There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Thu Aug 1 09:43:28 2013

Estes
Bull Pup 12D
P.O. Box 227, 1295 H Street
Penrose, CO 81240
(719) 372-6565
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 15.6" x 1.33" - 1.8 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: Right Click to Download
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: A8-3, B4-4, B6-4, C6-5

Rating
(by John Yurcina)

Brief
This is a very well designed sport scale version of the USAF Bull Pup 12D. You should be able to build this rocket if you have a couple other rockets under your belt.

Construction
The first thing I noticed was that this model was in a box. Some Estes kits are in flimsy plastic bags, which makes the parts prone to creases and such. I opened up the box, and all the parts were there, nothing was broken. The materials were pretty much normal. Plastic NC, balsa fins, cheap shock cord mount etc. (See below) The instructions were pretty easy to follow, lots of pics.

TIP: Better shock cord and shock cord mount! As with most Estes kits, replace their shock cord and shock cord mount!

It took me a while to get the fins lined up right, but I finally got it. I used regular 'ol Elmers white glue. Very sturdy.

Finishing
Finishing is pretty basic. I filled the balsa grain with normal sanding sealer, applied a couple of coats of grey sandable Krylon primer, then finished it up with a few coats of Krylon flat white paint. I personally prefer the self adhesive decals, but the decals (water transfer) that came with this kit were satisfactory. When finished, this rocket looks VERY nice.

Construction Rating: 4 out of 5

Flight
FLIGHT #1- For the maiden flight of this rocket, I used a C6-5. I would have used a smaller motor, but these were left over from last launch and I wanted to use them.

FLIGHT #2- I used a B6-4 motor for this flight, it wasn't as high as the C6-4 was, but it worked for me. I got a little scared as the delay was longer than expected (about 2 secs) and YES, I filled out a MESS form. Luckily, the rocket didn't suffer any damage other than a paint scrape.

FLIGHT #3- Same as last flight, but delay was accurate.

FLIGHT #4- Used a C6-5 again, pretty cool flight. Nominal.

Recovery
I don't have any gripes about recovery. IF you replace the shock cord and mount, then you will be all right, as long as the motor doesn't give you a surprise delay *g* The only damage sustained from flight was a minor paint scrape due to a rough landing, other than that, pretty sturdy rocket.

Flight Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Summary
I love this rocket! Flights are high and fast! It is a sturdy rocket if you build it right. Again, my only gripe is the shock cord and mount. REPLACE THEM! Oh yea, there is one more thing I don't like about this rocket, it isn't anything major, but I would prefer a motor hook instead of making tape (friction fit). I feel uneasy about taping my motors into my rockets.....

Overall Rating: 4 ½ out of 5


(by Doyle Tatum) 

Picture provided by Ted CochranI purchased this model about 6 months ago and with the upcoming SoAR Birthday celebration launch (the first rocket to fly at a SoAR launch was a Bull Pup) and the discussion of converting to 24mm, on RMR, I decided to assemble the rocket. I assembled the rocket per the instructions with the following additions and exceptions: I cut a 24mm tube and then sanded the tail cone until it fit. I also tied a piece of Kevlar® cord to the mount for a shock cord. 5 minute epoxy was used for the entire rocket unless noted. Fin attachment was accomplished using epoxy rivets (drilling a series of small holes on the fin marking with a hobby knife and then attaching the fin normally). I added a 3/16" launch lug in addition to the 1/8" supplied . I weighed the clay that was provided for the nose weight and decided to add another ounce. I used #6 lead shot mixed with 20 minute finish epoxy poured into the nose through the hole that I enlarged with my hobby knife. I finished it off by adding 5 min epoxy fillets to all the fins and launch lugs. I chose to paint the model in a whimsical manner for the Birthday launch. I'll decide later whether to strip and finish for scale competition or to just build another. It is a very nice Estes kit! My finished model weighs 3.5 ounces without the motor. 


Rating
(Contributed - by Jon Revelle - 09/22/04) Estes Bullpup 12D

Brief:
This is a sport scale version of the Air Force's Bullpup Missile. A skill level 2 rocket but not that hard. It has been around for quite a bit now.

Construction:
The kit comes in either a box or a bag (nowadays it comes in a bag) and mine had all of the parts. You get:

  • Nose Cone
  • Body Tube
  • Sheet of balsa
  • Tail Cone
  • Clay Nose Weight
  • Estes Bullpup 12D
  • Centering Rings
  • Engine mount (18mm)
  • Decals
  • Launch Lug
  • Engine Stopper
  • Shock Cord
  • 12" Parachute

The Bullpup has a set of 4 large fins and 4 canard fins at the top. Total of 8. I found the build to be neither too hard nor too easy and had it put together in about 2 hours. You need glue, scissors and knife. You start by assembling the engine mount and slide it into the main body tube. Then the tail cone is glued into place. Next you attach the fins and be sure they are lined up or your rocket could go unstable. That is followed by attaching the recovery system, which consists of the classic (but cheap) folded paper mount with the parachute tied to the nose cone. Coming down the home stretch, you attach the launch lug and apply fillets to launch lug and all fins for strength. Finally, cram all of the clay weight into the nose cone. The rocket needs the weight to fly stable, as I found that out the hard way. Assembly is now complete. .

Finishing:
Originally, my Bullpup was painted stock white with the peel 'n' stick decals supplied. But after one of its early flights, I decided to refurbish it with yellow paint and waterslide decals, so it looks much better now than it did at first. I also clear coated it to protect the waterslide decals.

Construction Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Estes Bullpup 12D

Flight:
My Bullpup has had 5 flights. Here's how each flight went:

Flight one: Shock cord snapped. Lost nose cone and parachute. Called Estes and got new parts.

Flight two: As I said before I learned that you MUST put nose weight in the rocket. It got 8' off the launch pad and spiraled all over and crashed before the ejection charge fires. No damage.

Flight 3 is probably the weirdest flight ever! It caught the seam of my launch rod and it flew 50' into the air with the pad and lawn darted. Then when the ejection charge fired and the body tube got hooked with the rod.

Flight four I almost lost it. C6-3 has too short of a delay and it was lost for 3 weeks. Recovered it after a major thunderstorm!

After that flight, I stripped it completely. Everything from canard fins to motor mount. I re-attached the fins, got new nose cone and decals, new motor mount and completely repaired it. I then repainted it yellow. And when it was done, it looked beautiful!

Flight 5 I had my fingers crossed. Flew on a B6-4. Yes! I ended the bad luck streak! Beautiful flight. I love this rocket now!

Recovery:
Recovery is just fine on a 12" parachute. I lost it on flights 1 and 4.

Flight Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Summary:
This is a great rocket now. Good for a first scale rocket.

Overall Rating: 4 ½ out of 5


Rating
(Contributed - by Matt Gillard [Who's Who Page] + Chris Fisher - 06/30/10)

Brief:
Matt. The bull pup D12 is a sports scale rocket. I had one that I flew often and lost it on a roof. With the 2010 challenge asking for a duel review, I dusted off two kits from the build pile. Chris Fisher and I are both members of Midland Rocketry and meet up once a month. So he and I both built the kit.

Chris. First up I must thank Matt for giving me the kit. Of course I know it's just so he can score a few more points.

I loved the blister pack, I think it looks far more exciting than the usual plastic bag and cardboard affair.

Although they kits are the same, they came from different releases.

Matt bullpup is from the explorer series - E7000, in a cardboard box

Chris’s bullpup is from the explorer series – E7000, in a blister pack.

Construction:
The parts for the kit consist of:

  • Body tube.
  • Engine spacer.
  • Engine mount tube.
  • Launch lug.
  • Green engine block.
  • Centering rings.
  • Die cut balsa sheet.
  • Elastic shock cord.
  • Plastic tail cone.
  • Plastic nose cone.
  • 12 inch pre assembled parachute.
  • 2 pieces of clay weight.
  • Decal sheet.

Matt’s comments on the parts:

The parachute on the instructions in the make it yourself type, with shroud lines, disks and parasheet, mine was the better pre assembled type.

The decal sheet is a peel and stick - I'm pretty sure that the last bullpup I built about 7 years ago had waterslide.

The die cut balsa sheet was not the best quality.

The centering ring sheet is warped, I had to ironed them flat.

The shock cord is far too short, but Estes kits always have too short shock cords.

Chris’s comments on the parts:

Parachute was I think pre-built - didn't pay much attention as always for me. I've a bunch of nice rip-stop nylon chutes and streamers in various sizes on snap swivels, so I just use one of those as appropriate.

I've not put the decals on my rocket yet, but they are peel and stick. Not sure what I prefer, at least I can usually get the peel and stick ones on the rocket in the right place and intact, but they never look as good as water-slide ones.

Centering rings were fine in my kit. Agree with Matt’s comment about the balsa, it was pretty awful, felt very soft.

Matt’s motor mount:

This rocket does not come with an engine hook, which I would have omitted even if there was one as I think it would ruin the look of the rocket.

One of the two rings supplied has a notch removed, where the engine hook could move, this will be for the top of the motor mount as I can then thread a steel leader onto the center of the mount.

White glue was used to glue the rings and engine block into place.

A steel fishing leader has been added to the mount, taped and glued in. I’m increasing using steel fishing leaders instead of tri fold paper anchors, or Kevlar® loops. I find that they hold up to ejection charges much better, I have had Kevlar® burn through in the past.

Chris’s motor mount:

I opted for a simple loop of Kevlar® round the top centering ring on the motor mount, with loads of glue. I realised too late that I had attached the ring with the slot to the wrong end of the mount (doh!), so simply cut a new notch on the edge and pushed the Kevlar® through that.

Matt’s tail cone:

The tail cone has to be cut from a plastic part. I remember this being a bit difficult last time, but since then I have purchased a razor saw, so the cutting was much smoother. The ends were then sanded down on sand paper.

The motor mount was been glued into position, with the boat tail slipped over later. There is a seam where the boat tail and the BT join, it's not much but I’ve coated the seam and most of the rear with model filler, which sands down smooth. As I’ve used a fresh tube, the filler came out a bit watery, so I had to sand and refill to remove all trace of the transition.

Chris’s tail cone:

I'm useless at cutting these kind of things usually, but I'm quite pleased with how this one come out. Very cunning use, of what looks like a transition designed for another rocket and reused as the tail cone for this.

Matt’s fins:

I decided to leave the leading and trailing edges square. I used sticky backed paper to laminate the fins. Not that the fins needed to be laminated for strength, but paper lamination does completely remove any sign of grain. To stop the paper from delaminating I coated the edges with thin CA glue. I used CA gel to tack the fins in place, and then added three fillets of wood glue over a day.

Front fins have been added using the TLAR (that looks about right) method. Normally with split fins I use two rulers and clamps to align them properly, but given the size of the forward fins I did not bother. I then added beads of white glue to all edges, as well as adding two fillets to the joins.

Chris’s fins:

I was feeling lazy and the fins are so small, that all I did was sand them down a bit, no filler, no paper, no rounding. I did find that the canard fins were so tiny, that they simply stuck to any glue on your fingers rather than the rocket. So I now have 5 fingers and 2 fins on each hand.

Matt’s rest of the build:

Launch lug had its ends trimmed at an angle to reduce drag. Like the fins it was CA tacked and wood glue filleted.

Clay worms were put in the nose cone. I opened up the base of the nose cone so I could use a rod to stamp the clay into the top of the cone. Coated the inside of the top of the BT with CA to strengthen that up a tad. Added a length of elastic to the leader, used three foot of sewing elastic.

Chris’s rest of the build:

Didn't know the trick with trimming the launch lug, will do that next build.

Finishing:
Matt.

Finishing the bullpup is every simple. The entire rocket has to be white; so the normal few coats of primer and then white spray paint went on the rocket. Next came the decals, and this is where I really have to lower the grade for this kit. The stickers are the peel and stick type, which really do spoil the look of the rocket. The first bullpup I built years ago had the waterslide type decals and the model was far better looking then.

Chris

Mine just had the usual primer and white gloss. Looks pretty good, and will look great once the decals are on.

Construction Rating: 4 out of 5

Flight:
Matt’s flight comment:

Having flown the previous bullpup several times, I know the rocket to be a good performer. There is plenty of room in the BT for the recovery parachute, and like all Estes kits the supplied elastic shock cord is far too short and needs to be added to by at least 2 foot. On C6 flights the supplied 12 inch parachute can give the rocket a lot of drift. I sensibly went for an A8-3. I like to build up the power on successive flights. My bullpup flew well on the A8, but in my normal luck, managed to land in a water ditch. No damage other than a muddle rocket.

Chris’s flight comment:

Matt really is a great big girl, putting an A8 in his. Of course I had the bravado of essentially having a free rocket, so stuck a C6-5 in mine. Flew really well in a drag race with Matt's. His was first off the pad, but mine obviously streaked away faster. Courtesy of some slack prep, I had failed to actually attach the snap swivel from the chute to the rocket, so had to rely on tumble recovery. Luckily our flying field is quite soft usually, and no damage was done.

Recovery:

Flight Rating: 5 out of 5

Summary:
Matt: A good rocket, good enough that when I lost my first, I went out and got another. Not a perfect scale rocket but still has a good look to it and it performs well.

Chris: I actually like this way more than I expected, so much so that the larger PML variants are looming large in my future shopping list. And it looks like it will be a good flyer.

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
03/08 - "The Bull Pup 12D is probably my favorite of all model rocket. this was the first rocket I bought as a kid when I got into rockets back in 87 or 88 and I launched it countless numbers of times. I burned up several parachutes in it and even shot the motor mount almost all the way out of the body tube once, but repaired it and kept flying it until I got out of the hobby and eventually broke the model and had it lost as I grew up. I have since bought a new one in my re-birth in rocketry and can not wait for the paint to dry so I can take it out and fire it into the sky. In my opinion it is one of the best rockets you can get for a first time out." (S.W.M.)

GUEST's OPINION:
02/07 - "As a B.A.R. I've been re-introducing myself back into the hobby. I've always liked the BullPups and wanted to build a small one before trying an "upscale" Q-Modeling kit. As I couldn't find the Estes kit at Wal-Mart, I ordered it from Rocketry Zone online. The kit came quickly and well packed just two days after the online order. I have some observations about the kit and its construction. The Shock cord seemed too short and was made of sewn elastic, not the rubber band style shown in the directions. The centering rings were notched for a engine hook, not included. I received two small squares of clay weight. The instructions show the installation of one square, but say to use all the weight. At step five the full size fin illustration didn't match my die cut fins. My kit fins were 3/16" short on the leading edge and cut 1/8" short on the tip side. The upper fins were the correct size shown on the plan. I was very disappointed to find "press-on" decals in the kit. The instructions give directions for applying the water-slide type. The parachute was also pre-assembled. The kit gave directions for parachute assembly. Some of the knots slipped at I tried to pull them tight. I know now that the Estes kits are bagged in China. This is certainly not the attention to the kit's parts I was used to in the late 60's and through the 70's. These discrepancies might hurt a first time modeler's rocketry experience. I will try to send a copy of this review to Estes. Thanks for reading my review and good luck! Chris Michielssen" (C.M.)

GUEST's OPINION:
10/04 - "This is my 2nd Bullpup, first one lost in trees many yrs ago. Kit has changed little, shock cord is not rubber and chute is pre-assembled. Constructed as per instruction. First flight: B64 engine. Flew straight and true. Chute was burned on ejection charge and failed to deploy properly. Had Slight damaged on paint upon impact on side of building...almost on the roof. Second flight: C65 engine. Flew straight again but drifted 500 feet where it landed on a roof of a house. Recovered latter to see more chute damage from ejection charge and scraped fins. I will use more wading than the instruction suggest next time, after a new chute is installed." (W.M.R.)

GUEST's OPINION:
10/04 - "This is a really cool rocket - inexpensive and fun to build, and it looks really good when you're done. I wish I'd known about this website before I built it, because I used the stock shock cord, gluing it near the top of the BT. After I found this site, the first thing I did was order some Kevlar® shock cord and that is the only way I will make a recovery system from now on. Anyway, when I fired this rocket on a B6-4, the flight was perfect but it pretty much blew out the shock cord and scorched it. I'm probably going to build a scratch Pup now that I know a bit more about how to build this and how to do a recovery system." (K.G.D.)

GUEST's OPINION:
09/04 - "Great flying model...Have built 2 this year with varying paint schemes. I also had a beef with the lack of engine hooks with this particular kit. In attempt to head off any crisis before they got a chance to prevent themselves, I modified the engine mounts/tailcones to install a engine hook. A braided Kevlar® cord, about 20" long in conjunction to 36" of shock cord is employed to handle ejection tasks. I also use a 12" ripstop nylon chute with Kevlar® shroud lines....We have sans ALL plastic chutes from ALL models in the fleet. No matter how careful, no matter how much or how little the wadding is packed, the melt togethers and burn holes in plastic chutes are irratating to say the least! Good Flyin'" (Willy)

GUEST's OPINION:
07/04 - "I just love this kit. The only issue I have with it is the lack of a motor retaining clip. The rocket flies higher and is a lot faster off the pad than I thought it would be. I've flown it ~5 times using A8-3 and B6-5 motors and have not had the burn issues others have mentioned. Recovery on the stock parachute has not been an issue." (K.W.)

GUEST's OPINION:
02/04 - "I recently built the ďPupĒ after a 34year absence from rocketry. The rocket was constructed following the instructions except for finishing. I found the instructions to be very good however, with my kit a few of the instructions didnít match the drawings and some of the parts were different than pictured. One of the centering rings was factory notched to support the installation of an engine clip that wasnít in the kit or mentioned in the instructions and the Parachute came already cut with the shrouds installed. I didnít follow the instructions for finishing. I tried some Krylon paint for plastic. The can suggested that no priming or sanding was required before application. My thinking was that this paint was a thicker paint than the other Krylon paints so, I wouldnít need to fill the spirals or prime. Wrong! The paint didnít cover any better and in fact the nozzle tended to drip and the drips would get sprayed onto the rocket requiring more aggressive sanding between coats. The first flight of this rocket was a disaster! On the way to the pad two of the fins fell off, poor construction on my part. Over the years I had forgotten that most glues do not stick to the glassine layer on the body tubes. A quick application of some CA and I was back in business. I launched using an A8-3 as specified in the instructions. It didnít go very high, but it went straight and had a good deployment of the 12Ē chute. It landed about 100 feet from the pad would have been a successful launch except when it hit the ground all the fins fell off except for those attached with the CA. I was hoping to attempt the streamer and parachute duration for NARTREK using the pup. I wish I had known about this website before starting this project. There are so many good suggestions that would have made the project so much more satisfying. I wonder why Estes hasnít incorporated some of these in their kits? My Bull Pup will fly again, with many of the suggested modifications. My thanks to everyone that submitted suggested modifications to this kit and others." (R.L.)

GUEST's OPINION:
02/04 - "Great kit! This was probably the coolest low power project Iíve done in a long time. Due to multiple fin alignments, this kit should probably be done by someone with a little experience first. The parts were good quality, although a motor clip (not included) would be preferred to the friction fit motor mount. Instructions were good, except for the reference to decals. The instructions stated that the decals were the water-slide type, however, they were self adhesive. I found this out after trying to soak one of the smaller ones! This destroyed the adhesive, so I had to use some white glue to repair that one decal. Apparently, this kit may come with either type of decal, so be sure of the type you may get! Looking forward to a spring launch, mostly due to the amount of snow here, and the possibility of having to find a white rocket I lost sight of!!" (D.B.)

GUEST's OPINION:
06/03 - "Totally awesome rocket. First flight was on a B6-4 and the flight was beautiful, straight and impressive. Make sure, like any rocket, that you use enough wadding or create an ejection baffle. Some rockets just seem to fry chutes more than others and this one is a fryer! A little scary was when the chute melted and the Bull Pup came down clay filled, sharp nose-cone first. Ouch, glad it landed in the grass!" (K.R.E.)

GUEST's OPINION:
01/02 - "The reason that I bought the Bull Pup was because of its military history. When I built this rocket I had no problems. I had panted it like it had told me to do, and the decals were a little tricky. The first time that I launched it was with a B6-4. A picture perfect launch! The second launch I used a C6-5, another perfect launch! About the fourth launch I had used a C6-7, the recovery cord separated and that I never saw that pup again. Overall I liked it so much that I bought another one, and is waiting to fly it." (W.S.)

GUEST's OPINION:
10/01 - "This is a pretty nice rocket. Estes appears to have slightly changed the kit, which renders the instructions obsolete. However, the changes mostly are to the parachute and fin stock, and so it does not matter to much. You just have to use your head. Watch out for misalignments in the fins. This is very easy to do. Model looks really nice. I haven't flown it yet, but it will be soon." (M.K.H.)

GUEST's OPINION:
11/00 - "I found this kit to be a well designed kit. I liked the boat-tail feature and nose cone as well. It flies nearly out of sight with A8-3's and despite parachute shroud line failings (ripped from the now brittle parachute) it has survived well. The friction-fit motor mount stinks though and the shock cord needs to be replaced with a much longer one. I found this review to be right on the money." (A.G.)

GUEST's OPINION:
"Picture provided by Ted Cochran Got at Walmart for $9.99. Good Kit. It's a little tough to align for a beginner. A lot of people tore those little forward fins off because they make it unstable, but mine flies great. Straight as an arrow.  However, I also added extra nose weight to be on the safe side. I made exactly according to instructions and painting according to box and it turned out rather nicely. Looks really nice a great sport scale kit I used this at NARAM-40 when I could not use my blackbird." (C.T.)

GUEST's OPINION:
"In my opinion I believe that the Estes Bullpup 12D is a very well designed kit. I picked mine up at a local Walmart for $ 9.99. I got to work on it quickly and finished on the the same day as purchased (except for the paint), with the help of some fast drying R/C plane glue I was ready to launch it in about 1 hour. My first launch was with an Estes B6-4 and it flew perfectly. Since then I have logged 30 flights on it and its still in mint condition. The rocket itself is very strong and sturdy and its lightweight construction enables it to have fast and high altitude flights. Overall I really enjoy it. The only thing I would change in the kit is the engine mount. On several flights the engine actually blew out backwards and almost pegged me off in the head." (M.T.S.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
09/08 - "I have flown my Bullpup stock several times with no problem. Use lots of clay in the nose cone. If you ever feel adventurous, then try gliding the body (!). Attach a streamer to the nose cone only. Disconnect the shock cord from the nose cone. Launch it straight up on a B6-4 or C6-5. The body will fall vertically about 150 feet, then start gliding rather nicely. I accidentally removed it this way with no damage. " (D.S. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
07/03 - "This is a great Kit! but I wanted it to go higher, and look more to scale so I decided to use the Estes E motor mount and engine hook, to do this I had to sand down the Boattail about 1/4" this gave me enough room to fit the 24mm motor mount with the motor hook extended about 3/4" from the end. I also beefed up the recovery system with 1/8" Kevlar® thread tied to the motor mount and extending out the tube by 5" where I attached a 30" line of 1/4" elastic to a homemade 14" nylon parachute. To make the Bullpup more scale like I moved the forward fins onto the nosecone itself this only required a little sanding to get the right curve on the bottom of the fins to match the nosecone, I also added some clay in the nose to offset the weight of the 24mm motors. I also papered my rear fins to increase their strength and give them a nice smooth finish, Epoxy was used throughout. I beveled leading and trailing edges on all fins. Paint was Krylon primer followed by Krylon gloss white with a layer of Clear coat after the decals were put on. This thing flew out of sight on a D12-7 with an adapter to fit it in the long E motor mount, flight & recovery was flawless!" (H.J. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
04/03 - "I like rockets that are sharp and pointy, this kit fits the criteria perfectly. I was going to build it as per instructions but some things appeared to be lacking or not quite right if flight was to be attained over and over... so time for some mods. I made 2 mods to the kit & added fishing snap-swivels to the chute and shock cord to things to make life easier. MOD 1. No motor retaining clip. (very odd as the kit includes one, but doesnít show installation in the instructions - go figure).I donít like the thought of taping a motor into a rocket and watching it flying out when the ejection charge goes off and hitting me in the head, so I filed the motor clip (look in the bag that the chute comes in, thereís one in there) down to half it's width and installed it under the motor adapter rings (pretty much the same as the Quest clip install)and sanded down the tail cone / shroud to allow more clip movement - works like a charm. :-) <-- me being smug with myself. MOD 2. As I didn't want separation of the nose cone from the body to occur due to the shock cord being burnt through I replaced it with a better piece of elastic( you know the round elastic stuff instead of the flat knickers elastic that come with the kit), I also attached the Kevlar® cord to the engine retainer in the motor mount, instead of the "glue to the side of the body tube" method described in the instructions, which didnít seen like the right way to do things if you want a bit of survivability in a rocket. Anyway, Hope this helps and ĎMay your Trajectories always be Trueí :-)" (K.J )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
02/03 - "When I built mine, I failed to account for the position of the launch lug when I started putting on decals. The "U.S. Air Force" decals must go on two sides of the rocket on either side of the side where the launch lug is attached. I started placing decals on the nose and worked backward. By the time I got to these decals I'd noticed my mistake and had no option other than to put them where they had to go. This put them 90 degrees away from the other decals that should, together, create two "broadsides" of messaging on the missile. Also, I couldn't find any locating image of the small decal with the two circles on it (one orange, one black). I don't know where this is supposed to go. Hope this helps others avoid the same mistake..." (W.S. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
10/00 - "I built mine stock, with two modifications: (1) Replaced the shock cord with one twice as wide and twice as long. (2) I used the motor block positioning tube (the yellow tube that is the same size as an 18MM motor) to construct a baffle. I plugged the end of the tube with a piece of CA-hardened balsa, and cut several holes in the side of the tube. I then glued this tube to the front end of the motor mount assembly (before installation). The model has flown straight and true for each of its 5 flights so far. I still use wadding to protect the chute, and I've still gotten a couple of little burn holes. I think my improvised baffle is helping reduce the amount of burning particles, but it doesn't eliminate them entirely." (B.M. )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
08-22-2002 Ken Alger Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds -
08-22-2002 Ken Alger Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Estes shock cord broke and I replaced it with kevlar to elastic combo cord.
12-24-2004 Jacqui Baxter Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Weathercocked at lift-off...shock cord detached from body, came down in two pieces. Engine mount came out, bad glue job. Needs to go to the hangar for repairs.
12-25-2004 Jacqui Baxter Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down Calm RIP - Jimmy-rigged a engine mount with tape and an old body tube. Went straight for 300' then flew horizontal for another 200'. Deployed parachute and landed behind some buildings about 500'away...Oh well! Status: Lost
09-18-2005 William Beggs Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Great flight and recovery.
09-01-2007 William Beggs Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: TITD-2007
- Perfect flight and recovery.
12-18-2004 Michael Bernatchez Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - first flight, dad broke a fin
12-14-2008 Donald Besaw Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Got this on clearance at Wal-Mart. Great first flight and recovery. No damage.
12-21-2008 Donald Besaw Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Excellent flight. Nice straight boost to maybe 700 feet. Short to moderate drift. No damage.
08-28-2005 Brad Bowles Est SU A8-3 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - FF-A83 motor. Fairly straight low level flight. Ejected too soon. The shock cord is too short, the NC damaged the BT during eject/rebound. Chute worked great w/snap swivel/6shts of wadding. Modify shock cord!
06-22-2007 Richie Brunjes Apo SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds Event: METRA
- Long Walk
06-04-2004 Rob Bullough Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - 1st launch of 1st rocket built since 1976. Launch slightly into wind, turned horizontal into wind. Chute deployed low alt., recovered 250 yds away. No damage to rocket. Why this trajectory?
06-12-2004 Rob Bullough Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - 06/12 flight 3. Again, slight wind adj. Straight flight. Motor intact. No damage. Recovered 175 yds from launch.
06-12-2004 Rob Bullough Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - 06/12 flight 4. Slight wind adj. Good alt. as on all flights. Motor intact. Chute deployed, 3 lines pulled from chute. Virtual streamer rec. No damage! 100 yds from launch. Great rocket, will add swivel.
06-12-2004 Rob Bullough Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Adj. for wind. Straight flight, motor intact. Burned sm. hole in chute repaired on-site, very slight ding to BT at NC edge smoothed out. Recovered 300 yds from launch.
06-12-2004 Rob Bullough Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - After 06/04 flight, checked CG-CP. All good. Straight flight, motor ejected when chute deployed. Due to winds, recovered 600 yds from launch. No damage. Horiz. 1st flight unexplained.
05-22-2000 John Busacca Est SU B6-4 None - Unknown 0-5 mph winds - Good liftoff,after engine burnout engine fell out causing rocket to to pitch down and on to the tallest tree.
04-17-2000 Ron Cooke Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - good flight
11-19-2006 Ash Cooper Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - First flight, and apart from a slight arc in trajectory, flew extremely well. Ejection just past apogee with perfect 'chute deployment and a fast descent. No damage whatsoever; a perfect run!
02-04-2007 Ash Cooper Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec)
(37 m)
5-10 mph winds - OK flight, arced slightly off the pad about, windcocked slightly into a E-NE wind. Ejection and recovery good, but noticed very small zipper/dent that caused cosmetic damage to paint at top of BT.
02-04-2007 Ash Cooper Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Another good flight, arced again into E-NE wind, gained slightly better flight due to drop in wind gust, ejection and recovery good without damage.
01-04-2003 Stephen Corban Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - Estes Parachute failed to open, no damage
04-06-2003 Kevin Coulson Qst SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Excellent first flight, straight as. Attained 180m alt aprox on B6-4Recovered on 12 chute (cut to allow minimum drift).Slight damage on 1 canard due to landing on concrete.
08-22-2006 Clive Davis Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Maiden flight. Picture perfect with nice, gentle recovery.
10-02-2004 Ken Davis Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Event: country launch
- Nice straight climb, hit apogee and started tipping over when the chute popped out. Nice recovery about 50 feet away from launchpad. Cheap Estes shock cord came loose where it attaches to BC, will have to replace.
09-13-2003 Bill Eichelberger Est SU C6-5 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds - Never would have found it, but a sharp eyed club member saw it just before it landed in some weeds. Somehow the shock cord wrapped around the chute and the whole thing came down fast and hard.
09-05-2004 Bill Eichelberger Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Slight wobble as it left the rod, but quickly straightened for a perfect flight and recovery.
08-01-2003 Sam Eichelberger Est SU B6-6 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Best flight of a bad lot at a school sponsored program. Others that were flown were constructed with model glue. Ugly day all around.
01-29-2000 David Fergus Est SU B6-4 Very Late Calm - curvy ballistic flight, ejection 50 ft above ground
03-04-2000 David Fergus Est SU B4-2 Just Before Calm - straight flight, still no explanation for first ballistic flight. Fins crunched in car on way home, reglued but appearance suffers.
09-29-2001 David Fergus Est SU C6-3 Just Before 0-5 mph winds -
04-21-2001 William Frazier Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Perfect.
04-21-2001 William Frazier Est SU B4-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds -
04-21-2001 William Frazier Est SU B4-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds -
04-21-2001 William Frazier Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Ejection charged burned chute, no damage thanks to tall grass.
04-21-2001 William Frazier Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds -
05-23-2001 William Frazier AT SU D21-7 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds - Wow, very fast. never recovered but flight was worth it.
06-30-2006 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-2 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - straight flight. good recovery
06-30-2006 Matt Gillard Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - fast flight, good hieght, decent landing
09-28-2006 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - good clean flight.
01-02-2007 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 10+ mph winds - great flight.
02-20-2007 Matt Gillard Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down Calm - good flight
02-20-2007 Matt Gillard Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down Calm - good
09-29-2008 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - great flight - quite alot of drift for a 12 inch chute with a large spill hole.
09-29-2008 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-6 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - good flight.
02-16-2009 Matt Gillard Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - good flight
02-21-2009 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-6 Late (2-3sec) 0-5 mph winds Flight Picture - using up some B6-6s so delay was always going to be late, another fast boost
03-07-2009 Matt Gillard Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Down 10+ mph winds - good flight, shock cord snapped, no damage. will go for a Kevlar repair.
09-28-2009 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up 10+ mph winds - another good flight
09-28-2009 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up 10+ mph winds - high arching flight, drifted onto roof, even though it was on a streamer.
05-09-2010 Matt Gillard Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds - first flight for the newly built rocket. A8-3 is not enough. she was heading down from not much hieght, managed to find a ditch full of water!
05-09-2010 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 10+ mph winds - Better second flight, needed less wadding as the parachute was still wet from the earlier water based landing
08-19-2007 Chris Gonnerman Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - This was its first flight, and it was a nice one, with a perfect deployment and recovery.
08-19-2007 Chris Gonnerman Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - This was its first flight, and it was a nice one, with a perfect deployment and recovery.
07-25-2004 Andrew Grippo Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight and good recovery with no damage
08-05-2004 Andrew Grippo Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Very good flight with good altitude, good recovery, no damage
09-25-2004 Andrew Grippo Est SU B4-2 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Stable flight and good recovery with no damage
11-03-2005 Andrew Grippo Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Low and slow flight with good deployment of chute. Recovery near pad without damage.
04-28-2007 Andrew Grippo Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Monthly Launch
- Good flight, good motor / delay combo. Good recovery.
10-29-2008 Mark Grisco Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - looks cool on the pad and scoots on a C. it went straight up and then drifted about 1/4 mile.
10-29-2008 Mark Grisco Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - pointed slightly into wind, arc looked cool.
10-10-2009 Mark Grisco Est SU C6-5 Very Late 10+ mph winds - major weathercock, flew horizontal into wind!! looked cool. no damage
01-24-2004 Kyle Hancock Est SU C6-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Good flight.
02-14-2004 Kyle Hancock Est SU C6-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds -
04-10-2004 Kyle Hancock Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Ben's - Maiden flight. Near perfect.
04-10-2004 Kyle Hancock Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Ben's - Another perfect flight. Collision with car during descent seperated fins, but she will fly again.
04-24-2004 Kyle Hancock Est SU C6-3 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds Event: TRF 2004:Whitakers
-
05-16-2004 Kyle Hancock Est SU B4-4 Just Before 0-5 mph winds Event: Viking Sport Launch
-
06-20-2004 Kyle Hancock Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Viking Sport
Ben's - NARTREK Cadet Mercury
07-18-2004 Kyle Hancock Est SU C6-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: Vikings Sport
Ben's - NARTREK Mercury, N/C detached but was found.
07-18-2004 Kyle Hancock Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: Vikings Sport
-
01-18-2009 Kyle Hancock Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds -
01-18-2009 Kyle Hancock Est SU C6-3 Apogee - NC Down 10+ mph winds -
04-17-2005 Bob Harrington Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Another perfect flight in ideal conditions.
05-14-2005 Bob Harrington Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Beautiful flight on near perfect day. Short walk for recovery
07-23-2005 Bob Harrington Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds RIP - Pushed my luck in the strong breeze and rocket drifted into the swamp Status: Lost
05-11-2008 Phil Hewitt Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - Great flight, perfect parachute size, recovered no damage (Midland Rocketry - UK - May 08)
05-11-2008 Phil Hewitt Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - Great flight again, recovered no damage (Midland Rocketry - UK - May 08)
03-18-2010 Preston Hoover Est SU C6-5 Late (2-3sec) 5-10 mph winds Event: Just a day to launch. Somewhere in Deltona, FL,
- Launch was great with a straight up shot. Flew like the missle it is and chute popped at the right time. Landed with in yards of lauch. Closet to pin for the day.
03-31-2010 Preston Hoover Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Somewhere in Deltona, FL
- Awsome. Awsome, Awsome. Flew perfect. Wind acarried it about a football fiel down wind but it was found. YEAH!!! Altitude estimate 900 - 1000 ft.
04-01-2010 Preston Hoover Est SU C6-7 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds RIPFlight PictureEvent: Lot 67 somewhere in Deltona FL
- Went up perfect. Saw the parachute deploy. The an upper layer breeze caught it and we saw it go out of sight. A real bummer I liked that little rocket. Status: Lost
01-13-2004 Jeff Inman Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) Gusty - 3 launches. Variable winds made me use a longer delay than I would prefer. First flight had a bit of chute issue. Slight dent in the body that was easily fixed.
03-??-2003 Howard Jackman Est SU D12-7 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Notes First flight on a D12-7 minor rod whip, 1/4 mile walk to recover, very high, very fast!
04-??-2003 Howard Jackman Est SU C11-5 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - 2nd flight of Bullpup, 1st use of C11 motor, perfect flight, straight up and very high ~1,000ft deployed just before appogee, nose cone hit fin, chipped paint, easy fix.
12-05-2003 Mike Kiss Est SU B4-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - slightly unstable boost (wiggled) to about 400ft. good recovery about 50ft. from pad, no damage
12-05-2003 Mike Kiss Est SU C6-3 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds RIP - Went straight up about 100ft. made hard 90 degree turn towards woods, came down deep in woods, never saw again Status: Lost
02-14-2004 Roy Lappalainen Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - First rocket launch after 34 years. Straight flight with good deployment of parachute. Landed 100 feet from pad. Most of the fins fell off on landing. Poor construction technique on my part.
02-12-2005 Roy Lappalainen Est SU B6-4 Didn't See 10+ mph winds - Too Windy to go with the C6-5, a lot of drift with just a 12 chute.
05-04-2005 Donald Laskey Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record Didn't Record -
12-02-2004 Jason Lenentine Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Ejection seemed really strong. When I caught the rocket, a fin had been ripped off. It flew perfectly straight, so it must have happened at ejection. Didn't find the fin.
08-06-2005 Jason Lenentine Est SU B4-4 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Perfect flight.
08-06-2005 Jason Lenentine Est SU B4-4 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Perfect flight.
08-20-2005 Jason Lenentine Est SU B6-2 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - Perfect flight. Recovered close to pad.
05-13-2006 Mal McClenaghan Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up Calm - Shakedown flight. Altitrack showed 160 metres. Nice flight on 30cm chute.
08-26-2006 Mal McClenaghan Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Very nice flight, straight boost, perfect recovery.
06-17-2007 Mal McClenaghan Est SU C6-5 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds Event: Dandenong Wetlands
- -Very- high flight with a long drift, despite the spill hole in the 30cm Hartle parachute. Initially treed, but released fairly easily.
07-07-2001 Dustin Messner AT RMS D13-7 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Perfect flight, Recovery with 16 inch parachute, had to add weight to the nose cone
08-24-2008 Marlin Meyer Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Loading the motor is a pain due to the boattail. Good straight flight. Parachute size very good for the kit. Landed within 100 feet of launch pad
05-22-1999 Eric Miller Est SU B6-2 Didn't See Calm - Perfect day, very little wind and hot. No problem at all with this launch, nice high straight flight, ejected parachute and landed in a field 100 ft away. Recovered, no damage.
11-21-2007 Charlaine+Cadence Nordin Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - great flight. glad I use snap swives on this one. she spun so baddly as she came down she would have been tangled. safe landing.
11-21-2007 Charlaine+Cadence Nordin Est SU C6-5 None - Parachute Fail 0-5 mph winds - shock cord flew off at apogee. nose cone landed on highway was bearly but safly recovered. airframe lawn darted tail first in loam. minor damage. will not fly untill I clean and inspect for saftly.
12-22-2004 Ramon Olivas Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Maiden flight, way underpowered and finished fast. Parachute deployed 65' off ground. I forgot to put wadding! Heat damage to chute minimal, A8-3...never again...boring! Approx 150' flight...
12-22-2004 Ramon Olivas Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Straight up, all normal...landed in river, no damage but needs to dry out.
10-20-2001 Mark Patoka Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) Light winds - Nice and straight
10-20-2001 Mark Patoka Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Perfect flight and delay time.
06-20-2004 Mark Patoka Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - First flight of the day. Straight up and perfect.
06-20-2004 Mark Patoka Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Very nice, high flight. Used a large chute with center cut out but still drifted. Landed on top of school building and was recovered 2 days later. Recommend small chute as rocket is very lightweight.
12-23-2006 Bill Poster Est SU C6-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm -
11-05-2000 Randy Powell Est SU B4-4 Just Before Light winds - rocket boosted straightup,not real high,but still a good flight
04-24-2001 Randy Powell Est SU B4-4 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm -
05-10-2001 Randy Powell Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - weather-cocked real bad...slight fin damage
07-00-2003 Jon Revelle Est SU B4-4 Didn't Record Didn't Record - Took off OK. Nose and chute separated from BT. Lost. Called ESTES and got new parts. Ready to fly.(I cannot remember when I launched it.)
12-25-2003 Jon Revelle Est SU A8-3 None - Parachute Fail 5-10 mph winds - Now there's a reason to put the clay in the NC. Twisted all over the place on takeoff. Crashed. Engine shot out. Repaired and ready to fly.
12-25-2003 Jon Revelle Est SU A8-3 None - Parachute Fail 5-10 mph winds - Now there's a reason to put the clay in the NC. Twisted all over the place on takeoff. Crashed. Engine shot out. Repaired and ready to fly.
12-30-2003 Jon Revelle Est SU A8-3 Very Late Gusty - When it launched, it took the launch rod with it about 50 feet. Launch lug broken, lawndarted about an inch into ground. Probably considering retirement for this rocket.
12-28-2004 Jon Revelle Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds Event: Flight Fest
- Landed it tree. Got back few days later, but badly damaged. Motor mount trashed, decals peeling, sad. will fix and give it one more chance. Flight Fest is a small event I did. Nothing major.
10-16-2004 Will Roberds Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect
(300 ft)
0-5 mph winds Event: 1st flt
- Flew straight and true.Recovered with slight paint damaged to upper part of BT.
10-16-2004 Will Roberds Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up
(500 ft)
0-5 mph winds Event: 2nd flt
- Straight again. Recoverd from roof of house. Chute Damage from ejection charge.
10-16-2004 Will Roberds Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up
(500 ft)
0-5 mph winds Event: 1st flt
- Flew straight and true. Ejection charge damaged Chute, didn't deploy properly. Recovered with paint damage to upper BT from contact to building.
10-16-2004 Will Roberds Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: 2nd flt
- Straight shot. Drifted to a rooftop 500 ft. away. Later recovered to see chute damaged from ejection and fin damage from landing.
11-06-2004 Will Roberds Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up
(500 ft)
0-5 mph winds Event: 32rd flt
- Good flight here, good deployment. Still landed on another roof top. Got alot of drift with the stock chute. Needs slip hole. Live to fly again.
02-22-2003 Will Scarvie Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds - Maiden flight. Low altitude, slight weathercocking into the wind and a good bit of drift on the parachute made for a spot landing. One of several consecutive spot landings in those few minutes that day.
02-22-2003 Will Scarvie Est SU C6-5 Very Late 5-10 mph winds - The winds had let up some, so I tried a more powerful motor. Ejection significantly after apogee, but still a good recovery. Nice, high flight.
08-12-2006 Ed Scientist Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - WONDERFUL. Great first flight. Really straight flight went much higher than I thought. Ten inch chute came down a bit fast but no damage. Cant wait till next time.
06-02-2007 Dwayne Shmel Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: Club Launch
- Perfect maiden flight
06-21-2007 Dwayne Shmel Est SU B4-6 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds Event: Solstice Launch
- B6-4 would have been better choice, but the long coast was nice.
07-21-2007 Dwayne Shmel Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds Event: Club Launch
- Nice flight on MRC motor.
06-21-2008 Dwayne Shmel Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up Gusty Event: 2008 Solstice Launch
- Great flight
08-23-2008 Dwayne Shmel Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up 10+ mph winds Event: Club Launch - Nowthen
- Great flight.
09-27-2008 Dwayne Shmel Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds Event: Club Launch - Nowthen
-
03-28-2009 Dwayne Shmel Est SU B4-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Club Launch - Elk River
- Perfect flight.
11-21-2009 Dwayne Shmel Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds Event: Club Launch
- Good Flight.
05-23-2010 Dwayne Shmel Est SU B4-4 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds Event: St. Croix Falls Fundraiser
- Great Flight.
10-10-2009 David Sindel Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds Event: CATO 154
- Arced over a bit due to the wind. Used a 6 parachute to keep it on the field.
06-22-2010 David Sindel Est SU C6-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Carrying payload capsule with test timer. Nice flight.
09-13-2009 Howard Smart Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: Fiesta Is.
-
03-27-2010 Howard Smart AT RMS D13-7 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds RIPEvent: Fiesta Island
- Nose cone separation. Nose cone and chute not recovered Status: Scavenged
01-08-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-7 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Great engine for this little work horse. This kit must have flown 30 times. It is tough and flies great. I want to try an aerotech motor in it.
05-12-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Boy, this one really goes well, straight boost, good deploy.
05-12-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - another good boost, prepped it on the way back to the pads, short recovery, around 100 feet walk.
05-12-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - great first flight of the day, short walk.
05-12-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-7 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Good boost, nice long delay, good deployment, landed 50 feet away.
05-12-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-7 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Some rod whip, went off at an angle, good deploy. This little one performs well.
05-12-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-7 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm - One last straight boost for the day, way up there. Goes real well.
11-05-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Nice boost in the crappy weather. Short walk for recovery, just missed large mud puddle
11-05-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Good boost, almost disappeared in the low ceilings.
11-05-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Last flight today, great boost, nice short recovery, just missed the big pond.
11-05-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Great boost, short walk, a little weathercock.
11-05-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - Great straight flight, no weathercock, very cold here. Nice deployment. short walk.
12-30-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - great boost again on the C6-3. Nice and calm, no drift, about 200 feet from pad.
12-30-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - oy, this one must have had extra propellant. It just kept going! I am glad I had the streamer on it! It still had a very small zipper. About 1/4 inch, easy to fix.
12-30-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - took off the streamer for a chute, good deploy, nice out of sight flights! recovery about 300 feet away, just missed big puddle
12-31-2000 Casey Smith Est SU B8-4 Apogee - NC Down
(600 ft)
Calm - old motor, hoped it would not blow up! great boost, low height, around 600 feet, wish it would be a 24 mm
12-31-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C5-3 Just Before Calm - Boy this baby boogies on this motor! I wish they had a longer delay! It almost kept going right through the deployment! It disappeared into the low level fog.
12-31-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down Calm - Using up the last of the $1 clearance motors Target had from SW episode 1 last year. They still work great! 25 more packs to go!
12-31-2000 Casey Smith Est SU C6-7 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm - Nice flight, loooong delay, another old motor from the 80's. Worked just fine!
03-30-2001 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 --- not selected --- --- not selected --- - Great flight again for this kit. Nice landing about 100 feet away. Paint is starting to chip off it has flown so much.
04-13-2001 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Good quick boost, nice performer. Good short recovery with a streamer.
04-13-2001 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Quick boost, way up there. Nice recovery with a streamer.
04-13-2001 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Straight flight, good deploy.
04-13-2001 Casey Smith Est SU C6-7 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight, long delay, a little weathercocking. short walk.
05-05-2001 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds - Another great boost, had it angled just right, streamer worked well, short walk for recovery!
05-05-2001 Casey Smith Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds - Great flight, up high into the winds. It went great! good deploy, did not drift too far in the winds!
03-07-2008 Jason Speakman Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect
(150 ft)
5-10 mph winds - First flight, Perfect. Landed 10 ft. from pad
03-07-2008 Jason Speakman Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect
(350 ft)
5-10 mph winds - One more perfect flight. Impressively fast. Came down great, 100 ft. from pad.
03-07-2008 Jason Speakman Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec)
(1500 ft)
5-10 mph winds RIP - This is the engine for this rocket! Zoomed off the pad, great height, drifted about 300 yards even with spill hole(caught a current) and ended up in the street, where some jerkoff ran it over. Sux. Status: Not Repairable
01-08-2002 Jason Vennard Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record Didn't Record - First flight, good straight flight and good recovery.
01-11-2002 Jason Vennard Est SU B6-4 Didn't Record Didn't Record - Good flight and recovery, no problems, very straight boost.
01-11-2002 Jason Vennard Est SU C6-7 Didn't Record Didn't Record - Great, straight boost, quick, good chute deployment and recovery.
01-17-2002 Jason Vennard Est SU B6-4 Didn't Record Didn't Record - Good consistent flyer, straight boost, no problems, good chute deployment and recovery.
01-17-2002 Jason Vennard Est SU C6-7 Didn't Record Didn't Record - Good consistent flyer, straight boost, no problems, good chute deployment and recovery.
03-20-2002 Jason Vennard Est SU B6-4 Didn't Record Gusty - High winds, 15+mph, still very straight boost, good chute deployment, and recovery, no problems.
06-16-2002 Jason Vennard Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - 2nd Bullpup in our current fleet, maiden flight. A good straight and quick boost, impressive for a B6. No problems 12 nylon chute
07-19-2002 Jason Vennard Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Bullpup2, Another good quick straight flight, one of the most consistent kids in our fleet. 12 nylon chute.
05-22-2004 Jason Vennard Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - As usual a great flier, nice and quick, straight boost, good deployment and recovered fine under 12 nylon chute.
04-13-2003 Matt Vennard Est SU B6-4 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - Quick little rocket on a B. Straight off the pad, and looked great all the way down. Found small zipper at recovery, but should be able to repair.
07-01-2003 Matt Vennard Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Good flight..zipped right off the pad straight up, ejection just right, and recovered with no trouble 30 ft away.
12-18-2004 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Perfect first flight on this rocket, the B4-4 is a great match for it, landed about 20 ft from the pad.
05-21-2005 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds -
06-25-2005 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds -
07-30-2005 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds -
08-27-2005 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Very Late 10+ mph winds - Shock cord snapped but no damage to rocket.
07-29-2006 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds Event: North Branch Park
- Nice quick boost off the pad, good recovery.
11-25-2006 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds Event: North Branch Park
-
12-30-2006 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: North Branch Park
-
03-31-2007 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: GSSS Monthly Launch
- Nice straight boost and gentle recovery just like always!
06-22-2007 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Didn't Record 10+ mph winds Event: NERRF 3
- Good flight but VERY windy conditions made for a long recovery walk!
06-30-2007 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds - Some weathercocking didn't detract from an otherwise good flight.
07-28-2007 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Good flight, no problems.
09-30-2007 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds - Slight weathercocking but otherwise very nice flight as usual from this bird
06-01-2008 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Very Late 10+ mph winds - Despite a hard landing on asphalt, not a scratch on it.
06-21-2008 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: NERRF-4
- Landed right next to the LCO Table, perfect
06-28-2008 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds -
08-23-2008 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: North Branch Park NJ
- Typically nice and reliable flight as we have come to expect from the Bullpup!
10-26-2008 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds Event: North Branch Park
- Nice arc on this flight of the Pup
08-16-2009 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: NERRF 5
- Nominal flight, no problems
03-20-2010 Glenn Weiss Est SU B4-4 Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds Event: North Branch Park
- Nominal flight
04-28-2007 Ron Wirth Est SU B4-4 Apogee - NC Up Gusty - Tangled Chute - No damage
06-18-2006 Catesby Wolski Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: Pole Green Park
Precious Metal - Great flight!

Copyright © 2013 by RocketReviews.com