There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Fri Sep 30 12:03:04 2011

Estes
Big Daddy
P.O. Box 227, 1295 H Street
Penrose, CO 81240
(719) 372-6565
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 19" x 3"
ROCKSIM FILE: Right Click to Download
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: 2006 Re-Release: C11-3, D12-3, D12-5, E9-4, E9-6; Original Version: D12-3 (first flight), D12-5

[Picture](01/15/01) In keeping with my likes of "stubby" rockets, I decided to build three more that were around 3 inches in diameter to compliment my 2.6" and my 4" collection. So, I set off to get a LOC Onyx™, a RocketVision Grymm and the Estes Big Daddy™. See my 3" Stubby Rocket Comparison Page

The Estes Big Daddy™ qualifies as a "stubby" rocket because it is 19" long and has a 3" diameter giving it a less than 10:1 ratio (6.3 to be exact).


Rocket PicThe Big Daddy™ could be the next step in the Fat Boy family, however, they are very different, especially the longer nose cone.

The Big Daddy™ includes a 10" long paper glassine coated airframe. It is pre-slotted for the four fins. The plastic nose cone makes up the remaining length. There are four (4) 1/8" thick balsa fins that are die-cut. There are also two (2) 1/16" thick paper centering rings (die-cut). The motor mount is 24mm and 4" in length (2 5/8" is where the motor block is). It includes a standard Estes motor hook. The recovery system consists of a standard 24" plastic parachute and 36" of 1/4" wide elastic. There is an 1/8" launch lug and some decals to complete the kit.

CONSTRUCTION:

The instructions for the Big Daddy™ were consistent with the clear step-by-step method that we expect from Estes. No surprises and the illustrations were clear to allow an easy build.

I deviated from the instructions with the recovery system. They gave 36" of shock cord which isn't too bad in light of Estes norm, however, I feel is was still too short and didn't like the attachment method either. I added a 2' piece of 1/8" Kevlar which I tied around the motor mount and through a hole I made in the upper centering ring. I then tied the provided elastic shock cord to that. The directions did deviate from Estes' normal 3-fold method and instructed you to attach it to the upper centering ring which is a nice change, however, I don't like elastic so close and unprotected to the motor mount and ejection path. So by adding the Kevlar I'm sure to extend the life of that attachment and I extend the length of the shock cord at the same time.

Rocket PicAnother technique I tried while building this rocket was on the balsa fins. I tried gluing paper to them, like a laminate, to give them strength and ease the finishing job. The first was accomplished but it did not ease my finishing job. As you can see I used a thin notebook paper. First I put CA all over the fin and spread it out thin, then applied the notebook paper and then CA'd over the top of the paper. On a couple of the fins the paper seems to bubble which left a problem for finishing. I feel this was due to the thickness of the paper and next time I will use tissue paper. The thickness also made the edge more prominent and it actually had to be filled and hit with several coats of primer to finally get it smooth.

You may also notice in the picture the color of the fin fillet. I used a ProBond glue for the initial fillet and then filled over the top with epoxy. I have used this technique several times and really like it. (additional comments about ProBond glue)

For finishing, I didn't use anything to fill the spirals and just started in with several coats of Plasti-Kote Sandable Primer. After many coats on the fins, I finally was able to hide the paper edge and fill in the paper "bubbles" to a "as good as it gets" finish. I then moved on to the painting. The instructions are clear in how to paint the rocket and the nose cone technique is well described. I chose not to paint the nose cone tip and simply painted the entire rocket gloss black using Walmart's paint. (additional comments about Walmart paint)

Rocket Pic After the paint dried I applied the peel-n-stick decals. They applied nicely and look great on the black rocket.

Overall, for CONSTRUCTION I would rate this kit 4 points. Instructions are good, components are of good quality and the through-the-wall fins make this a nice building kit. The main detraction is the recovery system.

FLIGHT/RECOVERY:

Download RockSIM file here! This file is set up with a modified nose cone weight and a mass object that are used to set the weight equal to my finished rocket (7 ounces) and adjust the CG to 12.5" without motor.

Winter had fallen upon us and it didn't look good to get this bird in the air, however, we planned a vacation to Arizona and it just so happened that there was a launch on 12/23/00. So I packed this rocket and 3 others into a box and shipped them to Arizona. I had to rely on the vendor at the launch for motors and since it was a Tripoli High Power launch, there was not much selection for 24mm motors. I was able to purchase a three-pack of E28-7's which allowed me to fly the Big Daddy™.

RockSim PicI prepped it using a Heat Shield and had swapped out the plastic parachute with an 18" nylon one.

With a picturesque view of mountains in the back and a beautiful Arizonia day, I put the Big Daddy™ up for her maiden voyage. The E28 popped it off the pad and it was straight and stable. It was still traveling up when the ejection charge went off but deployed fine. Descent rate was good and there was no damage upon impact. All-in-all a nice flight.

For FLIGHT/RECOVERY, I would rate this kit 4½ points. This is only based off of one flight, however, as I am not the first one writing a review on the Big Daddy™ and by looking at the flight logs I think everyone would agree that this is a good flier. Others have also changed the recovery system. I will fly it again in the spring.

Overall, the Big Daddy is another very nice "stubby" rocket. After the enhancement of the recovery system and strengthening the fins, I expect to get a lot of flights out of this one. Estes only recommends their D12 motor, however, this one is begging for Apogee (E6's) and Aerotech D-F motors. The only problem for the Apogee motor is the length so use caution with your center of gravity. I give the kit an OVERALL rating of 4½ points.


Rating
(by Andy Tate - 12/01/01)

Brief:Rocket Pic
single stage, 24in. parachute, 24mm motor mount, 3/16 launch lug

Construction:
This is a standard Estes kit. It utilizes TTT (through the tube) fin mounting for the four balsa fins. One three inch paper tube is the body tube with a 24mm paper tube for the motor mount. The nosecone is a large plastic one with the standard Estes shock cord attachment loop. Two cardstock centering rings are included. The shock cord is a length of quarter inch elastic about 24 inches long.

This kit is extremely easy to build. The precut slots in the body tube were not the same size as the tabs on the fins, to get them to fit together, I sanded the tabs a little shorter. The rest of the rocket went together fairly easily. The instructions were typical Estes style. A fin alignment template and tube marker were included. This kit is sturdy as it is, for higher power flights reinforcement may be needed. The only tools needed are a hobby knife, pencil, sandpaper, and glue.

Finishing:
Finishing was straightforward. The instructions tell what colors to put where. The decals gave me a little trouble, the little ones on the tips of the fins were a little hard to get in the right spot. I suggest using soapy water when positioning them. It looks great when painted any way.

Construction Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Flight:
I used the recommended D12-5's on its first flights. Preparation was very easy. It requires wadding and when you think you have enough, add a little more. The shock cord was burned badly after two flights. Motor retention is via the usual Estes hook. It is a great flyer, low and straight, but a fast leap off the pad.

Recovery:
The shock cord is too short. The fins are very soft balsa that dented easily on landing. The shock cord burned after only two flights. The shoulder of the nose cone needs to be cleaned after every flight due to ejection gasses. Recovery was perfect both times, only a few feet from the pad. The descent could have been a little slower but it works great.

Flight Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Summary:
This is a great kit. It is easily built in about an hour. It flies great also. The only downside is the shock cord, it is too short.  I recommend it to anyone that wants a good flying and easy to build rocket.

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5


[Picture]
- by Jim Stuckman [Who's Who Page] 

[Rocket Pic]19" LG X 3" Dia
24" Parachute
24mm Motor Mount - D12-3 & 5 recommended

This is a great sport flyer that builds very quickly. If you upgrade the parachute to a quality nylon chute you have a very versatile companion for your Aerotech 24mm RMS!

Construction: 4 ½ out of 5

My kit is a pre-release beta kit so it did not come in the standard Estes packaging - just a basic plastic bag. All parts were present & accounted for. The heavy North Coast 3" body tube & nose cone are top quality. The balsa used in the fins was also of good quality and harder than many recent Estes kits have used. 

The instructions were very clear and leave no doubt as to the proper assembly. If you have built a skill level 1 kit you'll have no problem with this bird. If it were not for the 24mm motor this kit would surely have been skill level 1. The kit uses precut slots for the "thru the wall to the mount" fins. This makes building a snap! Be sure to apply fillets as described in the instructions - especially if you plan on using composite E & F motors.

Since I planned on flying this rocket on F motors, I made a couple of minor modifications. The kit comes with a pre-assembled 24" plastic parachute and standard Estes paper shock cord mount. Both of these components are fine for flying on the recommended D12 motor but should be upgraded IMO if flying hotter motors. I used a length of Pratt Hobbies Kevlar line, epoxied to the wall of the BT for a shock cord anchor. I substituted a spare 18" nylon chute I had in my rangebox supplied 24. I also added approx. 3/4 oz. of clay to the nose to offset the weight of the RMS F reload.

The basic color scheme for this rocket is black with a yellow tip on the NC. Red & Yellow decals with the kit name really make an eye catching rocket on the pad. 

Flying: 4 ½ out of 5

This rocket follows the usual prep procedure. I used cellulose insulation for wadding. To ensure retention of my RMS case the motor hook had a wrap of masking tape applied. I flew this at a club launch in December on a very large field so I didn't even fly it on the D12. The F24-7 reload was perfect! The Firestar igniter lit the motor without hesitation and the rocket boosted straight to about 800'. The parachute deployed perfectly and rocket was recovered without incident. Even with an 18" chute the Big Daddy was in no hurry to land. Future flights on F motors will be done with a 14" LOC nylon chute but the 18" will be used on D & E motors.

Summary:

I really enjoyed building and flying this rocket. It's construction is very straight forward and can easily be ready to paint in an evening. Like the Fatboy, this airframe has many possibilities - 29mm, cluster, staged, etc. Use your imagination and have fun!

Overall Rating: 4 ½ out of 5


Rating
(Contributed - by Jon Revelle - 04/01/05)

Rocket PicBrief:
Short, stubby, and fun rocket. Flies on Estes D engines. Unfortunately I think it was just discontinued because it was not in Estes' 2005 Catalog.

Construction:
The rocket made its debut in the mid 1990s. At the time, kits were being made with a 4/6 sided box with a bag. This one was no exception. It had:

  • 1 Nose Cone
  • 1 Fat body tube
  • 1 24mm Motor tube
  • 1 Sheet of balsa
  • 2 Centering rings
  • 1 24" Parachute
  • 1 Shock Cord (too short)
  • 1 Launch lug
  • Decals

The rocket was quite easy to build. I had no trouble with the T3 (through the tube) system used on the fins. I had the rocket done in about 4 hours (counting paint time). The shock cord is mounted to the centering ring. I hate this method because even if I use a lot of wadding, it still manages to fry the shock cord or parachute. This failure did eventually happen to this rocket, as well as with the V2. The nose cone also has a large transition, which leaves very little room for the parachute and wadding.

Finishing:
I don't use sanding sealer or such because I'm very impatient. First I sprayed the whole rocket gloss black then painted the tip of the nose cone a bright gloss yellow. Finally, I applied decals and was done.

Construction Rating: 4 out of 5

Flight:
I have only flown mine once at a Flight Fest, where I launched 30 rockets of my fleet on December 28, 2004. Because of the cold, I was worried about the parachute because many chutes had already failed to open properly.

The rocket uses about 12 sheets of wadding. I then set it up with an Estes D12-5 and let it rip. Big Daddy soared to about 300 feet.

Recovery:
The rocket recovers on a 24" parachute which popped out easily. Amazingly, it survived the cold and the Big Daddy came down at perfect speed. However, when I went to retrieve it, I picked it up and the shock cord snapped. The parachute shroud lines were also falling apart. Probably because of the shock cord being mounted onto the motor mount.

Flight Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Summary:
This is a very nice kit but I think Estes should give it an E motor mount. It's a shame to see it go away if it really is being discontinued. I want to get another Big Daddy to modify and fly on Aerotech 29mm motors!

Overall Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
06/08 - "The Big Daddy has enough appeal by now to be considered an Estes classic. I papered the fins on one of mine and regularly fly it on G motors. I found the parts in 3 kits so far, to be quality materials." (A.H.)

GUEST's OPINION:
06/08 - "Save yourself about thirty bucks and DON'T BUY THIS KIT! The balsa fins are flimsy and prone to breakage (thru-the-wall construction can only help so much). The shock cord and mounting is outdated. And the plastic parachute is cheap and ugly. I was told that the legendary Matt "The Man Of" Steele designed the original Big Daddy for Estes. But I find it hard to believe that the man who spearheaded North Coast Rocketry could've had ANYTHING to do with a bungholeo of a kit like this." (T.W.)

GUEST's OPINION:
11/01 - "I did this rocket after I got it as a factory reject. The fins were missing but I got the pattern from a friend and I put it together stock except I added another 24mm mount and used 1/4 nylon for the shock cord. First flight was on 2 D12-5's. It was a perfect flight and it came down on a 24'' nylon chute. Next I will try 2 E9's or reloadable E11's. Hmmm, I wonder what 2 F39's will do. :)" (C.V.H.)

GUEST's OPINION:
10/01 - "This is a great rocket kit, especially for those just getting into bigger diameters/engines. Very sturdy and stable. One suggestion I would make is to turn the "yellow spacer tube" supplied in the kit into an ejection baffle. I used the extra balsa wood from the fins to make a plug for the tube, cut holes all around the top inch of the tube, then glued it into the top of the motor mount, resting on the thrust ring. Works like a charm, and doesn't go through 30 pieces of wadding per launch." (M.V.L.)

GUEST's OPINION:
10/01 - "The Big Daddy was my third rocket. The other two being E2X kits it was quite a jump to explorer kits. I was very impressed with the first flight on a D12-3. Straight up 350'. However the second flight was not so successful. I counted to 5 for the delay on the D12-5. But the ejection never happened. It came down like a shell and made a huge thud as it burried itself into the grass. The nose cone was squashed inside the body tube. At first I thought the motor mount had fallen out, but then I realized it was at the top of the rocket. When I finally got it apart I could see the motor mount tube had ripped itself free of the two centering rings. The tube was crimped, the nose cone dirty and the parachute melted together. Amazingly I fixed it, and flew it again on a D12-3, the flight was perfect. A few weeks later I flew it again on a D12-5. Guess what, it nose dived again! I think I might be able to fix it again, but I might just get a new one! Great first D rocket though, and I'm sure it could take E and F motors too." (P.T.)

GUEST's OPINION:
09/01 - "This is a fun rocket. My son and I built it stone stock and finished like the photo. Using D-12 motors the Big Daddy takes off slow, almost too slow as it was substantially above the launch rod before aerodynamic stability was apparent. We also cut a spill hole in the center of the chute to cut drift and soon had it landing within a few feet of the launch pad. Flight number seven was the Big Daddy's unlucky one. A slow lift off combined with a slight tendency to fly into the wind (over stability?)put the Big Daddy into a low drift which ended in the top of a 60 foot maple tree 150 yards down range. Several weeks later the cheap Estes shock cord broke in a wind and the Daddy returned to earth minus the nose cone and chute. Even though having hung in a tree for weeks it was in surprisingly good shape and will soon fly again. I plan to try a 6 foot launch rod this time to give the Daddy a little more time to stabilize at lift off." (T.J.C.)

GUEST's OPINION:
06/01 - "I highly agree with the above comment. I bought the kit when it first came out. The projected altitude of 350 feet caught my eye too. I thought about flying it on a high school field. I was getting desperate and wanted to see it fly but held off the get-go fever. The next summer I was granted permission to launch from a giant hay field. Boy am I glad I waited. The projected altitude of 350 feet looked about right but because of the large parachute this thing must of drifted at least a 1/4 mile. I recently replaced the 24 inch chute with an 18 inch one but haven't tried it out yet. Excellent rocket, highly recommended A++++." (D.B.Jr.)

GUEST's OPINION:
06/01 - "I really like this rocket. The review is very accurate. Estes really had a winner with this kit. I have about 6 flights on mine so far. It is built like a tank. I launched it in high winds one time and it curved into the ground while the motor was still burning but no damage. I love this rocket so much that I'm going to buy 2 more. One of which I plan to cluster on 4 C motors I give this kit a 6 on a scale of 1 to 5. I highly recommend it to anybody. It is super easy and fun to build and fly. I was my third rocket. By the way it also flies well on single C motors." (D.C.)

GUEST's OPINION:
06/01 - "I would like to update my previous comment. Recently I launched my Big Daddy with the smaller 18 inch chute. It came down a little faster than I would of liked. Because of the tall grass at my field no damage resulted. If anyone makes a 20 inch chute, this would probably be the way to go." (D.B.Jr.)

GUEST's OPINION:
05/01 - "I thought this would be a good candidate to fly on a small field since the box claims 350' flights on the D engine. WOW! Was that ever wildly pessimistic! This thing went almost twice that before landing on the roof of a house that borders our launch field. (The field has since been renamed "B6-4 Field".) Luckily the houses owner was in as big a hurry to get the rocket off of his roof as I was. He wouldn't even let me clean his gutters for him as payment for use of his ladder. Bottom line: Make sure you have ample space on your chosen field and DON'T believe everything you read on Estes packages." (B.E.)

GUEST's OPINION:
04/01 - "Maybe it's just me, but I love stubby fellas like the Big Daddy and Fat Boy. I thoroughly enjoyed building the Daddy, with my only complaint being the fin slots were longer than they needed to be. But that's a minor complaint. I made two modifications: I used braided steel picture-hanging wire run through a hole in the forward engine ring and wrapped around (and glued to) the engine tube to protect the shock cord from ejection heat. The wire extends to the top of the tube, where the shock cord is then tied. I also cut the Estes logo out of the 'chute, and thought the descent rate was about right when flown on the D. I had a bit of wind and was afraid she'd drift away. Great flight, flawless recovery. A real nice flyer." (G.B.)

GUEST's OPINION:
04/00 - "This is my best rocket. It is very sturdy and has withstood several hard flights. The only modifications I would make is to get some Nomex permanent wadding because this rocket takes like 10-11 sheets of wadding and half the time the shoot melts anyway. This is a great rocket and I recommend it to anyone who is looking for a long-lasting rocket." (E.P.)

GUEST's OPINION:
11/99 - "I have put the Big Daddy up five times. The motors were: 2 D12's, 2 E30's, and one F12. The first D had a recovery failure, the upper centering ring got pulled out due to the use of some terrible Radio Shack glue. After epoxy was used to improve the rocket (including taking out the motor clip and beefing the thing up), I started pushing the rocket. The E-30 gives a nice fast flight, and the F12 gives a nice soft contrast to my typical G125/F101 flights. The rocket is very solid, It could probably take an F72 (in terms of strength if not stability)." (R.T.)

GUEST's OPINION:
07/99 - "I agree that the Big Daddy is an above average kit. I upped its fun factor by installing a 29mm LOC stuffer tube with plywood centering rings, a heavy duty shock cord mount, 30" Top Flite nylon chute, and glassed the entire airframe before painting. About 5 oz of clay and epoxy in the nose was needed for stability. With an F62 Dark Star or G35 Econojet, it will get off the pad in a hurry for arrow-straight flights to about 2000'. I'm tickled with the conversion, and it is a real crowd pleaser." (T.T.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
06/10 - "As others have mentioned, this rocket really likes to drift once that 24" chute deploys. Even with a low altitude launch on a windy day, my kids get a workout chasing this one down. I decided to try out a Top Flite Recovery 24" X-type chute and voila, it's a match made in heaven! BTW, a Nomexģ chute protector is a must. A 9" x 9" works well for me. No more wadding! Enjoy!" (T.R.W. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
11/02 - "Question: (JT from RMR): I want to strengthen and modify the Big Daddy to take up to an F motor. What would I have to do? I'm thinking of constructing with epoxy, putting in thin plywood disks glued to the centering rings, and something else that you can help me with. Thanks for any help you can provide. Answer: For F motors, just laminate the balsa fins with copier paper using thin CA or thinned white glue. You don't need epoxy, it just adds weight you don't want on the back end. For the centering rings, an extra layer of balsa - again soaked in thin CA - will be plenty strong. Watch that CG! You'll probably need some nose weight." (R.T.P. from R.M.R. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
11/02 - "Question: (JT from RMR): I want to strengthen and modify the Big Daddy to take up to an F motor. What would I have to do? I'm thinking of constructing with epoxy, putting in thin plywood disks glued to the centering rings, and something else that you can help me with. Thanks for any help you can provide. Answer: I just last week finished a Big Daddy and I'm quite impressed with its strength. The only mods I did were simple, and should allow the use of the mighty G55 motor, as well as any 24mm D or F reload. I trimmed the motor hook to allow any length of motor to pass by. The motor hook does stick into the motor mount tube, but not through. I wrapped extra tape around it and if I remember, it got some epoxy on it during the fin fillet process. I glued the upper CR onto the MMT, and when dry, slid it into the BT and bonded it in place. I set the lower CR on the MMT for alignment, but did not glue it. When the upper CR was dry, I removed the aft CR and tacked each fin onto the MMT with super glue. Then the fillet process; six fillets were made at fin/BT and fin/MMT interfaces. I layed a very thin fillet of epoxy into these places with a long balsa stick. The only other mod was using Kevlar string for a shock cord anchor. I made a loop of Kevlar cord to go around the MMT and pass up through the upper CR. To this I will attach the supplied elastic cord and chute. This guy will fly nice on the D15-4T reload, the E18-7or -4 depending on wind conditions, the E28-7 and the F39-9T. I will also stick a G55-10 in it for a nice ride. The fin material is thick and very strong on this kit. There is no need to beef up the wood for up to a G motor. I doubt if I will add any nose weight, but I have yet to load a motor and check CP/CG relationship. " (S.B. from R.M.R. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
11/02 - "Question: (JT from RMR): I want to strengthen and modify the Big Daddy to take up to an F motor. What would I have to do? I'm thinking of constructing with epoxy, putting in thin plywood disks glued to the centering rings, and something else that you can help me with. Thanks for any help you can provide. Answer: The only mod I would make is to the mmt tube, my 2.6 inch V2's mmt tube is pretty well toasted after two F21 flights. Either use a mmt tube such as LOC's, or coat the inside of the yellow spacer that comes in most Estes D engine kits with epoxy, and then glue it into the upper section of the mmt. Also, check your CG with the F motors, some nose weight might be needed. " (D.L. from R.M.R. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
05/02 - "Use an 18 inch chute instead of the provided 24 inch one. This will shorten your recovery walk but will still allow the rocket to land without breaking anything." (D.B.Jr )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
04/02 - "Instead of attaching the shock cord directly to the forward thrust ring as the instructions state, instead attach about a 6-inch length of picture-hanging or other wire to the ring, tying the shock cord to the fore end of the wire. This greatly reduces damage to the shock cord caused by ejection charges, and the gain in length places reduced stress on the shock cord as well." (G.B. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
03/02 - "Build an ejection baffle or go broke buying wadding. I suggest taking the yellow spacer tube, plug it with extra balsa from the fin sheet (coat it with CA to make it stronger first), and punch holes in the sides. Then, glue it into the top of the motor tube to create your baffle. You'll need to protect the shock cord and put a little wadding to protect the chute some more, but this will save alot." (M.V.L. )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
07-28-2003 Luke - Est SU C11-5 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm - First Flight, bit heavier than most at 7.4 oz. with extra paint. Nice lift-off and straight flight. Slow descent, maybe add holes to chute to speed descent for D12 Motorsnext time. C11-5 worked well.
12-29-2005 David Allen Est SU C11-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - EXCELLENT first motor for this rocket. Laser straight boost and perfect deployment.
12-29-2005 David Allen Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Very good motor for this rocket. Straight boost with very little weather-cocking even with the decent breezes today.
09-12-2009 Mike Armstrong Est SU D12-3 Just Past (1-2sec)
(300 ft)
Calm Event: NEFAR monthly launch
- First flight. Good launch and flight. Ejection charge burned shroud lines but parachute acted as a streamer. Will replace chute and use better wadding. Motor a little underpowered.
11-14-2009 Mike Armstrong AT SU E30-7 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds Event: NEFAR Bunnell Blast
Yellow Daddy - Great flight. E-30 is a good motor for this bird. Went straight up about 900-1000 feet and had good chute deployment. I have a good time everytime this one flies.
11-14-2009 Mike Armstrong AT SU F32-7 Very Early 5-10 mph winds Event: NEFAR Bunnell Blast
Yellow Daddy - Did not get very high at all. Either the ejection charge fired at lift off or the rocket was unstable with the motor. Probably the motor stability. Will add nose weight and try again.
02-06-2010 Mike Armstrong AT SU F32-4 Apogee - NC Down Gusty Yellow Daddy - Windy and gusty day to 30 mph. Launched into the wind with no problems. Great motor for this rocket. Wind caught parachute and took it about a half mile. Recovered in pasture. Good flight.
03-04-2000 Randy Ashley Est SU D12 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - Rocket Appeared to be on the verge of being unstable. I will add more nose weight before the next flight.
03-05-2000 Randy Ashley RV SU E15 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - Now rocket is too heavy, I need more motor. Giver all you got Scotty.
03-05-2000 Randy Ashley RV SU F72 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Wow, more like it. It got way up there and quick. Glad I glassed the fins.
03-05-2000 Randy Ashley RV SU G55 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - Delay very long. This motor was intended for Mach Buster with long delay. Still recovered with no damage.
03-11-2000 Randy Ashley RV SU G55 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Delay closer with the straighter launch angle I used today. After the last launch I cut the base out of the nosecone to make room for the chute. The G-55 is way to long for the motor mount.
03-12-2000 Randy Ashley RV SU F72 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Once again nice flight. Very consistent flyer. This time changed chute out with a piece of Garbage bag just waiving in the wind like a streamer. This rocket with the glassed fins can handle the rough landings and the streamer looking thingy doesnt drif
03-12-2000 Randy Ashley RV SU F72 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - This is one cool ride with these big motors. Now I want to rip out the mounts and put in a 29mm mount to fly it on an H.
12-08-2002 Iain Banks 4x Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Excellent maiden flight. Nice slow launch with all four engines providing lots of flame and smoke. Landed hard with only a small crack to paintwork on one fin, 18 chute too small for extra weight added by modifications, next time a 24 chute will be used.
05-07-2006 George Beever Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Weathercocked
08-07-2004 William Beggs Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: Bear Creek Lake Park, Lakewood, CO
- Great flight and recovery.
10-08-2004 William Beggs Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: North
- Great flight and recovery.
11-07-2004 William Beggs Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: Bear Creek Lake Park, Lakewood, CO
- Great flight and recovery.
01-15-2005 William Beggs Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: Bear Creek Lake Park, Lakewood, CO
- Perfect flight and recovery.
02-10-2007 William Beggs Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Rio Rancho
- Parabolic flight but recovered perfectly.
02-10-2007 William Beggs Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: Rio Rancho, NM
- Perfect flight and recovery.
05-12-2007 William Beggs Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Rio Rancho, NM
- Good flight.
06-09-2007 William Beggs Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: Rio Rancho, NM
- Perfect flight and recovery.
09-01-2007 William Beggs Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: TITD-2007
- Perfect flight and recovery.
03-08-2008 William Beggs Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Rio Rancho, NM
- Great flight. No damage.
04-16-2005 William Beggs Est SU D12-5 Very Late Calm RIPEvent: Mile-High Mayhem
- Rocket crashed due to late delay. Body tube needs to be repaired. Status: Retired
06-28-2008 Tom Benson Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Maiden flight. Slow, noisy, fun.
11-23-2008 John Bergsmith AT RMS E28-4 Just Before 0-5 mph winds Event: Club Launch
- Straight fast boost, this is way the Big Daddy should fly. Ejected just before, but recovered with no damage. Great flying rocket when you get away from the Estes E9 motors.
11-23-2008 John Bergsmith AT RMS E28-4 Just Before 0-5 mph winds Event: Club Launch
- Another straight boost, leaves the pad in a hurry. Awesome motor for this rocket.
09-19-2009 Moe Bertrand Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Amesbury, MA
- Guest flying with CMASS at Amesbury, MA. My first ever Big Daddy, bought from Boris Katan, built at the field in under an hour and flown (nekkid of course) four times with varying degrees of success. 1st flight picture perfect.
09-19-2009 Moe Bertrand Est SU C11-3 Very Late 10+ mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Amesbury, MA
- 2nd flight of Big Daddy. C11-3 just not enough power in the breeze we were flying in. Arched over and lawn darted hard...ejected after impact. Major damage to airframe ahead of motor mount...repaired on field and flew 2 more times :)
09-19-2009 Moe Bertrand Est SU E9-6 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Amesbury, MA
- Great third flight of my bandaged Big Daddy after the crushing impact of the previous flight. Very nice on the E9-6...breeze brought it back very close to where I was standing...just a bit behind me.
09-19-2009 Moe Bertrand Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Amesbury, MA
- 4th n final flight of Big Daddy for today. Great boost in the Amesbury breeze. Stuck the landing but one fin split chordwise on landing. Soon Daddy will be flying high in Arizona. Thanks for the great day CMASS!
10-19-2000 Donald Besaw Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Up
(350 ft)
0-5 mph winds - Good flight up to about 350 feet with slight spin, long drift on recovery.
04-02-2001 Donald Besaw Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Rocket arched into the wind. Flew over highway. Luckily parachute ejected and rocket returned to launch area.
05-12-2001 Donald Besaw Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Flew in a drag race with another Big Daddy. Lost the race. Still had a perfect flight and recovery.
05-30-2001 Donald Besaw Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Flew perfectly straight. Used smaller 18 inch chute. Came down a little fast but sustained no damage.
06-06-2001 Donald Besaw Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Excellent routine flight.
07-14-2001 Donald Besaw Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Very nice flight totalling 7 to date. Long drift but good recovery.
05-20-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight and recovery. No damage.
02-23-2003 Donald Besaw Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Rocket arced over after liftoff. A friend of mine managed to catch the rocket before touchdown.
04-27-2003 Donald Besaw Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Very nice flight, the straightest flight I've had with this rocket in awhile. No damage.
07-05-2003 Donald Besaw Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Very nice flight, chute stripped a few lines, rocket came down tumbling. No damage to the rocket but the chute is toast. No biggie.
06-08-2004 Donald Besaw Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm - Very nice straight flight up to about 550-600 feet. Recovered very nicely on a Rockethead Rocket 18 inch mylar chute very close to the pad. No damage.
03-28-2009 Duane Boldt Est SU E9-6 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Desert Heat 2009
- The Big Daddy's are fun on these motors.
05-27-2007 Zane Brant Est SU B6-M None - Nose Cone Stuck
(300 ft)
0-5 mph winds RIP - good short flight, but no ejection.whent strate down; stuck in ground about 3 inchs!Crushed body and fins from shock.Destroyed all internalls insantly. R.I.P. Status: Not Repairable
08-08-2006 Frank Broughton Est SU C11-3 Very Late 10+ mph winds Event: Butler, PA
- Woe! Wind cocked very badly. Very late ejection. No damage, just to my ego - had 100 plus people watching. Too heavy for motor size used.
04-02-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - I like the 5 sec delay better than the 3 in this rocket
04-02-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU E9-4 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - Just past sunset , huge flame way up into the twilight sky. Recovered safely after a long walk . Delay alittle short , will try 6 sec next time .
04-09-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Perfect flight
04-24-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU C11-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds Daddy's Daddy - Not very high , underpowered
04-24-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Great flight , slight tangle in chute , no damage
04-30-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect Gusty Event: METRA
Daddy's Daddy -
04-30-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect Gusty Event: METRA
Daddy's Daddy -
04-30-2006 Richie Brunjes AT RMS E11-4 Apogee - Perfect Gusty Event: METRA
Daddy's Daddy - This motor was made for this rocket. Nice slow burn and real smokey
04-30-2006 Richie Brunjes AT RMS E11-4 Apogee - Perfect Gusty Event: METRA
Daddy's Daddy - It was so cool the first time I had to do it again
06-04-2006 Richie Brunjes AT RMS E11-4 Apogee - Perfect Calm Grateful Dad - Perfect motor for this rocket. I like the slow burn and the black smoke
06-26-2006 Richie Brunjes AT RMS E11-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: NERRF2
Grateful Dad - Perfect motor for this rocket. Landed in a tree but was retrieved with the help of METRA's pole and a few other fliers ( thanks guys )
06-27-2006 Richie Brunjes AT RMS E18-4 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: NERRF2
Grateful Dad - Flys nice on this motor, much faster than the Estes E9.
06-27-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: NERRF2
Grateful Dad - Launched in the pouring rain, still flew nice. Our last launch at NERRF2
09-10-2006 Richie Brunjes AT RMS D9-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds Event: Tanner Park
Grateful Dad - First flight on this motor , real nice
06-04-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect Calm RIP - Landed in the river and floated away. I followed it downstream for a while , then it went into private property and is gone forever Status: Lost
04-30-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU E9-6 None - Nose Cone Stuck Gusty RIPEvent: METRA
Daddy's Daddy - Status: Lawn Dart
06-22-2007 Richie Brunjes Est SU D12-7 None - Nose Cone Stuck 10+ mph winds RIPEvent: METRA
Grateful Dad - Status: Not Repairable
01-15-2006 Dave Brunsting Est SU C11-3 Apogee - NC Down 10+ mph winds - Great motor for this bird.
01-15-2006 Dave Brunsting Est SU C11-3 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds -
04-22-2006 Dave Brunsting Est SU D12-5 Very Late 10+ mph winds Event: Team-1, Three Oaks, Michigan
- Not sure why this ejected so late but it's a good thing I added all that extra shock cord.
02-26-2006 Dave Brunsting Est SU D12-5 None - Nose Cone Stuck 10+ mph winds RIPEvent: Tripoli Michiana Club Launch
- Once again I was cursed with a low-powered ejection charge and this time it shredded on impact with the frozen ground. Status: Lawn Dart
07-04-2006 Joe Cacciatore Est SU C11-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Great first flight on a C11, lands in tall grass close to a stream.
07-04-2006 Joe Cacciatore Est SU E9-6 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Good flight although rocket didn't go where aimed, went about 800' and lands on blacktop, no damage.
07-04-2006 Joe Cacciatore Est SU E9-6 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Winds change and it started to rain during launch, aimmed to the west, went to the east. Lands near edge of forest. Never flew in the rain before!
07-16-2006 Joe Cacciatore Est SU C11-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Nice, low flight on a C11.
07-16-2006 Joe Cacciatore Est SU E9-6 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Nice, long boost on an E9. Lands in tall grass by swamp but was able to recover.
07-16-2006 Joe Cacciatore Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Seems to go almost as high as with an E9. Lands at edge of tall grass.
07-16-2006 Joe Cacciatore Est SU D12-7 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - Seven second delay worked good, lands OK.
07-30-2006 Joe Cacciatore Est SU C11-3 Just Past (1-2sec) Light winds - Nice, short flight, lands close.
11-17-2002 Stephen Corban AT SU E15-7 Very Late 5-10 mph winds - Another round of bonus dealys, I counted 9
11-17-2002 Stephen Corban Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Part of a drag race
08-21-2004 Keenan Cox AT RMS F12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm - Nice flight. Flew to about 1100 feet. Some weathercocking.
08-28-2004 Keenan Cox AT RMS F24-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Great flight. Flew to about 1500 feet. Some weathercocking.
09-18-2004 Keenan Cox AT RMS F24-4 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - Great flight. Flew very straight. Very fast. Loud whistle. Flew to about 1800 feet.
09-18-2004 Keenan Cox AT RMS F24-4 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight. Flew to about 1900 feet.
09-25-2004 Keenan Cox Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - First D motor flight on this rocket. Flew about 300 feet.
12-11-2004 Keenan Cox AT RMS F24-4 None - Nose Cone Stuck 0-5 mph winds RIP - Good flight. Ejection charge after it hit the ground. I'm still not sure what happened. Completely destroyed from a fall of about 2000 feet. Status: Not Repairable
05-12-2001 Daniel Cutteridge Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Big D - Flew very nice. Big D is a very stable rocket and is fun to build and fly.
11-20-2004 Clive Davis Est SU C11-3 Very Late 0-5 mph winds Event: My Private 37th Birthday Launch, Sheffield, MA
- This motor is just too weak for this rocket, but my co-workers' children were watching and helping, so I flew the BD. Ejection was very late, parachute deployed maybe 30 ft. from the ground.
10-16-2004 Robert Davis Est SU D12-7 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - My son received the rocket already assembled from a friend, so not sure of the build. Delay was way too long, but it finally ejected about 75 feet from the ground. Chute failed to open, but no damage.
10-16-2004 Robert Davis Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - 3 second delay is the way to go. Chute opened fine and rocket looked great. Very happy child.
10-16-2004 Robert Davis Est SU E9-6 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Shoved an E-9 into the back of the Big Daddy and rigged a retainer ring out of tape around the motor for the engine hook to grab onto, then taped the hook to the motor. Nice flight to about 600' or so.
12-13-2004 Robert Davis Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Nice slow lift-off from the pad. Went up to maybe 300'. Chute failed to open completely, but suffered no damage on landing.
12-13-2004 Robert Davis Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Another slow lift-off. Chute opened fine this time.
01-15-2005 Robert Davis AT SU E30-7 Just Before Calm - Flew to around 1000'. Would have gone a little higher, but ejection was early. 10 seconds would probably be better. Landed about 180' away
03-19-2005 Robert Davis Est SU D12-5 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - Nice slow lift-off to no more than 300'. Scary decent with the late delay, thought it was going into the ground. Ejected about 60' from the ground.
11-13-2004 Robert Davis Est SU D12-3 None - Nose Cone Stuck 0-5 mph winds RIPEvent: Centennial of Flight RSL
- Nice lift-off. Heard the ejection charge, but nose cone stayed in rocket. Perfect aerodynamics brought rocket down like an ICBM into soft dirt, nose cone down (3 deep). Motor mount died, tube crumpled. Status: Core Sample
06-16-2002 George Dean Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Down 10+ mph winds - Flew the 'Daddy for Father's Day. Turned hard into the wind (glad I chose a short delay!). Good eject and drifted to within 30 feet of the pad. Used a Heatshield and it worked great.
07-20-2004 Frank DiMatteo Est SU D12-3 None - Nose Cone Stuck 5-10 mph winds RIPEvent: NIRA club launch
- The nose cone got stuck and the parachute never came out. It crashed and I could not fix it. Status: Not Repairable
03-26-2006 Tim Dicke 2x Est SU C6-7 + 1x Est SU E9-6 Just Before 5-10 mph winds Event: VOA Park
- Very quick flight. The E9-6 ejected last making a nice fireball when the rocket was under chute. Used my new homemade 12in nylon chute for recovery. Recovered fine but will try a slightly larger chute on calm days to slow the descent.
03-26-2006 Tim Dicke 2x Est SU C6-7 + 1x Est SU E9-6 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - Very quick flight. The E9-6 ejected last making a nice fireball when the rocket was under chute. Used my new homemade 12in nylon chute for recovery. Recovered fine but will try a slightly larger chute on calm days to slow the descent.
04-09-2006 Tim Dicke 1x Est SU E9-6 + 2x Est SU C6-7 Just Before 5-10 mph winds Event: VOA Park
- Got 'em all. Weathercocked a bit. Used my new homemade 14 nylon chute. Very nice recovery for this rocket.
04-09-2006 Tim Dicke 1x Est SU E9-6 + 2x Est SU C6-7 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - Got 'em all. Weathercocked a bit. Used my new homemade 14 nylon chute. Very nice recovery for this rocket.
05-27-2006 Tim Dicke AT RMS E18-7 Just Before 0-5 mph winds Event: VOA Park
- Another nice boost. Ejected a little early too. Broke a shroud line on the parachute. Recovered OK.
05-27-2006 Tim Dicke AT RMS E18-7 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - Another nice boost. Ejected a little early too. Broke a shroud line on the parachute. Recovered OK.
07-08-2006 Tim Dicke 1x Est SU E9-6 + 2x Est SU C6-7 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds Event: VOA Park
- One of the fins took a bit of a ding when it landed on one of the asphalt park roads. Lit all three of the motors using Quickburst Poppers.
07-08-2006 Tim Dicke 1x Est SU E9-6 + 2x Est SU C6-7 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds Event: VOA Park
- One of the fins took a bit of a ding when it landed on one of the asphalt park roads. Lit all three of the motors using Quickburst Poppers.
10-21-2007 Tim Dicke 2x Est SU C6-7, 1x Est SU E9-6 None - Unknown 5-10 mph winds Event: VOA Park
- 1 of the 2x C6-7's did not light most likely due to an ignitor failure. Off axis thrust caused an unstable flight that ended in a lawn dart on the flight line. No damage.
10-21-2007 Tim Dicke 2x Est SU C6-7, 1x Est SU E9-6 None - Unknown 5-10 mph winds - 1 of the 2x C6-7's did not light most likely due to an ignitor failure. Off axis thrust caused an unstable flight that ended in a lawn dart on the flight line. No damage.
04-12-2003 Bill Dreyling AT RMS E28-7 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds - Good, straight flight even with 10 ~ 15 mph winds. 18 inch 'chute was a bit small and landed hard and cracked one fin. Will fly again after minor repairs.
05-10-2003 Bill Dreyling AT RMS E28-7 Very Late 5-10 mph winds - Good flight up into a light wind. I got a bonus on the delay time, as the 'chute deployement occurred about 3~4 seconds after apogee. Recovered with a 30 'chute with no damage.
12-23-2000 EMRR AT RMS E28-7 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - Was still going up, but not too much left. Nice first flight and recovery. Straight as an arrow and it seemed to like the E28.
07-03-2001 EMRR AT RMS E11-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - This was a good flight and recovery
07-03-2001 EMRR AT RMS E18-5 Very Late 5-10 mph winds - Excellent roar on this motor, but it came off the pad the wrong direction and then I thought it would never eject, but it did then proceed to hang itself in a tree about 30 feet up. I'm waiting
08-10-2001 EMRR AT RMS F39-9 None - Unknown 0-5 mph winds RIP - Awesome launch and equally awesome landing, destroying the rocket! Ejection charge had gone off, but I don't know what happened! Status: Lawn Dart
04-29-2001 Bill Eichelberger Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Winds were non-existent at launch, but picked up just as rocket reached apogee. Rocket drifted onto roof of a house. Homeowner volunteered use of his ladder for the rescue. Thanks, Bob!
07-22-2001 Bill Eichelberger Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Part of a 3 Daddy drag race. They took off simultaneously and crossed paths at about the 100' level. All three recovered close to pad. Very impressive.
09-02-2001 Bill Eichelberger Est SU D12-5 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds RIP - A Big Daddy lawn dart that all but destroyed the top of the body tube and nose cone. There never was an ejection charge, so I'll be calling Estes. Status: Lawn Dart
11-16-2002 Eric Ellington AT RMS E11-3 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - Built stock with wood glue. 18 chute. First Fire Jr ignitor. Quick ignition. Nice boost. Delay seemed a bit short. No damage. Short walk.
11-17-2002 Eric Ellington AT RMS E11-3 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - Using 18 in. chute and First Fire Jr ignitors. Quick ignition and great boost. Delay seems more like the 3 sec Aerotech says, not the 4 sec NAR says. Still a fun motor for this rocket.
11-17-2002 Eric Ellington AT RMS F39-6 Very Early 0-5 mph winds - Aerotech says 6 sec delay. NAR says 3. Believe NAR on this one. Shredded the chute. Otherwise no damage. Love that quick boost, but longer delay next time. Can't keep tempting the rocket gods.
06-05-2009 Michael Emerick Est SU E9-6 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds -
05-19-2003 Jon Ferrara Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - very good flight and i did it 2 more because i liked it so much next time i plan to send it up on a E
05-19-2003 Jon Ferrara Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - very good flight and i did it 2 more because i liked it so much next time i plan to send it up on a E
09-13-2009 Chris Fisher Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Perfect first flight. Weather cocked as expected so height not great, but otherwise flew ok.
06-26-2009 Matt Gillard Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - arched boost, good flight.
10-10-2010 Matt Gillard Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Up 10+ mph winds - great flight
06-26-2009 Matt Gillard Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds RIP - great straight boost, then drifted into tree! Status: Tree/Roof
07-03-2010 Chris Gonnerman 4x Est SU C6-5 Just Before 10+ mph winds Flight Picture Big Daddy 4x18 - Beautiful launch, ejected just before apogee, recovered without damage. Weathercocked more than I'd expect from such a short fat rocket.
04-03-2005 Andrew Grippo Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Good flight and recovery but not a lot of height with this motor. Begging for an Estes E motor or an AT RMS. Short walk for recovery and no damage.
08-27-2005 Andrew Grippo Est SU E9-6 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Event: SOLAR Monthly Launch
- Great flight. This rocket took off and flew like it was on a rail. Good delay popped the chute right as it began it's descent from apogee. Recovered near pad without damage.
01-07-2006 Andrew Grippo Est SU E9-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Good flight and motor - delay combination. No damage to rocket after recovery.
07-29-2006 Andrew Grippo Est SU E9-6 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - A fun flight that boosted great and stuck the landing right on the road.
06-02-2007 Andrew Grippo Est SU E9-6 None - Parachute Fail 0-5 mph winds Event: Monthly Launch
- Rod whip sent the rocket on horizontal flight fifty feet off the ground. Plastic chute stripped during high velocity deployment but no damage to rocket.
02-23-2008 Andrew Grippo Est SU E9-6 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: Monthly Launch
- Nominal Flight
10-08-2010 Mark Grisco Est SU C11-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - low flight on a c-11.
10-08-2010 Mark Grisco Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - goes well on a d-12. replaced stock chute with 16 nylon, works well
10-10-2009 Mark Grisco Est SU E9-6 None - Underpowered 10+ mph winds RIP - motot burnt through the side of itself and the motor mount and the body tube!!!!!! it did not have proper thrust and ejected on the ground with the nose stuck in the ground.. Status: CATO'd
02-26-2005 Chris Guidry Est SU E9-6 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Another perfect flight for this reliable bird.
05-28-2005 Chris Guidry Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight (again) on this work horse
10-29-2005 Chris Guidry Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight
05-27-2006 Chris Guidry Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Event: May Launch
- Another pretty flight for the work horse rocket
06-24-2006 Chris Guidry Est SU E9-6 Apogee - NC Down Calm Event: June Launch
- Very high flight
07-29-2006 Chris Guidry Est SU E9-6 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Event: July Sport Launch
- High flight drifted in wind. Landed in road standing up.
07-18-2004 Kyle Hancock Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: Vikings Sport
Chris - First flight
10-17-2004 Kyle Hancock Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 10+ mph winds Event: Viking Sport Launch
Ben - Shockcord seperation. No damage.
10-17-2004 Kyle Hancock Est SU D12-5 None - Parachute Fail 10+ mph winds Event: Viking Sport
Chris - Complete lawn dart. May be repairable.
11-21-2004 Kyle Hancock Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect Calm Ben - NARTREK Gemini. Great flight.
02-05-2005 Kyle Hancock Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds Ben - Popped fin
02-05-2005 Kyle Hancock Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds Ben -
03-20-2005 Kyle Hancock Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: Vking Sport
Ben -
03-20-2005 Kyle Hancock Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds Event: Vking Sport
Chris -
04-24-2005 Kyle Hancock Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds Chris - NARTREK Gemini
04-09-2006 Kyle Hancock Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect Gusty Chris -
04-09-2006 Kyle Hancock AT SU E30-4 Apogee - NC Up Gusty Chris - Chris' first composite
10-19-2008 Kyle Hancock Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds Ben -
04-19-2009 Kyle Hancock AT SU E15-7 Late (2-3sec) 0-5 mph winds Ben - NARTREK Skylab last flight
01-17-1999 Dave Hanson Est SU D12-5 Apogee-Perfect Calm -
04-17-1999 Dave Hanson AT SU E15-7 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm - The Big Daddy gets about 1500 ft. on the E15
08-21-1999 Dave Hanson AT SU E15-7 Apogee-Perfect Light winds -
09-05-1999 Dave Hanson Est SU D12-5 Apogee-Perfect Light winds -
10-23-1999 Dave Hanson AT SU E15-7 Apogee-Perfect Calm -
02-13-2005 Scott Hauff Est SU E9-6 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds BARNEY - Although painted purple and green this fat boy does a much meaner (and higher) dance than the one on TV!!!! ROCKS on an E-9. NC seperated from BT and landed on school, janitor will get this week. Cracked on fin - not bad for falling from about 1000ft.
02-21-2004 David Henry Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds Wombat Soup - Great first flight on an extremely windy day. Straight up to around 400', ejection at apogee, and then a half mile walk to recover the rocket. Did I mention it was windy?
02-29-2004 David Henry Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Wombat Soup - Great 2nd flight of the Daddy - this time with paint. Minor tilt in launch rod into slight breeze made it look for a bit that it would hit the rod on the way down, but a gust pushed it away.
05-18-2002 Chris Hickins 2x AT RMS E28-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Flight was perfect. First shot using composit motors.
02-11-2003 Mike Hoffman 5x Est SU D12-0 Very Late 10+ mph winds big daddy man - a spactacular horizontal flight in strong winds the weather wasnt very stable but it flew and spacked
01-10-2004 Karl Houghton Est SU D12-5 None - Tumble 0-5 mph winds RIP - Ejection burnt through shockcord , nosecone drifted off about 200ft under 24 'chute.BT came down fast and ripped 2 fins out completley. Status: Core Sample
06-10-2007 Sandy Houston AT RMS E28-4 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - Good motor for this rocket. Ejected just before, but no damage.
08-07-2010 Chris Jeppesen Est SU C11-3 Didn't Record Light winds Candace I - Went about 100 or so feet, chute deployed just fine. First test flight, before packing the expensive electronics in it.
08-07-2010 Chris Jeppesen Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect Light winds Candace I - Flew 4 or 5 times higher than first flight with C engine. Parachute burned a big hole in the center, but still recovered just fine. Carried a 50g payload of electronics, which survived.
08-07-2010 Chris Jeppesen Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect Light winds Candace I - Arced upwind over the parking lot, parachute deployed fine, parachute patch stayed attached, no additional chute damage. Drifted back over, landed within 20ft of launch site. Electronics survived.
08-21-2010 Chris Jeppesen Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Candace II - New rocket, same electronics as Candace I. I finally got my data! Rocket hit 6g, 75m/s at burnout. Altitude pending me writing the data analysis program.
08-07-2010 Chris Jeppesen Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect Light winds RIP Candace I - Went almost straight up, chute deployed, started drifting downwind. It looked like it was headed for a road, but found power lines instead. Thanks to San Antonio CPS for recovering it, at the cost of a broken shock cord. Status: Retired
08-21-2010 Chris Jeppesen Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds RIP Candace II - Too much weathercock. Was travelling almost horizontal at burnout, shock cord broke at ejection, parachute stayed with the body but broke 2 of 6 lines, nose cone with electronics fell into tall grass or creek, not found. Status: Not Repairable
05-16-1999 Bob Kaplow Est SU D12-3 Didn't Record Didn't Record -
06-20-1999 Bob Kaplow Est SU D12-3 Didn't Record Didn't Record -
08-22-1999 Bob Kaplow Est SU D12-3 Didn't Record Didn't Record - no roll at all!
09-05-1999 Bob Kaplow AT RMS E28-7 Didn't Record Didn't Record - prang cone didn't eject - totalled
01-15-2000 Charlie Kazmir Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Down Calm big woman {by some} - flew at an angle almost hit an opera house.same altitude.
01-15-2000 Charlie Kazmir Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - first launch made on D12-3,ejection was perfect,altitude at least 400+'
01-15-2000 Charlie Kazmir Est SU D12-3 Didn't See Calm big woman {by some} - fast liftoff and accelaration.it gota high altitude of 500',but landed in a tree.unreachable
01-15-2000 Charlie Kazmir Est SU D12-3 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm big woman {by some} - first launch,flew perfectly.flew about 400',landed about 100 yards away.
01-15-2000 Charlie Kazmir Est SU D12-3 Very Early Calm big woman {by some} - almost straight flight.early ejection
07-27-2000 Charlie Kazmir Est SU D12-3 Very Early 0-5 mph winds big woman {by some} - this was my 2nd big daddy kit.flew straight,but didnt record altitude.landed about 200 yds away
09-13-2000 Charlie Kazmir Est SU D12-5 Very Late 0-5 mph winds big woman {by some} - last launch on 2nd kit,somehow it managed totilt at a 60 degree angle in flight.nose cone exploded.
04-17-2004 Mike Kimbler Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds Event: SoAR SpringFest
- Great flight!
06-02-2001 Ken Kirkland Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - First ever D engine flight. This is one great rocket. Awesome flight - fused 'chute. Figured the rocket was a goner, but was undamaged.
06-02-2001 Ken Kirkland Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Much better recovery. The flight was a little straighter than the first.
06-10-2001 Ken Kirkland Est SU D12-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Nice straight flight.
06-10-2001 Ken Kirkland Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - 300 yard hike to pick this ride up.
06-11-2001 Ken Kirkland Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Slow, lazy arcing flight. (Pretty, really.) First time the 'chute fully deployed. Landed in a swamp at the edge of the field.
07-04-2001 Ken Kirkland Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - 18 deg angle into the wind. Rocket rose a bit higher... went a bit farther. 100 yards to recover.
07-04-2001 Ken Kirkland Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - 18 deg angle into the wind. Nice arcing flight. Recovered 80 yards from the pad under a full chute.
07-04-2001 Ken Kirkland Est SU D12-5 Very Late
(100 ft)
0-5 mph winds - 12 deg into the wind. Weathercocked severely at launch. Apogee at 100 feet (approx). Had a shroud line tear out.
05-27-2002 Ken Kirkland Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) Light winds - Waffled between a 3 and 5 second delay went 5, should have gone 3, I think. Turned hard into the wind. (Not the first time...)Recovered 30 yards from the pad, about 10 downwind.
12-08-2003 Alex Kowaleski Est SU E9-8 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - An impressive twilight flight. I feared that the delay would be too long, but it appeared shorter than the stated 8 seconds. The shoroud lines tore out of the chute, but not damage resulted to the body
11-18-2006 Donald Laskey Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: NARTERK
-
04-21-2007 Donald Laskey AT RMS E12-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - WOW
08-06-2005 Jason Lenentine Est SU D12-3 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds - First flight for this rocket. Perfect flight.
08-06-2005 Jason Lenentine Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Chute slightly melted so it didn't completely unfurl. Was more like a streamer. Got lucky because model ventured close to edge of field. A good chute might have carried it into the trees! Landed in tall weeds so no damage.
12-23-2005 Jason Lenentine Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Perfect flight.
12-23-2005 Jason Lenentine Est SU D12-3 None - Nose Cone Stuck 10+ mph winds - This one lawn darted into clay. Fortunately the clay was soft. No damage to nose. Slight crinkle to tube. Flew two more times afterward. Luckiest lawn dart ever.
12-23-2005 Jason Lenentine Est SU E9-4 Didn't Record 10+ mph winds - Perfect flight after the lawn dart.
12-23-2005 Jason Lenentine Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Another super flight. Fourth of the day for this one.
06-24-2006 Jason Lenentine Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Perfect flight.
06-24-2006 Jason Lenentine Est SU D12-3 None - Nose Cone Stuck 0-5 mph winds - Lawn darted again. Oops. Will have to rework the body tube to repair. It will fly again though!
04-17-2004 Philip Levanda Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect Gusty - This rocket flies perfect on D12-3. Watch the shock cord tied to the centering ring. Get some wadding between it and the motor or you'll be looking for two pieces. Great straight flier
04-17-2004 Philip Levanda Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect Gusty - Flew perfect curved a little in the wind came down 100 feet from the pad.
07-30-2005 Philip Levanda Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: GSSS 07-30-05
- Sweet straight flight
03-21-2010 Philip Levanda Est SU D12-5 None - CATO 5-10 mph winds Event: Gordon ave Field
- Beautiful CATO right at the pad. Hovered like a lunar lander about 5 feet off the ground for a bit then fell down. Very impressive.
03-21-2010 Philip Levanda Est SU C11-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds Event: Gordon ave Field
- Got it off the pad to about 100 feet. The delay was decent for this rocket.
05-02-2010 Philip Levanda Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds Event: Pine Island
- 3 second delay would have been better.
01-27-2007 Rick Lindsey Est SU E9-4 None - Nose Cone Stuck Gusty RIP Big Papa - Beautiful lift-off from 1/8 rod, saw the puff of smoke at ejection, the nosecone slid out a bit, but no joy :(. Nosecone was not at all tight, suspect weak ejection charge. Augered in across river on private property -- did not recover. Status: Lawn Dart
06-10-2001 David Logan Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - First flight with this one. Perfect, all phases of the flight were easily visible.
11-10-2001 David Logan Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds -
11-10-2001 David Logan Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds -
02-23-2002 David Logan Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Flew surprisingly straight considering the winds. Picture perfect flight.
06-26-2004 David Logan Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Recovered 100 feet from pads using a 14 inch chute. Good flight
06-27-2004 David Logan Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Another good flight and recovery using a 14 inch chute.
10-01-2005 David Logan Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Low flight, seemed to be struggling for altitude. Recovered close by with a 14 inch nylon chute.
08-03-2003 Scott Lyter Est SU E9-8 Very Late 5-10 mph winds - Flew with E9-8 with onboard wireless color video camera. I like the late ejection (scary!) as drift is minimized. Next time a more vertical launch, and a better receiving antenna for the video downlink.
09-07-2002 Michael Mangieri Est SU C11-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Mean Green Machine - Maiden voyage of the MGM (Mean Green Machine). Beautiful, slow and impressive liftoff on the C11.
09-07-2002 Michael Mangieri Est SU C11-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Mean Green Machine - Second launch of the MGM - good as the first!
09-14-2002 Michael Mangieri Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds Mean Green Machine - Good flight. Surprisingly little weathercocking considering the moderate winds (10-20 MPH). Landed well within our launch field.
10-12-2002 Michael Mangieri Est SU C11-3 Apogee - NC Down Calm Mean Green Machine - Nice slow takeoff. Very graceful under the big chute.
04-12-2003 Michael Mangieri Est SU D12-7 Very Late 10+ mph winds Mean Green Machine - Used a LONG delay to compensate for strong winds. Aimed her into the wind. She flew moderately high and with the long delay, opened chute at just the right time - landed 30 ft from the launch rack!
05-18-2003 Michael Mangieri Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds Mean Green Machine - Pretty boost and nice slow climb. Last flight at ECRM-30.
07-12-2003 Michael Mangieri AT SU E15-7 Very Late Gusty Mean Green Machine - This rocket really looks nice on an E motor, but the 7 second delay was way too long. Chute was ripped to shreds on ejection. Rocket was recoved undamaged however thanks to the soft grass field.
07-25-2003 Michael Mangieri Est SU D12-5 Very Late Calm Mean Green Machine - Liftoff seemed a bit sluggish and the ejection was very late. Unknown reason ... nose ejected out of the BT slowly and at an estimated altitude of 80 -100 ft or so!
10-18-2003 Michael Mangieri Est SU C11-3 Didn't Record Calm Mean Green Machine - Nice flight; some damage to chute from ejection gases. Hard landing on concrete damaged a fin slightly.
08-22-2004 Michael Mangieri Est SU C11-5 Very Late 0-5 mph winds Mean Green Machine - Recovered OK but should have launched with a 3 sec delay.
08-22-2004 Michael Mangieri Est SU D12-5 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds RIP Mean Green Machine - Tip-off to the west, she landed on a relatively high branch of a tree. Unlikely to recover anytime soon. Status: Tree/Roof
05-31-2010 Dale Marshall Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect
(691 ft)
0-5 mph winds Flight Picture - This was a fun rocket to build, and even better to fly. Great rocket. I didn't put enough wadding in and the parachute melted a bit, but it came down fine with no damage.
08-15-2010 Dale Marshall Est SU E9-3 Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds Event: Personal Launch
- Arced severely into the wind but was perfect otherwise. Cracked fin somehow - caught it before it hit the ground. Maybe a very strong ejection charge?
04-19-2008 Ron McFerren Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Up 10+ mph winds - Wow, did this thing weathercock! If it hit 150 feet I would be surprised. Almost horizontal before the tracking smoke hit. Chute shredded and it came down hard, but suffered no damage. Built like a tank!
01-11-2009 Leigh Metzroth Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm Flight Picture - Went up nice and straight. Late ejection shredded the chute, then came down not particularly hard onto a stick or something and damaged one of the balsa fins. Simple repairs required.
12-13-2009 Leigh Metzroth Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect Calm Flight Picture -
02-06-2001 Jim Michaelis Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Built stock, Nice straight boost, good deployment, landed 100 ft. down range. Great rocket!!
08-14-2001 Jim Michaelis Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Less wind, Nice straight boost and better altitude. Great rocket!! Perfect deployment and recovery. This is one sturdy rocket even if built stock.
08-14-2001 Jim Michaelis Est SU D12-5 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - Rocket was built stock, Weathercocked slightly to about 300 ft. Good flight considering wind conditions, I was a little nervous.
01-07-2000 MikeyR AT RMS D15-4 didn't record 10+ mph wind - 18 parachute Nice fast boost. Good flight.
02-06-2000 MikeyR AT RMS E18-4 not recorded breezy - 18 parachute Very nice. Fast boost.
02-06-2000 MikeyR AT RMS F12-3 not recorded breezy - 18 parachute Very nice with a close landing. Loud.
07-28-2001 MikeyR Est SU D12-3 None - Unknown 0-5 mph winds RIP - Something happened to the ejection. Didn't happen, actually. Impacted on road, totalled the rocket. Status: Lawn Dart
01-08-2006 Todd Mullin Est SU E9-4 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds Event: DART Launch
- Apogee in low cloud, couldn't see. Usually 1-2 seconds late on this motor because of additional nose weight.
01-08-2006 Todd Mullin Est SU E9-4 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds Event: DART Launch
- Apogee in low cloud, couldn't see. Usually 1-2 seconds late on this motor because of additional nose weight.
05-14-2006 Todd Mullin Est SU E9-4 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: DART Launch
-
05-14-2006 Todd Mullin AT RMS F12-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: DART Launch
- Yee Haw! Great motor for this rocket! First flight on my new 24mm Rousetech casing!
06-03-2006 Todd Mullin AT RMS F12-5 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds -
07-08-2006 Todd Mullin Est SU E9-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: Fiesta Island
-
07-08-2006 Todd Mullin AT RMS F12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Event: Fiesta Island
-
08-26-2006 Todd Mullin AT RMS F12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: Fiesta Island
-
01-14-2007 Todd Mullin AT SU E30-4 Just Before 0-5 mph winds Event: Fiesta Island
-
06-10-2007 Todd Mullin AT RMS F12-M Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: Fiesta Island
-
08-12-2007 Todd Mullin AT RMS F12-5 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds Event: Fiesta Island
-
05-24-2008 Todd Mullin AT RMS E18-4 None - Nose Cone Stuck 10+ mph winds RIPEvent: Fiesta Island
- Status: Lawn Dart
07-18-2006 Andrew Netrunner Est SU E9-6 Apogee - Perfect
(910 ft)
Light winds C.A.N.-1 - I bought this kit and custom painted it, stock other than an alt. kit. easy but pain to build with mount tube rings, but easy...flew perfect 2 flights...18in chute too big, use a 12, trust me...perf cond.
07-30-2006 Andrew Netrunner Est SU E9-6 Apogee - NC Up Calm - Love this rocket! One of my fav mid-power rocket kits just because of it's size...3 dia. anyway great flight maybe next flight E9-8 I custom painted this rig and reinforced w/ extra material liheavy but still about 900ft on this motor
07-30-2006 Andrew Netrunner Est SU E9-8 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm Event: Jacobsen Park
- Great flight ass before on this day...but 8 sec delay to long....6 was perfect... still good ejection nice landing 100yds from pad...
07-30-2006 Andrew Netrunner Est SU E9-8 Very Late Calm Event: Jacobsen Park
- WOW! turned into a cruise missle 250 ft up...don't know what happened there..ejected at about 100ft, shock cord came undone and nosecone landed 100yds away no damage, body missed police car by 3ft...scared him to death...lol
01-21-2001 Neil OMan AT SU D21-7 Apogee - Perfect Didn't Record Scorpion - I've flown it 50 times! Almost all perfect flights. On a AT D15 Just disappears! cool rocket.
03-21-2004 Vishal Patel Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down Calm Trishul - Excellent straight flight and perfect landing...the parachute and shroud lines were slightly singed...everything else was great!!
03-21-2004 Vishal Patel Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down Calm Trishul - Excellent straight flight and perfect landing...the parachute and shroud lines were slightly singed...everything else was great!!
09-27-2003 Paul Paul Ces RLD G79-9 Apogee - Perfect
(1500 ft)
Calm Event: Hatzic lake
- 38mm/carbon fibre tube and fins/6oz s-glass tube and finsToo much ejection charge-ripped plastic nose cone so cone came inbalistic, repaired
07-04-2004 Bryan Penfold Est SU E9-6 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Maiden flight to about 850 feet. Landed 50 feet from the pad, no damage.
10-10-2004 Bryan Penfold Est SU E9-6 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight to about 900 feet. Landed about 50 feet from the pad, cracked fin.
09-18-2010 Vincent Penoso Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Big Meadows
- perfect launch. This is a great model to fly. very stable. parachute scorched and suffered small hole but recovered nicely. Perfect flight
09-18-2010 Vincent Penoso Est SU E9-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: Big Meadows
- NAother beautiful flight but this time with the Estes E motor. The model's size makes for a really nice an predictable flight. The E motor went much higher than the D12. Damaged chute recovered nicely.
11-20-2010 Vincent Penoso Est SU E9-3 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds Flight Picture - My favorite flying rocket. The model remains visible under the b plume of an E9. Stable and consistent flight
12-04-2010 Vincent Penoso Est SU E9-6 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Flight Picture - Big Daddy is a crowd pleaser. Model flies consistently and stable. I started using the nomex recovery blanket instead of wadding and it is great.Can't say enough about this model!
03-29-2003 James Reyome Est SU E9-8 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Big Daddy was a Christmas gift that just now got to fly for the first time. Nice flight, though the chute didn't deploy fully, and the 8 second delay was too long.
05-31-2003 James Reyome Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Another perfect flight, except that this was the flight on which the Top Flight firewall burned through. No damage to the chute though, and the rocket came home unscathed, so I guess that's what it's all about. Gotta love the 'Daddy!
05-31-2003 James Reyome Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Somewhat windy but a nice flight, first use of Top Flight nylon parachute and firewall nomex shield. Chute gets rave reviews, but the shield was scorched through after only two flights. It does sit rather close to the motor tube, so perhaps that's why.
08-09-2003 James Reyome Est SU E9-6 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Yet another perfect flight for Big Blue Daddy. To prevent the scorching of the nomex heat shield we suffered last time, we added a thin layer of dog vomit wadding, with excellent results. No muss, no fuss, just great flying.
10-25-2003 James Reyome Est SU E9-8 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Actually made it off the rod this time, and flew as magnificently as it always seems to on an E9. Bounced off the top of the LCO's canopy! Flown in memory of Tony Renna, 1976-2003 R.I.P.
10-25-2003 James Reyome Est SU E9-8 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Well, it did eject at apogee, because apogee was about 3 inches. Stuck on the rod. Somehow it didn't burn through the blast deflector and later actually got off the ground...
07-01-2004 Brian Riendeau Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds RIP - This was the first flight for this rocket. The boost was awesome, the delay was perfect, the nylon chute filled with air... then the wind picked up and blew my rocket into a tree =( Status: Tree/Roof
07-26-2002 John Rowan-Stern Est SU D12-3 Just Before 0-5 mph winds FRED - Awesome Rocket-1 Rotation in 600' Perfect ejection walked 50 yards for recovery.
08-28-2002 John Rowan-Stern Est SU C11-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Nice Flight. Used 20 nylon cross chute that worked like a charm. No damage on recovery.
08-28-2002 John Rowan-Stern Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight although a little hairy. Weathercocked (which is unusual for this bird) and landed inside stadium where I was flying. Bounced off large tent. Was retrieved undamaged.
09-18-2002 John Rowan-Stern Est SU C11-5 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - Arced over and augered in to ground. Perfect upside-down-in-ground ejection. Although rocket seems a little shorter, it will fly again!
02-01-2008 Natalie Ryan Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Perfect flight
02-09-2008 Natalie Ryan Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds Event: QUARK club launch
- Into the wind about 15 degrees. Landed 50 feet from pad - perfect!
02-09-2008 Natalie Ryan AT RMS F37-6 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds Event: QUARK club launch
- Sweet flight on an F37. Even going into the wind and using a reefed chute, I still had a 1/2 mile walk to recover.
02-23-2008 Natalie Ryan AT RMS E28-7 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Ejection s little late, but no damage.
03-02-2008 Natalie Ryan Est SU D12-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds - ol' reliable flies again. reefed chute down to 12. Fast recovery into tall grass. No damage at all. Yay for overbuilding!
03-22-2008 Natalie Ryan AT RMS F24-6 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds Event: QUARK Club Launch
- Another beautiful flight!
10-02-2006 Ed Scientist Est SU C6-3 Very Late 0-5 mph winds - Arced over and didnt get more than 50 feet before going horizontal. Ejected about 10 feet off the ground. VERY SCARY but no damage. Shew I think I will just leave this one on the shelf until I get some D motors.
07-28-2007 Dwayne Shmel Est SU E9-4 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Event: Club Launch Nowthen
- Slight weathercock into the wind. Very stable flight with nice ejection. No damage.
08-05-2007 Dwayne Shmel Est SU D12-5 Very Late 0-5 mph winds Event: EPHS Field
- Shroud lines shredded during deployment. Rocket came down fast and hard. I managed to catch it - preventing certain damage to body tube.
08-15-2000 Jeff Skinner Est SU D12-5 None - Nose Cone Stuck 5-10 mph winds - Great liftoff. Even better lawn dart. I didn't see or hear any ejection charge. I think it was a bad motor. Not repairable as entire body crumpled.
12-18-1999 Paul Smith Est SU D12-5 Didn't Record Moderate - South - Perfect little flight.
12-19-1999 Paul Smith Est SU D12-5 Didn't Record Calm - Another perfect flight.
12-19-1999 Paul Smith Est SU D12-5 Didn't Record Calm - Perfect flight. Almost caught it, then almost stomped on it when I missed.
12-19-1999 Paul Smith Est SU D12-5 Didn't Record Calm - Yet another perfect flight.
09-18-1999 Dick Stafford AT SU E15-7 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - nice flight, needs longer shock cord, slight crunch/deformation of top end of BT
06-09-2001 Dick Stafford Est SU D12-5 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds - good flight!
07-14-2001 Dick Stafford Est SU D12-5 Didn't Record Light winds - great flight
10-13-2001 Dick Stafford Est SU D12-5 Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds - good flight
06-06-2004 Dick Stafford Est SU C11-3 Apogee - NC Up Calm Event: ECRM-31
- low but good
06-06-2004 Dick Stafford Est SU D12-7 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm Event: ECRM-31
- a bit late but a good flight
06-08-2007 Dick Stafford Est SU D12-5 Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds - good flight
09-20-2008 Dick Stafford Est SU D12-5 None - Nose Cone Stuck Calm RIP - Lucky flight #13, lawn dart, dead. Oddly enough the next flight was Jim Filler's nicely finished 'Big Jimmy'. It suffered the same fate. What a weird coincidence. Status: Lawn Dart
03-05-2005 Aaron Stanley Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: L.U.N.A.R. @ Snow Ranch
- Wow went higher then I thought it would good because my Big Daddy weighs 8oz perfect flight and recovery. I'm gona get another one of these and put a 29mm motor mount asap.
01-12-2008 Aaron Stanley Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Perfect Flite.
04-04-2009 Aaron Stanley AT SU E30-7 Apogee - Perfect Calm - A great flight on an E30.
12-04-2004 Chan Stevens Est SU E9-6 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds -
09-10-2006 Chan Stevens Est SU D12-3 Just Before 5-10 mph winds -
11-04-2001 John Storey AT RMS F40-4 Apogee - NC Up Calm - great motor for this rocket. Fins and body glassed with 2.3 oz.
07-??-1999 Russell Taragan Est SU D12-5 None - Parachute Fail Calm - First flight, nice and low (one of my first D motors). At ejection, the upper ring and nose cone separated from the body, minor damage.
08-??-1999 Russell Taragan Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Normal flight and recovery, epoxy was used to make the thing stronger. (I decided that I should start to attend NAR launches:)
09-??-1999 Russell Taragan AT SU E30-7 Apogee - Perfect --- not selected --- - Two launches on this fast motor, nice speed and altitude. The shock cord should be extended for composite motors.
01-??-2000 Russell Taragan AT RMS F12-5 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Several flights on this slow motor. Nice and slow during liftoff, a gracefull climb and a good altitude.
01-??-2000 Russell Taragan AT RMS F39-6 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Two flights on this fast and powerful motor, flights similar to E30T-7, but a bit faster.
04-13-2001 Steve Terrell Est SU C6-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds - Wanted to see if the Big Daddy could fly on a C, and it did! Really SLOW takeoff and flight. Only went about 100', but flight was stable.
10-11-2003 Kevin Timmins Est SU D12-7 None - Nose Cone Stuck 0-5 mph winds RIPEvent: WRS October
- Nose cone jammed, a spacktacular lawn dart. buried itself 5 inches into turf. BT totally shredded Status: Core Sample
02-05-2005 Alan Tuskes Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Skybusters monthly launch
- Perfect flight. Slight weather-cock into the wind allowed it to be recovered about 50 feet from the pad.
05-21-2005 Alan Tuskes Est SU C11-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: Sky Buster Launch
- Very weak ejection charge. I fart harder than this thing ejected. Chute was barely pulled ut but nonetheless it did.
05-21-2005 Alan Tuskes Est SU C11-3 None - Unknown 0-5 mph winds RIPEvent: Sky Buster Launch
- Not being content with the weak ejection of the previous flight, I push my luck and try another C11-3. This time, I don't think there even IS an ejection charge. Buries itself in the ground. Status: Lawn Dart
09-11-2004 Mark Van+Luvender AT RMS E18-4 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - Great flight! Parachute fouled, cracked fillet, but easily repaired. Time for an RMS F!
05-28-2006 Mark Van+Luvender AT RMS E18-4 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - This rocket loves this motor. Ejection just a bit early, but livable. Landed next to the road.
02-12-2000 Rick Vatsaas Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - First Flight in Snow Storm Awesome!! Launched on Frozen Lake Harriet, Minneapolis, MN
02-12-2000 Rick Vatsaas Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Second Flight in SnowstormLake Harriet, Minneapolis, MN
03-05-2000 Rick Vatsaas Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Perfect vertical ascent No wind meant easy recovery
03-05-2000 Rick Vatsaas Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Perfect!!
04-22-2000 Rick Vatsaas Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Minor weathercock MASA Club Launch at Blaine, MN
05-28-2000 Rick Vatsaas Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Perfect Flight, floated gently to ground under no winds. Lake Francis, MN
06-24-2000 Rick Vatsaas AT SU E15-7 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Excellent Ascent Burned through shock Cord. Fuselage survived 1300 foot drop, narrowly missed swampy irrigation ditch MASA Club Launch at Blaine, MN
07-04-2000 Rick Vatsaas Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Perfect FlightCokato, MN
07-22-2000 Rick Vatsaas AT SU E15-7 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Awesome flight on e15-7, Straight up
05-10-2002 Jason Vennard Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Great looking rocket and great flight. Nice boost, 18 nylon chute, no problems.
05-10-2002 Jason Vennard Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Another great flight, works well with either 3 or 5 second delay. No problems. 18 nylon chute.
04-26-2003 Jason Vennard Est SU E9-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds - Maiden flight on this our 2nd Big Daddy. Built completely stock except for E motor mount. Excellent boost, nice and long. Little weather cocking but not bad. Great combo. 15 nylon chute
05-17-2003 Jason Vennard Est SU E9-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Great motor combo for this one, again another great flight and recovery, nice long burn. 15 nylon chute.
06-19-2004 Jason Vennard AT EconoJet F21-6 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Completely stock build other than longer motor mount, nice quick boost off the pad, a bit of an arching flight but otherwise very nice on this composite motor will try this again. Great flight, recovery fine under 15 nylon
07-27-2002 Jason Vennard Est SU D12-5 None - Staging Failure 5-10 mph winds RIP - Great flight, as usual, however motor did not eject nose cone, rocket turned around and plowed into ground, destroying nose cone and body. Will have to build another as I really liked this rocket. Status: Lawn Dart
03-08-2003 Matt Vennard Est SU D12-5 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Second flight. Another good boost, no cock this time, and floated a bit farther than I would like. Need smaller chute if it's even close to breezy. Otherwise, good flight.
03-08-2003 Matt Vennard Est SU D12-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Fist flight for Big Daddy, and first bigger than C engine. Looked good off the pad, though cocked a little. Good chute deployment and recovered close to the pad, as breeze brought it back.
04-13-2003 Matt Vennard Est SU D12-3 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - Good kick off the pad. Chute deployed, but didn't fully open, and landed a bit hard. No real damage. Delay seemed to be closer to 6 or 7 seconds.
07-11-1999 Ron Watkins Est SU D12-5 Didn't Record Calm - Good flight-predicted altitude-540 ft. -slight drift on recovery.
04-14-2007 James Weaver Est SU D12-5 Very Late Gusty Event: April Launch
School Spirit - Unimpressive altitude. Needed 3 sec delay. Should be able to fly it at my local field.
07-08-2007 James Weaver Est SU D12-3 Very Late 5-10 mph winds School Spirit - Weathercocked and headed for the intersection. Seemed to take a long time to get the laundry out after seperation. Good grass landing.
07-08-2007 James Weaver Est SU D12-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds School Spirit - Less wind, less arc. Still took a while to get under chute. Landed 10' from pad.
04-10-2010 James Weaver Est SU E9-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds Event: April '10
School Spirit - Slow and ballistic on the way up. It may have hung up on the rod. I think it had a slight bend.
06-25-2005 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - First Flight and the D motor puts it up there nicely.
07-30-2005 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds -
08-27-2005 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Down 10+ mph winds - Angled rod into wind but still had considerable drift on descent, nearly ended up in trees but just passed over them, landing close by.
03-25-2006 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds -
05-20-2006 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Parachute did not fully deploy and rocket bounced upon landing, but due to sturdy construction had no damage.
06-24-2006 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Event: NERRF-2
- Good flight but parachute was destroyed.
07-29-2006 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds Event: North Branch Park
- Great flight as usual from the Big Daddy, always a crowd pleaser.
10-22-2006 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds Event: North Branch Park
- Perfect flight, didn't drift as far off as I feared it would.
11-25-2006 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds Event: North Branch Park
- Shroud lines burned through on ejection, ejecting the still rolled up chute, rocket hit the ground but no damage other than scratches in paint
12-30-2006 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: North Branch Park
- Drifted a bit under that big 24 chute even in calm conditions but a great flight.
03-31-2007 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: GSSS Monthly Launch
- Nice straight boost, good recovery.
06-30-2007 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds - Used a Nomex chute protector for the first time, performed well and saves you a bunch on wadding with these wide body tubes!
07-28-2007 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight but on descent came close to being eaten by a tree, missed it by not much.
06-28-2008 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - A bit of an arc to the boost, but nice flight and recovery overall.
08-23-2008 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 None - Nose Cone Stuck 0-5 mph winds Event: North Branch Park NJ
- Major failure at ejection. Must have had something go wrong with my chute packing as it lawn darted. Nomex shield burned through,NC telescoped into body tube as well as motor mount damage, hopefully repairable.
03-20-2010 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds Event: North Branch Park
- Repairs made after it crashed last flight worked and the Big Daddy flew nicely. Small hole burned in Nomex Chute protector despite having wadding under it.
06-12-2010 Glenn Weiss Est SU D12-3 Apogee - NC Down 10+ mph winds Event: North Branch Park
- Rod angled into the wind. Nice loud roar off the pad and away at about 40 deg. off vertical, drifted back and recovered within 100 ft of pads
06-13-2004 Bob Whitney AT EconoJet F21-6 Apogee - Perfect
(1100 ft)
0-5 mph winds Event: ROCstock Lucerne CA
Bigger Daddy - Excellent flight! The F21-6 is made for this rocket. Just add a longer motor hook, Kevlar shockcord and a 24 inch nylon parachute. Nice straight flights everytime.
05-30-2010 Jeff Ybarra AT RMS F24-4 Apogee - NC Down Calm -
11-18-2009 Monyt Ym..E Est SU C6-5 Very Late
(2758 ft)
10+ mph winds RIP - it ejected 2 feet above the ground Status: Lawn Dart

Copyright © 2012 by RocketReviews.com