There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Wed Aug 10 18:49:01 2011

Edmonds
Deltie B
13326 Preuit Place
Herndon, VA 20170-4341
 
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 16" x 13.5" - .25 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: MISSING - please submit here
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: B4-2

Rating
(Contributed - by Andy Miller - 05/01/05) Edmonds Deltie B

Brief:
This is a boost glider flown on low power B4-2 motors. The pop pod is the only actual rocket body but with no fins. The rest is all balsa for the glider body.

Construction:
The kit came with all the parts for the glider in 8 sections. The instructions were well written so that even some one who had never built a glider could do it in under an hour.

The pop pod body was also in decent shape, but had no stop ring for the motor. That's no problem though, you just friction your motors. The nose cone and the body tube were in excellent shape.

There is only one thing that is left to do, and that's add the clay weight to the nose to make the balance point come to the point that you marked at the beginning per the instructions then test fly it in the house to make sure that it glides straight across the room

The PROs were plenty: ease of building, well laid out parts, good instructions, and quality workmanship on the balsa parts.

My only CON is the lack of a motor stop but like I mentioned earlier, if one wraps the motor end and friction fits it, it's not a serious issue.

Finishing:
The finishing was well, different at least for mine. I don't compete so super long glide times aren't important to me.

This is my NARTREK Silver glider and I needed only 30 seconds, so I painted mine florescent red on top and black on bottom.

I painted the pop pod yellow so it would be easily found in a green field.

Construction Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Edmonds Deltie B

Flight:
I used the recommended B4-2, and the flight was awesome. This may be one of the easiest to fly kits you'll ever see!

Recovery:
I added a small piece of wadding to the pop pod before packing the streamer. Discovery was done by tracking the glider myself, a friend who tracked the pop pod, and my club president timing it for my NARTrek Silver 30 second attempt. It just passed the second mark and then a gust of wind smacked it straight into the ground. I had my 30 seconds on a later flight which glided probably for over a minute but no one timed it. It was an excellent flight landed maybe 50 yards down range.

Flight Rating: 5 out of 5

Summary:
I love this glider and highly recommend it to anyone. Its one tiny flaw, the missing stop ring for the motor, isn't a big deal. All the good things about the kit far outweigh the bad. If I lost this one, I would definitely buy another immediately.

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
12/08 - "I built and flew the Deltie B for my NARTrek Silver achievement as well. Mine flew well even in slightly windy conditions. It's very easy to build and fly. I highly recommend this kit for first time B/G fliers." (C.O.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
12/08 - "In order to reduce weight, I used a chisel tip Sharpie marker to "paint" both the booster and glider. Be sure to sand the balsa to a smooth finish first. Mine was orange and was easy to spot on the field after it landed." (C.O. )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
11-08-2008 Moe Bertrand Est SU B4-2 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Rainbow Valley
- First flight of my Deltie-B. Looked like a tangle at first but separation occured. Settled into a nice sweeping glide. This boost glider is definitely a winner. 40-second glide after release. Awesome!
11-08-2008 Moe Bertrand Est SU B4-2 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Rainbow Valley
- 2nd flight-again thought it was a tangle but no... Settled into an awesome glide profile...must've been up over three minutes as I followed it around on foot until landing. Wish I'd have timed it.
05-09-2009 Moe Bertrand Est SU B4-2 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds Event: PRM-20
- B-Boost Glide event. This flight was poor performance....only an average of 20 seconds between the two timers.
02-20-2010 Moe Bertrand Est SU B6-4 Didn't Record Calm Event: RV PRM-21
- PRM-21 B-Boost Glide Event. Red-Baroned until very last moment. 13:78 duration...not very good.
02-20-2010 Moe Bertrand Est SU B6-2 Didn't Record Calm Event: RV PRM-21
- PRM-21 B-Boost Glide Event. One minute duration...not the best but acceptable.
05-15-2010 Moe Bertrand Est SU B6-2 Didn't Record Calm Flight PictureEvent: PRM-24
- B-Boost Glide (MR) Event second flight. Just 43.75 seconds flight time.
042207-0-20 Dave Bishop Est SU B4-2 None - Glider 0-5 mph winds Event: Redwick-UK
- Flight was erratic. On inspection found that glue joints OK, but the balsa had split where the angled rear element pulls on the uprights. Will rebuild & strengthen.
05-28-2007 Dan Eastwood Est SU A8-3 Very Late Calm Event: Memorial Day at Lyon Twp Park
- The A8-3 motor was inadequate. Booster rocketed about 50 feet up, and was heading back down before ejecting about 25 feet off the ground. Glider detached safely and glided well, if too briefly. Will re-fly with B4-2 next.
11-14-2009 Mark Grisco Est SU B6-2 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - first flight. perfect. nice glide.
11-14-2009 Mark Grisco Est SU B6-2 None - Unstable 5-10 mph winds - igniter leads hung up. it only flew a few feet. minor damage.
10-04-2008 Hank Helmen Est SU B4-4 Just Past (1-2sec)
(209 ft)
0-5 mph winds Event: Evening Launch
- Good flight. Long delay time, assembly nosed down and continued for quite some time before glider seperated. After seperation glider circled nicely. No damage.
10-04-2008 Hank Helmen Qst SU B6-4 None - Glider
(317 ft)
0-5 mph winds Event: Evening Launch
- Good straight boost. Motor kicked out due to small diameter casing, despite retrofit wire moter retention clip. No recovery, Glider never seperated. Booster and glider angled in to grassy knoll.Remarkably no damage resulted!
10-06-2008 Hank Helmen Est SU B4-4 Very Late
(207 ft)
0-5 mph winds Event: Evening Launch
- Nominal boost. Some wind. 24 second glide on Deltie. Cheap Booster streamer shrank and distorted on first launch, this time nose cone screw eye pulled out. Nose cone lost. Duration contest with Flat CatFlat Cat won! 35 sec. to 24 seconds for Deltie.
10-07-2008 Hank Helmen Est SU B4-4 Very Late
(156 ft)
Calm Event: Evening Launch
- Very old original Estes Motor found in attic! Worked perfectly. Nice flight 27 second flight from launch with glide. New home made streamer. Old cheap on shrank and melted on first flight.
10-07-2008 Hank Helmen Qst SU B6-4 Very Late
(210 ft)
Calm Event: Evening Launch
- Nice boost, slight curve. Good smoke on delay burn. Excellent 26 second circling glide. Deltie slid into a landing on the road. Had to tape skinny Quest motor into mount to prevent kick out. Used little plastic AA battery launcher for the first time.
10-09-2008 Hank Helmen Est SU C6-3 Just Past (1-2sec)
(257 ft)
0-5 mph winds Event: Thursday Test Launch
- Straight boost, very high. Too bad shock cord snarled around nose of glider! Spun in slowly. No Damage. At least we know the glider can handle a C6 motor on acent stage.
10-09-2008 Hank Helmen Est SU C6-3 Late (2-3sec)
(248 ft)
0-5 mph winds Event: Thursday Test Launch
- Another Good high boost on C6-3 motor. Another snarl with shock line around glider. Pod stayed connected because it was held with streamer on nose! Easy spinning decent. No Damage again.
10-09-2008 Hank Helmen Est SU C6-3 Late (2-3sec)
(263 ft)
0-5 mph winds Event: Thursday Test Launch
- Nominal Boost. Shortened shock cord, Good pod seperation this time. Was late punching stop watch on Glide time, still got over 30 seconds. Glider circles a little too tightly to the Right. Removed tiny amount of nose clay. each time. Better.
10-31-2008 Hank Helmen Est SU B4-2 None - Glider
(210 ft)
Calm Event: evening launch
- Good boost phase. Booster's streamer caught inside glider's triangle again and stayed there! Glider tumbled down and was caught by recovery team.
10-31-2008 Hank Helmen - Just Past (1-2sec)
(235 ft)
Calm Event: evening launch
- Good Boost phase, nice ejection. Streamer caught in glider again, tumbled down to about 30 feet then broke free and glider eased out into a short glide. Booster recovered OK. FPheww~!
06-30-2006 Anonymous Joe Est SU C6-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds The Invert - Summer camp launch. Took off at a moderate clip to est. 350 ft. Separated perfectly. Grabbed booster off ground and followed glider for about 5 min. Landed in adjacent field. Next time will use B6-2.
01-27-2008 Paul Morris Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Down Calm - ejection late, glider gave a 15 second stalling glide
02-03-2007 Cliff Oliver Est SU B4-2 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds Event: Feb launch
- NARTREK Silver level B/G requirement
09-19-2009 Eldred Pickett Est SU B6-4 Late (2-3sec) 0-5 mph winds - 35 second duration flight
09-19-2009 Eldred Pickett Est SU B4-2 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - 45 second duration
08-20-2006 Bruce Sexton Est SU B4-2 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: August Monthly Launch
- Flew for NARTREK Silver glider duration - achieved 59.8 seconds.
12-24-2006 Bruce Sexton Est SU A8-3 None - Glider 5-10 mph winds - Did not time but it was a nice boost and good glider flight.
06-20-2009 Dwayne Shmel Est SU B4-2 None - Glider Calm Event: Nowthen Solstice Launch
- Angle of descent too steep. Circle a little tight too.
06-20-2009 Dwayne Shmel Est SU B4-2 None - Glider Calm Event: Nowthen Solstice Launch
- 2 flight was better with a little weight removed. Still need to do some work.
07-04-2009 Dwayne Shmel Est SU B4-2 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Event: Monthly Launch
- Glider did not separate.
07-04-2009 Dwayne Shmel Est SU B4-2 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Monthly Launch
- Good separation. Glide a little too steep and circle a little too tight. Need to reduce nose weight and trim glider.
06-06-2010 Dwayne Shmel Est SU B4-2 None - Glider 5-10 mph winds Event: 2nd MASA Regional
- Needed more nose weight. Stalled and dove.

Copyright © 2019 by RocketReviews.com