There's No Place Better - EMRR! EMRR Rocks!
the basic, real and invariable nature of a thing2!

Guests On
   myEMRR
2009 EMRR Challenge
CONTEST - IS OVER!
Contests:   All   Previous   Next

Essence's Model Rocketry Reviews' Challenge is now in its fifth year! We've appreciated the many comments from particiants who have said that the challenge has encouraged them to attempt and learn different aspects of rocketry. We hope the 2009 version provides the same level of challenge.

2-Stage Lift Off
Gary Dahike's 4" upscale PML Quantum Leap as seen in the 2006 EMRR Calendar

The number one lesson from the previous 4 years is DO NOT PROCRASTINATE!

The purpose of our challenge has always been to give our guests some milestones throughout the year while supporting EMRR. This year we will continue with our enhanced "milestones" portion of the contest.

We believe that this challenge will not only help the participants to have fun in our hobby, but will also provide them with some learning experiences. We also believe that by sharing those experiences through the pages of EMRR, that others will benefit as well.

Junior Bonus: If you are 15 or younger, you will receive twice the entries for the drawing level that you achieve. In other words, if you make Silver, you will get two Silver entries for the drawing at the end of the year.

The challenge runs from 1/15/09 - 12/15/09. Drawing to take place on/about 1/1/10.


Challenge Awards:

Gold

Kathy Miller

 

Public Missiles For each participant that scores 31 points or more will be entered to win the grand prize:

1 PML Thunder ~N~ Lightning kit w/o electronics - valued at ~$300)

For each additional 4 points over 31 each participant will gain an addition entry.

Thunder & LightningThe maximum points available is 41, therefore, the maximum entries for the grand prize is 3.

BONUS: All participants that reach the GOLD level will receive the next version of "EMRR Calendar"**

     
Silver

Brian Ray

 

Semroc For each participant that scores 27 points or more will be entered to win the runner-up prize:

1 each of the Semroc Centaur, Firefly, Texas Firefly, Arcon-Hi, Engine Mount Booster-16 with a Centurion PLUS a $50 Gift Certificate to use at Semroc - valued at ~$150)

BONUS: All participants that reach the SILVER level will receive the next version of "EMRR on CD"**

     
Bronze

Jim Bassham

 

Squirrel Works For each participant that scores 23 points or more will be entered to win the second runner-up prize:

1 each of the Squirrel Works Cloud Warrior and The Tuber - valued at ~$50)

BONUS: All participants that reach the BRONZE level will receive an "EMRR Flight Journal"**

     
Achievement  

Calendar All participants with at least 18 points will receive an EMRR Single Page Calendar.


* Shipping is included in the shopping spree amount.
** If "2010 EMRR Calendar" or the "EMRR on CD" is not produced then alternate prizes (e.g. rocket kit from Model Minutes) will be provided as a replacement.

THE CHALLENGE COUNTDOWN:

Challenge Description Milestone Max
Points
10   Sign in on the EMRR Announcement eList - Mandatory
This will be the only communication path, so turn on ability to receive e-mails...
  1
9   Put yourself on "stage" in the Who's Who Rocketry Registry: Add your own personal entry. 5/1/09
or can only get 1 point
2
8   "Boost" and "sustain" the EMRR experience. Identify a new person (or someone that has not contributed a review > 3 years) that will contribute new content. That person could be you, if you qualify. Contact EMRR with the fellow rocketeer's name and what they intend on submitting before the deadline.

Sign in on the EMRR Announcement eList - Mandatory. Acceptable content includes a review/article (guidelines), detailed Featured Tip, Design this Spaceship contest entry, or Youth Participation entry.


Example: Dear EMRR, Joe Blitzfits will be submitting a review on PML Quantum Leap. Joe has not submitted any content to EMRR in the past.
7/1/09
or can only get 2 points
3
7   Hit List: Build any of the rockets listed on EMRR's Hit List (or Super Hit List) by Building, Finishing, Flying* and Reviewing. (guidelines)
- OR -
Build any two rockets listed on EMRR's Hit List with at least one being on the Super Hit List.
8/1/09
or can only get 2 or 3 points
3
- OR -
5
6   Staging: Build, Fly* and write a review on any staged rocket kit (at least 2-stage). (guidelines)
- OR -
Design, Build, Fly* and write an article on a staged rocket (at least 2-stage) and include RockSIM or SpaceCAD file. (guidelines)
- OR -
Design, Build, Fly* and write an article on a staged rocket (at least 2-stage) using only composite motors. (guidelines)
9/1/09
or can only get 3 or 4 points
4
- OR -
6
- OR -
8
5  

Bonus Rocket Family Photo Contest - Take two pictures of the "family" to submit for photo contest.

  • Series up up/down scales
  • Same type (gliders, stubby, etc)
  • Same theme (Goonies, Star Wars, etc.)
  • Same paint theme
  • Same rocket w/ different configurations
  • Other options, check in with EMRR
- OR -
Same challenge, but you must add a new member to the family by the deadline, so Build, Fly* and write an article on the new rocket family member.
10/1/09
or can only get 2 or 3 points
3
- OR -
5
4   BonusDesign, Build and Fly* and write an article on any of the "Design this Spaceship" rockets. (guidelines) 11/1/09
or can only get 4 points
7
3   Stage-Bash: Combine any two purchased single-stage rocket kits into a rocket that is at least 2-staged using only the parts from within the two kits (kitbash). Design, Build and Fly* and write an article on this rocket. 12/1/09
or can only get 3 points
5
2   Participate in at least one other EMRR Contest during 2009. 12/15/09
or point is unavailable
1
1   Flying Stage: Utilize the EMRR Flight Logs database. Gain 1 point for every 10 flight logs with at least one log having a flight photo attached. Document all of your 2009 flights**. 12/15/09
or points are unavailable
1 min

4 max
BLAST OFF!!!!!!  

JUMP TO Q/A

FINE PRINT:

  • Points for each challenge can only be gained once regardless if multiple qualifying entries are made.
  • Items do not need to be performed in any order
  • * Fly = Each rocket must be flown 3 times, unless destroyed or lost. The challenge rocket flights are the ones, at minimum, that need to be recorded in the EMRR Flight Logs database
  • ** Flight Logs. EMRR can't verify that ALL of the participant's 2009 flights are recorded, however, all the flights necessary for the challenge can be. In the spirit of the challenge, participants should endeavor to enter all of their flight logs for 2009.
  • Only 1 prize + the calendar (or alternate) will be awarded and the drawings will be from the top down (Gold, Silver, Bronze)
  • Rockets for 6: These rockets can be a submission to any other design contests that is taking place during 2009, e.g. BRS on EMRR, FlisKits DOM, RMR Descon, etc.
  • Rockets for 4 and 3: These rockets can NOT be submitted to any other design contest that is taking place during 2009, e.g. BRS on EMRR, FlisKits DOM, RMR Descon, etc.
  • Rockets for 6, 4 and 3: These rockets can NOT be the same rocket.

Participant Status

Want to participate? Let me know. Submit

We will track individual's status here:
(clicking on bars will take you to the entries)

WARNING: Points for reviews/articles are listed even if they have less than (3) flights, it is expected that they will have (3) flights prior to the end of the challenge or lose the points.

Who
2 4 6 8 10 12 14 16 18 20 22 24 26 28 30 32 34 36 38 40
Final
KEY
10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1  
 
Zoe Balkwell 3
Jim Bassham 35
Tim Bearden 3
George Beever 6
William Beggs 6
Scott Berfield 6
Dan Bihary 1
Duane Boldt 31
Matthew Bond 32
Les Bradshaw 3
Jewel Butler 13
Lloyd Chumbley 1
Bill Eichelberger 6
Michael Emerick 3
Matt Gillard 39
Sasha Grant 3
Robert Gustin 16
Tyler Jones 11
Geoffrey Kerbel 3
Ray King 34
Scott Kissinger 3
Jeff Lane 3
Mark Lewis 3
Jamie Martin 9
Hans "Chris" Michielssen 32
Kathy Miller 40
Paul Morris 6
Stephen Morrow 3
Bob Morstadt 20
Todd Mullin 3
Jason Orosco 23
Rob Orr 1
Tommy Owens 2
Layne Pemberton 3
Eldred Pickett 41
Brian Ray 27
Christopher Rhodes 3
Glenn Roth 37
Howard Smart 32
Peter Stanley 32
Chan Stevens 30
Alan Tuskes 1
John "MAX" Venable 22
Ron Wirth 20
KEY
10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1  
 

QA

  • If we are already on the Announcement eList, do we need to re-register?
    • No. Just let me know what your e-mail address is and be sure to respond to the eList announcements with specific instructions to the EMRR Challenge entrants.
  • If I have a rocket that I built and flew last year but never reviewed, is it still eligible or does it have to be built and flown this year?
    • EMRR can not confirm when people build the rocket. We can only tell when things are submitted to EMRR. The spirit of the competition was that all activities of the challenge would be in 2009.
  • If a challenge has a low point -or- a higher point score, can I submit for the lower point and then go for the higher one later in the year??
    • Yes. Now you are seeing some of the strategy! (note: it is either low pts or high pts, not additive)
  • I was also wondering what happens if you purchase a rocket to review that is on the hit list but after you get started someone else posts a review before you do? Will it still count?
    • Yes
  • Why haven't you updated my score with the Review (or other input) I just submitted?
    • Updates to scores will occur when I post the submissions to the site and I can link to them. But, please, reminders are not frowned upon if after a site update you don't see your score updated!
  • You say "Review" in places and "article" in others. Is there a difference between a review and an article? If so, which submission form should be used for an article?
    • Reviews are something with EMRR ratings (Kits, Plans and sometimes OOP); Articles are everything else without EMRR ratings (MODS, Scratch, and sometimes OOP). In essence, they're the same thing.
  • Do I have to participate in the EMRR Challenge to participate in the "Design this Spaceship" contest?
    • No, but why not?
  • Is a purchase of Rocket Design or Simulation software required?
    • No. My experience is with RockSIM and SpaceCAD, both have a free, fully-functional trial period. There are other software packages available as well (mostly simulation only). Also, note that SpaceCAD has offered a 15% discount to EMRR Guests. Contact EMRR to get the discount code.

Copyright © 2016 by RocketReviews.com