There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing2!

 

Guests On
   myEMRR
2010 EMRR Challenge
Contests:   All   Previous   Next

Essence's Model Rocketry Reviews' Challenge is now in its sixth year! Last year's set a new tone and level of competition and we heard many positive comments on the challenge. Most have a common theme: that the challenge has encouraged them to attempt and learn different aspects of rocketry. The back half of 2009 has been a crazy time for EMRR. It left me (personally) feeling like the only way to keep up is if there were two of me... so now, 2010's challenge will help you appreciate that!

Drag Race
Wildman Rocketry Drag Race!

The number one lesson from the previous 5 years is DO NOT PROCRASTINATE!

The purpose of our challenge has always been to give our guests some milestones throughout the year while supporting EMRR. This year we will continue with our enhanced "milestones" portion of the contest.

We believe that this challenge will not only help the participants to have fun in our hobby, but will also provide them with some learning experiences. We also believe that by sharing those experiences through the pages of EMRR, that others will benefit as well.

Junior Bonus: If you are 15 or younger, you will receive twice the entries for the drawing level that you achieve. In other words, if you make Silver, you will get two Silver entries for the drawing at the end of the year.

The challenge runs from 1/15/10 - 12/15/10. Drawing to take place on/about 1/1/10.


Challenge Awards:

Gold
 

For each participant that scores 31 points or more will be entered to win the grand prize:

For each additional 4 points over 31 each participant will gain an addition entry.

BONUS: All participants that reach the GOLD level will receive the next version of "EMRR Calendar"**

     
Silver
 

For each participant that scores 27 points or more will be entered to win the runner-up prize:

BONUS: All participants that reach the SILVER level will receive the next version of "EMRR Framed Drag Race"**

     
Bronze
 

Odd'l Rockets For each participant that scores 23 points or more will be entered to win the second runner-up prize:

$50 Shopping Spree at Odd'l Rockets! - valued at ~$50)

BONUS: All participants that reach the BRONZE level will receive an "EMRR Mini Poster"**

     
Achievement  

Calendar All participants with at least 18 points will receive an "EMRR Single Page Calendar".


* Shipping is included in the shopping spree amount.
** If "2011 EMRR Calendar" or other "EMRR" prize is not produced then alternate prizes (e.g. rocket kits, EMRR on Disc, etc.) will be provided as a replacement.

THE CHALLENGE COUNTDOWN:

Challenge Description Milestone Max
Points
10   Sign in on the EMRR Announcement eList - Mandatory
This will be the only communication path, so turn on ability to receive e-mails...
  1
9   Bonus"Two at Once" rocket launch picture Photo Contest. Submit two photos of a drag race with at least two rockets.
If recieved on time but only one rocket is moving in the dynamic picture, only 1 point will be awarded.
5/1/10
or can only get 1 point
2
8   "Two on One" Identify a single rocket that you and someone else both build (one for each person). Then coordinate a review where you both contribute to a single article (a Siskel and Erbert style review). Here's an example.

If both individuals are participating in the 2010 EMRR Challenge, you both will get the points.
7/1/10
or can only get 2 points
3
7   Hit List: Build any of the rockets listed on EMRR's Hit List (or Super Hit List) TWICE. Once per the instructions and the second time with your own modifications. Then create one review and one modification article on your experience of Building, Finishing, Flying* both of the rockets. (guidelines)
- OR -
Build any two rockets listed on EMRR's Hit List TWICE with at least one being on the Super Hit List. Review and Articles are required as well.
8/1/10
or can only get 2 or 3 points
3
- OR -
5
6   Twice the Thrust: Build, Fly* and write a review on any 2-motor cluster rocket kit.guidelines)
- OR -
Design, Build, Fly* and write an article on a 2-motor cluster rocket and include RockSIM or SpaceCAD file. (guidelines)
- OR -
Design, Build, Fly* and write an article on a 2-motor cluster rocket using only composite motors. (guidelines)
9/1/10
or can only get 3 or 4 points
4
- OR -
6
- OR -
8
5  

Bonus Double Vision Photo Contest - Submit two pictures of two of the exact same rocket both finished differently for the "Double Vision" photo contest.
- OR -
Same challenge, but you must have the exact "opposite/mirror" finish and write an article on the rockets with emphasis on the finishing techniques used.

10/1/10
or can only get 2 or 3 points
3
- OR -
5
4   BonusDesign, Build and Fly* and write an article on any of the "Design this Spaceship" rockets. (guidelines) 11/1/10
or can only get 4 points
7
3   Twice the Size: Build any current or OOP kit rocket and a scratch 2+x upscale the same rocket.. Design, Build and Fly* and write an article on the upscaled rocket but include at least 1 picture of the original kit rocket. 12/1/10
or can only get 3 points
5
2   Participate in at least one other EMRR Contest during 2010 - AND - vote in in every EMRR Contest that has voting during 2010. 12/15/10
or point is unavailable
1
1   Flight Logs: Utilize the EMRR Flight Logs database. Gain 1 point for every 10 flight logs with at least one log having a flight photo attached. Document all of your 2010 flights**. 12/15/10
or points are unavailable
1 min

4 max
BLAST OFF!!!!!!  

JUMP TO Q/A

FINE PRINT:

  • Points for each challenge can only be gained once regardless if multiple qualifying entries are made.
  • Items do not need to be performed in any order
  • * Fly = Each rocket must be flown 3 times, unless destroyed or lost. The challenge rocket flights are the ones, at minimum, that need to be recorded in the EMRR Flight Logs database
  • ** Flight Logs. EMRR can't verify that ALL of the participant's 2010 flights are recorded, however, all the flights necessary for the challenge can be. In the spirit of the challenge, participants should endeavor to enter all of their flight logs for 2010.
  • Only 1 prize + the EMRR prizes will be awarded and the drawings will be from the top down (Gold, Silver, Bronze)
  • Rockets for 6: These rockets can be a submission to any other design contests that is taking place during 2010, e.g. BRS on EMRR, FlisKits DOM, RMR Descon, etc.
  • Rockets for 4 and 3: These rockets can NOT be submitted to any other design contest that is taking place during 2010, e.g. BRS on EMRR, FlisKits DOM, RMR Descon, etc.
  • Rockets for 6, 4 and 3: These rockets can NOT be the same rocket.

Participant Status

Want to participate? Let me know. Submit

We will track individual's status here:
(clicking on bars will take you to the entries)

WARNING: Points for reviews/articles are listed even if they have less than (3) flights, it is expected that they will have (3) flights prior to the end of the challenge or lose the points.

Who
2 4 6 8 10 12 14 16 18 20 22 24 26 28 30 32 34 36 38 40
Final
KEY
10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1  
 
Duane Boldt 1
Matt Gillard 1
Stephen Morrow 1
Howard Smart 1
KEY
10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1  
 

QA

  • If we are already on the Announcement eList, do we need to re-register?
    • No. Just let me know what your e-mail address is and be sure to respond to the eList announcements with specific instructions to the EMRR Challenge entrants.
  • If I have a rocket that I built and flew last year but never reviewed, is it still eligible or does it have to be built and flown this year?
    • EMRR can not confirm when people build the rocket. We can only tell when things are submitted to EMRR. The spirit of the competition was that all activities of the challenge would be in 2010.
  • If a challenge has a low point -or- a higher point score, can I submit for the lower point and then go for the higher one later in the year??
    • Yes. Now you are seeing some of the strategy! (note: it is either low pts or high pts, not additive)
  • I was also wondering what happens if you purchase a rocket to review that is on the hit list but after you get started someone else posts a review before you do? Will it still count?
    • Yes
  • Why haven't you updated my score with the Review (or other input) I just submitted?
    • Updates to scores will occur when I post the submissions to the site and I can link to them. But, please, reminders are not frowned upon if after a site update you don't see your score updated!
  • You say "Review" in places and "article" in others. Is there a difference between a review and an article? If so, which submission form should be used for an article?
    • Reviews are something with EMRR ratings (Kits, Plans and sometimes OOP); Articles are everything else without EMRR ratings (MODS, Scratch, and sometimes OOP). In essence, they're the same thing.
  • Do I have to participate in the EMRR Challenge to participate in the "Design this Spaceship" contest?
    • No, but why not?
  • Is a purchase of Rocket Design or Simulation software required?
    • No. My experience is with RockSIM and SpaceCAD, both have a free, fully-functional trial period. There are other software packages available as well (mostly simulation only). Also, note that SpaceCAD has offered a 15% discount to EMRR Guests. Contact EMRR to get the discount code.
  • Does the twice the thrust have to be just twice, could it be at least twice the thrust allowing 3 or more motors?
    • No, twice mean two motors?

Copyright © 2013 by RocketReviews.com