There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Sun Feb 16 02:13:26 2014

LOC
HyperLOC 835
P.O. Box 470396
Broadview Heights OH 44147
(330) 745-9755
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 74" x 4" - 60 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: Right Click to Download
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: 54mm: I, J, K 54mm Hybrid, H, I, J Single Use, J90-10, J135L

Rating
(Contributed - by Martin Otten [Who's Who Page] - 07/24/09) LOC/Precision HyperLOC 835

Brief:
The HyperLOC 835 has been designed by LOC Precision to be used as a dual deployment hybrid rocket, primarily for use with Hypertek hybrid motors although it will fly well on solid motors as well.

I chose this rocket to use to do my level 2. First because I like the design of the rocket, and secondly because I intend to go down the hybrid route in the future. Essentially I am killing two birds with one stone.

Construction:
The parts list:

LOC/Precision HyperLOC 835

The instructions were like other LOC/Precision kits. They are printed on a single sheet of paper one side of the sheet of paper has a picture of the finished rocket, recommended motors, rocket dimension information, etc. The other side has the assembly instructions without any diagrams or pictures. The build is relatively straightforward and is similar to other 3FNC rockets in construction.

The recovery system is the usual elastic type, but I replaced this with 9/16" x 15' top flight tubular nylon and added a Nomex® fire wall and shock cord protector.

Finishing:
I sanded all of the parts of the rocket. I then used automotive spray paints. I undercoated the whole rocket with several coats of white primer. When this had fully dried again, I sprayed the whole rocket with florescent orange paint. This made for a very bright rocket in the sun. The kit does not come with any decals but they can be downloaded off the internet and printed out on waterslide decal paper.

LOC/Precision HyperLOC 835

Construction Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Flight:
Due to the motor I would be using, my first opportunity to fly the Hyperloc would at bigEARS May 2008. I packed my rocket, tools, and paperwork into the car and off we went. Three hours later we were in Cambridgeshire.

Before I could fly I had to take and pass the UKRA level two certification exam. I promptly located Cath at the UKRA stand, I waited my turn, and luckily passed my L2 exam.

Under the supervision of the RSO, I prepped and loaded the HyperLOC with a Pro38 J285.

After some minor problems, we had lift off. The HyperLOC climbed to a peek altitude of 3275ft and deployed its parachute at apogee. This was some several hundred feet higher than SpaceCAD had predicted and made for an hour long walk to collect my rocket. Level 2 flight successful.

Flight 2. I'd repainted the HyperLOC835 in supersonic blue. Flown at the IRW 2008 in Largs, Scotland. Launched on a Pro38 I205 to an altitude of 1877ft, deployed its parachute at apogee, and landed approximately 300ft from the launch pad. No damage.

Recovery:
The supplied recovery can be described as adequate for a rocket that's 74" long and 4" in diameter. I would have expected the kit to come with tubular nylon recovery. As stated above, I replaced the stock components with 9/16" x 15' Top Flight tubular nylon and added a Nomex® fire wall and shock cord protector.

All flights so far have been flawless.

Flight Rating: 3 ½ out of 5

Summary:
I like this rocket a lot. It can be flown on a great range of motors from a H class motor all the way up to a K hybrid. If you have the money, you could fly this rocket 50 times never using the same motor twice. Finishing is straightforward with no spirals to fill.

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5


Rating
(Contributed - by Howard Smart [Who's Who Page] - 08/10/10)

Brief:
Tall 4 inch 3FNC rocket built to be compatible with hybrid motors. I picked this rocket specifically out of the LOC catalog when I was shopping for my level 2 project. It has a 54mm motor mount, and is dual-deploy ready. It also comes complete with a drogue and main parachute.

Construction:

  • Plastic nose cone
  • 1 4 in payload bay tube
  • 1 4 in LOC avionics bay kit (6 inch long version)
  • 1 4 in main airframe tube
  • 1 54mm motor mount tube
  • 3 Motor mount centering rings 4in-54mm
  • 1 Recovery Harness mount centering ring
  • Recovery hardware
  • 3 Fins (1/8 in plywood)
  • 1 1/2 in launch lug
  • 1 50 in main parachute
  • 1 18 in drogue
  • 1 overflow tube
  • 2 lengths of shock cord - 1/2 in elastic

In retrospect, this was a very straightforward build for a high power rocket. The instructions were minimalist. It was my level 2 project, and only my second HPR kit. Even with my inexperience, I had no trouble with the instructions. I built mine with sturdy internal fillets and expanding foam (courtesy of PML). I was a little disappointed with the 1/8 in plywood fins. They are pretty flimsy for this size rocket. And mine were warped on arrival. I had to apply a caul to straighten them during assembly (see photo).

The regular paper LOC tubes are plenty sturdy for J launches. It would be very straightforward to glass this project, but not really necessary unless you want to push your luck with the sound barrier (in which case the fins would be the first things to go).

I replaced the elastic recovery harness with tubular nylon from What's Up Hobbies. I never use elastic in HPR.

I added a 54mm Aeropack retainer. I highly recommend these for a classy looking, easy to use, reliable retainer. (No, I don't work for the company).

Finishing:
I did not do any fancy finishing. Just spray paint from ACE Hardware. I originally painted the nose cone bright orange, but it flaked right off almost immediately. Clearly I have something to learn about painting these plastic nose cones.

Construction Rating: 3 ½ out of 5

Flight:
My first flight was my Level 2 certification flight on a J350, using a 54-38 Aeropack adapter. It was also my first dual-deployment. A perfectly good flight. The still picture of the launch is a vidcap from the launch video. This rocket had many excellent flights, mostly on J motors, all dual deployment, some drogueless.

Recovery:
A couple of hard landings in the desert due to my own failings (coming in under drogue, for example) led to fin fractures. I was able to repair one, but the second was too catastrophic. Since I had foamed them in, I could not repair the fin can and had to scrap the rocket.

Flight Rating: 3 out of 5

Summary:
Overall this is a terrific design. A very good level 2 project and a great first dual deployment rocket. I honestly do not think it is worth the price, especially given the poor quality recovery harness and too-thin fins. It is fairly easy to build a similar design from scratch, and remedy these shortcomings, for less money. This kit was actually a major reason I stopped buying HPR kits in general and started scratch building.

Overall Rating: 3 ½ out of 5

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
"" (x.x.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
06/10 - "The instructions on this kit are very vague, not to mention that there was no instructions on how to assemble the instrument bay. What's up these people have something against pictures? And why no decals? For the total of 130 dollars I spent to get this kit, there are no decals and poor instructions. I am disappointed to say the least. I have worked on rockets for most of my young and adult life and I am disappointed in this kit. I hope it flies better than it reads." (M.J.D. )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
08-12-2009 Mark Grisco Est SU C6-7 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - first flight on my hyperloc 835 mini!!! fought the wind on the way up, a little wobbly. lost sight after ejection, but found it quick.
11-14-2009 Mark Grisco Est SU C6-7 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - no wiggle. perfect...
05-09-2008 Martin Otten Ces RLD J285-11 Apogee - Perfect
(3275 ft)
0-5 mph winds Event: BigEARS08
- First flight, went 700ft higher than predicted. Cert Flight: L2
08-27-2008 Martin Otten Ces RLD I205-8 Apogee - NC Up
(1877 ft)
0-5 mph winds Event: IRW 2008
- Nice stright flight, landed about 300ft from pad.
08-28-2009 Martin Otten Ces RLD I170-7 Just Before
(1608 ft)
5-10 mph winds Event: IRW
- Due to the wind conditions, the rocket got a 1 inch zipper in the boster section, easy repair.
07-09-2010 Martin Otten Ces RLD I170-Altim Apogee - NC Down
(1798 ft)
5-10 mph winds Event: Ears July Launch
- duel deploy, drouge using the BP removed from the motor, main at 300ft using CD3 system, onboard video using MD80 action cam.
09-18-2010 Martin Otten Ces RLD I170-Altim Apogee - NC Down
(1823 ft)
Light winds Event: Midland Sky 17-19 sep 10
- used the same set-up as at ears in july, but MD80 didn't record the flight

Copyright © 2013 by RocketReviews.com