There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Fri Apr 6 08:35:04 2012

LOC
Cyclotron
P.O. Box 470396
Broadview Heights OH 44147
(330) 745-9755
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 56.75" x 3 to 2.14" - 35 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: Right Click to Download
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: 38mm: Single Use: G80T-4, G125T-5, H55W-S, H124J-S, Reloadable: F62T-S, G64W-S, G75J-S, G60, H110, I170, H123-S, H128W-S, H238T-S, H97J-S, H180W-S, H73J-S, H123W-S, H112J-M, I161-M

Rating LOC Cyclotron
(Contributed - by Joe Balsamo - 01/01/02)

Brief:
Single stage, tube-finned, 38mm rocket with a 3" BT transitioning to a 2.14" payload bay. The rocket is very suitable for Level 1 certifications.

Construction:
3" LOC main body tube with 6 coupler tubes used for the tube fins. 38mm LOC Motor Mount tube is held in place by two centering rings. The kit comes with a fairly long elastic shock cord, 2.14" payload tube section, plastic nose cone and plastic transition. I made some modifications to this which I will describe below.

The rocket is quite easy to build and the instruction sheet is fairly well written. I built it stock except for the recovery system. I don't like elastic shock cords. I no longer have an AT Sumo because the elastic shock cord broke during ejection. I have now replaced all of the elastic in my fleet with either Kevlar or Kevlar/tubular nylon recovery harnesses.

On the Cyclotron, I drilled out two 180 degree opposing holes each about 1/8" in diameter in the forward centering ring. I then strung a length of Pratt Hobbies 1/8" tubular Kevlar , both ends through the holes, knots tied about 4" from each end, then the ends epoxied to the motor mount. Thus creating a Kevlar harness, the closed loop end now reaching just below the lip of the main 3" tube. Now, I can attach to this either tubular nylon, tubular Kevlar or whatever. The Kevlar may someday wear out, but it will take a very long time. Plus, I usually shove a small amount of wadding into the motor mount itself, so the brunt of the blast is taken by that.

I like SkyAngle chutes, so I ditched the LOC chute and recover on a SkyAngle 36. I use a Kevlar chute protector to protect the chute.

I am also a big fan of the Aeropack system, so I included an Aeropack motor retainer on my Cyclotron. The bottom of the Aeropack is flush with BT.

The only other thing I can add is to make sure you rough up the body tube and the fin tubes, use a good quality epoxy and make all your fillets. Nothing is holding the fin tubes to the body tube other than glue, so this is key. I used a long wooden down to create the fillets once the tubes were attached to the body tube. LOC gives a good technique to build the fin tube structure, so I recommend using their technique.

I epoxied the bottom of the payload tube to the top of the plastic LOC transition and attached the nose cone to the top of the payload tube using a plastic pop rivet.

Finishing:
Finishing is typical of any kraft paper tube type rocket. Fill the spirals (I use Elmers Fill-n-Finish), primer the rocket, and paint.

In the case of this particular rocket, I decided to test out the new Dupli-Color Mirage color-changing paint. I get mine locally at Kragen, but AutoBarn on the web sells it as well. I chose the Purple/Green color as that seemed to look better (at least on the can top in the store) than the Gold/Magenta or Silver/Green. I used Fill-N-Finish and sanding until I got a fairly smooth surface. I then used Dupli-Color white primer in a couple of coats to get a near-glass smooth finish. I then applied the three-part Dupli-Color as per the instructions on the paint kit. First the flat black basecoat. Then the color changing paint itself. Then finally the clear coat. I really like how it came out and I get a lot of positive comments about my paint job, so it seems others do as well. I painted the inside of each of the tube fins with a simple brushed-on flat black enamel and the same for the bottom end of the rocket. I don't like bare areas on my rockets showing through and sometimes for certain acres, flat black painted on just works out real nicely.

Construction Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Flight:
I've flown my Cyclotron a half dozen times now and it is a great flying rocket! Straight as an arrow and looks very cool as it blasts off. Most of the time, I try to remember to put a small amount of wadding up the motor mount tube before inserting the motor. I have forgotten a few times and no harm seems to have come from it. I use a Kevlar chute protector and it seems to work just great. Motor retention is via Aeropack, as noted above, and I find that the transition fits into the body tube fairly loosely on my Cyclotron, so I use masking tape to attain a not-too-tight fit. My Cyclotron has flown on the AT H238, Pro38 G69 and Pro38 I170. Great flights, all of them.

Recovery:
As I noted already, I've completely replaced the LOC recovery system with my own. My system works flawlessly. It is the above mentioned tubular Kevlar harness, attached to that is a 30' length of very heavy duty Kevlar "mule tape". SkyAngle36 is attached to this via a kwik-link and I use a Kevlar chute protector. All works great.

Flight Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Summary:
This rocket is a great looking and flying rocket. The only area of change that I would recommend would be in the recovery system as I've already noted. Though I was already an L1 when I bought this kit, I feel that it makes a great L1 rocket. Also a good "small field" rocket with G size engines, but yet you can bust loose at larger fields with an I.

Overall Rating: 4 ½ out of 5


Rating
(by Mike Walsh, JR. - 04/01/02)

Rocket PicBrief:
Tube Rocket, with transition

Construction:
I received the package, and the kit was well packaged. It included 2 main body tubes, a 3.1”x 34” long tube, and a 2.14” x 12” body tube, as well as nose cone, transition, motor mount parts. It also comes with (6) 3.1” Tube couplers, which are used for the fins. They are pretty durable. As well as (2) ½” diameter launch lugs. The only common thing is the assembly of the Motor mount, and the shock cord anchor system. I did not receive any instructions, but I had some idea as to how to build it. I constructed the entire motor mount assembly using 5-minute epoxy. I requested a 29mm motor mount, which is what he sent me.

I didn't get any instructions for this kit, as it was a Beta test. But I had an idea of how to build it. I looked at the basic parts. I got a vision of how to build it in my head, then I got to work. It is relatively easy for the intermediate flyer to build. The tube couplers are butted against each other, as well as the airframe. Once you get the first coupler on, the rest of them are simply butted into place. I used spring clamps to help clamp the portions together, so that I could ensure a good bond between couplers. The only mod I made, was to scuff some glassine off of the contact points, to help the epoxy adhere better. I used basic 5 and 15 minute epoxy. Everything went together without a hitch. I cant really give any con's about this kit.

Finishing:
Pros: It is rather easy to come up with exotic ideas for paint schemes, for instance, like I did on my rocket, you can paint every other tube coupler (fin) an alternating color, to give it an "exotic" touch. I used Rustoleum Primer and paint. Cons: If you want to paint the inside of the couplers, it will be extra work for you.

Construction Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

On G64Flight:
First flight was in March of 2001. I used a G64-4w, and I upped the ejection charge a little, since it was a larger diameter. I used a simple screw and a washer for retention. After passing it through RSO, and putting it on the pad, it was time to witness the moment of truth. It lit instantly, and whistled off the pad. The ejection charge went off just as the rocket hit apogee, and the 36" parachute opened beautifully. It drifted a little ways, but was recovered. Upon recovering it, it was found that one of the tube couplers had "caved" in. The simplest and quickest remedy was to "pop" it back out.

On H128Next up, I loaded her up with a G125-5t. A pass through RSO and she was on the pad within 5 minutes. After the usual countdown, the motor lit, and it practically exploded off the pad, and up to about 750 feet. The chute deployed, and it had a flawless recovery. No problems with the tubes this time.

I teamed up with a friend of mine, and we loaded up an H128-M for it. After a few problems with igniters, she took to the air, to about 1200 feet. The chute deployed right on cue, and I had to walk a little further, but it was an impressive flight, nonetheless.

I flew the rocket again about a year later, on a G64, and then an H128. Both flights were flawless.

Flight Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Summary:
I'd suggest this kit for the intermediate flyer, as it requires a little patience to build, but if built right, it will reward you with some good flights. This kit always gets attention at our launches. It's waiting for an Aerotech I200 :)

Overall Rating: 4 ½ out of 5


Rating
(Contributed - by John Lee [Who's Who Page] - 11/14/09) LOC Cyclotron

Brief:
Tube Finned, 38mm Motor Mount, Parachute recovery

The LOC Cyclotron looked to be a fairly simple HPR build suitable for somebody with not too much HPR experience. It was a kit I had around for a while but did not get around to building because of few opportunities to launch anything in the HPR range.With some prospects for flight opening up, I dug out this kit and got to work.

Construction:
The first thing that struck me as unusual about this kit was that the directions did not direct me to start with the motor mount. Instead, the tube fins came first.

Six tubes were provided already cut to length. The tubes were divided into three pairs and then an Estes angle was used to put a straight line along the lengths of three of them.

The tube pairs were then compared for length to make sure that they were all identical. One tube was a bit longer than the others but a belt sander quickly solved that problem. Some 15 minute epoxy was mixed and a brush was used to paint it along the lines scribed onto the three tubes so marked.

The tubes were then pushed together in pairs, checked for alignment and set on a concrete floor to stiffen up. About half an hour later, the tube fins were stiff enough to continue work.

Strips of masking tape were placed at either end of the tube pairs to serve as dams. Some 20 minute finish cure epoxy was then mixed and poured into the creases between tubes. They were set aside to harden and a day later the pairs were turned over and the opposite creases were treated to some epoxy filler.

LOC Cyclotron - Tube FinsLOC Cyclotron - Tube FinsLOC Cyclotron - Tube FinsLOC Cyclotron - Tube Fins
LOC Cyclotron - Tube FinsLOC Cyclotron - Tube FinsLOC Cyclotron - Tube FinsLOC Cyclotron - Tube Fins

Construction of the motor mount was a simple affair. It consisted of a 38mm motor tube and a pair of centering rings. The interiors of the rings needed a bit of sanding to fit over the motor tube, but that was easily accomplished. A line was marked 1/4" from either end of the tube and the the rings were epoxied into place. When the epoxy had stiffened, a substantial epoxy fillet was laid down on the forward end of both rings. When that had stiffened, a fillet was also placed on the rear side of the forward ring but the rear of the aft ring was left unfilleted for now.

LOC Cyclotron - Motor MountLOC Cyclotron - Motor MountLOC Cyclotron - Motor MountLOC Cyclotron - Motor Mount

A member on TRF warned me that the tube fins for this rocket were made from coupler tubes instead of the body tube and, as a result, do not close perfectly when arranged around the BT. I found that this was indeed the case. He solved this problem by slipping some plywood spacers between the tubes. I considered doing this. However, while I think that is the best way to go, I did not do so. I had no plywood of the appropriate dimension sitting around and I was impatient to proceed.

I decided to leave a small gap between each pair of 2 tube fins. Accordingly, I mixed some 5 minute epoxy and brushed it on to one of the tube pairs. The pair was then applied to the BT while the BT was sitting on a concrete floor, to keep things straight. When this initial pair had set up, I brushed some epoxy onto each of the remaining 2 pair and the applied them, judging the spacing with nothing except my eyeballs.

The plastic nose cone had quite a bit of flash on it as well as some ugly valleys at the mold lines. I used a razor the scrape away the flash and then sandpaper to smooth it down. I was still not satisfied so I applied some Squadron green putty to the valleys and set it aside to dry.

LOC Cyclotron - Nose ConeLOC Cyclotron - Nose Cone

The plastic transition, on the other hand, had no problems with either flash or mold lines. It was ready to go so I put some epoxy on the small end and slipped the payload tube over it. I then had to use a rag and some alcohol to clean up the excess.LOC Cyclotron - Transition

By this point, the epoxy on the motor mount had hardened. I checked and found that the outer diameter of the centering rings fit the body tube just fine and that no sanding was needed. I mixed some more epoxy and applied a generous ring around the circumference about 8" up from the aft end; that was as far as I could reach.

The motor mount was then pushed in until the forward ring was about 2 inches in and another ring was applied just forward of the aft end. The motor mount was then pushed the rest of the way in and the rocket was stood on its tail to let the excess epoxy drift down and form fillets.

A couple of days later I got back to the the nose cone. The excess putty was sanded away and that removed most of the obviously visible problems.

The instructions say that the nose cone can be either epoxied into the payload bay or friction fitted with tape. I almost epoxied it since I never do the payload thing but decided that I might change my mind later. Accordingly I put some tape on the insert of the NC and gave it a tight fit to the payload bay.

LOC Cyclotron - Payload BayLOC Cyclotron - Payload Bay

The gaps between tube fin pairs was handled by slipping some cellophane tape into the gap and then pulling it up against the joint in the tube fins from the back side. The ends of the tape were folded up to blockade the ends of the tube. This gave a bottom to the trough that needed to be epoxied. Epoxy was then poured into the trough and allowed to set up after which the tape was removed.

The LOC shock cord mount is an effective piece of low tech. A piece of nylon cord is provided. A loop was tied into the middle of the cord and then overhand knots were tied at either end. A piece of masking tape was then used to place the outside ends of the cord against the inside wall of the BT. Four minute epoxy was then slathered over the tape and string and allowed to set. This method has worked very well for me with some smaller LOC rockets. The question arose in my mind, though, as to how effective it would be with a larger and heavier rocket. People on TRF chimed in and offered the testimony that it worked just fine on even heavier ones. This was gratifying to hear, but I added another layer of epoxy and broadened it out to cover a larger area, just to make sure.

LOC Cyclotron - Shock Cord MountLOC Cyclotron - Shock Cord Mount
LOC Cyclotron - Shock Cord MountLOC Cyclotron - Shock Cord Mount

As designed, the nylon cord is attached directly to a long piece of sewing elastic. I decided to make an addition here and tied in a 6 foot length of heavy Kevlar to the nylon using a double sheet bend. The other end of the Kevlar was bent to the elastic. I did this for two reasons. First, I like the looks of a longer recover train and second, I plan on using a Kevlar blanket for wadding; the addition of the Kevlar cord will keep the elastic from being in the direct path of ejection gasses.LOC Cyclotron - Launch Lug

Another modification I made was with the launch lug. The kit came with a 1/2" tubular lug. I wanted to used a linear lug for a rail instead but was stymied by the tube fins until realizing that the rail would fit through the tubes. The next issues was of a standoff to account for the thickness of the tube fins but examining the lug showed that its base was thicker than the tube walls. I decided to fashion a standoff anyway because all I had were #6x3/4" screws and those would have penetrated the body tube far enough to create a snagging hazard. 5/8" would have been perfect.

I traced the lug on a piece of balsa I had handy and cut out the standoff with a razor knife. The resulting standoff was too thick so I took it to the belt sander and slimmed it down. When examining it afterward, I found that the screws would just barely protrude through the BT and I considered it just right. A line was run up from the center of one of the tubes fins and the standoff was epoxied into place.

The actual installation of the lug will wait until after the painting. I considered a tip from TRF to fiberglass the insides of the tube fins but, because of an impending launch opportunity, decided to wait and see how it fares without the additional strengthening. Because of that, the Cyclotron was ready to begin the finishing process.

Finishing:
The first step in the finishing was to take the rocket to the booth and prime it with Kilz. It went on rather thick. I decided that at the range most people would be seeing this one, filling spirals was not worth the effort.LOC Cyclotron - Primer

The Kilz had a couple of days to dry and then was sanded to remove the rough buildup of material that had accumulated in some places. The rocket was then taken to the booth and given 2 coats of a metallic charcoal gray. My intent was to get all of the body but I left the tubes and the nose cone alone.

The gray had a few days to dry and then I masked off the top and the bottom with Frog tape and aluminum foil. The rocket then went back to the booth for a darkish metallic gold, almost bronze. After a few hours, I turned it around and painted the back end as well. A few days later I removed the masking and it didn't look too bad.

After the painting, I remembered that I still had to install the lug. The lug was placed and the screws were driven through the balsa standoff. They were then removed and some epoxy was squirted into the holes and smeared along the back of the lug. It was then placed and the screws driven home.

As with every other LOC kit I have seen, this one does not include decals. Instead, their web site provides PDF files to download and print out your own. This strikes me as reasonable since some would rather use their own finishing scheme. The problem I had was a lack of white decal paper on hand and printing on the clear usually leads to the underlying color shifting the printed color. I contacted Gordon of Roachwerks/Excelsior to see if he would print them for me since he always does a fine job. He took a look and then pointed out how expensive they would be and suggested I print on label paper. I normally slam kits that come with stickers instead of waterslide decals but the price was enough to make me reconsider. I printed out all 8 pages on a color laser printer on label paper. As with most LOC patterns, I had more decal than I needed or could use.

The main element of the decorating scheme was the large words "Cyclotron" on a variegated background and meant to wrap all the way around the body tube. Needless to say, this one image took three full sheets. I started at the top and was quickly reminded of why I prefer waterslides; they are more forgiving of initial placement. Eventually all three sheets were cut out and placed but I had to make an extra cut out for the lug.

LOC Cyclotron - DecalsLOC Cyclotron - DecalsLOC Cyclotron - Decals

The sheets I printed included 4 schematic representations of what I assume to be a cyclotron printed with red on yellow. It also included 4 stylized atoms depicting the electron orbitals. I decided to use 3 of each and alternate them around the tube fins.

The only 2 other elements of the printed sheets I decided to use were the LOC/Precision logo and a smaller version of the Cyclotron logo used as the main body wrap. I cut them out and applied them on 2 sides of the payload bay.

For some reason, my laser printer did not do a great job of melting all the toner on the decals and I found some of it rubbing off. To mitigate this problem, I sprayed the entire rocket with some gloss coating to fix the toner in place. With that, the rocket was ready to fly.

LOC Cyclotron - Finished!

Construction Rating: 4 out of 5

Flight:
One of the nice features of this kit was that it came with a 38mm to 29mm motor adapter. Had I known this, I would have started on it sooner. As it happened, I was glad to have the adapter since my source for 38mm motors did not show up for the maiden launch.

I fitted an Aerotech G77-4R motor into the adapter using tape to bind the thrust ring on the motor to the thrust ring on the adapter. I then inserted the assembly into the motor tube of the Cyclotron and again taped the thrust ring to the 38mm motor tube. The rocket was hooked up on the rail and I found that the rail did indeed fit just fine through the tube fin.

When the launch button was pushed, the motor took a little while to come up to pressure and then emitted a roar that prompted a cub scout present to request that I "not do that again". The rocket rose off the launch rail and took to the air. The flight was straight and the rocket exhibited no weather cocking into the wind we had. The chute ejected at apogee and opened properly. The rocket began to drift down. The rocket came to rest at the opposite end of our field and there was no damage. Unfortunately, I had exhausted my supply of 4 second delay motors.

LOC Cyclotron - LaunchLOC Cyclotron - LaunchLOC Cyclotron - Launch

Recovery:
The Cyclotron came with a nice nylon parachute but I did not use it. I had ordered a custom 12 gore 36" chute from K&S for a Mercury Redstone but found to my dismay that it did not fit. The LOC chute did fit the Redstone and the custom chute fit the Cyclotron so I switched them. The custom chute worked beautifully.

Flight Rating: 5 out of 5

Summary:
The Cyclotron turned out to be an easy rocket to build and a good flier. It would provide a good L1 project and would be a nice addition to any fleet.

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5

Other:
It should be noted that the kit I built was apparently a fairly old one that had been sitting in the stock of my local hobby shop for a long time. A member of TRF reports that since 2007, the tube fins are made from the same stock as the main body tube instead of coupler stock. This should result in a better build. Persons wishing to follow this rocket are invited to check here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/23694991@N03/collections/72157622686424094/

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
09/10 - "John, this kit is not up to level 2 certification!" (A.C.C.)

GUEST's OPINION:
03/07 - "I just bought the cyclotron. I love me some tube-finned rockets. The reviews were very helpful concerning construction techniques.I just knew that elastic shock cord was not going to make it. Great tips!" (J.b.b.j.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
01/07 - "This kit has apparently changed a little since the last couple of reviews. In the updated kit, the tube fins are body tubes now instead of couplers. This is nice because they now have a finished surface. The downside is that you can't build the kit properly by following the instructions any more. One of the steps is to epoxy the 1/2" launch lug to the main body tube. If you do, you won't be able to fit the tube fins around the body. What you need to do instead is to attach the fin tubes to the main body tube first and then put the launch lug inside one of the tube fins at the point where it joins the main tube. Then use a standoff on the upper lug to put it the same distance away from the body tube. I used a Popsicle stick that I sanded down a bit. I personally think the 1/2" launch lugs are overkill for this rocket especially if you plan to launch on a G motor. I added an additional 1/4" lug set so I could use a smaller launch rod on smaller engines." (M.S.J )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
11/06 - "I did a few of things that I think improve upon an already solid design. First, add an Aeropack motor retainer. Second, double up the tube fins by cutting six x 6" lengths of 3" LOC tubing, and slide the couplers in. This makes for double-thick tube fins that also contact each other all-the-way around the airframe (eliminating the gap for the 1/2" launch lug.) This provides additional glue surfaces for rigidity, and a cleaner looking finished rocket. Doing this, you must mount the launch lug *inside* one of the tube fins on the line where that tube fin is glued to the airframe. This means you must use a stand-off for the upper lug. A simple strip of 3/32" or 1/8" basswood or balsa (about 1/8" wide, cut to the length of the forward lug) does the trick beautifully. Third: when constructing the motor mount, add a forged eyebolt drilled through the forward centering ring for the recovery attachment anchor. I used a heavy Kevlar leader between this eyebolt and the shock cord. Finally, use wood glue where applicable! Paper tubes and plywood rings. This baby isn't coming apart. Great rocket! " (S.C. )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
11-03-2001 Joe Balsamo AT RMS H238-S Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds - Excellent first flight. Used too small of a nomex chute protector and scorched the chute a bit. Will fix for next time.
11-11-2001 Joe Balsamo AT RMS H238-S Very Early 5-10 mph winds - For some reason, delay seemed early on this flight. Not sure why, but flight was good otherwise. Using new SkyAngle 36 chute and full size nomex protector. Also added a bit of wadding for extra protection.
12-01-2001 Joe Balsamo Ces RLD I170-10 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Perfect flight.
12-08-2001 Joe Balsamo AT RMS H238-S Just Before 5-10 mph winds - Excellent flight. Short delay on the H238 seemed OK on this flight.
12-08-2001 Joe Balsamo Ces RLD G69-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Excellent flight, first use of the G-size Pro38. Nice motor.
12-08-2001 Joe Balsamo Ces RLD G69-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Another great flight. I love this rocket! Pro38 G really pumps it off the pad, but keeps it nice and low for Fiesta Island...keeps it out of the bay!
02-19-2005 Donald Besaw AT RMS H238-M Very Late 5-10 mph winds - Nice first flight, very quick off the pad. Unfortunately, I should have used a short delay, slight zipper. A few tubes were also pushed in on touchdown. It's fixable.
06-18-2005 Donald Besaw AT RMS H112-M Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Very nice flight. Great motor, 3+ second burn and lots and lots of thick black smoke. Excellent recovery, landed about 5 feet from the pad, just way too cool. No damage.
10-15-2005 Donald Besaw AT RMS I218-M Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Beautiful flight, very straight, nice big and bright red flame. Recovered after a moderate walk and the aid of a beeper. No damage.
12-08-2001 Tom Binford AT RMS I200-P Apogee - Perfect
(1700 ft)
5-10 mph winds - Modified for altimeter and dual deployment by cutting main 3 body 14 from rear and installing altimeter bay in coupler. Main chute is in forward part of the 3 tube. Perfect flight to 1700 feet.
04-21-2007 Jewel Butler AT SU G80-4 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Great Flight on a G-80-4.I will get my Level 1 with this rocket
06-16-2007 Jewel Butler AT RMS H128-M Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: club launch
- Jumped off pad faster than a screamin demon Cert Flight: L1
01-19-2008 Jewel Butler AT RMS G64-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: Nasa Houston Tx
- Flew the Cyclotron to let the kids at our sport launch see a large rocket go up. Great flight every time
03-29-2008 Jewel Butler AT SU G80-7 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds Event: regular monthly launch
- There was a little overcast at launch as the rocket punched through it just dissappeared then reappeared.I used one of those new G-80 from Aerotech they are a real blast
12-31-2009 Jewel Butler AT SU G78-10 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - the Mojave Green is a powerful enginehttp://our.rocketryplanet.com/video/cyclotron-on-a-g78-mojave
12-31-2009 Jewel Butler AT SU G78-10 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - the Mojave Green is a powerful enginehttp://our.rocketryplanet.com/video/cyclotron-on-a-g78-mojave
05-18-2003 Christian Colby Ces RLD I205-6 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - 1st flight SU G80-7, 2nd flight Pro 38 2 Grain H153 was cool. Pro 38 3 grain I 201 now that was something,only damage was one fin was pushed in from air rushing though. pushed back and CA :).
08-05-2006 Simon Crafts AT RMS H165-14 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds Event: August Club Launch
- Level 1 cert flight was a piece of cake with this bird. Lumbered up to about 1000', popped the chute, and drifted down to the sod for a for a perfect 1st flight and TRA Level 1 Cert flight. SWEET!!!!! Cert Flight: L1
05-20-2006 Al Gloer Loki RLD H144-10 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds Event: TARC2006
RingThing - Plastic Shock cord anchor broke on transition causing separation. Easily repairable
09-24-2005 Scott King AT RMS H123-7 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: CIRFF-X
- shaved about 1/10 off a medium delay element.
09-24-2005 Scott King AT RMS I300-10 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: CIRFF-X
- Screamed off launch pad to approx 2600 ft. No damage @ landing.
11-14-2009 John Lee AT SU G77-4 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Alamo Rocketeers Monthly Launch
- Great maiden flight
12-05-2009 John Lee Loki RLD H100-9 Late (2-3sec) 0-5 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Alamo Rocketeers Monthly Launch
- Great flight on a sparky
01-09-2010 John Lee Loki RLD G80-6 Late (2-3sec) Calm Flight PictureEvent: Alamo Rocketeers Monthly Launch
- Nice flight
02-20-2010 John Lee Loki RLD H144-6 Very Late Calm Flight PictureEvent: Alamo Rocketeers Monthly Launch
- Good flight but late and powerful ejection blew the motor casing out (later found) and broke the elastic shock cord. Body drifted down with a Nomex streamer, payload bay under chute and NC by gravity.
02-27-2010 John Lee Loki RLD I405-9 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: ART Freedom Launch
- A great flight but I could not see where it ejected; sun was in my eyes
03-06-2010 John Lee Loki RLD H100-9 Very Late 5-10 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Cub Scout Launch
- Good flight but very late ejection that broke the shock cord again.
08-14-2010 John Lee Loki RLD J650 Very Early 5-10 mph winds RIPFlight PictureEvent: Hearne, TX
- Thiswas supposed to be an L2 cert flight. The rocket shredded on the way up and then the recovery gear deployed while the motor was still boosting. It was UGLY in a cool sort of way. Status: Not Repairable
11-21-2009 Kathy Miller Ces RLD G185-7 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds -
03-16-2001 Mike Walsh AT RMS G64-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Beautiful Flight

Copyright © 2019 by RocketReviews.com