There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing!

 

Guests On
  myEMRR
[Logo]

REV 2.4 - Wed Aug 14 15:34:10 2013

Custom Rockets
Razor
P.O. Box 1865
Lake Havasu City, AZ 86405
(800) 394-4114
  All   More Like This   Previous   Next

SPECS: 12" x 0.976" - 1.6 oz
ROCKSIM FILE: Right Click to Download
SpaceCAD FILE: MISSING - please submit here
REC'D MOTORS: 1/2A6-2, A8-3, B4-4, B6-4, C6-5, C6-7

[Picture](07/20/01) A local hobby shop was going out of business and I bought everything that was left for $100. I figured it to be about $300 worth of stuff. In that, I gained a Custom Razor and since I like tube-fin rockets I went ahead and built this one.

This kit is designed as a Skill Level 1 for the beginner and starter. Yes, you build it, but it is not necessary to paint it as it comes with gloss yellow tubes and a black plastic nose cone. So I just built it the way the kit was originally intended.

See my Tube-Fin Rocket Comparison Page

The Razor comes with a plastic nose cone, a single 9" body tube, six (6) 1 7/8" tube fins, an 18mm motor mount with a motor retainer clip, a short (12") piece of elastic shock cord and a plastic 12" parachute. There are some water transfer decals for the finishing touch.

CONSTRUCTION:

The instructions for the kit were thorough and allowed for any skill of builder to be successful in assembly of the Razor. They include diagrams to ensure accuracy. They also included finishing (although that is only putting on the decals) and flight instructions.

As mentioned, I planned to build this rocket quickly and with no plans to paint it since the body and fin tubes were already gloss yellow and the nose cone was black. I literally assembled this rocket in 5 minutes. All except the shock cord and parachute. I used Quick Grab glue on this model (additional comments about Quick Grab glue) for everything except gluing the 3-fold shock cord mount into place.

I decided not to use the 12" piece of elastic because I feel it is too short, so I added 18" of 1/16" Kevlar® to it. I used the Kevlar® in the 3-fold method of shock cord attachment. I also replaced the parachute with a 18" x 3" plastic streamer just to help in recovery. It is such a light rocket that I would rather see it drop faster.

Even though the kit is designed so that you don't have to paint, the tube spirals are very evident. The black water-transfer decals include tube stripes, the numbers 1 through 6 for each tube and the word "Razor".

Overall, for CONSTRUCTION I would rate this kit 3 ½ points. It's fast and easy, like a skill level one should be but also has too short of a shock cord and this would have been a good candidate for a streamer (like Custom's Serval came with).

FLIGHT/RECOVERY:

Custom recommended the following motors: 1/2A6-2, A8-3, B4-4, B6-4, C6-5, and C6-7.

The first day I could fly the Razor was perfect! No wind and so I loaded it up with a C6-7 for its first flight. I had added a piece of Rogue Perma-wadding so preparation was easy. At ignition, this little guy was out of here and it went very high, in fact I lost track until the tracking smoke. It was clear that it was still going up upon ejection. The streamer deployed and it was recovered close by.

The next opportunity I had to fly was also very nice, so I loaded up the Apogee C10-7 and let her rip! Wow, zoom off the pad and straight up, except for a little tight tail swing. It was way up there and I could track the position by the nice amount of tracking smoke in the C10. It arced over and ejected and then I heard the ejection a split second later. The streamer was folded/rolled and got caught in the shock cord and the rocket fell to the ground with no damage. However, the poor Rogue Perma-wadding just isn't cut out to handle the powerful Apogee motor ejection charges!

The third flight, in the same day, was also on an Apogee motor, the C4-5. This time I used some wadding and the remains of the Perma-wadding. Again, ignition and a straight flight (no wiggle this time) and you could hear the extra time in the burn. It was at apogee, perfect, when the ejection charge fired. I followed the rocket down only to find it missing the nose cone and steamer.

For FLIGHT/RECOVERY, I would rate this kit 4 points. It is definitely a fun flier after changing the shock cord and adding a streamer. You can fly it on 1/2A's, A's and B's, but I was taking it to its limits. Make sure you have a calm day and a large field with C motors and have some fun!

Overall, the Razor is good first rocket for someone looking for a Tube-Fin. It is fast to assemble and gives nice flights. Make the modifications though, because otherwise I fear you'll only be getting a couple of flights on it before banging the body tube, breaking the shock cord or losing it on a parachute. I give the kit an OVERALL rating of 3 ½ points.


Rating
(Contributed - by Michael Doherty - 12/01/01)

Brief:
The Razor is a tube-finned, no-paint-necessary, easy to assemble rocket from Custom. It comes with a 12" parachute for recovery and will take a number of different engines, per the manufacturer.

Construction:
Since this was the first Custom kit I had built, I wasn't sure what to expect. Upon opening the kit, I was impressed with the packaging & parts. each 'section' of the rocket had its own packaged parts (motor mount/chute/tube fins) and all were high quality. The nose cone had some flashing which needed to be trimmed and sanded. The engine hook was a bit thin, but worked out fine. The shock cord was a thin piece of elastic. The pre colored tubes looked quite good and sturdy, with no apparent defects.

Construction was straightforward with easy to follow instructions. This was also the first tube fin rocket I had ever built, even in my first incarnation as a rocketeer, so it was new. The kit went together easily without the need for anything besides glue and a hobby knife. The tube fins were a snap, and I drizzled a bit of thin CA between the tubes to make them more stable. This is not in the directions, but I think it makes for a more stable kit. I also did a mod on the shock cord, using a length of Kevlar®. I attached the Kevlar® cord using the supplied cord mount (which needs to be bigger!). I then attached the supplied shock cord to a loop in the end of the cord, much like the Quest kits. The elastic cord is then tied to the nose cone. One other mod I did was to ditch the supplied parachute and use a streamer instead. The kit is so light, it would drift forever on the chute. I used a 2 1/2 foot piece of Mylar for a streamer which was attached via a snap swivel. The nose cone required a couple wraps of tape around the shoulder to have a good fit. Overall construction was easy and best of all, fun.

Finishing:
Since this was a pre-colored kit, finishing consisted of putting on the water-slide decals. These were quite thin, and one tore. I wasn't overly impressed with them, but they looked OK.

Construction Rating: 4 out of 5

Flight:
Flying the kit was fun. Not knowing what to expect from a tube-fin kit, I went with the A8-3 on first flight. It went decently high (it is a very light kit after all) and was recovered without incident. The streamer worked nicely. Second flight was on a B6-4, and boy does it rip off the pad on this. Very high, and almost tough to see. Very little drift, and landed near the pad. On a "C" engine, this thing would go out of sight. Wonder what would happen on an Aerotech "D"? :) PROS: Nice high flights on low powered motors CONS: tough to track at higher altitudes

Recovery:
As stated above the shock cord was modified with a length of Kevlar®. I do this to all my kits now and have not had one incidence of burn-through on ejection. Also, use a streamer. Given how high this can go on relatively low powered motors, it would drift off in even the most light of winds if the supplied parachute is used.

Flight Rating: 4 out of 5

Summary:
Overall, this is a fun, easy to assemble and fly kit. Its unique looks make it interesting, and its high flights are great.

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5


[NAR][Sport Rocketry]

The following excerpt is from "Sport Rocketry". The intention is to allow guests to get a basic feeling about a kit. We strongly suggest that you get a copy of the referenced Sport Rocketry and read the entire article. Inside you will find many helpful hints in construction as well as other useful information. For more information, use the two links above.


(Sport Rocketry - Fall 1995 - page 7 - by Tim Wood ) 

Image provided by Anthony Cooper"The Razor is an inexpensive way to try out tube fin flying." 
"The kit features a plastic nose cone, Mylar parachute and tube fins." 
"Construction of the rocket is fairly easy. The instructions are clear and well illustrated." 
"The plastic nose cone . . . is molded in black, so it fits the yellow and black color scheme without painting." 
"A few simple decals are included to dress up the rocket." 
"The first test flight was on an A8-3 with the 12-inch parachute." 
"Despite winds of 10 to 15 mph, the rocket showed little tendency to weathercock." 
"The Razor is an inexpensive, durable sport flyer that should add a change of pace [to] your rocket activities." 

The entire article gives the impression is that this is a good first tube-fin kit for beginners and novice modelers.


Rating
(Contributed - by Duane Boldt [Who's Who Page] - 08/26/10)Custom - Razor

Brief:
Easy to build, nice performing tube fin rocket.

It has parachute recovery and flies on 18mm motors.

Construction:

  • 1 - BT-509 yellow body tube
  • 1 - PC-50 nose cone
  • 6 - tube fins
  • 1 - 12" parachute
  • 6 - TD-6 tape disks for parachute
  • 1 - SL-72 shroud line set
  • 1 - EC-2 motor clip
  • 1 - ET-20 2.75" motor tube
  • 2 - CR-2050 centering rings
  • 1 - SC-2 shock cord
  • 1 - LUG125 yellow launch lug
  • 1 - EB-20 engine block
  • 1 - decal sheet
  • 1 - shock cord mount

The instructions are quite easy to follow and are printed on one 8.5" x 11.0" sheet, tri-folded.

1. As with many kits the first step is assembling the motor mount. the motor mount is standard fare.

2. Next the 6 tube fins are glued on one-by-one.

The shock cord mount is them cur out from the first fold of the instruction sheet. We cut our own out of a spare piece of paper to keep out copy of the instructions in fileable shape.

3. Next the provided yellow launch lug is glued on. *actually missed this step in our building and we first flew it without a launch lug... I glued the launch lug on after our launch last week.

4. The custom parachute is then assembled.

5. The shock cord and parachute are then attached to the "rings" on the nose cone. Having separate mounts for the parachute and shock cord was a good idea.


Finishing:
Finishing is quite easy as the body tube, tube fins and launch lug are already yellow out of the bag. The nose cone is also black plastic.

Construction Rating: 5 out of 5

Flight:
CONS:

There were no CONS to our flights.

PROS:

I had forgot to glue on the launch lug until after our first launches.

For those first flights, we just inserted the launch rod through the gap between the tube fins and body tube. This worked great for all of our flights.

Recovery:
Flew great on A8-3 motors. We used the A's on all three flights for the review because the rocket was going pretty high. All recovering were great.

Flight Rating: 5 out of 5

Summary:
This is a great little rocket and a very fast, easy build. It is also a good candidate for upscaling a tube fin rocket.

It is very easier to build and flies great on A8-3 motors. B's and C's might make it difficult to find the rocket, especial during windy weather.

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5

[Submit your Opinion]

GUEST's OPINION:
06/04 - "2004 update. Just built with my 8 year old daughter, who has previously built a Mosquito and some E2Xs. Razor now comes with stickers, instead of decals, and parachute has "through the sticker" attachments. Directions were clear enough that she could build the rocket herself. Only potential sticky points were getting the motor mount in (before "glue lock" occurred), cutting the parachute shroud line into 3 equal pieces, and lining up the striped sticker. Enough new things to let her skills grow, but nothing with the potential to ruin the fun. Outstanding rocket for an early builder with instructions readable by a 2nd grader. Really has given her a great sense of accomplishment. Would have gone with a longer shock cord and streamer, but wanted her to experience building the kit as designed." (S.K.)

GUEST's OPINION:
06/02 - "As the review says, this is a great kid's rocket. You should also believe the reviewers and stick to A and B impulse motors, as this bird really zips. Ditch the parachute for a streamer, and don't make it too long. This is a light rocket and you won't snap a fin on landing. It's cheap and we fly it a lot." (G.A.D.)

GUEST's OPINION:
05/02 - "This was one of my sons first rockets ,It was simple to build and has gone through a lot, More than worth the money for the amount of times he has flown it. When he first got it he replaced the chute with a streamer. The only problem that I have with this rocket is after he flew it once on a Aerotech D21 he won't use the Estes motors for it anymore, So now cost more per flight. After I don't know how many flights it does look like it has gone through the war, He says it is now retired but he still takes it when we go to the launchs, I am sure he will fly it a few more times." (H.E.)

GUEST's OPINION:
01/02 - "What a nice little kit! This was also the first Custom kit that I've built and since the quality was as good as all the Estes kits I've built, it probably won't be the last. I also replaced the parachute with a streamer. I did find the motor clip a little cheesy but even after five flights, the rocket has not spit any motor casings. I've only flown mine on A8-3's and just recently the newly released A8-5 for a nice flight. Next up is a B6-4 or B6-6. Then maybe a C6-7 when I get really brave. I would highly recommend this kit to anyone." (D.B.Jr)

GUEST's OPINION:
08/01 - "The Razor is a winner. The kit builds up quickly (I used yellow glue with CA drops as "tackers"). Flight performance is excellent with minimal weathercocking. Great performance on an A8-3. I haven't got the nerve to a C motor yet and when I do it'll be on a streamer-this lil' doggie moves high." (unknown)

GUEST's OPINION:
06/00 - "The Custom Razor is my favorite small rocket in my fleet. I usually launch it first as it always flies straight and true and makes an excellent wind tester. I switched the parachute included in the kit for a large "police line - do not cross" streamer. It'll get way up there and drift quite a ways with a c engine on a parachute." (J.A.)

GUEST's OPINION:
04/00 - "I'm now on my third Razor. The first one floated away and I bought 2 more to replace it! I love this bird, it's unusual looking and a great performer. It's very tough, stable and simple to build. Every rocketeer should own one of these unique little rockets." (D.S.)

GUEST's OPINION:
09/99 - "It really is a terrific performer. Try it on a B6-6 or a C6-7 and watch it go. The tube fins make it amazingly stable, and since the kit is quite light (no wooden fins) it goes like crazy. Watch out, though: it will be tough to track on a C6-7." (V.C.)

GUEST's OPINION:
"The Custom Razor was a true pleasure to fly. My 5 year old son built most of the rocket with my help, its easy for young ones because there are no fins to align. We flew it today for the first time. WOW what a nice performer, I recommend this rocket to anyone looking for a nice low altitude rocket for kids. We launched it twice on a Estes A8-3 and she went up straight as an arrow and came down on its 12" chute with only a slight drift. I snatched it from the air on its first flight and my 7 year old daughter did on the second." (J.B.)

[Enter Rocket Specific Tip]

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
01/09 - "When building this rocket, we had a problem with the tube fins staying on. What we did to keep them in place while they dried was that we took a rubber band and put it around the tubes to prevent them from slipping off. This allowed us to make sure that the tubes were even while they dried." (D.B. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
06/03 - "Don't bother putting the launch lug between two tube fins and the body tube. It won't quite fit, but a launch rod fits nicely in the gap. Be sure to align the launch lug. Parachute: SAVE TO USE ON ANOTHER ROCKET. Ditch the attachment method. Punch holes in tape disks after they are on the parachute. Tie shroud lines on." (B.B. )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
08/02 - "A good way to get rid of any dents on the ends of the tube fins is to use a spent Estes C11, D12 or E9 casing as the tube fins are also 24mm. Just carefully insert the casing, turn gently and then remove. Hope this helps. " (D.B.Jr )

SPECIFIC ROCKET TIP:
02/02 - "Use a streamer for the Razor instead of a parachute. A streamer will reduce the amount of drift due to wind and shorten your recovery walk." (D.B.Jr )

[Enter Flight Log]
Date Name Motor Ejection/
Altitude
Wind Notes
06-17-2001 Rick Adams Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - Straight off launch pad. Came down on 1.5x15 paper streamer within 20 feet of pad onto lawn with no damage. Nice Father's Day flyer.
01-??-2000 Madison Adler Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Good Flight
01-??-2000 Madison Adler Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Notes Good Flight
02-??-2000 Madison Adler Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Good flight
03-??-2000 Madison Adler Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Good Flight
04-??-2000 Madison Adler Est SU C6-7 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - WHOOSH WAY HIGH GOOD FLIGHT
07-??-2000 Madison Adler Est SU C6-7 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Good Flight
08-??-2000 Madison Adler Qst SU A6-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - GOOD FLIGHT
11-17-2001 John Arthur Est SU B6-4 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds - Wind test.
05-24-2004 John Arthur Est SU B6-4 Didn't Record Calm - Wind test. Perfect flight - no wind.
08-07-2004 William Beggs Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm Event: Bear Creek Lake Park, Lakewood, CO
- Great flight and recovery.
09-18-2005 William Beggs Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Great flight and recovery.
01-27-2008 John Bergsmith Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - On a C6-5 it leaves the pad in a hurry. Arrow straight flights even in the windy conditions we had today. Very nice altitude, recovered on a small 8 chute with a short walk. I'm very happy with this rocket.
12-17-2001 Donald Besaw Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Another nice straight flight. Close recovery. No damage.
12-17-2001 Donald Besaw Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Nice first flight for my first tube-fin rocket. Used a streamer instead of a parachute. Close recovery.
01-06-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds - Another nice flight despite high winds.
01-06-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 10+ mph winds - Nice flight. First launch of 2002.
01-20-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU A8-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - First test flight with this new motor. Nice.
02-02-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight. Shock cord seperated at ejection. Both pieces recovered. No damage to body after a swift tumble to the ground.
02-08-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm - Replaced shock cord from previous flight. Nice high flight. Shock cord stayed attached this time. Nice recovery.
02-17-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Wind test. Good flight.
04-07-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU 1/2A6-2 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - Don't bother using this motor. Very low flight maybe 100. Good thing the ejection was almost instant. No damage. I don't plan on using this combo again.
04-07-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Another nice flight. This rocket keeps right on kicking.
04-14-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Nice high, straight flight. Received an Estes dent but no major damage.
06-11-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Wind test. Streamer tore loose from nose cone. No damage.
06-17-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm - Wind test although there wasn't much to test. Short recovery walk. No damage.
07-30-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Wind test. Good flight.
09-08-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Nice straight high flight. Landed about 10 feet up in a tree. Recovered.
10-04-2002 Donald Besaw Est SU B4-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Wind test. Great flight.
03-23-2003 Donald Besaw Est SU B4-4 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm - Wind test, nice flight.
03-23-2003 Donald Besaw Est SU C6-7 Apogee - NC Down
(1200 ft)
Calm - I finially had the guts to put a C6-7 in this little guy. Great flight, must have gone at least 1,200 feet. Nice recovery, no damage.
07-04-2003 Donald Besaw Est SU B6-6 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight, shock cord burned through causing a seperation. Both sections recovered, will reattach shock cord. No damage.
02-07-2004 Donald Besaw Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Wind test, nice flight. The elastic seperated from the kevlar anchor. Both sections recovered. No damage.
06-09-2003 Bill Bill Est SU B4-4 Just Before 0-5 mph winds - High. Almost like the mosquito. Ejected early, and came down slowly on streamer (due to altitude). Landed ten feet up in a tree, easily retrieved. Kevlar holds up well.
07-11-2003 Bill Bill Est SU 1/2A3-2 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Very low, but straight flight.
08-22-2010 Duane Boldt Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm Flight PictureEvent: Lincoln Launch
- Great flight. This thing really flies high on just an A motor.
08-22-2010 Duane Boldt Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm Flight PictureEvent: Lincoln Launch
- Another nice flight!
08-22-2010 Duane Boldt Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record Calm Flight PictureEvent: Lincoln Launch
- Another good flight. Great on this little motor.
11-23-2010 Dean Booth Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record 10+ mph winds - Maiden flight, recovered on 2x40 inch crepe streamer. Somewhat disappointing - might have bound on launch rod.
11-23-2010 Dean Booth Est SU B6-4 Didn't Record 10+ mph winds - Flew OK, recovered on 2 in folded mylar streamer. I think the launch rod is binding where it passes between the tube fins. I'll have to see if this can be improved.
11-23-2010 Dean Booth Est SU B6-4 Didn't Record 10+ mph winds - Weathercocked into a big, untimely gust of wind. Flew and recovered OK, though. Remained visible and glint of mylar streamer in the sun helped to track.
01-03-2011 Dean Booth Est SU A10-3 Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds - Tried an A10-3 with my 13mm adapter - very nice. Recovered less than 50 feet away.
01-03-2011 Dean Booth Est SU B6-4 Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds - Pretty steep weathercock into the wind. Floated a ways on dual crepe streamers, recovered OK.
03-08-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 10+ mph winds - Great rocket , always flies straight , even in the wind
03-30-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect Calm - This rocket flies great
04-02-2006 Richie Brunjes Qst SU C6-5 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds - Delay seemed long , almost landed on the launch rod .
04-09-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Another excellent flight
04-24-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Real high
06-04-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU C6-3 Just Before Calm Grateful Boy - Separated ... no damage. I really like this rocket , will get a new shock cord for it.
06-27-2006 Richie Brunjes Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds RIPEvent: NERRF2
- Straight up , real high nice flight. Even on a 9 inch chute it was so high it drifted into the tree line Status: Tree/Roof
01-09-2010 Bernard Cawley Qst SU A6-4 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds Event: club flying site
- Good straight boost. Good deploy and 'chute. Landed on top of sand pile (!!) in puddle. Will need to dry out for awhile.
01-17-2010 Bernard Cawley Qst SU A6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: Holy Family playfield
- Good straight boost. Ejection a bit late but good. Landing within 15 feet of pad!
01-29-2010 Bernard Cawley Est SU A8-3 Just Past (1-2sec) 5-10 mph winds Event: class launch @ Petrovitsky Park
Razor No. 2 - (flying with streamer, not 'chute) Nice straight boost. Deploy a bit late (delay seemed long). Blew way downwind and almost lost in trees, but recovered.
03-13-2010 Bernard Cawley Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record 5-10 mph winds Event: club flying site
Razor No. 2 - (Streamer instead of 'chute) A little wiggle in the crosswind going up, but good altitude. Good deploy and landing. Missed the puddles. Small dent in top of BT.
01-17-2010 Bernard Cawley Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds RIPEvent: Holy Family playfield
- Hooked to west (why?). Altitude didn't seem much more than with an A (drag?). Good deploy but drifted off site to roof or tree at nearby apartments. Status: Tree/Roof
10-26-2002 Stephen Corban Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up --- not selected --- - Notes
11-17-2002 Stephen Corban Est SU B6-6 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds -
04-20-2006 Simon Crafts Est SU C6-7 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - I always fly my Razor as a wind tester on a C6-7. Replace that chute for a streamer!! Always a great flight.
06-16-2002 George Dean Est SU A8-3 Just Before 5-10 mph winds - Nice boost to moderate height. Drifted some on the chute...I think I'll switch to a streamer when the wind blows.
06-24-2001 EMRR Est SU C6-7 Very Early Calm - Yippee, this thing went and it was still traveling up when ejection occurred. I used a streamer and got it right back. I have a C10-7 with its name on it.
07-18-2001 EMRR Apo SU C10-7 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Had a little wiggle on the way up, but it was fast! Could track very well with the smoke and it ejected at apogee visually, then I heard the pop. Streamer stuck in shock cord, no damage
07-18-2001 EMRR Apo SU C4-5 Apogee - Perfect Calm RIP - Excellent flight, straight and good tracking smoke. Upon ejection I followed the rocket down only to find that the nose cone and streamer were missing. Status: Scavenged
06-22-2002 Bill Eichelberger Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up Calm - First flight. The A8-3 is far too conservative for anything other than a backyard flight. This is a sturdy rocket that begs to be flown high.
06-22-2002 Bill Eichelberger Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Much better. Straight, high flight and perfect recovery. Great kit. Custom should be proud.
07-06-2002 Bill Eichelberger Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Great flight, but I wasn't wearing sunglasses and tracked a kite instead of the parachute. I wrote it off as lost, but it was returned minutes later by another flier.
07-14-2002 Bill Eichelberger Est SU B6-6 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Good and high, just like I like 'em.
07-18-2002 Bill Eichelberger Est SU B4-4 None - CATO Calm - A B4-4 CATO? Surprised me too. Body tube recovered after landing in the middle if U.S. 27 at rush hour. Nose cone and parachute drifted off for parts unknown. Appeared to be rising when last seen.
09-01-2002 Bill Eichelberger Est SU A8-5 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm - Comparitively low level flight, but still entertaining.
09-01-2002 Bill Eichelberger Est SU C6-7 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Screaming flight as part of a two Razor drag race. Recovered across the road from the Summit County Fairgrounds.
03-23-2003 Bill Eichelberger Est SU B6-6 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Arrow straight and impressive. Custom's best product by a long shot.
04-08-2006 Bill Eichelberger Est SU B6-4 Very Early 10+ mph winds Event: Woodfill Whoopy-Do
- Nose cone fell off before ejection charge fired.
04-26-2009 Bill Eichelberger Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect Gusty Event: Fabulous B6-4 Field in friendly Ft. Thomas
- Typical small field Razor flight.
08-24-2003 Rocky Firth Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - First flight of Mikki's Razor. She built it the night before.
08-24-2003 Rocky Firth Est SU C6-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - great flight
08-24-2003 Rocky Firth Est SU C6-7 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - This is the motor. The rocket gods smiled on Mikki this time! The rocket was headed for the tree line but the wind changed direction and blew it back towards her.
02-08-2004 Rocky Firth Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds -
03-21-2004 Rocky Firth Est SU A8-3 Just Before 0-5 mph winds -
03-21-2004 Rocky Firth Est SU A8-3 Just Before 0-5 mph winds -
07-11-2004 Rocky Firth Qst SU A6-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Great flight, landed just inches from the pad.
07-11-2004 Rocky Firth Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Mikki loves this rocket but it is nearing the end of it's flying career, too much damage from the over-zealous ejection charges in Estes motors. This was another near perfect flight.
03-13-2005 Rocky Firth Est SU B4-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds Mikki's Razor #2 -
08-03-1996 Tony Fragge Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record Didn't Record -
09-29-1996 Tony Fragge Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record Didn't Record -
10-19-1996 Tony Fragge Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record Didn't Record -
04-14-2001 Tony Fragge Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds - Notes
05-05-2001 Tony Fragge Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Down Calm - Good flight
05-05-2001 Tony Fragge Est SU B6-4 None - Parachute Fail Calm - Missed the launch lug when placing it on the pad. Rocket's flight was short lived. No damage.
07-15-2001 Tony Fragge Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds -
07-16-2001 Tony Fragge Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Down 0-5 mph winds - Second good flight for the day.
08-26-2008 Matt Gillard Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds RIP - straight fast boost, and then away with the winds to the near by wood. Status: Tree/Roof
06-16-2004 Paul Gray Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - This little bird flies high! Change parachute out for a stream is a must!
07-25-2005 Paul Gray Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect Calm - Shroud lines detached from chute. Plastic chute will be replaced. Still a safe recovery none of the less.
03-05-2000 Chip Jenkins Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Good straight boost. Good Recovery
03-05-2000 Chip Jenkins Est SU C6-5 Didn't See 0-5 mph winds - Way, way high! Too much engine, chute too big - floated across street. Way, way back. Kids cannot find it. Gone
09-08-2007 John Lee Est SU 1/2A6-2 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Event: Monthly Launch
- I forgot to pack a chute. It recovered fine as a tumble.
10-14-2007 John Lee Qst SU A6-4 Apogee - NC Up 10+ mph winds Event: Garner Middle School
- Great flight, especially since I remember the chute this time.
11-10-2007 John Lee Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Perfect flight
01-12-2008 John Lee Qst SU A6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds Event: Monthly Launch
- Very Smokey flight
11-21-2009 John Lee Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds Flight PictureEvent: Alamo Rocketeers SNAP Launch
- Great flight
11-22-2003 David Logan Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 10+ mph winds - Very stable flight, recovered nicely, about 25 yards down wind with a 2 inch by 20 inch streamer.
06-21-2003 Ron McFerren Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Second flight of the day for this bird. Flew great again and returned in good shape. Once again the front of one of the tubes was dented. Will definitely put a longer shock cord in it. I think the nose is snapping back into the tubes at ejection.
06-21-2003 Ron McFerren Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - First flight for this at local club (C.R.A.S.H.) launch. Flew great and recovered on a streamer. Small dent in the front of one of the tubes, but easily repaired. Think I will put a longer shock cord in it when I get a chance.
04-09-2006 Ron McFerren Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - Great flight on a fairly breezy day. This thing scoots even on an A8-3!
04-09-2006 Ron McFerren Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - 2nd launch of the day for this rocket. Landed 5 feet from the pad.
01-04-2001 MikeyR Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Strong ejection, no damage.
01-04-2001 MikeyR Est SU B6-4 Just Past (1-2sec) 0-5 mph winds - Nice
01-18-2001 MikeyR Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record Calm -
02-01-2001 MikeyR Est SU A8-3 Didn't Record Didn't Record - Nice flight.
02-03-2001 MikeyR Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight with good altitude
02-20-2001 MikeyR Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds -
03-02-2001 MikeyR Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up Calm - Landed with the horses. OK.
04-08-2001 MikeyR Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds -
04-26-2001 MikeyR Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight.
04-26-2001 MikeyR Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds -
05-15-2001 MikeyR Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Nice, duration 60.19s.
07-31-2001 MikeyR Est SU B8-5 Just Past (1-2sec) Calm - Nice flight. 28.03 sec.
09-15-2001 MikeyR Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Nice, duration 53.94 sec.
01-14-2002 MikeyR Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds -
01-26-2002 MikeyR Est SU 1/2A6-2 None - Parachute Fail 0-5 mph winds - Just wadded up. Short time.
10-17-2009 Kathy Miller Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds -
08-15-2006 Mike Mistele Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - First flight. Nice and straight, good deployment, landed about 50 feet from the pad.
08-21-2006 Mike Mistele Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight. Slight weathercocking. Chute melted a bit, but soft landing.
09-08-2006 Mike Mistele Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Perfect flight, perfect recovery.
05-25-2007 Mike Mistele Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds - Nice flight.
07-17-2010 Mike Mistele Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds -
08-28-2010 Mike Mistele Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - Straight flight. Ejection was clean, but parachute didn't fully deploy until about 100' above the ground. Landed safely.
09-05-2010 Mike Mistele Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - Parachute didn't open until halfway down (second time in a row this has happened -- time for a new chute?)
03-28-2009 Joseph Olexa Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds Event: Desert Heat
- Good straight flight. Deployed parachute, but chute failed to open and landed on pavement. One tube fin damaged, in for repairs.
08-22-2010 Joseph Olexa Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect Calm Flight PictureEvent: Monthly Launch
- Good straight flight with parachute eject and soft landing about 50 feet from launch pad.
09-13-2009 Eldred Pickett Est SU C6-5 Didn't Record 0-5 mph winds RIP - Status: Lost
01-10-2009 Mark Rose Est SU C6-5 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Flies great, and does not weathercock much if any. My daughter flew this several times on this day with just a streamer--did fantastic.
07-15-2001 Kevin Sawyer 3x Est SU C6-7 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds - this rocket did really good
04-21-2004 Valerie Truax Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up
(250? ft)
0-5 mph winds - Rocket looked like it swam through the air, very quiet and graceful, gently flying into the breeze. It was actually relaxing to watch. 2 ft streamer used instead of parachute, and recovery was gentle, and non eventful.
04-21-2004 Valerie Truax Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect
(250? ft)
0-5 mph winds - Flight was about the same as the first. Nothing uneventful. Sheesh this has to be about the quietest rocket to launch.
04-21-2004 Valerie Truax Est SU A8-3 Very Early 0-5 mph winds - The flight was again as the other 2, but this time the nose popped early, and spun the rocket upside down. No damage though. Recovery was fine. This is a nice motor for this lil guy.
04-25-2004 Valerie Truax Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - turned gently into the breeze when a gust picked up. flight and recovery again remarkably uneventful, though it drifted more in the higher winds coming down.
08-14-2004 Andy Turits Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up Calm RAZOR 3 - Smooth takeoff. Went so straight that the engine fire was visible all the way up from below. Quick drop on 15 streamer. No Impact damage
09-12-2004 Andy Turits Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 0-5 mph winds Razor 3 - Great flight from my favorite wind tester. A little spin, perhaps airframe is weakening? Recovered 30 ft. from pad safe on 2ft streamer
09-26-2004 Andy Turits Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds RAZOR 3 - My favorite wind tester. Perfect straight flight as always. Around 500 ft(?). Blue dusk sky with near full moon above horizon. Glorious burn visible to apogee. Safe streamer recovery 50 ft from pad.
10-10-2004 Andy Turits Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 0-5 mph winds RAZOR 3 - nice gentle arcing flight in a gentle wind. Drops like a rock on its streamer but lands without a dent 150 ft. from pad
10-24-2004 Andy Turits Est SU A8-3 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds RAZOR 3 - straight up, little wind effect, fell fast on worn streamer, returned safe 50 ft. from pad. tube damage from nose cone springback more evident though not bad.
07-03-2006 Andy Turits Est SU A8-3 Just Before 0-5 mph winds RAZOR 3 - Good old Razor 3. flight to about 300 feet and nice streamer recovery...that top of body tube crunch is beginning to show.
10-08-2006 Andy Turits Est SU A8-5 Apogee - Perfect Light winds Razor 3 - no surprises, just a great flight
08-27-2002 Robert Vaughan Est SU A8-3 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Very nice, very straight. Came down a bit fast on the 3 1/2 foot streamer (smoothed out crepe paper). Minor dent in tube.
08-27-2002 Robert Vaughan Est SU B6-4 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - Very straight again, very nice. Another dent in the tube. No repair needed, just to push out the dent.
08-27-2002 Robert Vaughan Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Up 5-10 mph winds - Not as high as I expected, but very nice flight with great recovery. This is an excellent kit if you swap out the 'chute.
08-28-2002 Robert Vaughan Est SU B6-4 Apogee - Perfect 5-10 mph winds - Very nice flight for this rocket, streamer carried it a bit far. Easily recovered.
08-28-2002 Robert Vaughan Est SU C6-5 Didn't See 5-10 mph winds - Nice flight, but shock cord burned through. Nose/streamer and body recovered intact. Field repair with white glue.
08-28-2002 Robert Vaughan Est SU C6-5 Apogee - NC Down 5-10 mph winds RIP - Didn't angle the launch rod enough, streamer carried it atop the nearby school. Status: Lost
04-11-2002 Herb Yekel AT SU D21-4 Just Past (1-2sec) Light winds - Great flight and recovery , Recovered on a streamer, Have flown a few time off the D-21's

Copyright © 2013 by RocketReviews.com