor mount tube
  • 1 18" nylon parachute
  • 10ft elastic shock cord
  • 1 shock cord mount
  • 1 1/4" launch lug

Opening the kit from the heavy gauge plastic bag with hang tag revealed all of the necessary parts and instructions for the kit. Typical of LOC/Precision kits, the instructions are on the thin side. Aside from the instructions found on the folded header card, the bulkhead and shock cord anchor each come with their own instructions. I gave the instructions a quick "once over" to see if there were any potential "gotchas" (there weren't any obvious ones to me). While the kit is a pretty simple 3FNC based on the a quantity of components, builders that are new to MPR/HPR might struggle through the minimalist instructions.

The only thing that stood out upon inspecting the overall high quality of the components was that one of my favorite parts of a mid- or high-power rocket build had already been taken care of for me: the fin slots had already been cut into the main airframe tube. However, I'm sure that there are many folks out there who aren't keen on slotting their tubes so this will probably come as a great reason for them to consider this kit! Not having to slot the tube should noticeably reduce the build time of this rocket as well. I did some basic dry fitting of all components. I was a little surprised to find that the centering rings and fins required a fair bit of sanding to get a smooth fit without having to force anything into place. In particular, the fin tabs were all about 1/16" too tall, which left quite a gap between the fin and the outside of the body tube. My Dremel with a sanding drum came to the rescue and had everything fitting quite snug in a matter of minutes though.

The leading and trailing edges of the fins were rounded using an orbital hand sander. Also, holes were drilled in the body tubes for mounting rail buttons, vent holes to relieve internal air pressure, and for a nylon screw to hold the nose cone in place and leave the payload bay easily accessible.

Elmer's Probond Wood Glue was used out for the entire construction, except for the attachment of the shock cord anchor and screw eye. First, I glued and filleted the forward centering ring onto one end of the motor mount. I dry fit the aft centering ring 1/2" from the opposite end of the motor tube and glued the motor tube into the main body tube so that 1/2" of the motor tube sticks out the aft end of the rocket. Before gluing the fins on though, I brought out my trusty Dremel with a sanding drum again to lightly sand away 1/4" of the glassine layer all the way around the fin slots so that the glue could really soak into the tube. Then the fins were attached through the wall to the MMT using a double glue method one at a time. Once they were dry, I slid the aft centering ring off and dribbled wood glue into the narrow gap between the tubes along each side of the fin tabs. A scrap piece of 1/8" diameter wood dowel was used to spread the glue along the length of the fin tabs to reinforce the joint to the motor tube and main airframe. The aft centering ring was glued into place after the internal fillets were completed. External fin fillets were done with 3 or 4 thin layers of wood glue.

The screw eye was epoxied to the bulkhead using 15-minute epoxy with milled fiber mixed in. The bulkhead was glued and filleted 1/4" into one end of the coupler with Elmer's Probond. The coupler was glued halfway into one end of the payload tube and set aside to dry. Some masking tape was required for the coupler to have the proper snug fit into the main body tube.

Perhaps the most challenging part of the build is epoxying the shock cord anchor inside the body tube. After taping the nylon string inside the tube per the instructions, care must be taken to avoid getting epoxy on the first 3 inches of the tube so that it does not interfere with the fit of the coupler. I taped a small piece of wax paper inside the tube to make this task much easier. Then I glued a couple popsicle sticks end-to-end to extend my reach inside the tube. 15-minute epoxy with milled fiber mixed in was used to properly adhere the string to the inside of the body tube. The milled fiber not only adds considerable strength, but thickens the epoxy to the consistency of peanut butter. An application such as this is simplified because it reduces the likeliness of epoxy flowing into somewhere unwanted. Dipping the lengthened popsicle stick into a little rubbing alcohol helped to smooth out the epoxy (to prevent anything from catching on it during recovery ejection) and make sure that it thoroughly covered the nylon string.

The last part of the build was to tie the 10 foot long elastic shock cord to the nylon loop and screw eye. A small loop was tied into the shock cord for attaching the parachute too.

I passed on the opportunity to attach the launch lug, opting to drill a pair of holes for rail buttons which were mounted once I completed all of the paint work.

Finishing:
Wood Grain on the fins was filled using Elmer's Wood Filler diluted with water to make it easier to apply then sanded smooth with 220 and 320 grit sandpaper. The nose cone was washed in warm, soapy water, scraped with a razor utility knife to remove the excess flashing, and then sanded with 220 grit sandpaper.

The rocket was then primed with a couple coats of Krylon (gray and white) primer and sanded smooth with 320 grit sandpaper after the first coat and 400 grit after the second.

I attempted to recreate the LOC paint scheme. The entire rocket was painted with 2 coats of Krylon Gloss White (I wet sanded with 600 grit sandpaper in between coats) and set aside to dry for a few days. The body tube was then masked off so the fins could be painted Krylon Sun Yellow Gloss. The nose cone was painted Krylon Banner Red Gloss then I did a fade with Krylon Plum Gloss.

The vinyl decals came from Graphix & Stuff. I saw their ad in Sport Rocketry magazine and got a quote through their website. Their prices are very reasonable, service is top notch and speedy, and the decals look awesome. While the paint scheme was virtually identical to the artwork on the LOC/Precision website, I came up with my own interpretation of the decals.

Construction Rating: 5 out of 5

LOC/Precision Nuke Pro Maxx

Flight:
Prepping this rocket isn't notably different than most other mid- or high-power rockets. I clipped a 9" x 9" Nomex heat shield and used a quick link to attach the relatively small but adequate LOC chute and my rocket beeper onto the shock cord. To get this rocket off the pad, I picked an AeroTech H128W-M along with a 38-29mm motor adapter for the first flight.

Liftoff was straight up and with rapid acceleration. In light winds (5-10mph), I didn't notice any weathercocking.

Recovery:
Ejection was right at apogee and the Nuke Pro Maxx came down safely on the LOC 18" chute. Drift was minimal and I only had a short walk for recovery. Our launch site is on undeveloped land and the nose cone landed on the road, causing minor scratches that can be easily touched up. Thankfully the rest of the rocket landed in the grass.

Flight Rating: 5 out of 5

Summary:
The LOC/Precision Nuke Pro Maxx is a kit that can fly on a wide range of motors due to the heavy duty components yet overall light weight of the finished rocket. I have grown accustomed to testing the upper limits of my rockets and the Nuke Pro Maxx should be able to handle everything I want to throw at it!

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
12/05 - "I like to say that the Nuke Pro Maxx is a really nice kit and that it looks great and I highly suggest you get it." (C.K.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
"" (x.x.)

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
09-18-2005 Peter Allen AT RMS G75-Altim Apogee - Perfect
(1629 ft)
5-10 mph winds - I modified this rocket for dual deployment. This was its first flight and it went flawlessly. Nice straight boost. The 12 inch drogue and the 30 inch main are just the right size chutes.
01-22-2006 Lance Alligood AT RMS H128-M Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Great shake down flight and with the impressive paint job, it looked fantastic doing it :) This rocket could easily handle MORE POWER! Close recovery considering the altitude.
03-18-2006 Lance Alligood AT RMS G67-M Apogee - NC Up 10+ mph winds - Plenty of OOMPH getting this one off the pad. Great choice for the first use of my new 38/120 casing. Nice altitude even on a rather windy day. Recovery was quick with the 18 chute but brought it back close to the pad. Nice!
03-18-2006 Lance Alligood AT RMS G61-M Apogee - NC Up 10+ mph winds - Not as much zip off the pad as the G67R motor used earlier in the day. Vertical part of the flight was otherwise identical to the G67R flight earlier in the day. Payload section separated from the shock cord at ejection. All parts recovered damage free.
04-15-2006 Lance Alligood AT RMS G61-M Just Before 0-5 mph winds - Nice straight boost but the 10 sec delay seemed a little on the short side. No damage though & it came down within 100yds of pad. Another great flight!
07-15-2006 Lance Alligood AT RMS H220-M Apogee - Perfect
(3231 ft)
0-5 mph winds - With almost zero wind, this rocket left the pad like a scalded dog absolutely straight up. Minimal drift on the way down kept it close. Had my RRC2 onboard for tracking alt only. Used my BeeLine but didn't need it for recovery. Awesome flight!
11-18-2006 Lance Alligood Loki RLD H144-13 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds RIP - Absolutely ripped off the pad. It came down under chute A-OK, but could not locate it on the field after an intense search. Darn! Status: Lost
11-12-2005 Ken Brown AT RMS H165-10 Apogee - Perfect
(2436 ft)
0-5 mph winds Event: RocStock 11/05
- Poof..Gone. Perfect straight flight. Cert Flight: L1
11-13-2005 Ken Brown AT RMS G75-10 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Event: RocStock 11/05
- Another perfect flight.
09-18-2005 Frank DiMatteo AT SU G40-7 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Great first flight. Landed in the middle of a lake. Recovered a half hour later with no damage. Will fly again with a smaller motor.
10-16-2005 Frank DiMatteo AT RMS F40-7 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Perfect Flight. Landed about 40 yards from the pad.
05-28-2005 Andrew Grippo AT RMS G33-7 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Event: Jim Turner Memorial Launch
- Maiden flight. Fast, straight boost and high flight with close recovery and no damage. Good rocket and motor combination. Good delay time.
05-29-2005 Andrew Grippo AT RMS G104-6 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds Event: Jim Turner Memorial Launch
- Nice straight flight to about 1,400 feet. Good delay and 1/4 mile walk for recovery. No damage to rocket. Good rocket, motor, delay combination for a small field.
05-29-2005 Andrew Grippo Ces RLD G69-9 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds Event: Jim Turner Memorial Launch
- Sweet flight with a good delay and recovered without damage. Nice flying kit able to handle a G impluse motor without a problem.
07-09-2005 Andrew Grippo AT RMS F40-7 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds Event: Raisin Cane 1
- Rocket had a little wobble off the pad but straigtened up and flew well. Delay was about 2 seconds too long but no damage incurred to the rocket at deployment.
11-12-2005 Andrew Grippo AT RMS H148-11 Apogee - NC Down 10+ mph winds Event: High Cotton
- Nice flight with good delay. Shock cord tore through nose cone connection point and separated payload section. Easy to fix and fly again.
06-20-2009 Andrew Grippo Ces RLD H153-13 None - CATO 5-10 mph winds RIPEvent: Southern Thunder 2009
- O-ring burn thru caused the motor to burn the thrust ring on the case which pushed the motor up into the motor mount. The fire lit the ejection charge causing early deployment of the main chute. Status: CATO'd
07-13-2006 Conner Kuhns AT RMS I161-14 Apogee - NC Up Calm Event: ROCstock
- flew really fast on I161 ejected a little bit early and burned through the shock cord, other that there was no damage, i have now replaced the shock cord with nylon which will work perfectry.
03-03-2007 Conner Kuhns AT RMS H123-10 Just Past (1-2sec)
(2960 ft)
Calm Event: snow ranch
- good flight
06-06-2010 Jeff Lane AT SU G79-7 None - CATO 0-5 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: SCORE Regional
- Got good liftoff, but 100 feet up the LMS motor exploded. Blew out the FC, molded-in nozzle, and cracked the casing full length. Tough bird, when the FC blew, the Nuke chute came out so it survived without a scratch.
04-16-2005 Philip Levanda AT RMS G33-7 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: METRA 04-16-05
- Flew great straight and fast. Perfect motor for this high flier.
05-01-2005 Philip Levanda AT RMS G67-M Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds Event: METRA
- Delay was a lil long but I wouldn't go with the short. Flew nice and fast on the new G Redlines.
05-21-2005 Philip Levanda AT EconoJet G38-7 Just Past (1-2sec) Gusty Event: NEPRA
- Some nasty winds at the NEPRA launch pushed this one pretty far. Flew nice and straight on this motor.
06-17-2005 Philip Levanda AT RMS H97-M Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: NERRF 2005
- This rocket will really move on an H.
05-05-2007 Todd Mullin Ces RLD G69-8 Didn't See 10+ mph winds Event: Plaster City
-
07-16-2006 Ray Sunderlin Ces RLD H153-13 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: HellFire 12
It Ain't Pretty - Great Cert. flight! Modded the kit to anti zipper design and built ejection gas baffel and cooling mesh into the coupler. Also pinned the nose to upper section with .197 birch rod (BBQ Skewer) to make future mods easier. Cert Flight: L1
04-05-2009 Peter Waithe AT RMS G33-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: METRA
- First flight. Great liftoff and recovery was perfect.
10-25-2009 Peter Waithe AT RMS G33-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: NEMROC
- This was a perfect flight and was recovered wth a 12 chute due to the winds. There was no damage.
   

Please Help Make Us Better!   

•  Copyright © 2019  •   EMRR   •   Legal/Privacy   •   Disclaimer   •