There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Wed Aug 10 18:48:47 2011

Custom Rockets
Redliner
P.O. Box 1865
Lake Havasu City, AZ 86405
(800) 394-4114
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 20.75" x 0.976" - 1 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: Right Click to Download
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: 1/2A6-2, A8-3, B4-4, B6-4, C6-5, C6-7

(Contributed - by Dave Sutter) 

[Rocket Pic]This is really a pretty basic rocket. I really got it to try something other than an Estes kit, and figured that it would be best to start with something simple. One of the cool things about this rocket (and every other rocket I have from Custom) is the mylar parachute. The rest of the rocket (motor mount, shock cord mount, fins, etc) is all just like Estes stuff. I'm not a big fan of painting and detail-finishing, so a major plus in my book was that it's just two colors of paint, and a few easy decals for a nice looking rocket.

Probably the best thing about this rocket, though, is its performance. It's fairly light for its size, and (at least compared to most of my other rockets) screams off the pad. In fact, on its very first launch, the motor was announced to the bystanders, and got quite a reaction for its lift-off speed. It goes pleasingly high on a B6-4, and goes out of sight on a C6-7.

After the first day of launching, I noticed that the shock cord was nearly burned through just above the shock cord mount. This and other, similar experiences have led me to believe that this is a weak point of Estes-style shock cord mounts. As the hot ejection charge gases and burning particles move forward during ejection, the wadding (or other protective equipment) keeps the chute and most of the shock cord from getting fried until they can get out of the tube, but the part of the shock cord that stays in the tube, the part just above the shock cord mount, isn't fully protected, and gets burnt. As a test remedy, I tore out the shock cord and put in another mount, only this time I used Duco Cement to glue in a bent piece of paper clip, to which I attached a steel fishing leader. I then tied the remaining elastic shock cord (with nose cone and chute) to the other end of the steel leader. No burn-through problems any more.

Unfortunately, during the 1997 Oct 4 launch, I lost the excellent mylar chute because I forgot to close the snap swivel shut before launching it. Even without the chute, it recovered fine with simple nose-blow recovery. This has led me to believe that this model is a good choice to test alternative recovery devices. I have built a small, 6" wide X-form or cross-form parachute (out of one of those anti-static plastic bags that computer hardware comes in) for use in this model. As of 1997 Nov 8, I haven't had a chance to test it yet, due to the incredibly lousy weather around here (3 straight weekends of nothing but rain! :( )

Update... Well, that x-form parachute failed, but the rocket recovered just fine on with nose-blow recovery again. I have, for the moment given up on x-form parachutes.

Update...I got frustrated trying to stuff the wadding and streamer or parachute into this rocket with that steel fishing leader and bent paperclip in the way, so I ripped them out. I went with a LOC-style shock cord mount, using a short piece of Kevlar line (about 8 inches) tied into a big loop, with one end of the loop epoxied into the body tube. The shock cord is then tied to the part of the Kevlar loop that is exposed.   This has worked well so far.

In conjunction with the shock cord mount change, I also made a very large streamer (7" wide, 70" long) from gold-colored mylar sheets leftover from christmas wrappings. I'm planning to time this rocket with this chute to get some idea of what it might take to make a streamer duration model. 

Description: Your basic 3FNC (3 Fins and a Nose Cone), but a particularly nice one at that.
Purpose: For me, this was my foray into the world of rocketry beyond Estes.
Motors: A8-3, B4-4, B6-4, B8-5, C6-5
Max Altitude: ??? (My guess is about 1100ft or more)
Length: 20.75" / 52.6cm
Diameter: 0.976" / 24.8mm (Custom MT-50, Estes BT-50)
Weight: 1.0oz / 27g
Recovery: 12" mylar parachute
Nose Cone: near-parabolic, plastic
Payload: None
Fins: 3, balsa
Notes: Just an all-around nice, inexpensive, easy-to-build, good-performing rocket.
Skill Level: 1
Part Number: CR-11
Price: 6.49

Rating
(Contributed - by Mark Bischof - 06/12/10)

Brief:
Was a great rocket, easy to build, easy to launch, Great for a day of family fun!

Construction:

  • 2 body tubes, both .976"
  • 3 die-cut balsa fins
  • 12" parachute
  • 2 centering rings
  • Quick release motor mount
  • Blowmolded nose ogive nosecone
  • Water-slide decals

Pros- easy to build fast and simple

Cons- waterslide decals haard to use, but still great

Finishing:
No requirements or techniques, easy instructions waterslide decals look good, requires spray paint, very easy.

Redliner

Construction Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Flight:
Pros- Exciting adreniline rush, goes extremely high on engine C6-7, so fun and easy to prep

Cons- on C6-7, it goes so high that you lose it. I could not recover it. It landed in someone's back yard probably, lost sight after tracking smoke

Recovery:
??? could not recover after second launch but the first lauch came perfectly down. no damage or wear, nice shock cord, but chared, easy to reassemble. I'd say that is the fasstest thing I've ever seen.

Flight Rating: 2 ½ out of 5

Summary:
Good, but sadly, I lost it. I loved it while I had it.

Overall Rating: 4 ½ out of 5

Other:
BUY SPRAY PAINT IT LOOKS SOOOOOO MUCH BETTER!

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
03/06 - "This rocket goes really high even on an A8-3. it's a great little sport flier, and comes back almost straight down. The kids just love it." (B.A.)

GUEST's OPINION:
08/03 - "The Custom Redliner is one of my favorite rockets for one reason - it goes really high! Cheap kit (relatively speaking) that goes together easy and with a C6-5 goes out of sight! Everyone needs a least one of these in their fleet." (K.M.S.)

GUEST's OPINION:
09/00 - "I found with Custom there are two-forms of this kit. The older uses a single longer tube while the latter uses two smaller tubes joined with a coupler. In the new packaging they have gone to a plastic chute that is not very good. (I replaced it with a streamer from another custom kit.) I feel that many of custom's kits parts are much better that the Estes fair. One thing I have noted is better wood in used for the fins. However, custom has gone to new packaging and the rocket seems smaller. What ever happened to the large c and D kits of old? while the kit does fly well it seems like the consumer gets a little less. While it is an alternative to Estes it lacks in luster. Some of use enjoy low power rocketry but hate the down sizing the of choice and size." (V.L.)

GUEST's OPINION:
"I love my Redliner. I'm a driftophobe so I use a streamer. I did make some minor mods to mine, though: basswood fins in the stock planform, scant zipper-proofing and a 24mm motor mount. On its very first pass, it vertical-stalled at apogee. Nice. Think it blazes on a C6-7? Don't blink with an E15! 3200+'! Custom makes great performing rockets for a nice price." (G.C.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
06/10 - "My first flight was very disappointing. It flew over 1000 feet, which was great, but when it hit apogee, it instantly ejected the parachute and away it went. It was on a cloudy day, so I lost it in the clouds. I added a streamer to the rocket with my name clearly printed on it. The streamer made it fall straight down, which was nice, but when it hit the ground the fin cracked. So I went for the next best, a small neon pink parachute. It fell nice and straight because of the parachute's size. Also, it was recognizable to the naked eye in the sky." (M.B. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
09/03 - "This is a super performer for the price as a skill level 1 kit. The only modification I made was the shock cord and mount. Kevlar cord (.063") that is readily available on eBay was anchored around the engine mount prior to installation. I cut the cord length to stay just inside the end of the tube and secured the elastic shock cord with a fishing swivel. The kit construction was otherwise to the letter, even the finishing came out just like the package picture. Flights with a C6-5 are spectacular and recoveries (14 since built) have been flawless. This is a fine model for anyone to add to their collection." (WILLY. )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
06-24-2001 Rick Adams Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - launched straight as an arrow, drifted on 15 inch streamer about 40 feet from pad; hit concrete on fins but no damage.
06-20-2010 Mark Bischof Est SU C6-7 Apogee - Perfect
(1257 ft)
Calm RIP - Very high, but lost in clouds, higly recomended, but add a streamer instead of the parachute Status: Lost
05-01-2004 Matthew Bond Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up Calm - First Flight! Straight boost, not much altitude. Just stalling out at ejection. Good chute, no drift, caught it on the fly. Small dent in lip of body tube.
05-01-2004 Matthew Bond Est SU B6-4 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - Quick straight boost. Not quite to apogee at ejection. Good chute, no drift, zero damage.
05-01-2004 Matthew Bond Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - High straight and fast off the pad. Angled the launch rod a bit, but winds only on the surface. Stalling out at ejection. Good chute, long walk, no damage.
05-01-2004 Matthew Bond Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - High fast and straight up. Just stalling out at ejection. Good chute, no drift. Got under it and missed the catch. No damage.
10-02-2004 Matthew Bond Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Good boost, high and fast. Stalling out at ejection. Good chute, no drift, caught it on the fly. Popped one shroud line from under the tape disk. No damage to rocket.
10-11-2004 Matthew Bond Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up Calm - High fast boost. No wind on the ground, but pretty stiff at altitude. Stalling out at ejection, chute looked fouled on the way down. Long walk, no damage. Popped two shoud lines.
09-11-2005 Matthew Bond Est SU C6-5 Just Before 0-5 mph winds Event: QUARK Section Launch
- Chute modified with tied-thru shroud lines. Straight high and fast off the pad. Ejection just prior to apogee, chute did a 2-3 second delayed opening. Tall grass landing, no damage.
07-08-2009 Matthew Bond Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Flight Picture V2.0 - First flight of the new Redliner! Fast boost, straight and high. Nose up arcing into the wind at ejection. Good chute, lots of drift, seemed to hang a couple of times. Grass landing, no damage
07-17-2009 Matthew Bond Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds V2.0 - Cub Scout Demo Launch. Short quick boost, nose up, holding into the wind at ejection. Used a short mylar streamer due to small field size. Good deployment, pretty hard grass landing, no damage.
07-17-2009 Matthew Bond Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds V2.0 - Cub Scout Demo Launch. Nice quick boost, nose up holding into the wind at ejection. Used a short mylar streamer due to small field size. Good deployment, hard landing on the grass, no damage.
08-01-2009 Matthew Bond Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds Flight Picture V2.0 - Angled the rod into the wind. High fast boost, arcing over, still nose up at ejection. Good chute, long walk, grass landing, no damage.
11-28-2009 Matthew Bond Est SU B6-4 Just Before 0-5 mph winds Flight Picture V2.0 - Nice boost, straight and fast. Slowing down, not quite to apogee at ejection. Good chute, minor drift, grass landing, no damage.
09-26-2010 Matthew Bond Est SU C6-5 Just Before 0-5 mph winds Flight Picture V2.0 - Last flight of an awsome day! Great boost, straight, fast and high. Slowing down, not quite to apogee at ejection. Good chute, long time coming down. Short walk, lakebed landing, no damage.
01-28-2006 Matthew Bond Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 10+ mph winds RIPEvent: QUARK Section Launch
- Straigh, high and fast. Arcing into the wind during the coast. Good streamer, short walk. Landed in the soccer fields near the pads. No damage to rocket, decals starting to break up and peel. Status: Retired
04-02-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - excellent flight
04-09-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU C6-5 None - Nose Cone Stuck 5-10 mph winds - Lawn Dart with NO damage !!
06-18-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - First flight of the Father's day launch
09-20-2000 Paul Gray Est SU C6-5 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - WEather cocked a fair bit but good flight. WEnt over the tree line nearby and since i used a streamer it did not dirft back. trees got it.
09-29-2000 Paul Gray Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Great flight and recovery.
09-29-2000 Paul Gray Est SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Great high flight. Love this kit. Nice and strait flights, fast and high yet notto high to drift to far.
09-29-2000 Paul Gray Est SU D12-5 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - Second flight for this one on D motor. great flight and came back again. Added some weightto nose cone and used streamer instead of chute. Next flight will be on a E15-7. Cannot wait for that.
09-29-2000 Paul Gray Est SU D12-5 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - this was a second kit i had but modified to take 24mm motors. Flew great and high! Had a streamer and recovered easily.
08-10-2002 Paul Gray AT SU F72-10 None - Nose Cone Stuck
(400 ft)
Calm RIP - Launched this on D's and once on E15 so thought I could try larger.Had a f72 left overfrom my last mach buster. Epoxyed fins on and coated them, useda streamer and added lots of noseweight. still went over 400 feet!
08-03-2003 Paul Gray AT SU F72-10 None - CATO Calm RIP - Flown one of these before on F72 and went nice and high. This one had less nose weight and therefore faster! Broke mach, nice loud bang andthen watched it shred apart! Status: Not Repairable
04-03-2005 Andrew Grippo Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Good maiden flight for a good looking rocket. Not too much drift with this small motor. Good recovery - no damage.
11-03-2005 Andrew Grippo Est SU B6-4 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - Nice straight flight, delay seemed a little short but no damage to rocket.
11-03-2005 Andrew Grippo Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Very high staight boost, long drift but landed without damage. Nice flight.
01-07-2006 Andrew Grippo Est SU C6-7 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Good flight and recovery. No damage to rocket.
06-02-2007 Andrew Grippo Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Monthly Launch
- Good flight and recovery.
02-23-2008 Andrew Grippo Est SU C6-7 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Monthly Launch
- Nominal Flight
02-16-2009 Mark Grisco Est SU A8-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - first flight. nice low flight.
02-16-2009 Mark Grisco Est SU B6-6 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - perfect motor. i cut about a 7 inch spillhole (more hole than 'chute) and it still kind of drifts. 500 feet+.
02-16-2009 Mark Grisco Est SU C6-7 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - perfect flight. looked like 1100 or 1200 feet. super cool.
04-17-2009 Mark Grisco Est SU C6-7 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds - lost sight of it half the way up. today was very cloudy and it was hard to see tracking smoke. my brother eyeballed it at about 300 feet.
08-08-2009 Mark Grisco Est SU B4-4 Apogee - NC Down Gusty - WINDY!! it spun on the way up. i have launched this 4 or 5 times and it has never spun b4. i think the wind caught it funny. major drift. cool flight any way...
08-19-2000 Victor Loar Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect Calm - first flight. Great went stright up and very high. No wind that day. I was glad that i chose to use a streamer or i would have had to walk a little for it. Due to the rockets light construction it flew very well and high on a B. The other two flights were
12-10-2000 Luke McMinn Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - First flight, straight up and down.
12-10-2000 Luke McMinn Est SU C6-7 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - Fast and straight boost on second flight. Parachute slightly damaged
11-06-2004 Mark Muir Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Parachute switched to new one on this flight. Fully deployed, drifted 500ft into a tree. Recovered with no damage.
11-06-2004 Mark Muir Est SU B6-4 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds - Another high flight into the sun. Parachute deployed but strings tangled and prevented full deployment. Landed near pad with no damage.
11-06-2004 Mark Muir Est SU B6-4 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds - High flight into sun. Parachute failed to fully deploy but slowed decent enough to prevent damage.
11-13-2004 Mark Muir Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Rear fin tube seperated during ejection. No other damage.
09-30-2006 Mark Muir Est SU C6-5 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds -
03-28-2009 Joseph Olexa Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Desert Heat
- Good straight and smooth flight with good altitude. Ejected parachute and landed softly with no damage about 125 feet away from launch pad. Great flight!
05-17-2009 Joseph Olexa Est SU B4-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Flight Picture - Another flight for my Redliner. This is a great rocket! Good stable flight and parachute deployment for a soft landing about 10' from launch pad.
11-15-2009 Joseph Olexa Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Flight Picture - Good smooth take off and stable flight with parachute eject and soft landing. Great flight.
06-23-2007 Dwayne Shmel Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds Event: Club Launch
Tiger Shark - Part of a 3 rocket drag race.
08-25-2007 Dwayne Shmel Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: Club Launch Nowthen
Tiger Shark - Nice flight. Not too high, I think I will use a B6 next time.
06-21-2008 Dwayne Shmel Est SU A8-3 Just Before Gusty Event: 2008 Solstice Launch
Tiger Shark - Should have used a 5 second delay.
04-04-2009 Dwayne Shmel Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Event: TARC Launch - Apple Valley
Tiger Shark -
07-18-2009 Dwayne Shmel Est SU A3-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds Event: Picnic Launch
Tiger Shark -
03-08-2002 Casey Smith Est SU 1/2A6-2 Apogee - NC Down
(100 ft)
10+ mph winds - Nice little boost to about 100 feet, flew well in the strong wind.

Copyright © 2019 by RocketReviews.com