There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Wed Aug 10 18:49:25 2011

Estes
Cosmic Cobra
P.O. Box 227, 1295 H Street
Penrose, CO 81240
(719) 372-6565
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 19.5" x 1.35" - 3.1 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: Right Click to Download
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: B4-2, B6-2, B6-4, C6-3, C6-5

Rating
(Contributed - by Bill Eichelberger [Who's Who Page] - 08/10/02)

Rocket Pic Brief:
The Cosmic Cobra is a combination parachute/helicopter recovery rocket. The nose cone ejects and returns via a rubber band actuated, 3 blade rotor system while the rest of the rocket returns by the more conventional parachute method. While the Cosmic Cobra model itself is new, the idea isn’t, having been done previously by the Estes Heliocopter and HeliCat.

Construction:
In true E2X fashion, the Cosmic Cobra kit isn’t overly laden with parts. The fin unit is plastic with forward swept fins. The motor mount is actually molded into the fin unit and has a plastic end cap to keep the motor in place during flight. The nose cone and rotor fins are glued together and must have the enclosed rubber bands attached to be “loaded.” A 12 inch parachute completes the package.

Also in true E2X fashion, the Cosmic Cobra can be built in a matter of minutes. The rotor attachment is glued to the nose cone base and the rotors themselves just snap on. The trickiest part of the build is getting the rubber bands aligned so that they allow the rotors to deploy and even this isn’t that tough. Like the other rockets in the E2X flight line, it’s possible to buy this kit in the morning and still fly it before lunch. What makes this one out of the ordinary is the recovery. Kids especially will love it, but I don’t hear many grown ups complaining either.

Finishing:
Pre-colored. Black, yellow and purple have never been among my favored color schemes, but what do you want for next to nothing. One sticker-type decal completes the “look.” It’s not great, but it won’t bring up lunch.

Construction Rating: 5 out of 5

Flight:
I’ve only flown this rocket once, but it isn’t hard to get a feel for the performance based on that flight. The rotor performed as advertised and brought the nose cone down for a textbook recovery. The body section wasn’t quite so lucky. The body tube itself is fairly large, but the rotors must be folded straight down inside so that the nose cone will fit. This means that the parachute will have to be down deep and apparently mine wasn’t. The ejection charge did little more than move the whole mess, wadding, shock cord and parachute, up in the body tube. It didn’t deploy and the whole shootin’ match came down in a flat spin, landing hard in a gravel parking lot. The good news; no damage. This rocket can take a hit.

Recovery:
This is where I’d take a half point away. Everything packs very tightly in the body tube and it may take several flights before the secrets for the dual deployment reveal themselves. It could also be as simple as operator error. Wouldn’t be the first time.

Flight Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Summary:
Pro’s:
Entertainment value. It appeals to kids and adults alike.
Rotor performance.
Ease of assembly.
Durability.

Con’s:
Styling. It’s kind of ugly. (Then again, I might have lousy taste.)
Packing the body tube to allow both recovery systems to function may be a trial and error process. (Then again, I might be stupid.)

Overall Rating: 4 ½ out of 5


Rating
(Contributed - by Greg Deeter [Who's Who Page] - 12/10/02)

Editor's Note: This review does not consider the helicopter portion of the rocket.

Rocket PicBrief:
This is one of the new ones from Estes. This kit seemed to to yelling "STREAMER" to me. The plastic forward swept fins are strong, and just seem perfect for streamer recovery. So, I took the helicopter parts and put them away for a later day. This reduced the weight, so now my Cosmic Cobra is only 2.4 oz completed.

Construction:
This kit comes with the BT-56 sized body tube (gloss yellow) and black plastic nose cone, two piece plastic fin section, launch lug that is shaped for the body, 1/8" x 2 foot shock cord, 12" plastic Estes parachute, three rotor blades, a blade ring, (4) rubber bands and and a large purple wild looking decal.

This took about 10 minutes. The two piece plastic fin unit made it super simple to tie a knot in the end of a two foot piece of 1/8" Kevlar cord, and using CA as I did on the whole rocket, I glued the cord in between the two halves of the fin unit. Attached a small snap swivel to the end of that, then added the 24" x 1/8 shock cord, and selected a silver mylar 2" x 56" streamer. The launch lug is unlike any I have ever seen before. It form fits onto the shape of the body tube.

Finishing:
Since you don't see many black "stock" nose cones, at first glance this rocket looks like it was painted. The gloss yellow body looks great with the black nose and fins. I left it that simple and did not use the wild looking purple decals. I think it looks cool just like it is. I have never felt good about the Estes method of attaching the shock cord with a paper mount inside the body tube. Those eventually come loose and in many cases they cause the parachute to get stuck. So to improve this kit, it should come with a 1-2 foot 1/8" Kevlar cord which is super simple to attach to the motor mount/fin unit with this kit. I was surprised the shock cord that came with it was 2 feet long as I expected one only 1 foot long. Still, I feel it should be at least 4 feet long. The gloss yellow body tube feels very strong.

Construction Rating: 4 out of 5

Flight:
I plan on flying it every time I go out for a launch day and I will experiment with different types of streamers. I will bet I can get at least 50 flights out of it with no damage, in fact it would be interesting to try an Aerotech D21 in it. I am sure it would hold up. My first flight was with a Quest C6-5. Took a few seconds to light and then shot straight up and out of sight. I thought I had lost it until I saw the red puff and silver streamer. I had put a few dashes of red line chalk in on top of the wadding and that really helped to see where it was. It came down about 500 feet from here and seemed to drift quite a bit for a streamer.

The second and third (final flight) were at a larger field and I switched out the streamer for a parachute for the second flight with a C6-5. The last (3rd) flight when I lost it had the streamer back in it, and I believe I either put too much line chalk in it, or the D21-7 was too much power as it cocked sideways quite a bit and went out of sight in just seconds. I saw a huge cloud of red line chalk and that was it. So much for getting 50 flights out of it!

Recovery:
Was recovered in perfect condition.

Flight Rating: 5 out of 5

Summary:
The only streamer kit I ever flew before was an Astron Sprint back in the early 80's. Back then I had imagined a rocket with forward swept and strong plastic fins, as my Sprint always seemed to pop a fin on landing. I had bought this Cosmic Cobra because I was curious about how the helicopter nose cone worked, but upon looking at the parts, I quickly realized that this is a perfect kit for the streamer testing I wanted to try. I may add the 'copter blades to the nose cone just to try it, but that adds almost 30% more weight to the rocket. Since I used snap swivels, the recover system can be changed out in just seconds.

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5


Rating
(Contributed - by David Sindel [Who's Who Page] - 01/14/05)

Brief:
The Cosmic Cobra is a low power rocket that recovers in 2 pieces: the nose cone returns on helicopter-like blades and the body tube recovers by parachute.

Construction:
The kit contains:

  • 1 12" yellow body tube
  • 2 piece fin can
  • nose cone with 3 helicopter blades
  • 12" chute

This kit was easy to build and took less than one hour to complete.

Finishing:
No finishing was required. The kit comes with a cool decal.

Construction Rating: 5 out of 5

Flight:
First flight was on a B6-2. Great flight but even with 5 sheets wadding, it was too much for the parachute.

Second flight was on a C6-3 and 6 pieces of wadding. Higher fligth but same result with the parachute.

Third flight was on a B6-4, which is too long of a delay, causing the rocket to eject from only 70ft up. However, with 8 sheets wadding it recovered safely.

I like that it has good, stable flights but don't use B6-4 or C6-5 motors.

Recovery:
PROs: the helicopter nose is cool and is more than likely to work well.

CONs: it needs 8 sheets wadding to keep from burning the parachute.M/P>

Flight Rating: 4 out of 5

Summary:
The Cosmic Cobra is a cool first or second rocket. For less than $12, it's a great deal. Get this rocket!

Overall Rating: 4 ½ out of 5


Rating
(by Jared Elliott - 09/24/06)

Brief:
This is an E2X kit single stage with parachute for the body and helicopter recovery for the nosecone.

Construction:
The kit consists of a pre-molded fin/MMT unit, 12" plastic parachute, single BT-60 tube, and plastic nose cone.

This is an easy kit to assemble. Instructions are straightforward and easy to follow. Assembly can take between 30 minutes or so, depending on the modeler's abilities. The Cosmic Cobra is a very sturdy kit with pre-colored body tube and self-adhesive decals. The molded plastic fins feature an integrated MMT. The engine is retained by a twist lock retainer. Assembly is straightforward with little use for a hobby knife. I used Testor's plastic cement to assemble the fins/MMT section. You can probably use CA to assemble the unit, but I chose not to out of concern that it might be too brittle. The nose cone has a blade ring that attaches where the chute/shock cord normally would. The fins are made of flexible plastic and are easily attached. The kit comes with small rubber bands that cause the blades to extend when the NC is ejected from the rocket. I used thick CA to attach the blade ring to the nosecone. The launch lug is a molded plastic piece that is glued to the body tube at 6.5" from the aft end of the rocket. I used Testor's plastic cement to attach the lug to the body tube and after some time, I checked to see if it was adhered properly however it snapped off with ease. I then used thick CA to attach it after scraping some of the leftover cement, and after about 10 minutes, all was well. The shock cord attaches with the usual tri-fold method and connects to the chute via a loop a the end.

Finishing:
Just apply the self-adhesive decal and you are done! All left is load the motor and launch. The rocket looks good with the fins forward swept. With its black and yellow scheme, it's an eye catcher.

Construction Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Flight:
If moderate to high winds are normal for your area, I recommend cutting the spill hole from the center of the chute as it may drift away. I used 6 squares of wadding for my first launch and it may have been too much. First launch is with a B6-4 and an approximate altitude of 125 feet. My observation concludes that 6 squares is too much for this rocket.

The second flight was on a C6-3. This flight was perfect. The rocket went straight up and ejection was just after apogee. I estimate this flight was at around 300 feet. I used 4 squares of wadding on this flight and also placed the chute into the blades without rolling it up. I'm not sure but I think this method is not the best due to 3 shroud lines ripping from the holes in the chute.

Recovery:
I also recommend folding the blades for the nosecone around the chute due to the fact that on my first launch the chute was burned away completely and the rocket recovered without a chute. The kit is of sound structure so this wasn't a concern as it recovered without damage. It may however take damage if it were to land on a hard surface like concrete or asphalt. The nosecone recovered smoothly just like on the package, spinning fast and soft landing.

The nose cone recovered perfect each flight. On the first flight, the nosecone was tip down on descent and the second flight it was tip up. No damage to the rubber bands so far. The shock cord is holding up well after 2 flights. I replaced the stock rubber one for a longer piece made of polyester/rubber. The overall assembly of this kit is a snap. The parachute shroud lines were burned into on the first flight for unknown reasons. On the second flight the shroud lines were torn from the holes in 3 places. The chute was lost on the first flight. No melting of the chute on the second flight. The blades on the nosecone are holding up nicely. The second flight led the nosecone to land in the middle of the street with no damage.

Flight Rating: 4 out of 5

Summary:
This is a good kit for those who are new to this hobby. I recommend this one.

PROs: ease of assembly, ease of finishing.

CONs: the blades on the nosecone protrude into the body tube in a manner that it pushes the parachute close to the motor. If not enough wadding is used, it will either melt the chute or sever the shroud lines. Wrapping the chute in a couple squares of wadding could possibly alleviate this problem. I also recommend cutting the spill hold from the chute to reduce drift. The kit is strong enough to handle the landings.

Overall Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
07/08 - "As G.P. said, you need to fold the parachute rather flat and place it between the rotors. My daughter has one and has never had a bad deployment. However, the nose cone doesn't spin all that well in the default build; it starts to spin, then flips over, then starts to spin again, and so on. I resolved this by putting a few grams (probably around 15) of weight in the tip of the nosecone, enticing it to remain pointed downward for a more satisfying spin." (C.G.)

GUEST's OPINION:
06/08 - "I'm not sure why some people are having trouble with this rocket - I've had good recovery every time. The trick is to fold and roll the parachute in a long wedge so that it fits inside the rotors. This was my mom's favorite of all my rockets - she loved watching the rotor/nose cone deploy and autogyro down." (G.P.)

GUEST's OPINION:
06/08 - "This rocket is what I refer to as a "Titanic". Very first flight was also its last flight. I read the flight logs and reviews prior to flying this, and for some reason, thought mine was going to work. It didn't. There is just too much stuff to cram into a BT-56 tube here. Others that witnessed the ballistic arc that our rocket did (when ejection charge failed to even get the nosecone out) said "that must have been a Cosmic Cobra". Tells you something. The suggestions we got were that this rocket needs to be "stretched". We concur. A longer body tube will allow for chute to be packed underneath the folded helicopter blades. Stay tuned in the mods section." (J.G.)

GUEST's OPINION:
10/06 - "After a couple of failures using the rotors, we have scrapped the helicopter retrieval completely and added a streamer to all 3 Cosmic Cobras that my kids own. Much easier to load and higher percentage of recovery. We have flown one of the Cobras at least 15 times. They all look like they will last a long time. With less weight, a C motor makes a really nice flight!" (M.S.)

GUEST's OPINION:
03/06 - "Once you get the knack of how to lead the blades and a chute, this is a great rocket. All of the kids love it, and I've had the nosecone take over 2 minutes to come down at times." (B.A.)

GUEST's OPINION:
04/04 - "The picture above looks EXACTLY like mine after just one flight. Everything just packs way too tight. If Estes replaces this kit I will build it with a streamer to reduce the amount of stuff to pack into the body tube." (F.H.)

GUEST's OPINION:
12/03 - "This is a great rocket. But it's basically a E2X version of the Hyper X." (unknown)

GUEST's OPINION:
12/03 - "I think this is an excellent rocket. It's fun to fly and watch this rocket's recovery. Especially on a C6-5. The parachute melting annoyed me a lot though." (J.R.)

GUEST's OPINION:
09/02 - "We have had a hard time figuring out how to get a good clean deployment from this rocket. On the first flight the nosecone separated but the ‘copter blades barely had time to fold out. The parachute was partially melted and failed to deploy fully. The second flight was a good one. On the third flight the combination of chute and ‘copter blades was too much to eject and it lawn-darted. [Note to EMRR, I'll send a Pic] I'm considering how rebuild this for more consistent ejection. I may lengthen the body tube and use a piston of some sort." (G.A.D.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
02/05 - "For a clean deployment, use at least a 2 foot long shock cord. It does not matter how you attach it, use your favorite method. Fold the chute lengthwise until it is about 3/4" wide. Make this very smooth. Then fold the chute once in half in the middle. Wrap the shroud lines around about 4 times, while folding the whole chute in half lengthwise to further reduce it. Then carefully position it BETWEEN the blades, and slide into the body. You do not need more than 4 sheets of wadding this way. Be sure the shock cord does not foul the blades when you pack it. A little clay in the nosecone will help it come down more quickly." (D.W. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
05/03 - "Like Greg Deeter, I attached a Kevlar® cord to the engine mount. Because I was using narrower cord than Greg, (1/16" braided cord, 100 pound test), I was concerned about the knot pulling through the gap between the tail sections> I drilled two 1/16" holes in the tail and tied a loop through them around the plastic reinforcing rib. Very strong. The 2x56" mylar streamer worked very well. To make ejection easier, I beveled the edges of the blades near the roots where they contact the body, then rubbed a little graphite on the edges. " (B.C. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
08/02 - "Alternate name for this kit is Hyper X. To make the recovery system work properly: 1)Wrap the 'chute as normal 2)Close the blades on the NC 3)Insert the wrapped chute into the triangle-shaped hole formed by the blades 4)Insert the whole mess into the body. No problems with this system yet, besides the shock cord mount and those darn trees." (R.A.V )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
01-01-2009 Jim Bassham Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Flight Picture - First flight - worked as advertised. It is hard to pack chute and blades into body tube. Longer rocket might be better.
01-01-2009 Jim Bassham Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Flight Picture - Everything worked, but blades popped off the nose cone on landing. Glue bond was never that great.
01-11-2009 Jim Bassham Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Flight Picture - Nose cone flew fine, but completely fried the chute on the rocket. Came down VERY hard, but landed on soft ground with no damage. Have to rethink how I pack the chute - things don't fit right.
05-21-2009 Jim Bassham Est SU C6-5 None - Nose Cone Stuck 5-10 mph winds - 4th flight of the Cosmic Cobra. Replaced 'chute, tried packing it between the rotor blades. Nose cone jammed about 2 out. Fell flat and snapped off the nosecone. Repairable
07-11-2009 John Bergsmith Est SU C6-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Once you learn the trick to packing the chute, it's a reliable performer. Heli deployed and was fun to watch, neat rocket.
07-11-2009 John Bergsmith Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Flight number 2 on the delay. I like the 3 second delay better. However, still a cool flight.
03-09-2006 Dave Bishop Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up 10+ mph winds Event: FOG/Redwick-UK
- Despite the high wind, excellent launch and great flight of helicopter section.
03-30-2010 John Bishop Est SU B6-4 Late (2-3sec) Calm - Maiden flt. Seemed underpowered on B6-4. Packed chute between blades. Ejection didn't fully pop nose. Rocket spun down horizontally.
03-30-2010 John Bishop Est SU C6-3 Apogee - NC Down Calm - Better flight, loaded 'chute under rotors. Nice ejection and helicopter effect. When I found the body , discovered parachute completely gone, shrouds burnt away. Will try streamer next.
04-03-2010 John Bishop Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Flew without parachute. Good recovery of body section, but took my eye off the helicopter. Lost the nose and blades.
03-19-2006 Tom+Maggie Brogan Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds - Built last nite Launched this am. very windy. Nice straight boost, WC slightly, looked great. Recovery was cool, heli actually stopped once then started again. Chute scorched, fixable. Fun rocket!!
04-30-2006 Tom+Maggie Brogan Est SU B6-4 None - Nose Cone Stuck 10+ mph winds - 2nd flight for this rocket. Arced back over our heads over the trees and headed for the highway! No ejection, lawn dart about 3' from highway! 2 into the dirt, crumpled tube, NC broken at helo blades. Repairable, probably w/o helo. Sorry Mags.
05-18-2005 John Chapman Est SU C6-5 None - Electronics Fail 0-5 mph winds - After two COMPLETE failures, we modified by gluing BT-5 tube into the nose cone, with screw eye, and a swivel directly onto the elastic. Beveled blades and no chute. Worked well as pure copter.
08-27-2005 John Chapman Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Modified cobra with no chute and attached cone/rotor - deployed without problem. Crepe paper wadding.
05-03-2003 Bob Cox Est SU B4-2 Just Before 10+ mph winds - Slow boost with slight downwind arc. Streamer got tangled with copter for a few seconds, but then separated for picture-perfect descent. Slight charring of shock cord with 4 sheets of wadding.
05-18-2003 Bob Cox Est SU B4-2 Just Before 10+ mph winds - Nice slow boost, arcing into wind. Copter nose separated cleanly without tangling in 54x2 mylar streamer. Both pieces recovered safely. Great flight!
05-25-2003 Bob Cox Est SU C6-5 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds - Long slow boost straight into sun. The mylar 2x54 streamer worked great again, and the body landed about 200 feet NE of pad. Helicopter nose deployed perfectly and landed 200 feet SE of pad. GREAT!
06-15-2003 Bob Cox Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Nice high boost with slight weather-cocking. On 54x2 streamer, the body glided tail-first upwind about 150 ft. Helicopter drifted downwind about 300 ft. Great flight.
07-06-2003 Bob Cox Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Nice straight boost. Clean separation. With 2x54in streamer, the booster has significant cross-wind drift, while copter went down-wind. Nice flight.
07-27-2003 Bob Cox Est SU B4-2 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Slow arcing boost into the wind. Perfect ejection. Copter drifted downwind with 12 second hang time. Body with 2x56in mylar streamer went upwind. No damage. Crowd pleaser.
04-10-2004 Bob Cox Est SU C6-3 Didn't See Gusty - Arced into wind. Wiggled a lot during boost. Good copter deployment. Mylar streamer got a bit tangled, but booster landed safe on grass. Copter landed on parking lot asphalt; no damage, though.
06-06-2004 Bob Cox Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Nice boost straight up. Should have angled rod into wind more. Booster drifted across two soccer fields and landed in parking lot, cracking engine retention ring. Copter landed in parking lot across street-no damage.
08-08-2004 Bob Cox Est SU B4-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Slow arching boost and coast. Clean separation. Copter landed safe on grass after nice spinning descent. Body landed at top of tree. My new golf-ball, er, rocket retriever, pole worked fine to get it down.
08-21-2005 Bob Cox Est SU B4-4 Very Late 5-10 mph winds - Slow takeoff with wiggle during boost. Angled into wind and ejected very late, about 60 feet up. Streamer barely deployed before landing on edge of parking lot, missing parked car. Copter landed on grass. B4-4 engine bad choice.
05-18-2006 David Culp Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Love this rocket, perfect flight in almost no wind. Straigh up boost, good seperation and easy recovery. This one will be a permanant edition to my fleet!!
04-20-2006 David Culp Est SU C6-5 None - Nose Cone Stuck 0-5 mph winds RIP - Student forgot to screw motor retainer on. Ejected motor at apogee. Lawn darted into asphalt, made impressive thud noise. Destroyed. Status: Lawn Dart
11-27-2002 Greg Deeter Qst SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Straight up, nice flight. Used 12 Estes plastic chute.Landed about 200 feet away, perfect condition.
11-27-2002 Greg Deeter AT SU D21-7 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds RIP - D21-7 Blue Thunder. Perhaps too much line chalk made it unstable.Took off super fast and weathercocked bad. Was out of sight in 2seconds. Huge red line chalk cloud and never saw it again. Lost. Status: Lost
01-27-2006 Mark Edwards Est SU B6-4 None - Parachute Fail Calm - Inaugural flight of the CC. Helicopter nose cone deployed successfully. Parachute failed to eject, but no damage to plastic fins or BT. Landed W/I 30' of pad on soccer field.
01-11-2007 Mark Edwards Est SU B6-4 None - Parachute Fail Calm - Failed to eject the NC. Lawn Dart, but repairable. Need to cutoff a couple inches of upper part of BT. It's very tight with the rotors and the parachute in there!
07-14-2002 Bill Eichelberger Est SU C5-3 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - Great flight. Chute didn't deploy because of packing problem associated with copter blades, but no damage on recovery. This one will be great when I figure the problems out. Kids loved it.
09-01-2002 Bill Eichelberger Est SU B6-6 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Much better recovery. Nose cone helicoptered in in the up position.
04-27-2003 Bill Eichelberger Est SU C5-3 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - The only rocket to survive undamaged when my carrier fell out of the back of the van. Everything else needed field repairs.
06-01-2003 Bill Eichelberger Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Best flight ever. Everything worked as advertised.
07-06-2003 Bill Eichelberger Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect Gusty - Kid's launch. The nose cone again recovered in the up position. Looks cool that way, but I don't know why it does it.
10-15-2005 Bill Eichelberger Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: Bored And Felt Like Flying Launch
- Always entertaining. Flight was great. Recovery a little less so due to parachute failure, but no damage and nose cone helicoptered like a pro.
06-25-2006 Jillian+Benjamin Fried Est SU B6-4 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds - Nose helicopter apparatus did not deploy and parachute melted (oops forgot wadding - wouldn't have mattered). Lawn dart but zero damage. Will try modifying rotor blade.
07-01-2007 Taylor Gonnerman Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Perfect flight. The helicopter recovery of the nose cone is a real crowd pleaser, especially if you are talking about a crowd of kids.
01-21-2005 Andrew Grippo Est SU B4-2 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - Wind held down altitude but nose cone was able to begin spinning just before it landed.
01-21-2005 Andrew Grippo Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Good flight and delay. High altitude allowed nose cone enough time to helicopter perfectly to ground. Good chute deployment of main tube. Fun flight to watch.
11-03-2005 Andrew Grippo Est SU C6-3 None - Nose Cone Stuck 5-10 mph winds - Rocket rod whipped off pad and then nose cone stuck at deployment. Lawn dart with top section of airframe ripped apart. Will have to repair before next flight.
06-20-2004 Kyle Hancock Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Viking Sport
- Both chute and coptor deployed OK.
02-18-2007 Kyle Hancock Est SU B6-4 Didn't Record Gusty -
09-10-2005 Bob Harrington Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - First flight of rocket built with my daughter. Helicopter recovery of the nose cone is quite a novelty.
10-10-2005 Bob Harrington Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: NEMROC
- Nice flight on a cold, damp, rain shortened day.
11-05-2005 Bob Harrington Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: CMASS section launch
- Nice high flight. Body and helicopter nose cone landed very close together
06-04-2006 Bob Harrington Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: CMASS Section Launch
-
08-12-2006 Bob Harrington Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds Event: CMASS section Launch
-
11-18-2006 Bob Harrington Est SU B4-4 None - Parachute Fail 0-5 mph winds Event: CMASS section launch
- Chute tangled. Motor is a little weak for this rocket.
09-16-2007 Bob Harrington Est SU B6-4 None - Parachute Fail 0-5 mph winds Event: CMASS section launch
- Parachute tangled and didn't open but suffered no damage.
04-05-2004 Forrest Henry Est SU B6-4 None - Nose Cone Stuck Calm RIP - Lawn dart! Everything is just too tight in there (and we packed it as loose as we could)! Rocket completely destroyed - will return to Estes and see if they will replace it. Status: Lawn Dart
04-17-2005 Chase Hrncir Est SU C6-5 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds - Broke the Curse of the Cobra. Nobody else in the Challenger club has had any luck with these, but this one flew perfectly.
05-08-2005 Chase Hrncir Est SU C6-5 Didn't See 10+ mph winds - First launch ever at Sportflyers Estates, Brookshire, TX. Great flight. A little windy so it drifted a bit.
06-14-2008 JST Est SU C6-5 None - Parachute Fail 0-5 mph winds RIPEvent: ROCstock XXVII, Lucerne Dry Lake
- Ascended to about 950 feet. Ejection charge failed to kick nosecone or chute out. Flight quickly evolved into a ballistic arc, coming in a very high speed. Missed an RV by 10 feet. Few parts left to scavenge. Status: Lawn Dart
06-30-2009 Alan Kaiser Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up Calm - I didn't see this one too well because it shot up directly over and behind me. Nice flight though. The nose coptered down nicely and the body came down smooth on a 12 parachute. Landed 30 yrds away.
11-27-2009 Alan Kaiser Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Great flight and recovery. The copter cone came down exactly as expected.
11-27-2009 Alan Kaiser Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Great flight and recovery. The copter cone came down exactly as expected.
09-12-2006 Lucas Kalathas Est SU C6-5 None - Nose Cone Stuck 0-5 mph winds RIP - Well, awesome takeoff, but the nosecone never ejected. Rocket came down fast and hard, ending up with the body tube split in half down the side. Status: CATO'd
04-19-2004 Eric Maher Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Worked perfectly. The helicopter recovery of the nosecone was very cool.
10-10-2006 Mal McClenaghan Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds - Oops! Loaded wrong motor. Nowhere near enough thrust for this rocket. Recovered without damage.
10-10-2006 Mal McClenaghan Est SU B6-4 None - Parachute Fail 0-5 mph winds - Parachute didn't deploy. ? packed too tight, space is at a premium in this airframe. Lawn dart. Will replace body tube.
04-09-2007 Mal McClenaghan Est SU C6-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Textbook flight. Great recovery. Our first flight with the parachute tucked in between the rotor blades.
06-08-2008 Mal McClenaghan Est SU C6-3 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm Event: Dandenong Wetlands
- First flight after repair. Textbook flight and recovery.
07-24-2004 Brian Mercer Est SU B4-4 None - Nose Cone Stuck 0-5 mph winds RIP - Nice flight, until it turned into a pile driver in the parking lot. I may replace the nose cone and shave down the body tube. This sucker screamed so I hope I can launch again. Status: Core Sample
07-13-2008 David Montgomery Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect
(600 ft)
5-10 mph winds Event: Challenger Sport Launch @ Needville, TX
- Excellent flight with good autorotation of nosecone/rotors and recovery via parachute of main body section. Blade section did breakoff on landing. Hey Chase, here's one Challenger 498 member who canalso fly the Cosmic Cobra!
11-08-2008 David Montgomery Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect
(600 ft)
Calm Flight PictureEvent: Challenger Club Launch @ Needville
- Perfect from liftoff to recovery; both sections returned as designedwith no damage.
10-31-2004 Mark Muir Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Helicopter nose cone ejected but parachute did not. Rear section core sampled but no damage at all.
10-31-2004 Mark Muir Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Worked just as advertised. Parachute a bit singed.
11-11-2004 Mark Muir Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Nose cone helicoptered back but engine side of tube didn't get a parachute ejection so it lawn darted. No major damage. packing the parachute and wadding seems critical in this model.
02-12-2006 Joe Policy Est SU C6-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Fairly straight flight, very nice. Kids have fun chasing the helicopter/nose cone.
05-31-2003 David Sindel Est SU B4-2 Didn't See Didn't Record - Great first model rocket flight, but melted the chute.
05-31-2003 David Sindel Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) Didn't Record - Another great flight, another melted chute
11-02-2008 David Sindel Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec)
(168.5 ft)
Gusty - I flew the Cobra with a MaxTrax altitude capsule and 2 standard tracking streamers. I would guess the rocket topped out at about 200 feet; the streamer times concur with a 170ft. ejection height
11-02-2008 David Sindel Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) Gusty - This time, the MaxTrax capsule failed because it fell horizontal. This flight was much higher than a flight with another B6-4 from the same package.
11-11-2008 David Sindel Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) Didn't Record -
01-15-2009 David Sindel Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down Calm - A perfect flight. I flew the booster without a parachute; it glides down nicely and safely with those forward-swept fins. The 2 parts landed just 15 feet apart. Contrary to earlier, C6-5s are great!
09-27-2003 Chan Stevens Est SU C6-3 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds -
05-27-2006 Chan Stevens Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: section launch
-
08-12-2007 Mark Van+Luvender Est SU B4-2 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - Excellent flight - good parachute, great helicopter rotation on the nose cone.
08-28-2002 Robert Vaughan Est SU B6-6 Very Late 5-10 mph winds - Lawn dart! Delay was way too long, ejected on the ground and popped the rocket out of the dirt. 1 inch tear along the spiral groove. Not too bad.
08-28-2002 Robert Vaughan Est SU C6-3 None - Nose Cone Stuck 5-10 mph winds RIP - Second lawn dart. Scorched copter blades, tube crunched in middle, ripped at the top, and broke 2 fins clean off. Spare parts donor. Status: Scavenged
02-21-2009 John Venable Est SU C6-7 Apogee - NC Down Calm - No Helicopter blades jut a small stock chute. Nice flight to maybe 600'. Gonna rebuild her to fly on D's.
07-31-2010 James Weaver Est SU B4-4 Late (2-3sec) 0-5 mph winds - Seemed to struggle off of the pad. Delay was way too long for motor/rocket combo. Perfect deployment of both halves after energenic ejection.
07-31-2010 James Weaver Est SU B4-4 Late (2-3sec) 0-5 mph winds - Seemed to struggle off of the pad. Delay was way too long for motor/rocket combo. Perfect deployment of both halves after energenic ejection.

Copyright © 2019 by RocketReviews.com